Training Training Thread 2023

Wouldnt be surprised if Dawson Creek and Megsy Drury get a look in too, especially the highlights and track reports about Drury’s skills and smarts..
Yes, backline depth is going to be huge this year for us.

The VFL back 6 in Round 1 could be

B. Drury Dawson Young
HB. Perez Bonar Archer

Yes, backline depth is going to be huge this year for us.

The VFL back 6 in Round 1 could be

B. Drury Dawson Young
HB. Perez Bonar Archer
Isn’t it Leinhart from St. Kilda that was drafted as a key defender/coach for the VFL?
Inevitably one or two will be injured so he’ll be very handy. Would play as a key back regardless.

Brayden George is an 18yo built like a 25yo, I really wish he was up for selection this year

Believe it or not, thats all genetics too… Prior to being at the club he hadn’t put in stacks of gym time. Just a tough, stocky country lad!

From GL again

Track Watch 10/2/23
Focused Friday.
After the big hit out on Wednesday today was all about refining game play details.

Starting off was a drill with players grouped handballing to each other then a feed out handball to a coach out the back who then kicks long into the forward line, a forward/defender knocks the ball down. The group in the meantime have streamed forward towards the contest and either crumbed for a goal opportunity or defenders run it out. Excellent skills work to hopefully see a better outcome from fast kicks inside 50 during the season.

Other drills were ruck patterns.
Kicking out of defence to a pack.
This was interesting as there appears to be a "Clarko's Cluster" going on where 3 or 4 players cluster together around 50 with their defenders (so a pack of 8 or so players) but with some good emphasis on blocking and fast breakaways from the cluster. This fast breakaway seems to be in two directions giving the player kicking to the pack some options.

Also there was the ongoing drill of a player running into space behind a contest and the ball being kicked over the top of the contest to the player running free. This looks to like it will be a regular ploy during the season to help break up structures.

Wardlaw looking strong in rehab group and showing no signs of the ankle issue.
George working hard on the sidelines was good to see.
Still no Comben.

That's about it. The boys finished early at around 10:30 as the sun had some real kick in it.

Not the most interesting of pics today. Short session, not many exciting drills

View attachment 1604121View attachment 1604122View attachment 1604123View attachment 1604124
Thought I'd chip in and let you guys know that apparently Chom hasn't been around cos he's got/had gastro...

If he was, we wouldn’t have been able to draft him as late as we did.
yeah, things will be coming together nicely.....this year getting Will Phil and Cunners back, (plus Logue, Tucker et al) is a big boost.....but next year, with a year under wardlaw and sheezels belts, and George in the system is like getting a top 10 draft pick, plus ours and Poort Adelie first rounders, struth ruth.

An indictment on how we generally assess players that none of those metrics actually relate to defending (you could argue intercept marks do but I don't think they should unless it's a contested 1 on 1 intercept against your direct opponent)
Jack Ziebell and Daniel Rich AFL Stats Comparison

There is a whisker (stat wise) between Ziebs and the AA running HB.

An indictment on how we generally assess players that none of those metrics actually relate to defending (you could argue intercept marks do but I don't think they should unless it's a contested 1 on 1 intercept against your direct opponent)

This might sound a bit counter intuitive, but the role of a rebounding defender is really to do as little defence and as much offence as possible. It’s pretty hard to successfully set up a counterattack from defence when you’re in the midst of the contest.

Defence in the modern game is really all about systems and structures - having a 1 on 1 defensive situation these days is almost indicative of a defensive breakdown. Those structures are based around channeling the incoming football to where you have the numerical advantage, winning the footy as a result and then feeding the ball out to the rebounding defender who (hopefully) was able to keep clear of the contest. That’s the goal.

A classic example of that defensive breakdown was the game against Geelong last where Hawkins and Cameron tore us apart. The defensive structures (and midfield) fell apart which led to too many 1 on 1’s. Our defenders won quite a few of them, but they’re not going to win all of them by a long shot, and losing them means goals. Hence we got belted. Whereas down the other end, the Cats’ structures were impenetrable- they didn’t have to worry about 1 on 1’s cos it barely ever happened.

It’s a bit like how you have defensive forwards (a la Kayne Turner) whose job is to prevent those rebounding defenders from clearing the ball, and aiming to keep the ball inside 50. Measuring them on goals kicked is t really the right metric - yeah it’s nice but their real job is to blunt the other team’s rebounders, which leads to goals for teammates.

They’re trying to get Dawson to put on weight. He’s eating like a horse, but struggling to gain weight.

I rate him and think he’s a chance to play R1.
Good to hear. I too reckon he is a sneaky chance at a reasonable rookie / late bloomer career.

This might sound a bit counter intuitive, but the role of a rebounding defender is really to do as little defence and as much offence as possible. It’s pretty hard to successfully set up a counterattack from defence when you’re in the midst of the contest.

Defence in the modern game is really all about systems and structures - having a 1 on 1 defensive situation these days is almost indicative of a defensive breakdown. Those structures are based around channeling the incoming football to where you have the numerical advantage, winning the footy as a result and then feeding the ball out to the rebounding defender who (hopefully) was able to keep clear of the contest. That’s the goal.

A classic example of that defensive breakdown was the game against Geelong last where Hawkins and Cameron tore us apart. The defensive structures (and midfield) fell apart which led to too many 1 on 1’s. Our defenders won quite a few of them, but they’re not going to win all of them by a long shot, and losing them means goals. Hence we got belted. Whereas down the other end, the Cats’ structures were impenetrable- they didn’t have to worry about 1 on 1’s cos it barely ever happened.

It’s a bit like how you have defensive forwards (a la Kayne Turner) whose job is to prevent those rebounding defenders from clearing the ball, and aiming to keep the ball inside 50. Measuring them on goals kicked is t really the right metric - yeah it’s nice but their real job is to blunt the other team’s rebounders, which leads to goals for teammates.
Anecdotally I've heard Taz at Richmond has been struggling to adapt to their 2.5 defenders on 3 as he's used to defending exclusively 1 on 1. You can see it if you attend a Richmond game.

Forecast for the Fan day in 7 days at Arden St is 37 - yikes.

The intra club starts early (at 10) but it will be a hot one!
Ay Carumba!!! Slip Slop Slap!!!
Boys hopefully decked out in the new legionnaires caps. Clarko you know will be leading from the front. Tried to find a photo. This was the best one I could find.

Attachments

• 33D2F951-1712-4F34-B0B4-78CD0205EA7A.jpeg
    33D2F951-1712-4F34-B0B4-78CD0205EA7A.jpeg
    116.8 KB · Views: 131
I got a nice surprise while walking across Fawkner Park this morning at 7.20. I saw a bunch of about 20 guys doing pushups. It turned out to be NM players.