Travis Varcoe

You lost me right there.

Milne is a goal sneak and only a goal sneak.
Shannon is much more.

What I meant was their roles are similar within their team structures, I hope Shannon can kick more goals than Milne this year.
I guess thats what he's there for, can also see a role for Stokes/Motlop/Christenson, if they use Varcoe around the HB to HF lines.
We also have Chapman who can play small forward.
Rest Gary in the FP? That's another.
Hope Shannon can better his 32goals of last year, if he does he'll be a great asset.
Have a good day, 'Dave the Cat', you're a gent.:)

I see Shannon as our Steve Milne, very much the one touch opportunist small forward type...

Milne is a goal sneak and only a goal sneak.
Shannon is much more.

What I meant was their roles are similar within their team structures, I hope Shannon can kick more goals than Milne this year. I guess thats what he's there for...

And what I meant was that their roles are nothing alike.
Just because they both kick goals and are little, doesn't mean they're both goal sneaks.

Milne's sole function at St Kilda is to kick goals and lay some tackles in the forward line.
Shannon is a far more versatile player who is able to play close to goal AND up the ground as shown by Inside 50's where he averages 4 a game to 2.6 for Milne...

Pity about Varcoes thumb injury, guess that would open a vacancy on the wing?
Who would be most likely?

Well you'd think Duncan could be a near certainty now - good pre-season form, and a half-forward/running player. They could shift Kelly and/or Enright to a wing, then bring in someone like Gillies to shore up the backline. Just depends how they want to play it. There's still plenty of versatility in the squad.

Shame Hogan's not fully fit yet, he would have been a perfect selection.

Mate I'm a bit confused, what does one have to do with the other?

Firstly "big Pods" even getting a game is fairly remote, but provided he does how does that equate to Shannon having a stellar year?

A big man to feed off, Big Pods Crashing packs, Bynres flying past him for the quick give, it's like Ying and Yang. Newton's law #2; Every action has an Equal or Oposite reaction. My year Nine Science teacher would be proud!

Ummmm, I woulda thought Hawkins and Mooney would be filling the "pack busting" role, no way are Geelong going to play a third tall down forward IMO, so unless Shannon gets relagated to the VFL I don't see Pods being much help to him.

check the pods thread, bomber has all but said he would give the 3 talls a chance.

though he also wanted to have a 3 ruckman lineup at one point til commonsense got the better of him.

Could Hawkins play as a second ruckman?

Ummmm, I woulda thought Hawkins and Mooney would be filling the "pack busting" role, no way are Geelong going to play a third tall down forward IMO, so unless Shannon gets relegated to the VFL I don't see Pods being much help to him.

Well put.

Yeah, we've sort of already got two key forwards in the team. That fact seems to have omitted in the general irrational lovefest that's been going on lately.

Also Byrnes had his best ever season last year - without the help of Podsiadly. So I'm not sure how he's dependent on him to flourish.

Varcoe to miss 5-7 weeks with a broken thumb :thumbsdown:
healthinsurancefascists.jpg

well thats a total shit!

What I meant was their roles are similar within their team structures, I hope Shannon can kick more goals than Milne this year.
I guess thats what he's there for, can also see a role for Stokes/Motlop/Christenson, if they use Varcoe around the HB to HF lines.
We also have Chapman who can play small forward.
Rest Gary in the FP? That's another.
Hope Shannon can better his 32goals of last year, if he does he'll be a great asset.
Have a good day, 'Dave the Cat', you're a gent.:)

Varcoe out for 5-7 weeks....

Help me meto.....not sure I can cope

Very shat off. Maybe Gamble is worth a punt, if he has any fitness. This does not help us against Bombers' pace, we need all our X factors against Hawks and Freo as well. Wonder how far away Varcoe jnr and Motlop are.

Gamble is not only one dimensional he's not quick. If we're looking to someone with similar attributes to Travis we're looking at Djerrkura, Hogan, Duncan or perhaps Motlop. I reckon Djerrkura deserves first crack. Not only has he performed reasonably well at AFL level before he is as good as Travis with defensive pressure, gives 100%, can find the ball, and has pace. Admittedly his delivery needs some polish. I'd like to see him be given a few games to see how he measures up. Let's face it, Travis got that in spades. I admit to being a bit biased.

Inclined to agree that it would be nice to see Duncan first up, but that's from a personal perspective. From what I've read, that boy seems to have talent.

Really, given that Stokes and Varcoe are out it should have been Gamble into the team, but I don't think he will be considered match fit after an interrupted preseason. I'm not sure where Djerrkura is at.

On balance I think they are almost certain to go with three talls as I can't see an obvious small replacement, although I secretly hope they try Duncan.

Inclined to agree that it would be nice to see Duncan first up, but that's from a personal perspective. From what I've read, that boy seems to have talent.

Really, given that Stokes and Varcoe are out it should have been Gamble into the team, but I don't think he will be considered match fit after an interrupted preseason. I'm not sure where Djerrkura is at.

On balance I think they are almost certain to go with three talls as I can't see an obvious small replacement, although I secretly hope they try Duncan.

I don't think it's either or...given we have to replace Rooke and Varcoe, it's likely they'll pick one mid size/small and one mid size/tall...so I can see both Duncan and Pods fitting in.

I'd be happy to give Gamble a crack but given his lack of a pre season and injury last week, unlikely. Ditto Djerrkura sadly, and also Hogan.

Thus Duncan, who looks to have a mature body, good polish and disposal, seems the obvious choice for me in the short term.

Don't worry Dave, he'll be back.
We do have a few little injury probs now don't we.
Thought if Trav would've played on the wing the natural inclusion would be Hogan, although I think he's still injured also, he's out.
(I like him alot, very high poss winner.)
I'd be tempted to go Mitch Duncan, he could prove a good marking target around the centre going forward, he's close to 190cm, strong bodied and forms good.
I'd go Pods for Rooke, he's fit, pretty fast, and keen to go.
Plenty of teams use 3 talls in their forward setups, if he's in, that's always an option, so that's a plus to me.
Options also to use Hawkins in the ruck Mooney down back if you include Pods as a third tall forward.

Don't worry Dave, he'll be back.
We do have a few little injury probs now don't we.
Thought if Trav would've played on the wing the natural inclusion would be Hogan, although I think he's still injured also, he's out.
(I like him alot, very high poss winner.)
I'd be tempted to go Mitch Duncan, he could prove a good marking target around the centre going forward, he's close to 190cm, strong bodied and forms good.
I'd go Pods for Rooke, he's fit, pretty fast, and keen to go.
Plenty of teams use 3 talls in their forward setups, if he's in, that's always an option, so that's a plus to me.
Options also to use Hawkins in the ruck Mooney down back if you include Pods as a third tall forward

Who's another team that plays 3 tall forwards at once?

Why would Mooney be required in the backline? We've got Scarlett, Taylor, Mackie and Milburn all fit. Plus Gillies and Drum in reserve.

Why would Hawkins be needed in the ruck? Ottens and Blake are both fit, so no others are needed. Hawkins' job this year is to stamp his authority on the forward line and become our number one forward. Playing in the ruck is not part of that equation.

I realise that a lot of posters are trying to make square pegs fit into round holes so their beloved Podsiadly can play seniors, but remember all our best big men are available. We've got our best two key defenders, our best two key forwards, and our best two ruckmen. That's exactly where they should be playing.

If Podsiadly does get selected (that's still a big if) it's as a third forward - no more and no less.

I'd like to see him play, simple as that!
It would create more options with Mooney and Hawkins, whether they're used is another thing.

Who's another team that plays 3 tall forwards at once?

Why would Mooney be required in the backline? We've got Scarlett, Taylor, Mackie and Milburn all fit. Plus Gillies and Drum in reserve.

Why would Hawkins be needed in the ruck? Ottens and Blake are both fit, so no others are needed. Hawkins' job this year is to stamp his authority on the forward line and become our number one forward. Playing in the ruck is not part of that equation.

I realise that a lot of posters are trying to make square pegs fit into round holes so their beloved Podsiadly can play seniors, but remember all our best big men are available. We've got our best two key defenders, our best two key forwards, and our best two ruckmen. That's exactly where they should be playing.

If Podsiadly does get selected (that's still a big if) it's as a third forward - no more and no less.

I'd say that sums it up pretty succinctly.

"If" we decide to go with another tall [ extremely unlikely IMO ] then surely Lonergan would have the credentials ahead of Podsiadly.

I realise it's a nice little fairytale, but at 28 years of age, never been considered good enough to play senior footy, been delisted by two other clubs and hardly set the world alight in the pre season competition there's really nothing there to suggest he should get a game with the reigning premiers.

Having just the two talls up forward has worked pretty well to date, as two flags would attest, so why change it now?

Ahhhh, the old "X" factor :) sounds good but what exactly does it mean, especially in regards to a player who would be in our bottom half dozen [ three or four? ] in terms of selection.

Travis Varcoe