Training Report 28-1-2004

• Thread starter Thread starter macca23

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

how is Parker coming along?????? Put on any muscle??????

He has actually Stiffy. He's got a very good physique for AFL footy now and has looked good at training. He could be a future full back.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Whats Skippys pace like. Havent seen him live, but in the games I've seen he appears to be an average one paced small type without a penetrating kick.
Haw would you access
He is not a speed demon like Stiffy or Schuback but he is not slow either. His pace is not a concern IMHO. However, what is a bit of a concern is his disposal by foot and his decision making under pressure.

I watched him a few times in 2003 and I must say he had a very good season. Arguably the most consistent midfielder in the SANFL last year.

Whats Skippys pace like. Havent seen him live, but in the games I've seen he appears to be an average one paced small type without a penetrating kick.
Haw would you access

That's not the greatest build-up is it - "an average one paced small type without a penetrating kick"!! :D

I think he's a little better than that. I wouldn't call him one paced, but neither would I say that he has electrifying pace. He's improved his kicking somewhat, but it's still not overly penetrating.

His assets are that he has an excellent work rate, and he's not scared to go in and get the ball.

He doesn't appeal as being a likely match-winner though.

Players that I see making way for youngsters are Burns and it kills me to say this cos I am a big fan, Torney. Shirley's spot is not safe either.

I wouldnt disagree with your assessment and players listed.
We must remember we finished outside the 4, and therefore we must make improvements to the team structure.
At times last year we appeared slow. Players like Shirley, Bode, Stenglein, are not quick.
The injection of quicker players; Stiffy, Schuback, and Edwards in the midfield would give us a more attacking midfield.

Very true but I don't think we can afford to play Edwards away from defence. He is a bit of a general down there and provides a lot of run. He is still our best bet against small forward which is a bit of a waste IMHO. He is so good that we probably need one in defence, one in the midfield and one up forward. How he got overlooked in National Draft is still beyond me.

A fantastic player,rarely plays a bad game. Best use to us is in the midfield and down forward.
So who is the next alternative to take the oppositions small forward?? I'm really struggling with a credible option.
Edwards started as a BP, could Schuback also start his career as a defensive player?

I'm really struggling with a credible option.
Along with a strong key defender and a ruckman who ca take contested mark on regular basis, this is one of my great concerns. I have big expectations of Jericho for this role. Crowell used to do it well.
Edwards started as a BP, could Schuback also start his career as a defensive player?
I doubt it. Schuey is the forward line crumber/midfielder type. He probably coud play as a rebounding HBF but not a BP IMO.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Training Report 28-1-2004

Begley was unfairly treated last year by some posters on this forum but I think he showed enough to suggest he will be a regular this year. Just out of interest how is Massie going?????? His improvement last year was fantastic and if he can continue on this year he will be up there in B&F count.

My only criticism of Begley was that his kicking for goal was worse than SANFL standard. If he can improve on that I think he can be a very handy player for us, in that he could be a replacment for Smart in the dashing half back role.

Great report once again macca23, thank you.

My problem with Begley 2003 was that he played 3 or 4 great games and 3 or 4 mediocre ones in which he almost appeared disinterested. If he plays consistently like the former then obviously he has a place in our starting 22.

And of course as was previously pointed out there is his kicking for goal...

macca23, Perrie's confidence seemed at a high in the Wizard Cup last year and then fell away badly. Hopefully he can start the season high in confidence and build on it throughout the season.

Hudson will be interesting, if we get 2 - 5 fill in games from him and he performs OK, then he will have achieved what he needs to this year. Presumably if he goes OK this year he will have an expanded role and opportunity in 2005.

Ahh January. All players from 16 clubs fly in January. Let's hope the majority of ours are still flying in late September!

Great report macca23, sounds like all is well down at West Lakes and we should be in a for a ripper of a year great to hear Perrie is training well and has improved on his goal kicking;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Training Report 28-1-2004

Originally posted by Jars458
My only criticism of Begley was that his kicking for goal was worse than SANFL standard. If he can improve on that I think he can be a very handy player for us, in that he could be a replacment for Smart in the dashing half back role.

Agree with your summary of Begley.

He's obviously aware of last year's goal-kicking deficiency because in the drills they practice for entry into the forward line, rather than pass it off as the others do, at the slightest of opportunities he hares off at the goals and has a shot on the run.

You can tell it's January, as he's got almost a 100% record so far. ;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Training Report 28-1-2004

Originally posted by macca23
Agree with your summary of Begley.

He's obviously aware of last year's goal-kicking deficiency because in the drills they practice for entry into the forward line, rather than pass it off as the others do, at the slightest of opportunities he hares off at the goals and has a shot on the run.

You can tell it's January, as he's got almost a 100% record so far. ;)

At training you get to run onto your right foot before having a ping at goal. :) The guy has real talent but what he really needs to do is work on is his left side. If you always need to get onto the same leg you dispose of the footy under pressure more often, so your goalkicking suffers and so does your general disposal. I think that in the past this has been his problem.

Hope he has a great season and becomes a regular as I think he has the ability.

Everyone looks good in January, and I can't get to training as I'm in WA, but I hope he's not standing on the left HFF and then running onto his right boot in all the training sessions. He should be made to stand on the other side of the ground and have someone chase him out and onto his left. Maybe that's been happening???? Hope so?? :confused:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Training Report 28-1-2004

Originally posted by tinman
I hope he's not standing on the left HFF and then running onto his right boot in all the training sessions. He should be made to stand on the other side of the ground and have someone chase him out and onto his left. Maybe that's been happening???? Hope so?? :confused:

You've raised an interesting one because they've all been with his right boot. He takes the ball wherever he is and dashes at goal, but it is always with the right boot after straightening. He should be working on his left as you've suggested..

Two guys who did nothing but left foot kicking on Wednesday were Roo and Carey. Roo because he can't hold it properly for his right because of the cast on his thumb and Carey because of his arthroscopy last week. Both kicked immaculately all session, and I can't remember either making an error.

BTW Macca, great to get the training reports.

Am really looking forward to the season.

At this stage everyone looks good though, and all teams are going to make the 8. I think that we should finish well into the top half as long as we are competitive away and make AAMI a fortress. From there who knows?

I still think the wheels fell off for us last year when we were travelling well, then two trips to Perth in a month and then straight to Melbourne (v. Collingwood) to back up after WCE. We travel as well as anyone but that was a real tough ask. Compare to Collingwood, who BTW have been to Perth once in 4 years. The sooner that everyone plays everyone else twice, once home & once away the better (if it ever gets in).

Honetly though, what good is it to run around in a big arc and straighten onto your right? How often does that happen in a game, especially in the AFL where the opposition coaches all watch heaps of videos and work players out quickly.

I hope that this year is a big one for Begley, and really think he has talent, but he risks going backwards this season if he doesnt work on his weaknesses as more and more coaches will wake up that he is one sided. Surely our own coaches have, and will have him working on this.........let's hope so.

Cheers & keep up the good work. ;)

...moving the ball from defence through the centre and looking for options up forward. Same structure as previous weeks with the one loose forward, who might or might not be the best option. Jars was on the oval filming every shot for goal from behind the player, and he’ll certainly be showing Rutten why he kept missing to the left of goal all the time – the bloody idiot kept running in that direction!!

At the end of this, the smalls and medium sized players finished training with Burton and Bode having some after training goal kicking practice with Jars.
I reckon we will really get a benefit of having Jars as the forward coach this year. We saw the benefit of his kicking work last year with the likes of Perrie. I'm sure he have some decent strategies for the forwards this year & they will respect him (more than a ruckman!)

Re: Re: Training Report 28-1-2004

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I reckon we will really get a benefit of having Jars as the forward coach this year. We saw the benefit of his kicking work last year with the likes of Perrie. I'm sure he have some decent strategies for the forwards this year & they will respect him (more than a ruckman!)
I agree but I also think that our efficiency will largely depend on our midfield. At the end of the day it will come down to how the ball is delivered to the forwards. If the delivery is as bad as it was in recent times then we will lose our fair share of close games due to poor conversion rate.

Originally posted by topjars
Hows Dogga looking?

He had a minor setback with a slight injury for a week or so, TJ, but overall he's done well. His major problem is that he'd be 4th in line behind Burton Reilly and Begley for a wing at this stage, which is his preferred spot.

He'll probably get a chance at some stage and he'll want to do really well or drop out of contention.

Re: Re: Re: Training Report 28-1-2004

I agree but I also think that our efficiency will largely depend on our midfield. At the end of the day it will come down to how the ball is delivered to the forwards. If the delivery is as bad as it was in recent times then we will lose our fair share of close games due to poor conversion rate.
Good point Stiffy & this is something Jars should be on to as a guy who played in the midfield (as one of the best deliverers of the ball) & up forward. Bit of a chicken & egg arguement though. Whilst the midfield need to use the ball better, they also need to have the confidence in the forward line they are kicking to. Should help if we can keep most of our forwards on the park in 2004.

The 3rd factor is to structure the forward line so that they lead up the ground into open space rather than into the dead pockets which has been a bad trend for the past 3 years. They appear to be working on this at training, so here's hoping.

Very true Macca. As you know before you fix a problem, you have to recognise you have one. It appear AFC do realise they have been deficient in this area, so at least they are attempting to improve their forward efficiency. Time will tell if they do.

?????
how can not having confidence in your forwards excuse the hospital balls or kicks that sail 5 metre over the leading forwards head?? That is entirely the fault of the midfielder.

I could accept your line of argument here if the only problem was kicking to the pockets all the time, but that, strangely is one of the few times the midfielders seem to be able to hit a forward!

Originally posted by naughty monkey
?????
how can not having confidence in your forwards excuse the hospital balls or kicks that sail 5 metre over the leading forwards head?? That is entirely the fault of the midfielder.

I could accept your line of argument here if the only problem was kicking to the pockets all the time, but that, strangely is one of the few times the midfielders seem to be able to hit a forward!
Disagree, it is a joint responsibility between the midfielders & forwards. The forwards need to learn to lead to the right spots & give the midfield options. The midfield need to learn to pass properly & kick to the best option. Sounds simple, but they don't do it too often! There have been times when the midfielders clearly have had no confidence in the forwards & have just bombed long hoping for the best. No excuse I agree, but having confidence in your team mates helps.