Training 9/9

• Thread starter Thread starter boxy2010

Firstly, let me just say how refreshing it is to stumble onto a board and not get carded by the mods. You are quite fortunate here.

:thumbsu:

Now onto this silly post...

This reminds me of when North Melbourne supporters came onto our boards when we recruited Leigh Brown.

Then he won a premiership medal and they stopped visiting :o

It could be worse, we could have a combination of Hansen, Grima, Thompson and McMahon to do our bidding this weekend. The amazing backline responsible for leaking 260+ points in our two games this year.

1) If you read my earlier post, you will see that it was actually a positive one wrt to Collingwood. I said you shouldn't worry (even though it seems most of your supporters on this board are very worried). In other words, I was saying I still reckon you are sure things to at least make the Grand Final (and I agree with the bookies who have you as favourites). My post wasn't a troll.

2) The hammerings we copped at the hands of the Pies this year had little if anything to do with our defensive stocks. We were killed in the middle, which is where our greatest inexperience lies. Blaming Thompson etc for that is misguided at best and plain stupidity at worst.

3) Do you want Leigh Brown playing KPD? Or in defence at all? Serious question. I'm telling you he would cost you four goals (+) down there, which might just be enough to give the Eagles a sniff.

Getting a little nervous are we, boys?? HTFU.. :cool:
I'm not nervous, but when a team loses by 96 points, and is about to play an opposition team that has won by 95 points, then of course there's some apprehension as there should be. Particularly when there are some queries, and the possibility of being without Ben Reid when we're already without fellow All-Australian Dale Thomas.

West Coast should be confident of causing an upset due to the current issues at Collingwood, and I've noticed that Dean Cox has said as much yet again as he does each time the two teams are about to play each other. Collingwood has comfortably won the last five times though, and six of the last seven, and eight of the last ten.

I'm confident the players are determined to turnaround last week's performance, particularly for Alan Didak's 200 match, and I think the current obstacles may even further bring out the best in those that play. If both teams play as they did last week though, then the Eagles are a great chance, but if both teams play equally to their best, then Collingwood is still a better team, even with the personnel issues.

Firstly, let me just say how refreshing it is to stumble onto a board and not get carded by the mods. You are quite fortunate here.

Now onto this silly post...

1) If you read my earlier post, you will see that it was actually a positive one wrt to Collingwood. I said you shouldn't worry (even though it seems most of your supporters on this board are very worried). In other words, I was saying I still reckon you are sure things to at least make the Grand Final (and I agree with the bookies who have you as favourites). My post wasn't a troll.

2) The hammerings we copped at the hands of the Pies this year had little if anything to do with our defensive stocks. We were killed in the middle, which is where our greatest inexperience lies. Blaming Thompson etc for that is misguided at best and plain stupidity at worst.

3) Do you want Leigh Brown playing KPD? Or in defence at all? Serious question. I'm telling you he would cost you four goals (+) down there, which might just be enough to give the Eagles a sniff.

11_brown_jols.jpg

Deal with it. Leigh Brown would be your best defender, forward and ruckman if you hadn't delisted him. Probably appoint him captain too over that downhill skier you currently have.

I guess some North Board posters are just as juvenile towards posters from other clubs as you are being towards me, so I can't really complain (except for the fact that I don't participate on the North Board anymore).

As you were, Pie fans.

11_brown_jols.jpg

Deal with it. Leigh Brown would be your best defender, forward and ruckman if you hadn't delisted him. Probably appoint him captain too over that downhill skier you currently have.

Good come back JB....

Fairdinkum says, i'm not trolling but I know it's probably 80 per cent likely that if Ben Reid wasn't to get up that Brown would play in defence and than you'd go out in straight sets. ;) hahaha

No point going on the NM board I suppose, unless you want to know about who cut loose on Mad Monday.

I guess you should cherish the NM board though, given it a few more years and it won't even exist. ;)

One would think Lynch would just out-muscle him all day long.
Kennedy has a massive tank and workrate so it will be a good test on Taz's ankle.

We'd still be comfortable with Goldsack on Lynch. Lynch plays a very similar role to Leigh Brown. He ain't a stay at home forward so it will certainly assist us in that manner.

Taz won't have any issue running around with Kennedy considering he has had a heap of success on small fleet-footed forwards i.e. Milne/Lecras in the past.

There's a photo of him on the cfc website and he looks to be moving very well so he won't be of any concern come Saturday arvo.

we dont at least make the grand final there are going to be a lot of questions about the man management of our side in round 24. why on earth we didnt rest our top 5-10 players when nothing could be achieved has me completely baffled. its going to kill me if this turns out to be a wasted season:mad:

I'm not nervous, but when a team loses by 96 points, and is about to play an opposition team that has won by 95 points, then of course there's some apprehension as there should be. Particularly when there are some queries, and the possibility of being without Ben Reid when we're already without fellow All-Australian Dale Thomas.

West Coast should be confident of causing an upset due to the current issues at Collingwood, and I've noticed that Dean Cox has said as much yet again as he does each time the two teams are about to play each other. Collingwood has comfortably won the last five times though, and six of the last seven, and eight of the last ten.

I'm confident the players are determined to turnaround last week's performance, particularly for Alan Didak's 200 match, and I think the current obstacles may even further bring out the best in those that play. If both teams play as they did last week though, then the Eagles are a great chance, but if both teams play equally to their best, then Collingwood is still a better team, even with the personnel issues.

Pretty much fair comment apart from the 200th. Would that really make a difference in a game as important as this?
For what its worth I think that the Pies will win but not by as much as a lot here are thinking. Looking forward to the game.

we dont at least make the grand final there are going to be a lot of questions about the man management of our side in round 24. why on earth we didnt rest our top 5-10 players when nothing could be achieved has me completely baffled. its going to kill me if this turns out to be a wasted season:mad:

Don't jump the gun my man, we don't know if resting players works yet..
Also, Ried did his groin during Wednesday's practice so we cant really blame it on anyone.

Im REALLY looking forward to this game.
Collingwood weren't great in Round 21 and 22 last season, so I was a bit apprehensive this time last year too, but the Bulldogs did have injury issues at the time which helped. It's been a bad week or so for Collingwood leading into the Qualifying Final this time since Dale Thomas was suspended for two matches though, but hopefully that will bring out the best in the team. If it does, then I'm confident Collingwood will win.
I guess some North Board posters are just as juvenile towards posters from other clubs as you are being towards me, so I can't really complain (except for the fact that I don't participate on the North Board anymore).
Fair dinkum! Don't be so precious! ;) People haven't treated you that badly here, and I'm sure you're welcome to post here within board guidelines. I've personally enjoyed reading some of your posts in the past on the Society, Religion and Poilitics board, regardless of whether I agree or not.

I do agree that Leigh Brown isn't a key position defender, and it was just one of many strange choices last week. However, being slaughtered in the middle of the ground and allowing Geelong to waltz through the corridor at will due to a complete lack of intensity didn't help any of the defenders. It seemed like the footy spent more time in defence last week than it had in the previous 21 matches combined!

I'm going to be interested as to how we line up now. I'm a little worried but it's normally these games when the Pies are questioned when they fire up and blitz sides away. The match ups in the back line are only going to be a problem for us if we're getting beaten in the midfield and at clearances. If the ball is in our hands or up our end it doesn't really matter who we have as defenders.

Shitful news, considering we've already conceded the ruck battle.
The worry will be when Cox or Nik Nat go forward, can see one of Eagles tall kicking a bag lets just hope Cloke and Dawesy fire at the other end.
I'm still pretty confident of a win but we'll need a monumental performance from our mids.

PS. Lay off fairdinkum boys, he's not a Pies hater, everyone knows Leroy is useless as a defender.

Reid will be a huge loss. We need to control the midfield and we should be ok. If Eagles get quick clearances we could be in a bit of trouble.

Shitful news, considering we've already conceded the ruck battle.
The worry will be when Cox or Nik Nat go forward, can see one of Eagles tall kicking a bag lets just hope Cloke and Dawesy fire at the other end.
I'm still pretty confident of a win but we'll need a monumental performance from our mids.
How does Cox or Natnaui go forward for long periods though?

If they do, they leave their backline exposed, as their backline is largely young and inexperienced, and against our power forwards in Cloke and Dawes, they will be relying on the 2 rucks to drop back and cover the defense, or this could be a blowout IMO.

We will go inside 50 more then the Eagles, it has more to do with "repeat entries" from our more effecitve forward press then anything, but it will happen, and if the Eagles rucks don't drop back at all, their backline will get slaughtered.

The Eagles have as many, if not more concerns with our forwards then we do with theirs IMO, yet I still agree that this game will be won the midfield, and that is where we are clearly superior in every single form, except for the ruck contest, although I think the ruck supremacy of the Eagles is being over rated, as they dominated in round 10 yet we won by 50 +.

With Reid and Thomas in the side, we would win by 60+ IMO, no disrespect to the Eagles, they have had a great season, but away from home Carlton (on a very bad day) were their biggest scalps, and we all know how much we rate Carlton.

Pies by 30+, Reid and Thomas out hurts, but not enough to effect the result too much.

How does Cox or Natnaui go forward for long periods though?

If they do, they leave their backline exposed, as their backline is largely young and inexperienced, and against our power forwards in Cloke and Dawes, they will be relying on the 2 rucks to drop back and cover the defense, or this could be a blowout IMO.

We will go inside 50 more then the Eagles, it has more to do with "repeat entries" from our more effecitve forward press then anything, but it will happen, and if the Eagles rucks don't drop back at all, their backline will get slaughtered

You know we have 2 ruckmen right? We're not going to play a ruckman a kick behind play all game. Cox at various times will drop a kick behind play WHILST playing ruck, but if we are going to play a loose man across half back, it's not going to be a ruckman. It'll be more likely someone like Waters and a Selwood will push into his defensive spot.

Gee whiz, I didn't know Cox and NicNat were supermen.

At some stage of the game both will need to visit this new thing called the interchange, and have a rest.;) And when that happens, what occurs if your only ruckman is going forward instead of back? Hmm, let me guess, CHAOS DOWN BACK.

If you do not drop your ruckman back, instead of forward for large periods of the game, you will be slaughtered, yes, you may get 1 or maybe even 2 goals by dropping a ruckman forward (even the second ruck when he's not laying arse out on the bench) but it will hurt you if your rucks do not play defensively.

Watch Jolly on the weekend, he will spend more time in the defensive 50 then the forward 50, because that's what absolute class rucks do when they are coached properly, and play to a team principle that wins them flags.

Please, by all means rotate your two rucks only in the ruck, up forward and on the bench, we will love it.

At some stage of the game both will need to visit this new thing called the interchange, and have a rest.;) And when that happens, what occurs if your only ruckman is going forward instead of back? Hmm, let me guess, CHAOS DOWN BACK.

There's a difference between us using a ruckman as a permanent forward and us using ruckmen as an extra tall for "long periods"... :rolleyes:

If you do not drop your ruckman back, instead of forward for large periods of the game, you will be slaughtered, yes, you may get 1 or maybe even 2 goals by dropping a ruckman forward (even the second ruck when he's not laying arse out on the bench) but it will hurt you if your rucks do not play defensively.

Cox regularly plays behind the ball. When only one ruckman is on the ground he doesn't spends all his time pushing forward like you're suggesting. That's absolutely daft.

Watch Jolly on the weekend, he will spend more time in the defensive 50 then the forward 50, because that's what absolute class rucks do when they are coached properly, and play to a team principle that wins them flags.

Yeah, Cox doesn't know what's required in his role to win a flag...oh!

Hilarious that you think Jolly is "absolute class" whilst Cox isn't...

Personally, I'd prefer to use our quality ruckmen as weapons and free up Waters or Glass to play that role instead.

Nic Nat is a freak & a wildcard of the highest order but his one weakness is strong bodied ruckman, who will instigate body contact. Jamar towelled him up last time at the G' & he's struggled against these types generally.

I wouldn't say so much strong bodied because he's done very well against many mature players. What troubles him are the ruckmen that run past the ball and impact him heavily with the knees. His bodywork at boundary throw ins is also nothing special at this stage - he's more damaging in the contest that follows.

Gee whiz, I didn't know Cox and NicNat were supermen.

Ruckman goes back, but Q-Stick up forward.

OK...a lot of negativity here about Reid....after braving the hail and rain, here are a few positives from training -

a) Heater..I am shocked..I come straight home and backed him for the Norm smith medal...he looks incredible and his touch was spot on...excited to see him back out there tomorrow
b) Davis and Tarrant moved freely
c) the boys were very upbeat and trained well
d) HarryO trained the house down

so from training...Heater, Harry and neon looked great making me confident about resting Reids niggle.

I always thought if Reid was in then Maxwell wouldnt play but now I expect Maxy plays and punches and smothers at every opportunity whilst being the general

ALLS GOOD GUYS

only negative from training was the injustice Heater was dealt compared to Wallis!

OK...a lot of negativity here about Reid....after braving the hail and rain, here are a few positives from training -

a) Heater..I am shocked..I come straight home and backed him for the Norm smith medal...he looks incredible and his touch was spot on...excited to see him back out there tomorrow
b) Davis and Tarrant moved freely
c) the boys were very upbeat and trained well
d) HarryO trained the house down

so from training...Heater, Harry and neon looked great making me confident about resting Reids niggle.

I always thought if Reid was in then Maxwell wouldnt play but now I expect Maxy plays and punches and smothers at every opportunity whilst being the general

ALLS GOOD GUYS

only negative from training was the injustice Heater was dealt compared to Wallis!

Thanks for the report mate, pls buy yourself a beer on me :)

NicNat is a an average at best footballer, he is so rarely in the play it's like playing with 1 man down during play. He competes very well at centre clearances, but that's it. Centre clearance taps rarely give an advantage, around the ground ones are the important ones to win.
Cox is in good touch though so Jolly would need to be in good nick but he has a good record against him.