Travel past, travel future

Saw that Krak De Chevaliers was bombed by Assad regime jets this week coz rebels/jiohadis using it as base.

Very glad I went there while I could.

I leave on August 31st.

I went for the first time last year. You'll love it. Where are you going?

London/Liverpool, Amsterdam, Berlin, Krakow, Prague, Budapest, Paris, Milan/Rome, Barcelona and finish up in Malta. 6 and a half week trip, staying in most places for 4 nights.

Saw that Krak De Chevaliers was bombed by Assad regime jets this week coz rebels/jiohadis using it as base.

Such a shame when places get destroyed like that.

Always makes me think of those before and after shots of Afghanistan.

2772f83c7f85ca9b9e7c0855ea77868f-orig

Such a shame when places get destroyed like that.

Always makes me think of those before and after shots of Afghanistan.

2772f83c7f85ca9b9e7c0855ea77868f-orig

Yeah. It is the first time that somewhere I've actually been has subsequently been caught up in a war.

I was in Syria in July/August 2010, about three months before the "revolution" started.

And to be honest, if I had to pick a side, I'd go with Assad.

Have been to Hawaii (couple years ago) & New Zealand when I was very young. Am currently 21 & will be hitting NYC(xmas), LA, Vegas (NYE) & Hawaii at year's end. Hoping to do a lot more travel & also considering working abroad (camp america, live-in pub UK etc.). I'm just one of those guys that take a hell of a lot of convincing to follow through with something.

Would love to do a 3 month or so road trip across USA down the track. Just not really in the financial position to do so at the moment.

So many places to experience, so little time!

On my bucket list:
Highest priority:
- Jordan
- Israel
- Russia
- Mexico
- Venezuela
- Syria
- Greece
- India
- Nepal
- Countries for African safari

2nd tier
- Krygyzstan
- Uzbekistan
- Iraq
- Canada
- Ukraine
- Pakistan
- Thailand
- Cambodia
- Myanmar
- Bhutan

At the top of my bucket list is to do a road trip from the East Coast of USA to the West Coast with a few mates. No timeline, just taking our time and experiencing all the sites. Hopefully take a few months.

But like EFL Boy, im just not in the correct financial nor academic situation at the moment.

Anybody know if trains from run Charles De Gaulle to Paris' city centre?

I think so, but check wikitravel.

Paris doesn't really have a "city centre" like Melbourne CBD. Stuff is spread out over a general area.

I recommend it man. I backpacked around Europe on my own and hitch-hiked around the southern island of NZ on my own after the people I did the north with went back to Oz. I also explored parts of Indonesia on my own after the friends I went to Bali with headed home.

It's s**t scary at first but you meet fellow travellers along the way if you stay in backpacker style accommodation. You might even get on with some so well you end up travelling with them for a while.

I was shitting myself when I landed in Barcelona armed with nothing but a map, with no idea what I was doing or where I would be sleeping that night, but after a while you hit each new place with confidence that you can handle anything that gets thrown at you.

Forcing yourself out of your comfort zone like that is a great boost to your self-confidence.
This is as good advice as I have seen:thumbsu:.

Great thread. Anyone done house swapping? I have been looking at this site and the idea appeals to me in my old age. http://www.homeforexchange.com/index2.php

I was in Syria in July/August 2010, about three months before the "revolution" started.

The Mrs and I were in Cyprus years back and at the Roman amphitheatre at Kourion 3 blokes were filming for a doco on Roman mosaics for Italian TV. We got talking and they claimed the best Roman mosaics they had seen outside of Italy were in Syria. I later told this to a Syrian fella I knew and he showed me a bunch of pics from his internal travels. Looked mind blowing and I put Syria on my list of to do's. When I see the damage done it just makes me wonder what the hell......

Yeah, Libya also has amazingly preserved Roman ruins I'm told.

For years I had wanted to go to Syria, and Krak De Chevaliers was one of my reasons. I had all my plans in place and about a month before I left the conflict started in Syria. It's always sad to see places like this or the Buddhas of Bamiyan destroyed basically for political/conflict reasons.

Back on topic, I have been very lucky in that I have been able to travel quite a bit recently so I just mention a few of the highlights. I didn't start traveling until about 4 years ago (31 now) but have been able to get away a lot since then.

The Balkans - probably my favourite place I have traveled to. Montenegro, Croatia and Bosnia in particular were amazing, I guess they ticked all the boxes for me when traveling. They are amazingly beautiful, great weather, interesting history and culture, good food, cheap, and fun. Heading back there in 2015 hopefully.

Turkey - what a country... Istanbul is my favourite city. I also met my wife in Selcuk.

Israel - while not really planning to go (was in Egypt on my way to Jordan and decided to catch up with an old work colleague who was living in Tel Aviv) we were really surprised how much we enjoyed it, once we finally got in as they didn't particularly like my passport with its Iran and Iraq stamps. But the history and cultures in Jerusalem in particular, along with people in the Palestinian areas made it quite a highlight of our trip.

NOLA - with my wife being from New Orleans I have been able to see so many places there that most don't. Mardi Gras with the locals is on another level, so different than being in the french quarter with the tourists.

Luang Prabang - basically as mention earlier in the thread.

Sicily - mostly personal reasons, some great memories getting to know my wife... but it is very beautiful and the food was great

Kurdistan - the people, while it is an amazing area and has a great history and culture the people are the reason to go here. Friendliest and most generous people I have ever met by far.

Paris - Of all the grand old cities in Western Europe this is my favourite (although I haven't yet made it to London). Great culture, some pretty good food, cheering Cadel down the Champs Elysees. So easy to get around, and some pretty good night life. Honourable mention to Berlin, Dresden, Barcelona and Florence.

Romania - especially Transylvania, but the whole country was great.

Its hard to stop as I have really enjoyed almost everywhere I have been. In fact the only place I haven't really liked was Bali, probably wouldn't bother heading back. We spent a couple months in Egypt and it was awesome, cruising Lake Nasser and Abu Simbel being the highlight on our honeymoon. Really liked Jordan and Iran. France in general, along with Spain were great.

As to the future, I'm off to central America in a couple weeks and then on to the US again, mostly just to catch up with the in-laws, and friends. Next year back to the US for a month and Mardi Gras in NOLA again. Brazil for the world cup, and probably Uruguay, Paraguay and Argentina for 3 months or so. 2015 Burma and back to the Balkans and then the big one. in 2016 the wife and I are planning to take 2 years and head off - trans-Siberian -> Baltics -> Eastern Europe -> Oktoberfest -> down to Africa for about a year and then southern Europe and SE Asia until the money runs out.

Hi all
I thought I would see if anyone wanted to share thoughts on their past and and future travel
Where
have you seen that has blown your mind, what's on the bucket list, a travel experience that is maybe a bit different
For me, the experience of hiking the length of the Canadian Rockies in 2007 was the most rewarding experience. I was by myself and just dawdling along enjoying the majesty all around me
Top of my bucket list is trying to organise a week away for myself and my partner in Europe somewhere early next year, we had a bub in November and she was pretty crook all the way through so just want to go to a romantic city for a few nights. I was thinking Rome but others on here may have a better idea so I'm all ears
As for the most beautiful place I've seen, it would be Yosemite by a mile. Back in 2004 I was there with a mate and I felt like I was in a postcard, just magnificent
So , look fwd to your stories

I wasn't prepared for Yosemite.

Came around the back end on our way from Las Vegas through Death Valley and onto our way to San Francisco.
Road was closed for a few days and had just re-opened as we headed into it.

This is the weird bit.
Drove through the gates with snow surrounding
Senses were at a high and all of a sudden I started to taste things I hadn't eaten for years.
I started to feel things I hadn't felt since I was a kid and had emotions I had never felt before.
One of the most interesting moments (I don't recall how long ot went on for) in my life.

All that aside, Yosemite was mind-blowing. Too hard to put into words.

Just as long as a train goes into the centre of Paris from the airport is my main concern lol

The RER runs from Charles de Gaulle to various stations in central Paris, costs about €10 from memory. Just pick the station that is closest to where you're staying, with any luck you'll be walking distance from your accommodation. Otherwise it will probably be a short taxi ride, or if you haven't get heaps of luggage you could change onto the Metro.

Where are you staying?

Ignore all this is you've already been since posting that!

The RER runs from Charles de Gaulle to various stations in central Paris, costs about €10 from memory. Just pick the station that is closest to where you're staying, with any luck you'll be walking distance from your accommodation. Otherwise it will probably be a short taxi ride, or if you haven't get heaps of luggage you could change onto the Metro.

Where are you staying?

Ignore all this is you've already been since posting that!
The address of the place I am staying at is 04 Rue Meslay, Paris.

It is in the third district.

Ireland, UK, most of Western Europe, USA, Canada, Indonesia, Fiji, Singapore, NZ, Turkey, Egypt, Mexico, Ecuador, Bolivia, Argentina, Chile so far.

New Zealand, Fiji and recently China for me. Loved every minute of each trip especially New Zealand, the trip down to Milford Sound after a blizzard was as spectacular as it was frightening.

Looking at being in the States for Christmas, NYC on the day and Vegas for NYE.

Posted this in another thread but thought i'd share it here as well.

Ok, just returned myself from a 3 and a 1/2 month tour of Europe and I can confidentally say it is the most amazing thing I have ever done.

To plan I started off with 5 music festivals that I wished to do and worked the rest around them. For me Contiki is just awesome, it gives you the chance to squeeze in as much activity and destinations into a short amount of time all the while hanging with a young crowd partying, socialising and making friends for life, and the women!! It is just amazing the pulling power that Aussie accent can give a fella, I kid you not!!

So, my first lasted 25 days around continental Europe and took me to Paris, Beaujolais & Nice in France, Barcelona in Spain, Florence, Rome & Venice in Italy, Vienna & the Austrian Tyrol in Austria, Munich, Heidelberg &The Rhine Valley in Germany, Luzern & the Alps in Switzerland, and topped it off in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

The Second was for 16 days around the UK & Ireland and took me to Liverpool, York, Carlisle & The Lake District in England, Edinburgh, Loch Ness, Oban & Glasgow in Scotland, Dublin, Belfast, Derry, Galway, Corke & Kilkenny in Ireland.
The extras in between on both was just awesome, I got to see so much!! I couldn't recommend it any more.

For the festivals 2 were in Derbyshire and the other 3 took me to Belgium (Dessell), back to Germany (Hamburg) and the amazing Slovenia smack bang in the middle of what is one of the most incredible places I visited, Tolmin & The Soca Valley, I also took in Ljubljana which in itself is a beautiful place, just incredible, Slovenia is a must for anyone travelling over there, highly recommend. Any time in between was spent in London.

It was an absolutely jam packed 3 and a 1/2 months of sightseeing, partying, music and meeting a ton of new people. I'd love to elaborate more on each place but it would take 100 pages to do so, just take my word for it, everywhere I visited was well worth it.