Transfer discussion thread

• Thread starter Thread starter chef

The more I read the posts from Liverpool fans, the more it sounds as though they are actually trying to convince themselves that Coutinho is staying.I recognise these traits with Bale a few seasons ago. The upshot is, when Barca come knocking its very difficult to keep your player focused on staying at your club, especially when said player is of Latino origin

If you've followed some of these reports, Barcelona have "finalized a deal to sign Coutinho in the next 48 hours" on 4 separate occasions in the last month.

Because Coutinho and his entourage have been so quiet on this (unusual in itself if he is completely set on moving) I've no idea what's going to happen either way to be honest, and I'm probably similar to most journalists in that respect. English journos are being briefed by LFC, Spanish journos by Barça, the Sun & Tancredi Palmeri by no-one, and their perspective on the outcome of this scenario probably reflects that.

I do think we'll know a lot about FSG's ambition as owners by how this all plays out.

My wife, who has no interest in football whatsoever, just told me that Coutinho is going to Barcelona.

"Are you going to have a tantrum about it like you did when your boyfriend Torres left?"
"F*** off."

Divorce papers

My wife, who has no interest in football whatsoever, just told me that Coutinho is going to Barcelona.

"Are you going to have a tantrum about it like you did when your boyfriend Torres left?"
"F*** off."

My fiancee got a similar response when she suggested I was shit at FIFA the other day.

They know right where to hit us.

yeh i confirmed that dembele from dortm is going there.
possibility cout gors to barca for 150m next season

In all seriousness, I can see Coutinho going over to Spain next season too, not this current one. I think there's no real time for Liverpool to find a suitable replacement for him and it could prove to be catastrophic for them if they sell Coutinho and don't find a replacement. There will be lots spoken about this transfer in the coming weeks now that Barcelona are cashed up. I can wait until September.

"F*** off."
Didn't pick you to be married ;)

My fiancee got a similar response when she suggested I was shit at FIFA the other day.

They know right where to hit us.
I tell my missus to **** off when she tells me to "turn it off if you're going to get mad".

They've got no idea.

Didn't pick you to be married ;)

I tell my missus to **** off when she tells me to "turn it off if you're going to get mad".

They've got no idea.
Haha I wasn't even playing, was saying my mate was coming over for a few games after the footy.

She's not entirely wrong. :(

IMG_8629.jpg

Sounds similar to our situation with Alexis. Player happy/wanting to go but club holding firm...for now.

Pretty much any player would be happy to join Barca unless playing for Real or Bayern so that's no surprise. Good to see Coutinho isn't motivated by money like his mate at PSG - this despite Neymar trying to convince him to move there!!

Coutinho sounds a lot more settled than Sanchez.

Whilst I agree, Sanchez hasn't kicked up a fuss to leave at all. He fully accepted that it's our decision entirely, just as Coutinho appears to have done with Liverpool despite obviously wanting to move. Wouldn't say it's too dissimilar in that regard.

Funnily, Coutinho is probably the more likely of the two to leave.

Whilst I agree, Sanchez hasn't kicked up a fuss to leave at all. He fully accepted that it's our decision entirely, just as Coutinho appears to have done with Liverpool despite obviously wanting to move. Wouldn't say it's too dissimilar in that regard.

Funnily, Coutinho is probably the more likely of the two to leave.

Sounds like Sanchez or his agent pretty actively looked for a move but no one met his wage demands or Arsenal's fee demand.

You think City wouldn't have met his wage demands? Haha. He's on £250k at the moment - City would have 6 players on that or more. Sanchez wanting £400k was simply to price Bayern out, which he did. The sticking point was the fee but we told City to gagf'd after a £50m bid and that (seemingly) is that.

Barca bid £70m+ for Coutinho and Pool gave them the same answer. Same same.

You think City wouldn't have met his wage demands? Haha. He's on £250k at the moment - City would have 6 players on that or more.

The sticking point was the fee but we told City to gagf'd after a £50m bid and that (seemingly) is that.

Barca bid £70m+ for Coutinho and Pool gave them the same answer. Same same.

I did say wage demands OR fee demand. As in no team could meet both.

City *could* easily meet both, but we told them not to bother. Wenger simply doesn't want to sell to them so that seems the issue - not the financials. I reckon £60m from PSG/Juve would get it done, for example, just not from City.

Edit: what I'm saying is that Sanchez would have a price and wage that 4-5 clubs could meet. But we've told the club he wants to go to that we're not interested in selling to them. As for the other clubs - PSG have their own targets and Juve/Bayern probably don't need him. Barca have been there and Madrid just isn't feasible.