Trash

• Thread starter Thread starter NBates

Hmmmmm.... not trying to be a smart arse, but has this ever happened?

I was thinking of the David Hookes tragedy. I guess the point I was trying to make was that our penalties for violence pale into insignificance compared to America's.

I mean the example given before of the fan that was given jail time for pouring beer over a player over there would be probably as much as offenders of violent crime are given here.

BTW I am not trying to make a political statement or point with it, just contrasting the two different attitudes to Law & Order. A bit off topic I know :o

As much as some people have had a giggle about this (and I stress SOME, mainly on the Brisbane board on which I will not post anything for fear they might take it as a twisted victory of sorts), if this happened (or happens again) to a higher profile player/team (eg: Collingwood) what's a bet the majority of intelligent supporters will face having to watch our game behind a wire or perspex fence - a la some soccer grounds. Hopefully it will never happen, but if the AFL feels players are in danger they will force this to occur so as to comply with OH&S workplace principles and avoid large compensation payouts.

Ugh, how bad would that be? I would hate that to ever happen in the AFL. Would be a little death for our society as we know it, if it ever got to that stage.

I don't think that will ever happen. The fans at the AFL games are really fantastic relative to other codes in other countries. You should see some of the violence at the soccer games in Brasil. Really scary. I would think it would be even worse with some of the games in the UK.

It is something unique in our game that supporters can come into the ground together and leave together and no incidents take place. Occassionally you will get the exception with idiots, bogans and drunks but they are few and far between thankfully.

I was thinking of the David Hookes tragedy. I guess the point I was trying to make was that our penalties for violence pale into insignificance compared to America's.

I mean the example given before of the fan that was given jail time for pouring beer over a player over there would be probably as much as offenders of violent crime are given here.

BTW I am not trying to make a political statement or point with it, just contrasting the two different attitudes to Law & Order. A bit off topic I know :o

Fair enough. The USA should never be looked to for successful crime prevention though. But that's a debate for another day and another post. ;)

Disgraceful act ...

When I joined the Facebook group this arvo there was like 14 members ... 335 and counting a minute ago.

Some vitriol being spat in there as well!!

Disgraceful act ...

When I joined the Facebook group this arvo there was like 14 members ... 335 and counting a minute ago.

Some vitriol being spat in there as well!!

I am uneasy about these sort of things. I guess with something like this you want the punishment to fit the crime.

She did a stupid thing and it was extremely anti social and low class behaviour. Noone would condone it. But I would think her being shamed on the tv plus a ban of 2 years or so from attending games would be sufficient penalty.

But is starting these facebook and other sites for the sole purpose of spewing hate for a person noone knows going too far? IMO it is but maybe I am too soft. People would say that she did it in a public arena so deserves everything she gets.
With these facebook sites there is all sorts of people jump on board. I mean if it was a bulldogs supporters or football supporters site to register their dissapproval of the action then fair enough. But with facebook, all sorts of people join in. People with a hatred against women or hatred against people or society in general. And there are some really weird and disturbed and cruel people out there who now know this womans face and are given a reason to hate her.
Anyway just thinking out aloud that while you want her to cop her fair whack as punishment, you wouldn't want it to go overboard. I would not think that Johnno would.

What would the difference be in it being covered in facebook to being covered in the media TBFB? More people would see the media version of it. More women haters and disturbed people would see it from the media than on facebook.

I am uneasy about these sort of things. I guess with something like this you want the punishment to fit the crime.

I agree, calling for the woman to be pack-r*ped (as someone has on facebook) is so far out of line it is ridiculous. Freedom of speech is an ugly thing some times, and the mainstream media at least has some censorship and repercussions for those that over-step the mark. I think the guy who made those comments has done worse than throwing a beer, yet he probably won't cop the same level of flak as this woman.

What would the difference be in it being covered in facebook to being covered in the media TBFB? More people would see the media version of it. More women haters and disturbed people would see it from the media than on facebook.

I just think of facebook and a lot of these types of sites, they are almost inciting hatred of a person. Most people will just join these type of things to vent or because they are bored. But there would be a minority who have issues, who would be willing to take it offline or to go further online to cause destruction for this woman. Once they get her name, then it is easy to get her address and there are so many sick people in the world, that it can become a real risk for her.

With it being shown on television, I guess there is a chance of that happening but a lot less chance IMO. People see a three second grab on the news or wherever, think what a stupid so and so and thats it. There is not the avenue for bullying or pack mentality type attacks that facebook has.

I just don't think it is a nice thing to do. I mean what she did wasn't nice either. It was stupid and deserves punishment. I just don't think she deserves these type of facebook sites and what the guys on them are advocating. But as said before, maybe I am a softie.

I agree, calling for the woman to be pack-r*ped (as someone has on facebook) is so far out of line it is ridiculous. Freedom of speech is an ugly thing some times, and the mainstream media at least has some censorship and repercussions for those that over-step the mark. I think the guy who made those comments has done worse than throwing a beer, yet he probably won't cop the same level of flak as this woman.

I agree. I cannot understand people thinking like this.It is taking things way too far IMO. The pack mentality bullying and advocating violence or rape is something that I don't like at all. It is like that there are people with deep rooted hatred for women or for people in general, and that incidents like this bring it all out of them. And with the internet being what it is, it is very hard to stop and very easy to gain momentum.

Find and Ban this Supporter

Dear All,

Unfortuantley I did not see the game or this incident, however I have been advised that a Brisbane Lions supporter threw her cup of beer over Johnno at some stage during the game.

Attached below is the link to her photo and details that have been posted on Facebook, if you know this person or can pass this info onto someone who can please do so.

Although I am posting this link, I have reviewed some of the comments made on this Facebook site in relation to the incident and person and believe them to be as equally as bad as her action, however believe the the original intent of the post was made with good intentions.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?p...&oid=129250193600#/group.php?gid=129250193600

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?p...0193600&aid=-1&id=1833845491&oid=129250193600

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?p...0193600&aid=-1&oid=129250193600&id=1833845491

I pretty sure will see much more of this women, She'll be in FM or Who magazine showing off what she made of herself at the end of Saturday game. :D

PS if she didn't have one no one would talk to her

Re: Find and Ban this Supporter

Although I am posting this link, I have reviewed some of the comments made on this Facebook site in relation to the incident and person and believe them to be as equally as bad as her action, however believe the the original intent of the post was made with good intentions.

If people are advocating violence against this woman, wouldn't you think that their actions are worse than her action rather than equally as bad?

What was the intent of the post that was made with good intentions?

BTW someone beat you to it and started a thread here showing disgust for her actions. :)

Lets wait til the AFL makes a statement about it. Will be interesting if it's taken as seriously as it should be. I was a little surprised she didn't realise what she did and show embarrassment at her behaviour, becuase, that was one of the most disrespectful and offensive things I have ever seen on a TV coverage of a game.

She should be banned for a long time.

Has been reported that the AFL will come down hard on this. Its believed a $3000 fine aswell as a 2 year ban will be handed down. Nothing has been confirmed just reported on radio

Not according to todays Sun.

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said yesterday appropriate action against the spectator, regardless of gender, would have been taken on the night. He said offenders could be evicted from the ground. "It wasn't the right thing to do, but do we go and ban someone for that? No, but you would probably speak to them if you're able to track them down. Keane said. "if you do it during a game, yes, you can be evicted."

Re: Find and Ban this Supporter

If people are advocating violence against this woman, wouldn't you think that their actions are worse than her action rather than equally as bad?

What was the intent of the post that was made with good intentions?

BTW someone beat you to it and started a thread here showing disgust for her actions. :)

Very good Point. I am glad you made the effort to point this out . Well done you should be applauded for your actions.

Can a mod please delete or merge this thread with the other one please.

Not according to todays Sun.

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said yesterday appropriate action against the spectator, regardless of gender, would have been taken on the night. He said offenders could be evicted from the ground. "It wasn't the right thing to do, but do we go and ban someone for that? No, but you would probably speak to them if you're able to track them down. Keane said. "if you do it during a game, yes, you can be evicted."

I am not sure that Patrick Keane knows what he is talking about.

AFL supporters have been banned from games before, days after the incident had taken place. If my memory serves me correctly, wasn't the Richmond supporter who spat towards Danny Frawley banned for a period of time? And there have been other incidents that have taken place where the supporter was identified and later punished, either by the AFL or the club itself.

I am not sure that Patrick Keane knows what he is talking about.

AFL supporters have been banned from games before, days after the incident had taken place. If my memory serves me correctly, wasn't the Richmond supporter who spat towards Danny Frawley banned for a period of time? And there have been other incidents that have taken place where the supporter was identified and later punished, either by the AFL or the club itself.
correct, there was an incident where a collingwood supporter spat on fevola I think it was last year and I'm pretty sure he got tracked down by collingwood and banned.

Kevin Rudd should get this lady and Johnno together to sort things out over a beer and bbq.

Thank you. That's just about the most sensible thing said on this subject yet, Bresker, along with the calls for moderation (TBFB et al).

It amazed me how quickly others (many of them WB supporters) rushed for the moral low ground by indulging in abuse, threats of violence and other extreme language which simply brought them all down to the same level as this woman... or lower.

Yes it was a very low deed but Johnno acted commendably by not overreacting and we should all follow suit.

It's only if it becomes a frequent event that the AFL & ground management should step in and take sterner action. We're a fairly tolerant society (most of us) and that's what makes this such a great country to live in.

If this had happened in the 70s, 80s or even 90s it would be all over and forgotten by now. It's just that we have become a community of addicts to reality TV, Facebook and Youtube. We live our lives vicariously rather than get on with the really important things in life.

Like fixing world poverty and beating Geelong.

Thank you. That's just about the most sensible thing said on this subject yet, Bresker, along with the calls for moderation (TBFB et al).

It amazed me how quickly others (many of them WB supporters) rushed for the moral low ground by indulging in abuse, threats of violence and other extreme language which simply brought them all down to the same level as this woman... or lower.

Yes it was a very low deed but Johnno acted commendably by not overreacting and we should all follow suit.

It's only if it becomes a frequent event that the AFL & ground management should step in and take sterner action. We're a fairly tolerant society (most of us) and that's what makes this such a great country to live in.

If this had happened in the 70s, 80s or even 90s it would be all over and forgotten by now. It's just that we have become a community of addicts to reality TV, Facebook and Youtube. We live our lives vicariously rather than get on with the really important things in life.

Like fixing world poverty and beating Geelong.
Agree lets keep things in perspective with this.

I am ashamed if real Bulldog supporters are lowering themselves to the levels outlined in previous posts re: facebook. The whole point of me starting this post was to point out how low that 'woman's' action was. I would have hoped we were above her. Not that I've seen the facebook page, but it saddens me to read about the comments.