Transfer Rumours Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bourky23

Looks like were gonna get close to 6 million for Zamora (Sunderland rumored to be pushing the price up). Thats another great bit of business. Knock us for our buys but look at our sales. All have been fantastic. I mean we sold a second choice LB last year in Konchesky for 3 million....

I read £5-6m for Zamora and Pantsil, still ridiculous money for the two of them.

I'd rather Zamora for $5M over say Michael Chopra for $5M. At least Zamora has a track record of scoring goals in the premier league when he's fit.

Still I'm not complaining about the price at all.

Now flog off Ljungberg to Roma or Fiorentina for 1 or 2M, LBM for 2M, and that's 10M to spend right there.

4-5M on Eidur, and the rest on quality youngsters found by Nani (unless we could get Behrami still).

I'd rather Zamora for $5M over say Michael Chopra for $5M. At least Zamora has a track record of scoring goals in the premier league when he's fit.

I'd rather keep the cash instead of waste it on either player.

We're about to sign Ben Haim for £5m, a few million too much for someone I hope will be a backup only.

I'd rather keep the cash instead of waste it on either player.

We're about to sign Ben Haim for £5m, a few million too much for someone I hope will be a backup only.

Im sure you said the same thing about Kenwyne Jones too as did most of us but the facts are without Jones Sunderland would be in the CCC atm

How can you compare a then unproven quantity in Jones to two proven average players in Zamora and Chopra?

Another bizarre Embers analogy.

How can you compare a then unproven quantity in Jones to two proven average players in Zamora and Chopra?

Hey, as soon as I read about Manchester City paying 5 million for a very, very bad (not average) defender I ignored that piece of stupidity.

Honestly, he has terrible defensive awareness, poor positioning, he's slow and he makes mistakes.

Good one Hughesy! Might want to slip that chequebook back in your pocket mate. You're clueless.

How can you compare Chopra and Zamora? I mean cmon. If you wanted to compare Zamora to someone Kenwyne Jones would be the closest in terms of the level of talent.

Zamoras achieved a hell of alot. He was our leading goalscorer in 2006/07 even with Tevez at the club. He had a bad year last year due to injury but the two years before that he managed 10+ goals each of the 2 years in the EPL along with 4 goals in the play off finals for us the year beforehand which brought us back into the Premier League.

Chopra has 7 goals in 60 EPL appearances compared to Zamora having around 24 in 79.

Zamoras at about the same level as Harewood id say who we sold for 4.5 million and is millions of miles ahead of Chopra. Quite simply Zamora has proven a fair bit and is worthy of leading the front line for a club like Fulham. Just like Kenwyne Jones is worthy of leading the front line for Sunderland. Chopra isnt worthy of leading the front line for Milwall...

Im sure you said the same thing about Kenwyne Jones too as did most of us but the facts are without Jones Sunderland would be in the CCC atm

I said the same about Bellamy too, and Chopra, and Kamara. 3/4 aint bad (and personally I think Jones is only good enough for a role in a lower premier league team).

Chopra has 7 goals in 60 EPL appearances compared to Zamora having around 24 in 79.

Try 17 in 95 appearances. Chopra has 7 from 54 appearances, not that much difference in scoring rates.

Zamora has alot of sub appearances though. He never scores as a sub hence why hes being sold. When he starts he bangs them in. IMO the key stat is

27 games started, 11 goals and 5 assists. That was his last full season before last year where he barely strung 5 minutes together at a time.

Dont ask me where you pulled 17 from. He scored 17 goals combined in his first two years up with us.

Zamora has alot of sub appearances though. He never scores as a sub hence why hes being sold. When he starts he bangs them in. IMO the key stat is

27 games started, 11 goals and 5 assists. That was his last full season before last year where he barely strung 5 minutes together at a time.

Is that really the key stat? Perhaps Fulham should spend £5m on Ricketts, he had a half decent season once too. And I think you'll find that Chopra has plenty of appearances off the bench as well. A sure sign maybe that neither player is good enough to hold down a starting place in a mediocre premier league team.

Dont ask me where you pulled 17 from. He scored 17 goals combined in his first two years up with us.

10 (6) 0 - Spurs 03/04
17 (17) 6 - West Ham 05/06
27 (5) 11 - West Ham 06/07
11 (2) 1 - West Ham 07/08

Actually 18 from 95 appearances. I'm presuming you weren't trying to compare Chopras premier league goals per appearance record with Zamora's record in all leagues, maybe you were.

Is that really the key stat? Perhaps Fulham should spend £5m on Ricketts, he had a half decent season once too. And I think you'll find that Chopra has plenty of appearances off the bench as well. A sure sign maybe that neither player is good enough to hold down a starting place in a mediocre premier league team.

10 (6) 0 - Spurs 03/04
17 (17) 6 - West Ham 05/06
27 (5) 11 - West Ham 06/07
11 (2) 1 - West Ham 07/08

Actually 18 from 95 appearances. I'm presuming you weren't trying to compare Chopras premier league goals per appearance record with Zamora's record in all leagues, maybe you were.

Yes, we had a bad year and he outscored Tevez and Harewood with ease aswell as setting up a few too. Last time he was fit he was good and like Jones hes worthy to lead the front line. He did it for us in the past. Unfortunately for him we have two set strikers who we spent alot of money on and so they are first choice. Bobby Z is to proud to sit on the bench and in all reality does his best work when he starts.

I think even you could admit. Zamora > Kamara > Chopra, Benjani has 22 goals in 85 appearances (most of them starts). You bought him on the basis of 6 good months of footy. Atleast Zamoras done it for a year.

Zamora, Kamara and Chopra are all (IMO) not good enough for anyone to pay £5m+. Who is better? who really cares.

Not sure what Benjani has to do with things, I've never claimed he was going to be a good signing, and I'll be happy if we sell him this summer having only spent £3.8m.

Zamora, Kamara and Chopra are all (IMO) not good enough for anyone to pay £5m+. Who is better? who really cares.

Not sure what Benjani has to do with things, I've never claimed he was going to be a good signing, and I'll be happy if we sell him this summer having only spent £3.8m.

If Benjani stays and makes 12 more appearances thats 5+ mill already. Im just saying that the striker cupboard is a bit bare atm and the reality is someone like Bobby Zamora is worth 5 million dollars. Whether you would or I would pay it is irrelevant. Club after club waste 5+ on what you deem ordinary strikers. Even your own club.

I'm not sure what you're trying to argue here. I'm not arguing that Benjani is a good signing, I never have argued that he was a good signing. I was strongly against the signing when it happened.

But whether he is, or he isn't it doesn't make signing Zamora for £5m a good deal, there is much better value about.

It's funny on some threads you seem to be going on about how well West Ham have done in getting £5m + on Zamora (something I agree with), now for the sake of argument you seem to be trying to justify why he's worth that much.

Strange.

I'm not sure what you're trying to argue here. I'm not arguing that Benjani is a good signing, I never have argued that he was a good signing. I was strongly against the signing when it happened.

But whether he is, or he isn't it doesn't make signing Zamora for £5m a good deal, there is much better value about.

It's funny on some threads you seem to be going on about how well West Ham have done in getting £5m + on Zamora (something I agree with), now for the sake of argument you seem to be trying to justify why he's worth that much.
Strange.

Its a good deal because hes gonna be replaced by Gudjohnsenn. If we just sold Bobby Z for 5 mill and no one else came in id be a bit annoyed because hes better then Coledinho.

Not arguing just stating hes underrated and doesnt deserve to be put in the same field as uber hacks like Chopra and Kamara.

Robbie Fowler heading to Blackburn according to Cardiff. Interesting signing, but I can't see it working out.

Got to feel sorry for Matt Derbyshire. He has to be leaving... Surely.

Santa Cruz
Roberts
McCarthy
Fowler
Derbyshire

One too many youd imagine for Blackburn. One of the Roberts or Derbyshire must be offski.

Robbie Fowler heading to Blackburn according to Cardiff. Interesting signing, but I can't see it working out.

Not that you can believe anything that comes out of Ridsdale's mouth but...“My understanding at this point is that we have reached agreement with Robbie on an extension to his contract with Cardiff City,” said Ridsdale. “We are hopeful we will be able to fully confirm that very shortly.”

Fowler will then cash in with a contract playing in Dubai.

Can't say I am upset about him not coming to Blackburn

Not that you can believe anything that comes out of Ridsdale's mouth but...“My understanding at this point is that we have reached agreement with Robbie on an extension to his contract with Cardiff City,” said Ridsdale. “We are hopeful we will be able to fully confirm that very shortly.”

Fowler will then cash in with a contract playing in Dubai.

Can't say I am upset about him not coming to Blackburn

It's on the official site that he's going to Rovers. I guess all will be revealed in time.

I can't see how a washed up striker will help Blackburn.

But anyway, if Fowler did sign for Blackburn, it'll mean that they'll race back up the United hate charts with the scouse twat and the Guv'nor in charge.