Travis Varcoe

Mate, he's not there for his good looks, if he's not getting possessions, or kicking goals, falling of tackles, then I gotta wonder why?
Let's hope he proves me wrong, but I don't think so, when the pressures up and the heats on I just reckon he's not there.

Personally I'd prefer that new fella Duncan.

I take it you don't believe there is a role for Rooke in the side then.

I'd rather 10 disposals from TV than 30 from Shannon.

He's a lot more damaging with what he does with the ball, while Shannon has plenty of Shannon moments.

It's not like he's far behind in averages anyway.

http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=1721

http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=1410

meto is a well known hater of Travis anyway, so meh.

I wouldn't. That Fremantle game from Byrnes - 5 goals and I'm guessing mid-20s in possessions, was more damaging than anything we've seen from Varcoe. I understand that Varcoe is adored on these boards and Byrnes has until very recently been crucified (I was one of them too), but right now Byrnes is the better footballer.

Varcoe has looked much improved in the pre-season, but let's just temper things a little bit. Byrnes is still a pretty useful player, and more than just a journeyman.

I wouldn't. That Fremantle game from Byrnes - 5 goals and I'm guessing mid-20s in possessions, was more damaging than anything we've seen from Varcoe. I understand that Varcoe is adored on these boards and Byrnes has until very recently been crucified (I was one of them too), but right now Byrnes is the better footballer.

Varcoe has looked much improved in the pre-season, but let's just temper things a little bit. Byrnes is still a pretty useful player, and more than just a journeyman.

No argument about Byrnes being a useful player Partridge. 32 goals last year, and a very good performance in the GF...great pace too.

He is of course 5 years older than TV, and has 20 extra games under his belt ( 76 games - TV 56 games). I think though that this year may well be a break out year for Varcoe. Often players take a big step forward after 50 games, due to experience, increased body mass, strength and conditioning....I think GAJ is a classic example of this ( and Byrnes for that matter ). TV is at this point now being 21, and looking so much stronger this year. Time will tell, but I for one am looking forward to his season this year.

I am also looking forward to Shannon Byrnes running into open goals and being just as damaging as last year. Both are certainly in Geelong's best 22.

No argument about Byrnes being a useful player Partridge. 32 goals last year, and a very good performance in the GF...great pace too.

He is of course 5 years older than TV, and has 20 extra games under his belt ( 76 games - TV 56 games). I think though that this year may well be a break out year for Varcoe. Often players take a big step forward after 50 games, due to experience, increased body mass, strength and conditioning....I think GAJ is a classic example of this ( and Byrnes for that matter ). TV is at this point now being 21, and looking so much stronger this year. Time will tell, but I for one am looking forward to his season this year.

I am also looking forward to Shannon Byrnes running into open goals and being just as damaging as last year. Both are certainly in Geelong's best 22.
Totally agree. The selectors confirmed that last year bringing TV straight back for the finals after his injury, excluding Stokes. Not sure we have to have a discussion about Travis and some always bring up the Byrnes comparison. They are BOTH very important players and not fighting for each other's spot, the way I see it.

I think the knock on Travis was that he couldn't seize the moment; he did that enough times last year, as that Bulldogs game showed, to suggest he's making progress. I have to agree with Partridge though, whilst Shannon still does have the occasional vintage moment, IMO last season he improved enough to justify having him in over Trav.

Totally agree. The selectors confirmed that last year bringing TV straight back for the finals after his injury, excluding Stokes. Not sure we have to have a discussion about Travis and some always bring up the Byrnes comparison. They are BOTH very important players and not fighting for each other's spot, the way I see it.

Yeah it wasn't so much to compare with Varcoe, it was that Byrnes was mentioned further back as a useful servant and not much else; right now I'm sure we'd all agree he's better than that.

But you're 100% correct - right now both are in our best 22 without any doubt. If Varcoe can step his game up a notch or two they'll be one hell of a small forward combination to deal with.

Yeah it wasn't so much to compare with Varcoe, it was that Byrnes was mentioned further back as a useful servant and not much else; right now I'm sure we'd all agree he's better than that.

But you're 100% correct - right now both are in our best 22 without any doubt. If Varcoe can step his game up a notch or two they'll be one hell of a small forward combination to deal with.

Why back away from these blind Freddys when you've just declared the evidence, Varcoe could not, and will not do what little shan shan did on the weekend. Its only wishfull thinking, pie in the sky stuff from these Varcoe worshippers.

And get the guy who said ten from Varcoe are better an 30 from Shannon, I mean, is that guy altogether 'OK', we'll be waiting for the next game before Varcoe collects his ten, stats mean nothing, as if!
Varcoe is second rate to Byrnes.
One day he may snare 5 goals even 3 and get 25 possessions but not as yet.

Shannon didnt do much more than what his done in previous years. It was more that his disposal got better.
Id much rather have Trav than Shannon, as theres alot more improvement left in Trav than Shannon.

And the person who compared Varcoe to GAJ is right. Before the other players gave Gaz the kick up the bum he needed he was very much what Trav is now. (Well Gaz was marginally better)

Why back away from these blind Freddys when you've just declared the evidence, Varcoe could not, and will not do what little shan shan did on the weekend. Its only wishfull thinking, pie in the sky stuff from these Varcoe worshippers.

And get the guy who said ten from Varcoe are better an 30 from Shannon, I mean, is that guy altogether 'OK', we'll be waiting for the next game before Varcoe collects his ten, stats mean nothing, as if!

I remember many Cats fans wanting Byrnes' scalp, including me. Thompson saw something and gave him more opportunities - and guess what the bugger had a good season in '09. Shut me up.

I was also a very concerned Geelong supporter about Varcoe and what seemed to me quite a slow progress towards making a full contribution to the side. I saw enough last year to see why Geelong would like to give this player some time to grow into AFL footy.

He has some silky skills and I can see him hurting an opposition in quick time. Although I am largely a convert these days I can see why some, like me, would still like to see a greater, more consistent Varcoe.

Given my poor record on Shagger - I am quite willing to let Thompson get his way on Varcoe (how good of me !).

I think both can improve still further - by showing their talent more consistently IMO. If they do the Geelong side would no doubt be a better side.

what did he do on the weekend?

and to use shannons out of the box performance against freo as some type of norm is a tad much.

Well, you were told mate! 5goals, probably 25 pozzies, that's nothin I suppose?
Honestly, some of Geelong supporters have no respect.

Please my friend, give credit where its due and don't show blind predjudice.

And the guy before you is tempted to give him GAJ statis, I mean, tell me you're joking ~ please.

what did he do on the weekend?

and to use shannons out of the box performance against freo as some type of norm is a tad much.
I was really impressed with Varcoe on Saturday.
He can still get involved more but what he did was pure class against Freo.
He looks 20% fitter this year and able to just glide over the ground in some great linking passages - when he starts backing himself around goal ...............
He also looks much stronger and got pretty physical with tackling.
Valuable addition to our Midfield rotation in 2010

I was really impressed with Varcoe on Saturday.
He can still get involved more but what he did was pure class against Freo.
He looks 20% fitter this year and able to just glide over the ground in some great linking passages - when he starts backing himself around goal ...............
He also looks much stronger and got pretty physical with tackling.
Valuable addition to our Midfield rotation in 2010

He sounds impressive early in the season - and being fitter he will most likely perform better, as any player would.

My question about Varcoe is - I am not sure if he will ever really be a high possession getter, a quality possession player - yes I can see that - and have seen that in patches already.

Perhaps he does not need to be that high possession getter to be become a more influential player for us. If he does go to the mid-field (and plays more often there as time goes by) I think he will need to get some more possies, more consistently. Mid-fielders do need numbers to make their contribution significant (unless a tagger), He really has not had that much exposure however in that role at Geelong - so I am hoping to see him more in that role this year.

i havent bagged byrnes or disrespected him. he really turned the corner last year.

im just questioning where are these 5 goals and 25 possies on the weekend that you allude to in the below (or have we had a twighlight zone moment and you're referring to the weekend of 21 june 2009):

GEELONG 1.1 4.4 12.7 16.12 (96)
FREMANTLE 3.1 7.2 7.3 10.5 (65)
Goals: Geelong: J Bartel 2 C Mooney 2 S Johnson 2 S Byrnes A Mackie J Podsiadly G Ablett T Hawkins J Selwood P Chapman M Duncan. Fremantle: J Bollenhagen 2 M Johnson A Sandilands B Schammer J Crichton M Barlow D Headland G Broughton R Crowley.
Best: Geelong: J Selwood J Bartel H Taylor C Enright G Ablett. Fremantle: A Sandilands M Barlow R Hayden L McPharlin.
Umpires: S Jeffery D Margetts T Keating.
Crowd: 10,000 (approx) at Fremantle Oval, Perth.

And the guy before you is tempted to give him GAJ statis, I mean, tell me you're joking ~ please.
What weekend are you on about? As far as GA status, he already has the#5 does he not? The rest is inevitable

One day he DID get 3 goals and 25 possessions against the Crows playing with the All Stars, start of 09, so he can do it, just hasn't had to do it with Geelong just yet. Get the download of that game and see why some of us are salivating at his potential. Let's agree to disagree, but I hope you are not that turkey we were sitting behind last year rd 1 agst the Hawks--spent the whole night abusing Varcoe to the embarrassment of all of us, with some Hawk supporters even acknowledging he can play.

Well we know what that turkey will look like by season's end......

Shannon can hardly be criticised - he has been awesome in turning his game around last year. He also had a big role in our last quarter in the GF - stood up when it counts, so he has earnt enough brownie points by me to be a walk up start for the year.

Trav and Byrnes should never be assessed on goal return. They actually compliment each other as is evident with Byrnes always running to swing onto the left foot and tending to look more for space in pockets, whereas Trav is (somewhat suprisingly) a player who looks to run in straight lines as much as possible - hence his ability to give off great little 1 - 2's, as was the case in the GF with Chapman.

I expect Trav though to step to another level this year - he should not be compared to Ablett as GAJ was far superior when he was playing his forward role. But Trav has the great ability to be both a good Winger and maybe even a running half back.

I see Shannon as our Steve Milne, very much the one touch opportunist small forward type, while Travis is more the outside link mid field type, IMO.
His style is probably more in keeping with a mid/defender type role, and possibly that's why he finds it difficult to be statistically effective as a forward.
I don't believe they're playing him in his correct position, that's why I mentioned the inclusion of Mitch Duncan (previous post).
I sincerely hope Travis becomes a 30+ possession winner further up the ground and is given the opportunity to panick defenses as he brings the ball in forward.
In that role he'll be far more effective for the GFC.

Shannon should have a stellar year with the incluson of big Pods.

Seriously, no offence to anyone, we're all pretty passionate supporters hoping for the clubs continued success, Travis has great potential, but probably not as a goal kicking small forward.

Sorry I meant the game against Fremantle last year - I think it was Round 11 or 12 or so when Byrnes kicked the 5 goals. Not the weekend just gone. Apologies for the confusion!

Yeah the point was Byrnes' best at this level has so far been better than Varcoe's. Another poster has correctly pointed out that Byrnes always got plenty of the ball, for the most part his disposal let him down, it improved rapidly (and unexpectedly I'll admit) last season.

I see Shannon as our Steve Milne, very much the one touch opportunist small forward type, while Travis is more the outside link mid field type, IMO.
His style is probably more in keeping with a mid/defender type role, and possibly that's why he finds it difficult to be statistically effective as a forward.
I don't believe they're playing him in his correct position, that's why I mentioned the inclusion of Mitch Duncan (previous post).
I sincerely hope Travis becomes a 30+ possession winner further up the ground and is given the opportunity to panick defenses as he brings the ball in forward.
In that role he'll be far more effective for the GFC.

Shannon should have a stellar year with the incluson of big Pods.

Seriously, no offence to anyone, we're all pretty passionate supporters hoping for the clubs continued success, Travis has great potential, but probably not as a goal kicking small forward.

Who says debate cant find common ground! Spot on meto...lets see if we are both right!! :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Travis Varcoe