Mega Thread TRAINING REPORTS

Are they training everyday?
I thought i remembered hearing Lyon say something about doing extra training sessions leading up to the finals(month ago)

Maybe they are struggling with the workload and this is part of the reason we have not looked that good ever since the mid season break.
Or maybe its just the players got ahead of themselves and each have just been easing off on the effort slightly and not doing what got us to where we are.

They have finished the extra work, according to the press conference after the Derby. I wonder what it actually included.

Are they training everyday?
I thought i remembered hearing Lyon say something about doing extra training sessions leading up to the finals(month ago)

Maybe they are struggling with the workload and this is part of the reason we have not looked that good ever since the mid season break.
Or maybe its just the players got ahead of themselves and each have just been easing off on the effort slightly and not doing what got us to where we are.

I have to say I hadn't noticed a drop off in effort, to me it still looks like they are playing like trojans.
Maybe the overtraining thing is biting.
Add that to the loss of key key players and the fact that our game plan seems to have been worked out and we are getting easier to play against, and that would explain why we have had a crap month by our standards.

I have to say I hadn't noticed a drop off in effort, to me it still looks like they are playing like trojans.
Maybe the overtraining thing is biting.
Add that to the loss of key key players and the fact that our game plan seems to have been worked out and we are getting easier to play against, and that would explain why we have had a crap month by our standards.

Nice to finally have some standards though? It's only taken us a couple of decades ;) ish.

Those that didn't end up coming to training today didn't miss much. The guys didn't come onto the field until 10.00am and when they did it was only to have a light stretch and a bit of a kick.

The WAFL guys were the only ones really doing anything.

No sign of Mora or Subes, but Pav, Sandi, Ballaz and Crozier just ran laps today.

Luke McPharlin ventured out on the track for a very light jog before leaving soon after.

Nat Fyfe and Chris Mayne had a couple of shots at goal and then that was it, training was over.

I expect they will have another light run tomorrow before doing match sims on Thursday.

Those that didn't end up coming to training today didn't miss much. The guys didn't come onto the field until 10.00am and when they did it was only to have a light stretch and a bit of a kick.

No sign of Mora or Subes, but Pav, Sandi, Ballaz and Crozier just ran laps today.

Luke McPharlin ventured out on the track for a very light jog before leaving soon after.

Nat Fyfe and Chris Mayne had a couple of shots at goal and then that was it, training was over.

I expect they will have another light run tomorrow before doing match sims on Thursday.
I think the light training is a good thing, even though I want more from them :eek:
Hopefully this week its a heap of recovery/massage/yoga/physio behind close doors with a big session Thursday to work out who is fit.

Can someone be on Crichton watch for me this Thursday? :thumbsu::rainbow::footy:

I think the light training is a good thing, even though I want more from them :eek:
Hopefully this week its a heap of recovery/massage/yoga/physio behind close doors with a big session Thursday to work out who is fit.

Can someone be on Crichton watch for me this Thursday? :thumbsu::rainbow::footy:

No sign of "J.C." (as he known to many of his supporters) today.

I would have thought that he would have trained with the WAFL guys today

Nice to finally have some standards though? It's only taken us a couple of decades ;) ish.
Amazing isn't it? I had a chat with Luke McPharlin the other day at a social thing (he's very gracious with people who only want to bend his ear about footy). His words were that they, the senior players considered themselves professionals until Ross came and they realised they weren't and had never been.
Doesn't get any clearer than that!

My boss wouldn't give me the day off, might be able to Thurs.

Do they do anything at all on Fri? That's the best chance for me.

Amazing isn't it? I had a chat with Luke McPharlin the other day at a social thing (he's very gracious with people who only want to bend his ear about footy). His words were that they, the senior players considered themselves professionals until Ross came and they realised they weren't and had never been.
Doesn't get any clearer than that!

This is quite a quote.

Yes, its quite damming on past football departments and a ringing endorsement of Coach Lyon's attention to detail. His exact words were something like, we thought we were professional but when Ross arrived we realised we weren't. He is loving life under Ross. They really want to finish their careers on a high. Won't be from lack of effort by him, Pav, Sandi, Mundy, MJ, Duff if we don't lift a cup in the next few years.
Disclaimer. I feel a bit uncomfortable revealing details of a personal conversation in what was essentially a social setting but there were others present and listening and its not like he was revealing club secrets, just a personal opinion. He was open and gracious about how much they love what Ross has brought to the club and he certainly didn't criticise anyone from past regimes except by implication in the comparison. Please don't repeat this stuff to non tragics, I sort of consider the people dedicated enough to trawl the boards here are not necessarily entitled but will be pleased to hear these things which is why I've chosen to repeat it.

Yes, its quite damming on past football departments and a ringing endorsement of Coach Lyon's attention to detail. His exact words were something like, we thought we were professional but when Ross arrived we realised we weren't. He is loving life under Ross. They really want to finish their careers on a high. Won't be from lack of effort by him, Pav, Sandi, Mundy, MJ, Duff if we don't lift a cup in the next few years.
Disclaimer. I feel a bit uncomfortable revealing details of a personal conversation in what was essentially a social setting but there were others present and listening and its not like he was revealing club secrets, just a personal opinion. He was open and gracious about how much they love what Ross has brought to the club and he certainly didn't criticise anyone from past regimes except by implication in the comparison. Please don't repeat this stuff to non tragics, I sort of consider the people dedicated enough to trawl the boards here are not necessarily entitled but will be pleased to hear these things which is why I've chosen to repeat it.

A bit late for you to be saying that. Its on the net now where anyone can see it and there are plenty of non-freo supporters that trawl through this thread specifically.

Don't sweat it mate. It's not exactly breaking news. High skinfolds, poor on field performances and poor player development have haunted us in the past. But thankfully no longer.

yeah, it's not like it isn't something we didn't already suspect anyway, given the way the club has turned around in pretty much every facet since ross came along. nice to hear that the players are revelling in the gauntlet being thrown down to them, though.

I'm pretty sure I heard an interview with an ex-player (might have been Bell off vague memory?) who said something to the same effect. Obviously he's not part of the scene now, but he got wind of what you heard from Elvis one way or another and indicated that what Ross has brought is a step up in accountability and professionalism than when he was around.

Thanks guys, yeah, its not like its groundbreaking stuff. I just felt a bit guilty repeating a conversation but I guess the horse has bolted.

Well as the horse has already bolted, any good news on his calf EShed, like he is coming back 2 weeks early? :)

Thanks guys, yeah, its not like its groundbreaking stuff. I just felt a bit guilty repeating a conversation but I guess the horse has bolted.

I can understand how you feel but I have heard McPharlin say this a couple of times, the last time was on SEN this year. On that occasion, he said he has never played under a coach that had such high standards and made players accountable.

I wonder what went wrong on Sunday then?

I know exactly where E Shed is coming from when he asks not to repeat certain things. I have a Freo member mate who will whinge and moan to all and sundry (including wrangles) that we took Pitt over Darling. He's bloody relentless.

And I tell him to shut up about it when wrangles are around - discuss the topic among Freo faithful if you will, but never give the slime more ammunition against our club. I hate it!

I know exactly where E Shed is coming from when he asks not to repeat certain things. I have a Freo member mate who will whinge and moan to all and sundry (including wrangles) that we took Pitt over Darling. He's bloody relentless.

And I tell him to shut up about it when wrangles are around - discuss the topic among Freo faithful if you will, but never give the slime more ammunition against our club. I hate it!

I know West Coast fans are stupid. But even they are smart enough to know that Pitt over Darling was a profound stuff up. I don't think they need to be told.

I know West Coast fans are stupid. But even they are smart enough to know that Darling over Pitt was a profound stuff up. I don't think they need to be told.

Way off topic - Yakka man I love the new avatar. Great show. Shame they cancelled it :(

The horse has bolted? Quick,everyone in Hammy Hill, look out your window!

Now back to the greatest tread on the Internet.