Training Training updates 2026.

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

yeah..... those stats are about what he does WITH the ball. I have never held any concerns about that. But I do have big concerns about Pendles being exposed to the team's detriment when his opponents get the ball.

Every coach in the league will try to isolate and expose him whenever we push him back into defence. Its the obvious thing to do.

I would have preferred to see the greatest Collingwood player of all time retire at the end of a season with all due fanfare and celebration, rather than being pushed out of the side part way through a season, which is now what I expect to happen.
Why are you acting like every team doesn’t have a distributor like this on their defensive line? Do you even watch games?

Sully would give it his best 😂
I know a lot of people think he won't make the best 23 this season but I reckon it might not be so easy to dislodge him.:think:
Hes limited but hes a determined little bugger. Cant fault his application. Got a hairline that would give a legoman an inferiority complex too

Why are you acting like every team doesn’t have a distributor like this on their defensive line? Do you even watch games?
Every team? A really slow 38 year old? I must not have been watching - just as you suggest.

Despite what you may think, I love Pendles. I have the number 10 on a jumper that I bought in the 2009 season. I never thought anyone would overtake Peter Daicos in my affections but Pendles is neck and neck with him. BUT, I hate seeing him shown up and embarrassed by lesser players, who can only dream of being the player that he was at his peak. We've already seen it several times in each of the past two seasons. I think we'll see it more frequently this season. That's why I wish he had retired.

Anyway, I hope your assessment is more correct than mine. I genuinely do. I look forward to you calling me out about it - not that you'll need much encouragement!

Every team? A really slow 38 year old? I must not have been watching - just as you suggest.

Despite what you may think, I love Pendles. I have the number 10 on a jumper that I bought in the 2009 season. I never thought anyone would overtake Peter Daicos in my affections but Pendles is neck and neck with him. BUT, I hate seeing him shown up and embarrassed by lesser players, who can only dream of being the player that he was at his peak. We've already seen it several times in each of the past two seasons. I think we'll see it more frequently this season. That's why I wish he had retired.

Anyway, I hope your assessment is more correct than mine. I genuinely do. I look forward to you calling me out about it - not that you'll need much encouragement!
Your concerns are extremely valid. He’s always been slow as a wet week our GOAT but his guile and field positioning as he’s reading the game quicker than virtually every other player out there is what has made him a legend. He’ll adapt to whatever role he’s given and will kill himself working on any deficiencies that he gets exposed with. It’s all he knows. Preparation, preparation, preparation and then some more planning and preparation.

Wet games....all equal some with class

OK, in what position(s) would you play Pendles against Brisbane? Below was their midfield and forward players from the 2025 GF (with Levi Ashcroft on the interchange).

View attachment 2529675
My take would be whoever it was that Jaicos was responsible for in the PF.
Zorko, Whitfield, Amon, Rioli, Sinclair etc. every teams grid these days is setup to cater for a weak link. Our only issue will be if we start to stack these types. An example might be if we have Pendles back there, he’s alongside Jaicos and Houston is also back there in the type of form he ended 2025.

There's so much to like in this write-up but gee, Pendles is a real worry.

There's no doubt that Pendles' brain and foot-skills remain elite but his glacial slowness is a big liability and very difficult to hide. He can probably still play short bursts in the centre square, or maybe somewhere in the forward line but he could leak a lot of goals in defence. Opposition sides will certainly try to isolate him against faster, more agile opponents.

IMO Pendles should have already retired but now we're stuck trying to nurse him to Boomer Harvey's games played record. If he gets there, I hope he hangs up his superhero cape shortly thereafter.
I really think he should be largely in the middle still.
I don't see long periods in the back line ending well for the reason you mentioned.
His lack of overhead marking/lack of pace makes most F50 roles a problem.
Sink or swim in the mid rotation, I reckon, and I'd bet 'swim'.

Lots of love being thrown around today by this board! Love it see it.

Can't wait until someone suggests McStay should play at Full Back this season so we can get stuck in to each other :hearteyes:

I think we need a good ‘resting’ argument. As in, who should be ‘rested’ for round 0?

I’m leaning towards Cameron - the SOO game in the heat in WA will have done him no favours.

View attachment 2529623

+ 75% disposal efficiency and averaging 5.9 score involvements per game.

Doesn’t strike me as someone being nursed to a games record. Still brings heaps of value.
I think he had a pretty good season last year but the DE does not surprise me because he tends to play a role where he gets free a lot and sort of sets the game up so he is not delivering under the same pressure as say Nick who's elite but mainly under lots of pressure. You could say the same thing about somebody like Long who is not a great kick though good by hand but being always under pressure does not help. If you are a mid drifting forward you would expect to have at least 5 on average because quite often even defenders can manage 3 score involvements per game. Goal involvements maybe tell more as scoring chains for a point happen a lot. Jusr my opinion.

OK, in what position(s) would you play Pendles against Brisbane? Below was their midfield and forward players from the 2025 GF (with Levi Ashcroft on the interchange).

View attachment 2529675
We lost the PF due to 4 fwd 50 goals from stoppage due to poor setup. With the SETUP General missing obviously it cost us. So despite his lack of pace Pendles’ footy IQ more than compensates for poor pace and he’s smart enough to adapt if Coaches try to play through him, as you fear.

Not sure if you’re being wilfully ignorant here but I suspect you know exactly what I meant. A player who’s largely unaccountable defensively but is an excellent distributor. Were you not watching 36 year old Dayne Zorko for the last 2 years?

He’s not going to get embarrassed by anyone, he’ll play his role and the defensive unit will work around him just like they did for year 1 Nick, just like they did with Noble (albeit he was more run and carry than distributor) and they will do it for Pendles.

Pendles was an absolute freak at his peak. The last couple of seasons at worst have shown he’s human but he’s been far from embarrassed at any point. Stop being so dramatic.

Not sure if you’re being wilfully ignorant here but I suspect you know exactly what I meant. A player who’s largely unaccountable defensively but is an excellent distributor. Were you not watching 36 year old Dayne Zorko for the last 2 years?

He’s not going to get embarrassed by anyone, he’ll play his role and the defensive unit will work around him just like they did for year 1 Nick, just like they did with Noble (albeit he was more run and carry than distributor) and they will do it for Pendles.

Pendles was an absolute freak at his peak. The last couple of seasons at worst have shown he’s human but he’s been far from embarrassed at any point. Stop being so dramatic.
If Pendles though he couldn't contribute, he would have retired.
It will help the young guys to see a legend in action.

Pretty underwhelming practice match tbh, with the windy conditions and so many big names out.

Thought buller was good, great goal from the boundary in blustery conditions.

Saxena again proved he was worth the pick.

Membrey will be v important for us this year. Good forward craft, good mark, covers ground, and a great set shot. Motivation looks high to extend his career.

HDM surprised me with his coverage of ground and possessions. Still minimal hurt factor at afl level, but is putting in the big ones.

Steene good, and did his chances no harm of selection as the third forward / relief ruck.

Tyan clean again, but not as prevalent as in training sim. Looks like he needs to build his tank before garnering a senior midfield spot.

Elliott and Josh looking a class above.

Lippa carrying on his form from previous weeks.

Hayes also looking good. Zippy players like him crucial, as our midfield and mature players lack a bit of pace. Delivers v well into F50. Nice vision and disposal on the run.

Long looks primed. Runs all day

Would’ve liked to see West do more. Showed good vision and decision making again, but was overshadowed by more experienced forwards.

Zac mac showed nice signs. Needs to work on his kicking, but marking / timing looks v good.

Cochran still looks a little hampered by his niggle. Played more confidently prior to the scare.

Beau hopefully ready for round 1, but interruptions haven’t been great. His pace and hardness around the ball so important.

Ryan did quite well, but again no hurt factor. V minimal if any progression since arriving. Sad for the kid, but seems maxed out on his potential.

Allan got busy and even had a couple of bounces. But lacks composure / skills at the coal face and will likely be exposed - in the near term at least - against senior opposition midfields. Hopefully a late bloomer

Disappointed no Swadling unless someone can correct me. Injury list is a worry…

Defence looked good also. Doesn’t make for a great spectacle, but the intensity and focus that has been on show throughout preseason was there again. Prob helps that players know what the opposing team are trying to do…

All of this indicates to me that we are heading for a few lean years:, we’ll be okay this year, but the dropoff has come. Quite a few sneered at the idea we might be heading of a cliff but let’s reframe it as a spiral staircase. Transition year. We’ll know when we face GC, Brisbane, Dockers. Thing I’m looking forward to is the new generation getting some game time. And then hopefully getting some low end draft picks - 3 in the top 20 preferably.

Settle down everyone. Now, who did the homework?

He won’t be ineffective, but that won’t stop him from being involved in some embarrassing moments where nimbler players expose his pace and aerial inability.