Opinion Travis Varcoe

Assuming Varcoe is worth pick 10 in any draft, would you trade him?

• Yes

Votes: 48 39.7%
  • No

Votes: 30 24.8%
  • Get stuffed Meto

Votes: 43 35.5%

S.O.M
TV is not playing well enough right now. And I dont think anywhere near enough tackles are sticking if he isn't providing run and disposals.

But to suggest trading him........ you have to admit is nuts.
The guy has played something like 6 games in 2 seasons.

Varcoe is a wonderful player. He has been inspiring on many occasions throughout his career and started the season brilliantly. He is out of form now, but the chances are very high, based on his excellent record, that he will come good. There's a lot of goodwill for TV around the AFL.

No they aren't. Based on his record they are very low.
Which is not to say that it won't happen, and it will be a big plus if it does.

No they aren't. Based on his record they are very low.
Which is not to say that it won't happen, and it will be a big plus if it does.
Fred the Second, depends on what you see as his record. He's probably not the greatest in terms of his stats, but the gut running and incredibly fierce tackling have lifted the side on memorable occasions. That won't go away.

We can do this.

Varcoe is a wonderful player. He has been inspiring on many occasions throughout his career and started the season brilliantly. He is out of form now, but the chances are very high, based on his excellent record, that he will come good. There's a lot of goodwill for TV around the AFL.

I'm looking forward to seeing Trav back on the top of his game.

Thats the best post in this thread

Just on Yarran -id have him at Geelong -and i reckon hed do really well-pace to burn

I think there would be a few Carlton blokes -who would love to get out -and away from screaming Malthouse =Walker would be an obvious one -you can see hes pissed off -and sick of the tirades on the boundary line

Id swap T Hunt( ordinary footballer and i hate taggers) and Murdoch for Yarran

Yarran would be very good at Geelong

S.O.M
TV is not playing well enough right now. And I dont think anywhere near enough tackles are sticking if he isn't providing run and disposals.

But to suggest trading him........ you have to admit is nuts.
The guy has played something like 6 games in 2 seasons.
I take your point, your giving the guy the benefit of the doubt. I can appreciate that.

Trading him may be a little preemptive...but if he doesn't come good this year, he's 26 next year. Then 27 before you have another chance to trade if he doesn't have a good 2014. At that point he's worth nothing. Right now is a tipping point in my thinking.

We have lot's of quick types at the club now. Since 2011, Travis' break out year, Motlop has come on the scene, Christenesen has gone from strength to strength, Stokes is now playing brilliant in the midfield, Caddy breaks through lines. We also have a whole raft of young blokes in the 2's who are braining the VFL. I think that adds up to lot's of pressure on Varcoe.

Is a trade out of the question given we have speed and more young blokes ready to play AFL? I think that's a fair question to ask.

If he plays well for the rest of the year, then I'm happy to say I was wrong. I'd love to see him do the business and help us win the flag.

Fred the Second, depends on what you see as his record. He's probably not the greatest in terms of his stats, but the gut running and incredibly fierce tackling have lifted the side on memorable occasions. That won't go away.

We can do this.

Yes, no doubt about what he brings to the team, but he is very inconsistent, so there is no guarantee - or even likelihood - that he will produce his best anywhere as often as our best players, nor that he will do it in any given period.

I'm actually going to ask you to apologize for that and take that down. I know my Father is not racist and to suggest it is extremely unfair and not in the spirit of this forum. Disgrace!

What's with the Father Son farce?

Done.
Now, please explain.
I'm not going to engage in this forum until this is sorted. A report has been made and when that post comes down I'll be happy to answer your question. Over and out.

The 'Yes' and 'No' poll options are basically redundant.
Varcoe has been, and once again WILL be a gun.

Going with Option 3. Get stuffed Meto! :p

OK folks, play the ball and not the man.

To whom do you refer? Posters who are anonymous, or players who are known.
I really hope our players are occupied enough to not read some of the tripe here.

To whom do you refer? Posters who are anonymous, or players who are known.
I really hope our players are occupied enough to not read some of the tripe here.

Posters. I don't mind fair discussion about each other's arguments, but attacking the poster rather than their post will be frowned upon.

Yes, no doubt about what he brings to the team, but he is very inconsistent, so there is no guarantee - or even likelihood - that he will produce his best anywhere as often as our best players, nor that he will do it in any given period.

Gee Fred,

Since when did you get off the treadmill?.....I agree but I'm surprised!
Thought you were with the Varcoe fan club, for better or for worse!
Good on you for saying it as it is!!!.....but if selected and plays well, credit to him, but as you've stated, he has to find consistency.

Winty, no harm done, it's sort of group mentality, no issues here!

Group mentality here to label you a racist? Harsh dude.

Thanks, as you know I'm not in the slightest a racist, big fan of Mots and Stokes obviously.
I've been quite critical of Varcoe so I expected that type of comment eventually, it is a sponsor forum to the guy afterall.
If he plays I'll be watching his tackle effectiveness with interest. Cheers!

Gee Fred,

Since when did you get off the treadmill?.....I agree but I'm surprised!
Thought you were with the Varcoe fan club, for better or for worse!
Good on you for saying it as it is!!!.....but if selected and plays well, credit to him, but as you've stated, he has to find consistency.

fred has been on your side (opinion wise) since day dot re varcoe...it is you that misinterpreted it and had a go at him.

We go around in circles with this, but what is below the belt is almost enjoying, waiting for, hoping for Varcoe, or other maligned players- and we've had a few- to fail. And the provocative posts have elicited an untoward reaction.

Meto is the Hayden Ballantyne of Geelong Big Footy.??

BTW, I'm also a lover of Hayden- every team should have one, and he's a very good footballer.

We go around in circles with this, but what is below the belt is almost enjoying, waiting for, hoping for Varcoe, or other maligned players- and we've had a few- to fail. And the provocative posts have elicited an untoward reaction.

Meto is the Hayden Ballantyne of Geelong Big Footy.??

BTW, I'm also a lover of Hayden- every team should have one, and he's a very good footballer.

you had me ready to carry the pitch fork with you...til i read those last two sentences.

Not saying I'm a lover of Meto's posts about TV, sorry to upset you.

This thread is like a circus. And quite humourous too.

Anyway, I voted 'yes', even though I'd also have liked to have voted 'get stuffed meto' as well. I don't disagree with a lot of meto's arguments with his issues of Trav. I happen to agree with a lot of them to some degree. I just think that meto's continual bagging of TV ad nauseum is borderline dysfunctional behaviour, and becomes wearing when multiple threads go OT and end up being constantly about TV. You're entitled to have an opinion meto, but just tone it down a bit mate.

Right here right now, I'd swap Trav for pick 10. But that's of course based purely on facts, with all the emotion removed from the equation. I'm certainly not an advocate of getting rid of players who want to be here, and I'm very loathe to cause disharmony. Having said that, if a club were to offer pick 10 (which mind you will never happen) then I think long term it would be the better choice.