travis cloke

FWIW, I have no doubt Cloke would add to our list, but wouldn't getting him in have an adverse impact on Liam Jones? Both players are true CHFs.

Really, what we need is a true FF - that is why the trade for Hall was fantastic, and had a pretty positive impact on Liam's development...

FYI - there is some serious KPF talent up for grabs in this year's drafting period - Mason Shaw (this year's best), along with the 2 best rated picks mini draft picks are all very viable and very talented KPF options...

This is exactly how I feel.

Whether we get Cloke or not, the signs are there that after being screwed over by the likes of Gold Coast, GWS and so many clubs for so long, it now looks like we're going to fight back.

A dog is useless without teeth and it looks like we're going to bite.

Whether we get Cloke or not, the signs are there that after being screwed over by the likes of Gold Coast, GWS and so many clubs for so long, it now looks like we're going to fight back.

A dog is useless without teeth and it looks like we're going to bite.
That post needs the the Survivor song playing in the background...

I would be surprised if Cloke finishes up anywhere other than Pieland or GWS. Yes I know they have said they're not in the race, sorry but I do not necessarily believe them. I think they just do not want to be pulled into a bidding war, with other potential suitors feeling they need to bid high to match GWS's pot of gold.
If Cloke does not sign with Colliwobbles during the season, I think GWS will suddenly reappear out of the Woodwork [ if you will excuse the pun].
Forget Cloke I think, and concentrate all our attention on Sidebottom.

I would be surprised if Cloke finishes up anywhere other than Pieland or GWS. Yes I know they have said they're not in the race, sorry but I do not necessarily believe them. I think they just do not want to be pulled into a bidding war, with other potential suitors feeling they need to bid high to match GWS's pot of gold.
If Cloke does not sign with Colliwobbles during the season, I think GWS will suddenly reappear out of the Woodwork [ if you will excuse the pun].
Forget Cloke I think, and concentrate all our attention on Sidebottom.
GWS were never officially in the race for Scully either

I still think GWS will target Reid over Cloke.
They targetted us as a club last yr with stating that is we kept Ward they wood just go for Wood, and then Roughy.
Same thing with Collingwood. Pendles, Thomas, Swan, Cloke, Reid.
They will get one and with Cameron and Patton already marked as key forwards they will get Reid to hold down the key back posts with Davis for the next 10 years.

I think some people are underestimating Cloke on here though. I would rate him as probably the 3rd best KPF in the league (behind Buddy and Kennedy). Its true he has only had 2 great years, but he is still only young, and of all the good (not over the hill) KPF's at the moment, not many have strung together a heap of good years. Franklin probably being the only one.

If we were to pick him up, he would only cost us cap space too. Won't have to trade for him under Free Agency. So add in 2 top 10 picks and Cloke over the off season and it would be insanely massive.

You'd think if he went anywhere, it would be Richmond. His dad is his agent and he was a club great there.

The Reid bros, on the other hand had a father play for us- we might have some leverage there.

If i was going to give a player 1 mill per year.. I would spend my money elsewhere.

Not worth it simple!

I totally agree. Nice bloke, I met him the week before we played them in the qualifying final 2010. I know his dad too. I don't think David manager's him anymore though.

I wish him well, but fear that we could get a repeat of what happened when we got Jade Rawlings. Promised heaps. I remember him kicking 7.1 in his first game for us. A 7 point loss to West Coast, then it went down hill from there. We finished up having to pay him to play his last two years of his 4 year contract at Norf.

I think our best bet is to have a look at key forwards in the next draft, and possibly use one of our early picks and add that to the young talls we already have and develop them.

After what I saw today at the Carlton game, we are way ahead of them in terms of development with tall forwards, as they haven't got one!

You'd think if he went anywhere, it would be Richmond. His dad is his agent and he was a club great there.

The Reid bros, on the other hand had a father play for us- we might have some leverage there.

I was talking to a bloke with some supposed connection with the Reids. He said "they were never going to the Bulldogs, wherever they went". Sad implications if true.

Richmond should definitely be throwing big money in his direction.

Cloke and Riewoldt would be a pretty dangerous pairing. Their backline has improved out of sight and they have some real midfield talent.

Cloke could make Richmond a major player and his Dad would probably be up for some salary cap dodginess.

He had the option of Collingwood or Richmond when he was a father son prospect as his old man played over 100 at both clubs. if he was ever going to go to Richmond it would have been then. FWIW I think he will end up staying at Collingwood.

No it wouldn't of.

Playing for Collingwood or Richmond in his first couple of seasons means he would have been paid the same base wage. Now the difference between Collingwood and Richmond might mean where he can earn the most money and the difference could be hundreds of thousands dollars.

Maybe we should corner the market on Rougheads.

I think we should target the older brother of Talia.. Show him the future of our backline would consist of the two brothers playing side by side..

The history has it all.. Grandfather was a true bulldog and family are in love with the club.. I sometimes would prefer players with passion rather than skill.. It just helps he has the skill to back up the passion.

Thoughts?

I think we should target the older brother of Talia.. Show him the future of our backline would consist of the two brothers playing side by side..

The history has it all.. Grandfather was a true bulldog and family are in love with the club.. I sometimes would prefer players with passion rather than skill.. It just helps he has the skill to back up the passion.

Thoughts?

I think I've heard that Daniel was a Carlton supporter, compared to the rest of his family being Bulldogs.
Adelaide wouldn't let him go easy either. Everyone has been taking their key defenders lately :p

I think I've heard that Daniel was a Carlton supporter, compared to the rest of his family being Bulldogs.
Adelaide wouldn't let him go easy either. Everyone has been taking their key defenders lately :p
Yeah, I'd personally let Adelaide keep him. Not because I don't want him but more because Adelaide have been bent over by the expansion clubs also and kinda deserve a break.

They took Tony McGuiness off us for nothing, we'd also drafted Tregenza yet he somehow played for them. Screw'em I say. :D

Very generous of you Unotouchable, considering when they were an expansion club they were given two shots at the finals in 1997, and cost us a GF berth against the Saints, who I reckon we would have beaten.

9 games into the season and I still think that $1M a season is a lot to fork out for a player with these 2012 averages (career average):

Disposals: 13.6 (13.9)
Marks: 6.6 (6.7)
Goals: 2.1 (1.5)
Tackles: 1.4 (1.9)
Goal Assists: 0.7 (n/a)

This guy is not John Coleman! Hell, I'd rather pay Patrick Dangerfield $1M a year than Travis Cloke.

Id trade minson at the end of the year and try put him in a deal with a big draft pick for Cloke. Roughy takes number 1 ruck, Cordy still FF and Tom as resting and ruck

Can't agree with this mate, although I like that you are prepared to be bold to improve our list.

I think that you haven't appreciated that Cloke is a free agent at the end of the season. We don't have to trade for him - we just have to win a bidding war (unless Cloke is playing Collingwood to simply extract the highest salary possible.)

Secondly, Minson is a very good player who still has a vital role in our team and structure.

Thirdly, Cloke is over-rated. He is not the best key forward in the competition and certainly doesn't deserve the $1M or more per season we'd need to cough up to get him.

And finally, we have a number of tall players who show potential and I'd be surprised if at least one didn't develop into a pretty good key forward. We have Hill, who was an extremely well performed and highly rated junior who now appears to be getting over his injuries and building a strength and fitness base. Cordy, Jones, Roughead, Hill, Fletcher, Panos, Campbell, Redpath - there's a few to work with there.

But again, I like that you want us to be aggressive and bold in getting a great list together. Go Dogs!

Can't agree with this mate, although I like that you are prepared to be bold to improve our list.

I think that you haven't appreciated that Cloke is a free agent at the end of the season. We don't have to trade for him - we just have to win a bidding war (unless Cloke is playing Collingwood to simply extract the highest salary possible.)

Secondly, Minson is a very good player who still has a vital role in our team and structure.

Thirdly, Cloke is over-rated. He is not the best key forward in the competition and certainly doesn't deserve the $1M or more per season we'd need to cough up to get him.

And finally, we have a number of tall players who show potential and I'd be surprised if at least one didn't develop into a pretty good key forward. We have Hill, who was an extremely well performed and highly rated junior who now appears to be getting over his injuries and building a strength and fitness base. Cordy, Jones, Roughead, Hill, Fletcher, Panos, Campbell, Redpath - there's a few to work with there.

But again, I like that you want us to be aggressive and bold in getting a great list together. Go Dogs!
Hate to be a disagreeable bastard Longwait but I think Cloke is clearly the best key forward in the competition.
He is a little out of form at the moment but I think that has to do with the speculation on what he is doing next year. The pressure is beginning to build on him.
He is not the best player by a long shot but i cant think of a better key forward at this time than him.
I wouldnt call Franklin a key forward but if you wanted to nitpick then Franklin is the one that might have him covered.

travis cloke