Training Report/Analysis - Ongoing

Re: Training 29/11/06

hehe, love preseason hype, everyone is training the house down...

I remember Dion Woods was looking really good one year :) put on a heap of muscle

Gary Dhurrkay and Medhurst went thru a similar pattern too. Came back looking huge then promptly lost a lot of form.

Is it wise having Kelly train with us? One of the 12 teams with a selection before us may be intending to select him with their second round rookie draft pick, but may use their first round selection to pick him up since they know we will probably snap him up at 13. Best to keep your cards close to your chest IMO.
tbh i doubt a player like kelly would be high on recruiters radars. im not even convinced we will rookie him

What does he lack to be an AFL player?
well im no expert but he doesnt have great pace,hes small,and his skills are ok without being great

however he attacks the ball well and can take a good overhead mark and kick a goal

id be very happy to pick him

i didn't mean to have a crack at him, he was just the first example that popped into my head of preseason hype not transferring into a successful season.

It wasn't the comments about him bulking up before preseason. Its the random referrals about finding him on the armadale train line and how much exercise do you do walking around the armadale train station. They are either implying he's working as a security guard or he's become a bum who hangs around train stations. Thats what i though was a little harsh. I don't think the comments about him are from other threads as well.

yes i see him on the armadal line around the burswood and vic park stations whats wrong with that? he probably goes to the casino etc

I get it now, you didn't mean it to imply anything. But the first thing i thought was he's a bum, i guess its my preconstructed notion (with limited experience) of people who catch late night trains as loonies and bums.

Gary Dhurrkay and Medhurst went thru a similar pattern too. Came back looking huge then promptly lost a lot of form.

Every year it was reported that Daniel Bandy was dominating over the summer, and ready to step up next season.

I get it now, you didn't mean it to imply anything. But the first thing i thought was he's a bum, i guess its my preconstructed notion (with limited experience) of people who catch late night trains as loonies and bums.
fair enough

and yes there are plenty of loonies

Re: Training 4/12/06

Not working today, so dropped into Freo Oval after dropping kids at school. Even took some notes for you all... (yes, it's sad, I know....:o ). This is what I observed:

(i) What a difference a week makes! Hase was running almost full-tilt from end to end today. Looked to be at about 75% compared to what I estimate to be his 100% (being what I've seen of him at training and in games). Appeared not to be in any discomfort. :thumbsu:

(ii) Gilmore is still running alone and he has his shoulder heavily strapped.

(iii) Pav is setting the example! Always first into position, first to grab a footy, running hard and forcing the guys in his group to keep up. He was running with two other guys in one drill (Murph and someone I could'nt recognise from a distance), every time they'd match him he'd up his work a bit and "challenge" them to go with him. Excellent captaincy material!

(iv) Solly - is a big, strong looking bugger. Huge chest and arms. Was running very hard.

(v) Tarrant - he was running laps; looks to be running freely and without discomfort. He looks big on TV, but up close, he is HUUUGE... especially in the upper body. :thumbsu:

(vi) Peakey was running about like a hyper kid, bouncing around and almost jumping out of his skin!!

(vii) One guy I was very, very inpressed with was Adam Campbell! He looks big, sharp, and like he's really trying to impress. If he translates this morning's effort into his play at WP, then he will be putting heaps of pressure on Murphy up forward!

(viii) Okay - someone asked me last week if warnock looked bigger. In a word, Yes. In two words - Much Bigger. His upper body is twice the size it was, even from a distance there is muscle definition. Legs, however, are still very skinny...

(ix) Bellie's back! Running laps on his own, not taking part in the drills, but he's back! No Parker though.

(x) Saw Dean Kelly. He's pretty bulky for an 18 year old, and didn't look out of place.

(xi) Ibbotson looks to have a "touch of Peake" about him... and given he's 18, and Peakey didn't come on till his early 20s... I reckon that's something to look forward to.

(xii) The other guy who looked mean was Grover. With him down back, and maybe Solly up forward there's real hardness at both ends.

(xiii) Didn't see the young fellas (or Jeffrey for that matter) - they may have been in the gym. It appears the Wiz has been assigned to look after them in these early days.

(xiv) German was in the thick of it, running a lot of the session.

(xv) Des looked good as Des always does at training.

(xvi) This was a pretty intense session. It was fast and they were running hard. There certainly seems as though there is no "easing back into it".

There... fire away and I will try and answer questions.... :)

Good stuff IP. Encouraging to hear Hase is picking up the pace again. It all sounds very exciting for coming season. Funny I never really thought of Tarrant as a big guy

Tarrant's upper body (arms especially) - Ginormous!! Legs are kind of McPharlin-like, which I guess is what enables him to get so high for some of his screamers.

Like this one:
2003rd8tarrant01.jpg

And this one:
pt_tarrant_1604_ent-lead__200x250.jpg

Or this one:
markoftheyear2003.jpg

Or perhaps this one:
svGALNINETHREE_gallery__266x400.jpg

:thumbsu: :D :thumbsu:

McPharlin might have a threat to his position as Freo's Highest Flyer!

ImperialPurple said:
(xii) The other guy who looked mean was Grover. With him down back, and maybe Solly up forward there's real hardness at both ends.

I was kind of expecting that. Remember the guy missed out on the finals win and the Sydney game. Hopefully he continues his form from the start of 2006 in 2007.

EDIT: Question for IP, was Haddrill up and running in the drills session?

Not working today, so dropped into Freo Oval after dropping kids at school. Even took some notes for you all... (yes, it's sad, I know....:o ). This is what I observed:

(i) What a difference a week makes! Hase was running almost full-tilt from end to end today. Looked to be at about 75% compared to what I estimate to be his 100% (being what I've seen of him at training and in games). Appeared not to be in any discomfort. :thumbsu:

(ii) Gilmore is still running alone and he has his shoulder heavily strapped.

(iii) Pav is setting the example! Always first into position, first to grab a footy, running hard and forcing the guys in his group to keep up. He was running with two other guys in one drill (Murph and someone I could'nt recognise from a distance), every time they'd match him he'd up his work a bit and "challenge" them to go with him. Excellent captaincy material!

(iv) Solly - is a big, strong looking bugger. Huge chest and arms. Was running very hard.

(v) Tarrant - he was running laps; looks to be running freely and without discomfort. He looks big on TV, but up close, he is HUUUGE... especially in the upper body. :thumbsu:

(vi) Peakey was running about like a hyper kid, bouncing around and almost jumping out of his skin!!

(vii) One guy I was very, very inpressed with was Adam Campbell! He looks big, sharp, and like he's really trying to impress. If he translates this morning's effort into his play at WP, then he will be putting heaps of pressure on Murphy up forward!

(viii) Okay - someone asked me last week if warnock looked bigger. In a word, Yes. In two words - Much Bigger. His upper body is twice the size it was, even from a distance there is muscle definition. Legs, however, are still very skinny...

(ix) Bellie's back! Running laps on his own, not taking part in the drills, but he's back! No Parker though.

(x) Saw Dean Kelly. He's pretty bulky for an 18 year old, and didn't look out of place.

(xi) Ibbotson looks to have a "touch of Peake" about him... and given he's 18, and Peakey didn't come on till his early 20s... I reckon that's something to look forward to.

(xiii) Didn't see the young fellas (or Jeffrey for that matter) - they may have been in the gym. It appears the Wiz has been assigned to look after them in these early days.

(xiv) German was in the thick of it, running a lot of the session.

(xv) Des looked good as Des always does at training.

(xvi) This was a pretty intense session. It was fast and they were running hard. There certainly seems as though there is no "easing back into it".

There... fire away and I will try and answer questions.... :)

IP dammit
Stop teasing us, this will be the last one of you training update posts I read!

Sorry guys... I know I am spoilt... :o

Should I continue with the reports when I get a chance to get in and have a look...?

Anyway, to answer the other questions. JLo was way down the other end of the ground behind the goals, handballing and doing very gentle kicking with a guy that I think was Haddrill... but it was miles off, and I wasn't sure who it was, but I think it was Sir Robbie. Schammer was with the main group, he looked sharp and quick and was among teh guys talking a lot and geeing everyone up. A bit of leadership potential in that young man I believe (if he can start to kick straight... ;) ).

Sorry guys... I know I am spoilt... :o

Should I continue with the reports when I get a chance to get in and have a look...?

Anyway, to answer the other questions. JLo was way down the other end of the ground behind the goals, handballing and doing very gentle kicking with a guy that I think was Haddrill... but it was miles off, and I wasn't sure who it was, but I think it was Sir Robbie. Schammer was with the main group, he looked sharp and quick and was among teh guys talking a lot and geeing everyone up. A bit of leadership potential in that young man I believe (if he can start to kick straight... ;) ).

Definitely continue IP. Don’t worry about old Sabre dropping the bottom lip. Like the rest of us he’s just jealous. If I cant be there, hearing about it at least gives me a bit of a fix.

HAHAH
I was joking, I love reading her updates as much as the next person.
Just makes the wait that much longer though :(

Good - I don't want to upset anyone... :)

And, I am working in and around Freo today, and as I was screaming past Freo Oval through "Gero's Roundabout", saw a mass of bodies on the ground, so went back half an hour later for a (seriously) quick stopover. I wish every day was as lesiurely as Monday was.... Unfortunatley it's not so... :o

1. JLo and Bellie kicking to each other away from the main group.
2. Didn't see Haddrill (but he could have been there in the large group who were out there)
3. Ryley Dunn looks fit and well.
4. Gilmore still working on his own - dodging and weaving through the cones, and doing sprints.
5. Tarrant still doing laps.
6. Hase still running end to end.
7. Saw Mourish out there with the main group (it's the hair!!), but couldn't pick Collard or O'Brien.
8. Biggest news was that both Dodd and Farmer were working away from the rest of the guys (but not together). Jeffrey was running laps, and Doddy was doing sprints on his own... in-house disciplinary action perhaps?? Dodd was certainly with the main group on Monday, and AFAIK Jeffrey isn't recovering form anything.... :confused: