Transfer Rumours Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Bourky23

Jefferson Darcy. WHAT A MAN!!!. I cant believe those two dont know who he is. Its like asking the Pope "Whose god" and the pope replyin "Who"

eeeoohhh.

Mellberg didn't play central defence last season. Hardly, if at all.

so you've made a conclusive statement and exposed the very few, if any times you watched Villa play. because now you've provided evidence suggesting that your viewing frequency of Villa was scarce.

bad move FC. check mate. :)

the only thing that serves you is that your comment is based on generalisation and opinion and doesn't actually indicate any actual regular or even infrequent watching of Villa's matches.

facts be told you can't have seen villa play because Mellberg just didn't play there.
it was either right back, filling in or on the bench.

Laursen was fit the whole season. He was partnered by Knight at the start and Davies towards the end.

whether your comment is right or not is irrelevant. because Mellberg didn't play central defence last season so how can our central defence be weakened by losing someone who never played there?

Actually after posting that comment I realised he spent most of his time at Right Back, meh.

He did play a few games centrally though.

Finnan still isn't as good as Mellberg though, so that's a downgrade.

Who played alongside Laursen for most of last season then?

Actually after posting that comment I realised he spent most of his time at Right Back, meh.

The same player who will this year, Zat Knight. I still cant believe they decided Knight was a better player then Gary Cahill. I like the look of our defence for next year

Green
Behrami Upson Ferdinand McCartney

Noice

That is arguably/probably and in my opinion a true statement.

He did play central defence at Villa for like four years before that so it's a forgiveable oversight.

Insua close to joining the Barcodes on a year long loan.

It's good that he'll be playing premiership football, but not exactly the sort of club you want your young talent playing at. Especially as a defender.

I'd want a recall option as well. Aurelio will last about a month before he goes down with a season ending injury.

Insua close to joining the Barcodes on a year long loan.

It's good that he'll be playing premiership football, but not exactly the sort of club you want your young talent playing at. Especially as a defender.

I'd want a recall option as well. Aurelio will last about a month before he goes down with a season ending injury.

If we can keep the same back 4 for the whole season we're not actually that bad in defence.

Still need one more CB to partner Taylor I reckon. As much as you rate Faye. I and most importantly Kevin Keegan dont seem to (personally I think im more knowledgable then Kev but each to their own I spose :D )

Is that why he played every game he was available for under Keegan is it?

Well he was hardly blessed with options. Keegan was so impressed by his defensive options he signed some dude for free for 6 months just in case. (Diatta or something). You were interested in Dunne before he decided to stay at Citeh. I dont think you wanted to sign him to be a new glamour model for your new shirt launch. Either way we will see but IMO I wont be surprised to see another CB in with Faye on the bench.

The guy tries but hes still a headless chook.

Well he was hardly blessed with options. Keegan was so impressed by his defensive options he signed some dude for free for 6 months just in case. (Diatta or something). You were interested in Dunne before he decided to stay at Citeh. I dont think you wanted to sign him to be a new glamour model for your new shirt launch. Either way we will see but IMO I wont be surprised to see another CB in with Faye on the bench.

The guy tries but hes still a headless chook.

You have no idea about what good defenders are meant to be like obviously? He was pretty good throughout the whole season, although even I can admit that Taylor probably had the better of him after he came back from the ACN for some reason.

Doesn't mean Taylor is the better defender though.

He signed Diatta as COVER because we only had 3 central defenders when he came in. Not as a replacement to Faye.

We may well see a new central defender, we may not. It's not an overly pressing concern for me at the present time though, we need midfielders first.

You have no idea about what good defenders are meant to be like obviously? He was pretty good throughout the whole season, although even I can admit that Taylor probably had the better of him after he came back from the ACN for some reason.

Doesn't mean Taylor is the better defender though.

He signed Diatta as COVER because we only had 3 central defenders when he came in. Not as a replacement to Faye.

We may well see a new central defender, we may not. It's not an overly pressing concern for me at the present time though, we need midfielders first.

The best defenders are calm and composed and can stop a attack without so much as raising a sweat. ie. Rio. Faye panics at the drop of a hat and tries to head everything even if hes not in a position to do so. Can get lost because hes more interested in watching the ball instead of the man. Hes okay as bench cover but not a starter.

I have no idea what you're talking about.

Is this the same Abdoulaye Faye we're talking about here or are you talking about a different one?

The only slight weakness Faye has is that sometimes he can get caught ball-watching, yes, but other than that you really are talking shit.

I have no idea what you're talking about.

Is this the same Abdoulaye Faye we're talking about here or are you talking about a different one?

The only slight weakness Faye has is that sometimes he can get caught ball-watching, yes, but other than that you really are talking shit.

So you agree with what I said in that he ball watches but then im talking shit. Either im right or wrong. ATM your saying I am both

What do you think makes a good defender?

Someone who reads play well.

Someone who is strong in the tackle.

Someone who is a good header of the ball.

Someone who knows where to position themselves (the only slight fault Faye has).

Someone who plays it safe.

Someone who stays cool.

Arsenal want Xabi. :(

And we'll use that money to buy Barry.

Devestated.

Someone who reads play well.

Someone who is strong in the tackle.

Someone who is a good header of the ball.

Someone who knows where to position themselves (the only slight fault Faye has).

Someone who plays it safe.

Someone who stays cool

Pretty much the three things I was getting at

IMO the three most important things. Many good headers and strong tacklers are hacks. IMO Christian Dailly was one of the best headers and tacklers we had for ages but the guy was clueless and as cool as a volcano.

Faye doesnt know how to position himself agreed. He also rarely plays it safe (he just tonks the ball back to the opposition most of the times and rarely stays cool. Thats just my opinion. Cant wait to see how Kev changes the defence around next season. I got a feeling he will because based on form your defence was hardly awe inspiring last year despite it looking okay on paper

Christian Dailly was one of the best headers and tacklers we had for ages but the guy was clueless and as cool as a volcano.

Nice :D

Pretty much the three things I was getting at

IMO the three most important things. Many good headers and strong tacklers are hacks. IMO Christian Dailly was one of the best headers and tacklers we had for ages but the guy was clueless and as cool as a volcano.

:D

I lol'd.

Good stuff.

Faye doesnt know how to position himself agreed. He also rarely plays it safe (he just tonks the ball back to the opposition most of the times and rarely stays cool. Thats just my opinion. Cant wait to see how Kev changes the defence around next season. I got a feeling he will because based on form your defence was hardly awe inspiring last year despite it looking okay on paper

The tonking the ball back to the opposition everyone of our defenders was guilty of last year, and it's because we were sitting far too deep, and there was no-one to actually clear the ball to besides Michael Owen running around by himself (:rolleyes:).

He stays cool the majority of the time too, although there are perhaps sometimes that he has brain fades (as do most defenders).

I'm not saying Faye is fantastic here, and he definitely has his weaknesses, but he's currently the best defender we've got, he's better than Taylor.

The Daily Mail is starting to confuse me.

They in the past have reported Lucas Neill to be on upwards of 70k a week but this week they said Neill wants a substantial payrise to put him in line with our 55k per week ceiling we have introduced. He wants a substantial payrise from 70k to end up on 55k a week. WHICH ONE IS IT YA TOOLS. **** me that rag gives me the shits

They also wrote a rather scaremongering piece about BGs business interests being in deep financial trouble despite the fact his banks have reported record profits for 15 months straight now. Infact the first half of the year was the best his company has ever done. Not many companies having financial troubles make record profits. BG isnt poor, hes just cheap and stingy. A big difference

Fuken rag

Arsenal want Xabi. :(

And we'll use that money to buy Barry.

Devestated.

Maybe four years ago we did ...

Won't happen.

Eto'o to Kuruvchi - Uzbeck side..

"He is is Tashkent and will sign a contract tomorrow," the Kuruvchi official said. "He will sign for three or six months, we will have to see about that.

"It is a big signing in the world of football and, of course, for all people in Uzbekistan. He will play in the Asian Champions League and then we will see."

I still think that its bullshit. There was a photo of Eto'o getting off in Uzbekistan with the article as well but i can't upload it for some reason though.