Training Training Reports and Updates

Moore wasn't there at the last open training in April. Maybe he is not a fan of the fans.:) McStay needs a run in the twos.
Your obsession with trying to drag down Moore is pathetic.

Cat Dog GIF

I'm outa here......
:oops:
Now THAT'S trust...

Not the greatest sign for McStay whether it be the finger still bothering him in some way or his place in the 22 being up in the air IDK. Howe, Kreuger, Cameron and Lipinski all return straight to the senior team whereas he’s spending minutes at VFL level…

It's interesting, isn't it? I reckon it's just a confidence thing in this case. Seems he lacks confidence at training with tackling as much as marking.

I reckon we're just banking on him playing one game against a bottom 5 side where we've got our full team to choose from, ie no carry overs because it's on a Sunday.

If all goes to plan that could mean the footy comes in hot and he gets plenty of chances to mark out in front when the ball is coming in hot. And then of course sub him off once he's played enough...

I remember first hearing this at High School, so about 100 years ago:

"Those that can, do.
Those that can't, teach."

I thought it was “those who can, play. Those who can’t, coach.”?

At Least that’s what my son’s team told me over the years that I coached them. The little sh!ts.

Might just be that it was a finger, so he wouldn't have done much ball work.
I'd normally agree it's odd but the way Fly spoke made it sound like he's straight back into the senior side next week.

He made it pretty clear it's just "some minutes" so seems like they're viewing it as an extra training session.
I took it more as him being available for selection than him being a walk up start. The theory of more training might stack up though because the senior side being interstate makes it harder to coordinate another load session. The thing is if Frampton, Cox and Cameron perform does he get back in?

FWIW if we’d stuck with AJ I would have had no doubts. McRae supposedly* loves setting guys up to succeed and I’m not sure Frampton would be receiving that treatment if he performs then gets dropped v the Dogs. That would be a dodgy run for him since doing his groin. I’m becoming less and less convinced of this type of stuff being a good problem to have as we get deeper into the season and further from our best footy (v Port).

*I use supposedly because I think that’s about messaging more than anything else.

Might just be that it was a finger, so he wouldn't have done much ball work.

I support this (unlike your choice of pizza).

As recently as early last week his hand was still in a cast.

This isn't to say his form when he was playing for us was so awesome that he's a walk-up start, but it has been a tricky recovery.

The side's best footy was with McStay in the side, so structurally I suspect he's very important.

I took it more as him being available for selection than him being a walk up start. The theory of more training might stack up though because the senior side being interstate makes it harder to coordinate another load session. The thing is if Frampton, Cox and Cameron perform does he get back in?

FWIW if we’d stuck with AJ I would have had no doubts. McRae supposedly* loves setting guys up to succeed and I’m not sure Frampton would be receiving that treatment if he performs then gets dropped v the Dogs. That would be a dodgy run for him since doing his groin. I’m becoming less and less convinced of this type of stuff being a good problem to have as we get deeper into the season and further from our best footy (v Port).

*I use supposedly because I think that’s about messaging more than anything else.
I’m leaning towards them treating it as a training session for him too. Injury reports had him available rounds 17-18 iirc before this week, and now suddenly he’s playing minutes in the VFL. I think if he wasn’t playing minutes in the VFL this week he wouldn’t be playing at all.

McRae said Frampton is going to play defence. I'm assuming it's going to be WHE playing Johnson's role.

I reckon thats what will happen and for good reason. WHE, for me, plays best as a leading FF, he's quite hard to match up when there

That's a small forward line. I wonder if he'll be tempted to include Krueger?
I think the reason we're not playing Kreuger is what Sco said about bringing in Frampton and the issue with it being for 1 game until McStay gets back.

But we've had to play WHE as a tall forward a fair bit this year, so Im not concerned - he's been bringing more to ground than Johnson.

I think the reason we're not playing Kreuger is what Sco said about bringing in Frampton and the issue with it being for 1 game until McStay gets back.

But we've had to play WHE as a tall forward a fair bit this year, so Im not concerned - he's been bringing more to ground than Johnson.
I noticed Markov has been named on the wing. WHE's role in our side seems to be to run up and down the wing but as wide as he can be without becoming ineffective. Our game style requires a player who can keep doing that all game because it attracts opposition plays to run wider and leaving our midfield less cluttered. I reckon Markov could play that role today with ease.

In the context of McStay I like that because I think he’s an important cog and I’m keen to have him back. WHE in support of Cox and Mihocek is fine because he gets up and back much more than AJ and I prefer it when Cox plays as a FWD/ ruck not a 2nd ruck off the bench.

Frampton back though I’m less sure about. I think it further adds to that good problem to have that we’re not finding a solution to narrative I’m watching play out. It’s me I know, but I’m looking for that statement match that solidifies our standing as a top 2 team like what Brisbane put up on Thursday. Our past 6 weeks have felt like we’re a long way off that and I don’t think it’s a personell issue.

I noticed Markov has been named on the wing. WHE's role in our side seems to be to run up and down the wing but as wide as he can be without becoming ineffective. Our game style requires a player who can keep doing that all game because it attracts opposition plays to run wider and leaving our midfield less cluttered. I reckon Markov could play that role today with ease.
I wouldn’t read to much into that mate, hill is named on the ball.

Frampton back though I’m less sure about. I think it further adds to that good problem to have that we’re not finding a solution to narrative I’m watching play out. It’s me I know, but I’m looking for that statement match that solidifies our standing as a top 2 team like what Brisbane put up on Thursday. Our past 6 weeks have felt like we’re a long way off that and I don’t think it’s a personell issue.
I suspect they're going to do a bit of trialling in terms of defence. The extra tall tall in Frampton? Murphy's game sense and desperation? Or both like they're going in with this week?

Yes. He's definitely taking on the WHE role as WHE takes on AJs position. I'd expect AJ to kick goals in the twos, especially against Frankston, but they've obviously sent him back to work on the other aspects of his game. I hope they resist the temptation to bring him back, if he kicks goals but doesn't do anything else, like chase, tackle and contest at ground level.

That's a small forward line. I wonder if he'll be tempted to include Krueger?
Fly also said that Frampton would be doing some ruck. I’m working on the assumption that Frampton follows Casboult in to the ruck, and Cox is permanent forward so we always have two talls in the forward line.

I suspect they're going to do a bit of trialling in terms of defence. The extra tall tall in Frampton? Murphy's game sense and desperation? Or both like they're going in with this week?
I think the inclusion of Frampton this week is pretty simple. Suns have a tall forward line. The question will be more difficult against teams without three genuine tall forwards.

It would be surprising if we played all of Moore, Frampton, Howe, Murphy often. We value run far too highly for that. Only way it's possible is if we use Howe as an offensive runner, not entirely out of the question, he could be very damaging if given no real defensive role and allowed to focus on intercepting and rebounding.

Training Training Reports and Updates