Training Training Thread 2023

Well the likes of Bonar, Perez, Young, Turner, Walker have all made a decent fist of not being much good at it either.
We will see, hey aways to go yet before rd 1.
Very harsh on Young he was one of our best players last season. A bit harsh on Perez too, whilst he doesn't have the same sample size as Young have a look at him in our last match of the 2022 season, he was excellent if he can produce that week in week out he'll play a lot of games.

oh yeah I don't know but I will enquire, I gather Taylor is injured and Hall.

Oh on Wardlaw - we're currently lengthening his hamstrings. I am sure he will be mighty fine and I think a 6ft 7 Wardlaw could be handy

It has been a great couple of days for us North folk.

I was at training and it was good to see Wardlaw relaxed and taking it all in

View attachment 1599339

Explains the size of his shorts.

Yes. To be honest I don't think coming back from injury is a huge excuse. Larkey covers ground but he's not quick at all
Ah cool, agreed, but McGovern and Barrass work best at setting up behind the ball, I doubt you’d have a chance to do that when the midfield consists of people you’ve met in that carpark. we’ll never have the luxury of playing a team like that in the afl again.

That game was an abomination, looking back Nobel should’ve been walked after that for not preparing the boys for the season. The warning signs were there. :-(

W
Yeah, he needs an intervention from his mates wearing our colours.

Jy, Luke, Cunners, Ben Mack.

Sit him down, put a couple of hard questions to him and a couple of hard truths, ask him directly wtf is actually going on.

Unless he fesses up, he won't make it either professionally or personally.
Who's to say that hasn't already happened......think back to that scene of goldy and him on the bench last season etc. Club dismissed it as working through some personal issues and at the time seemed a very long time to be grieving his grandmother.

W

Who's to say that hasn't already happened......think back to that scene of goldy and him on the bench last season etc. Club dismissed it as working through some personal issues and at the time seemed a very long time to be grieving his grandmother.

Poor Goldy. He’ll be forever pictured then and when Fabian Jnr had one of his dummy spits.

Very harsh on Young he was one of our best players last season. A bit harsh on Perez too, whilst he doesn't have the same sample size as Young have a look at him in our last match of the 2022 season, he was excellent if he can produce that week in week out we've got a ripper.
Will never understand the potting of Young. Was one of our better players last year and showed a great deal of improvement. He's in my best 22.

Ah cool, agreed, but McGovern and Barrass work best at setting up behind the ball, I doubt you’d have a chance to do that when the midfield consists of people you’ve met in that carpark. we’ll never have the luxury of playing a team like that in the afl again.

That game was an abomination, looking back Nobel should’ve been walked after that game for not preparing the boys for the season. The warning signs were there. :-(
Fair. That one honestly was a candidate for the most appalling game of our season. If we hadn't had two 100 point losses I'd probably nominate it

Seriously though here we are with our prized pick and he needs longer hamstrings, tell me that hasn't disaster written all over it.
Strangely I have faith in Clarko, Rutten, Monkey and Viney to see the bigger picture and not roll him out week 1 in the midfield

Seriously though here we are with our prized pick and he needs longer hamstrings, tell me that hasn't disaster written all over it.

You were ahead of your time with your excuse though.

"No thanks mate I'm saving myself for the lucrative webcam market in 35 years".

Sheezel to take TT's spot down back.
Any truth to that? If so, sounds like a Daicos type introduction to the big time, in which case I might be forced to loan sportsbet some interest free dough till later in the year.

Goater wasn't great today apparently.

Think our back six rd 1 will be close to this

McDonald McKay Bonar
Perez Dawson ( yikes) Sheezel

Bench chances for Hall & Young.

Seems both Logue and Corr to miss through injury
Black flank hey… get on Sheez for the Norwich Rising Star.

Who’s ‘flying’, injury watch and role tweaks: Mega pre-season update on every AFL club​

From Fox Footy

NORTH MELBOURNE

Positional changes:
Don’t be surprised if Cam Zurhaar has occasional stints on the ball this year, while Ben Cunnington might spend some time in the forward line — although he told reporters last month he still believes he has ample to give in the midfield. New recruit Griffin Logue should return to the backline after spending the back-half of last season playing as a key forward and, occasionally, a pinch-hit ruck at the Dockers.

Who’s ‘flying’ on the track: Is this the year Will Phillips announces himself to North fans? After being limited to three VFL games in 2022 due to glandular fever, a fit Phillips has had an excellent summer, to the point where he’ll be right in the Round 1 mix. So too will fellow top-10 draftee Harry Sheezel, who’s already impressed with his forward craft in his first pre-season. Elsewhere veteran Jack Ziebell has trimmed down after handing over the captaincy, while Ben McKay’s leadership has impressed.

Injury watch: The Roos are taking a slow and steady approach with pick No. 4 George Wardlaw after several hamstring complaints. Another addition to the line-up is Darcy Tucker, with the Fremantle recruit racing the clock to be fit for the opening round after knee surgery. Griffin Logue, recruited along with Tucker, dealt with osteitis pubis in the back-end of 2022, but is working towards a return to full training. Aidan Corr is also set for a return to full training this month.

You were ahead of your time with your excuse though.

"No thanks mate I'm saving myself for the lucrative webcam market in 35 years".

I was sitting at work minding my own business ( just before Christmas) as I have learned to do that, the hard way. a 24 yr old employee, worker, oh female colleague that's the one I was looking for.

Sat herself down next to me and asked if I had a OF page. And that she was thinking of starting one, and what did I think of that?

True story that. the colleague left just last week and sent an email saying bye to the team that she worked with/in and BCC'd me in, as I'm not in that team. I was the only outsider I'd suggest. Complete with her personal phone number.

Yep

1675397715333.png

No idea how well he'll play the role, but clean hands, skillfulness and creativity sound like pretty good qualities for a HBF to me.
Yeah they are. They are just better utilised in the forward half, especially when he was trailed there as a junior and did no good.