Mega Thread TRAINING REPORTS

He was definitely injured in the Geelong game, I was in the front row along the boundary where our players were doing their run throughs and he was in noticeable pain and struggling to walk. He must've had a jab before he went back on but there were no surprises about his performance against Adelaide.

He's a fuking champ though and makes his performance after he came back on in the Geelong game even more impressive :)

He was also double teamed by Talia and Rutten. He was clearly injured in that game after kicking 6 goals on Matthew Scarlett the week before. But yeah, both he and Silvagni had stinkers after playing blinders the week before.

I would have liked Ross to swap Silvagni and Dawson at half time onto their opponents. Tippett had a stinker and Silvagni could have done the job on him and Dawson had a great game on Tippett.

Look what he's done for Brissie.;)

Pearce Hanley gave him a pat on the back for helping him deal with a tag on his AFL360 interview.

Paving is vital to us in a finals situation. Small forward and tall backs we have some depth for even if we lose some quality. The structure will stand up. But Pavlich brings another dimension. A weapon, a match winner.

This whole "Pav is vital" is a misnomer. Realistically, the game is moving beyond Pav's capabilities. I can't remember which of the footy shows it was, but they were making the point quite strongly that there is no room in an AFL forward line for a non-defensive forward. This is Pav's greatest drawback, he simply doesn't work hard enough when the opposition has the ball.

Rutten I think, which was even more embarrassing. Talia had a broken arm, didn't play.

Yes you are right Caterina, it was just Rutten who played on him in that game.

I was thinking of the game after the derby last year in which Pav kicked 8 goals to the entire Eagles side kicking 6. We then went to AAMI and lost by 28 points with Pav only kicking 2 goals after being double teamed by Talia & Rutten.

Pearce Hanley gave him a pat on the back for helping him deal with a tag on his AFL360 interview.

This whole "Pav is vital" is a misnomer. Realistically, the game is moving beyond Pav's capabilities. I can't remember which of the footy shows it was, but they were making the point quite strongly that there is no room in an AFL forward line for a non-defensive forward. This is Pav's greatest drawback, he simply doesn't work hard enough when the opposition has the ball.
That is clearly rubbish. If you extend the logic you would find clubs simply drafting players straight out of Saturday amatures who had maniac attack on the ball whether they could kick, handball or even run 15 metres in a straight line with the footy. It's all about what you bring to the game on balance. If you have a forward who kicks 30 goals and creates 30 by foward pressure up against one that kicks 60 but only creates 10 by forward pressure playing for the same spot who you pick? Obviously the latter since you're 10 goals up. And hat without even taking creativity into the equation.

It's a viewpoint. One shared by leading commentators of the game. You can't really just dismiss it as rubbish by using generalities. In your formula, how much emphasis do you place on goals scored from turnovers in the opposition's 50 because of a lack of defensive pressure? It's the modern game.

Take Jack Riewoldt, for example. Has been kicking plenty of goals this season, but is still lambasted for his poor defensive effort. It's what's stopping him from playing an all round game. Similar with Pav (minus the pouting and dummy spits), but of course he is placed on a pedestal and can do no wrong.

It's a viewpoint. One shared by leading commentators of the game. You can't really just dismiss it as rubbish by using generalities. In your formula, how much emphasis do you place on goals scored from turnovers in the opposition's 50 because of a lack of defensive pressure? It's the modern game.

Take Jack Riewoldt, for example. Has been kicking plenty of goals this season, but is still lambasted for his poor defensive effort. It's what's stopping him from playing an all round game. Similar with Pav (minus the pouting and dummy spits), but of course he is placed on a pedestal and can do no wrong.
Difference is Reiwoldt doesnt have Ballas, Mayne and Deboer in his forward line. With that defensive oomph, you still need some offensive flair (son Son & pav). Its good balance

When he is not prime, he always seems to go to ground a bit to easy. Pav is finding his mojo still - confidence in mind, body and skill. The late run last year saw Pav fight off niggles to be VERY damaging to the opposition because of his talent and desire overcoming the body. He can and will do anything for this Club.

The MEL game had a sniff of prime Pav at the end. Behold Finals, he is just about to tick over to 100% Pavanator Perfect Package.

I dont think my question is going to be asked. I re-asked what Zac Clarke tweeted

Difference is Reiwoldt doesnt have Ballas, Mayne and Deboer in his forward line. With that defensive oomph, you still need some offensive flair (son Son & pav). Its good balance

True, we have the players to counterbalance Pav's deficiencies, and Pav counterbalances other players' deficiencies. It's a good mix.

I'd still like to see Pav chase with a bit more intent though. No harm in asking for 110% effort.

Can you imagine, someone like Pav who has seen it all, the slight ups and the epic lows. From the inside. He had a sniff in 2006. That would still sting. Before Lyon, wondering if he'd get another legitimate chance before it was too late.

Coming up to this finals series, our first ever consecutive appearance, guaranteed top 4 with 2 games yet to play, feeling good in the body for the first time in a while. Knowing it's possibly your last shot? The guy is a champion, champions don't just give 'enough'. When it's on the line, last shot - he'll find a way.

I can imagine him doing some freakish things - the likes of which we've never seen.

Can you imagine, someone like Pav who has seen it all, the slight ups and the epic lows. From the inside. He had a sniff in 2006. That would still sting. Before Lyon, wondering if he'd get another legitimate chance before it was too late.

Coming up to this finals series, our first ever consecutive appearance, guaranteed top 4 with 2 games yet to play, feeling good in the body for the first time in a while. Knowing it's possibly your last shot?

I can imagine him doing some freakish things - the likes of which we've never seen.

Calm down buddy, your got me a little excited just then.

Coming up to this finals series, our first ever consecutive appearance, guaranteed top 4 with 2 games yet to play, feeling good in the body for the first time in a while. Knowing it's possibly your last shot? The guy is a champion, champions don't just give 'enough'. When it's on the line, last shot - he'll find a way.

Okay, so I was just visualising Pav taking a J.Lo style mark, goal after the siren, plus a jump into the crowd in an home prelim final against the Swans... :cool::thumbsu:

This whole "Pav is vital" is a misnomer.
It might be a misconception or a misjudgement but its certainly not a misnomer.

An error in naming a person or place. 2. a. Application of a wrong name. b. A name wrongly or unsuitably applied to a person or an object.

It might be a misconception or a misjudgement but its certainly not a misnomer.

An error in naming a person or place. 2. a. Application of a wrong name. b. A name wrongly or unsuitably applied to a person or an object.

b. a wrong name or inappropriate designation. (Merriam Webster)

i.e. Pav inappropriately designated as vital.

Perhaps a discussion for the grammar thread. Have you got it in pictures?

loved pav's last goal on the weekend - around 60 meters out, no one in the goal square, says to himself 'this is too easy' and slots it through. He just looks really confident heading into finals.

b. a wrong name or inappropriate designation. (Merriam Webster)

i.e. Pav inappropriately designated as vital.

Perhaps a discussion for the grammar thread. Have you got it in pictures?

I dunno mate. Given our season it's easy to underestimate his importance. But if you take a look at the two games we've lost by big margins. He wasn't there and we had no options inside 50. It's all well and good having mayne, ballas and son son running riot against the backlines of North, Carlton and Brisbane. But ultimately, these are not finals teams. If he's not vital. He goes very bloody close

Back on Club training, does anyone know where they will be training tomorrow? Fremantle or Subiaco?

FyfesBoot and E Shed
theGav56 said:
"Paving is vital to us in a finals situation."
That's the original reference gentlemen so the allusion maybe 'Pav's Paving Provides Path...Pav Paves Premiership Path..etc..'which could qualify as metaphor,misnomer,adjectival clause,bludgeoning the English language.....best get ImperialPurple to adjudicate!

FyfesBoot and E Shed
theGav56 said:
"Paving is vital to us in a finals situation."
That's the original reference gentlemen so the allusion maybe 'Pav's Paving Provides Path...Pav Paves Premiership Path..etc..'which could qualify as metaphor,misnomer,adjectival clause,bludgeoning the English language.....best get ImperialPurple to adjudicate!

I just put the Paving down to a typo. I may have missed the subtle nuance if theGav56 did it on purpose.

If Pav is paving the premiership path, I will be pleased as punch.

Didn't he have a bit of a stinker against Adelaide last year?

I said his last two which includes the Geelong Final.
The Adelaide game he was moving like Walter Brennan.
Definitely should not have been playing.

pretty late with this. already been said.
It's what happens when you work for a living.