Toast Travis Varcoe

Varcoe is a very exciting player but to compare him to Polly Farmer and some of the great indigenous players in our game is getting a little out of hand.

He is an exhilarating player and I would say he is my favourite player after Ablett and Scarlett, so no one wants him to reach his potential more than me but his career could still go either for mine.

I really hope he delivers this year, could be just the boost we need to get over the line.

Now there's no bigger fan of Travis than me, but this is a very big call indeed. Polly wasnt just a great player...he changed the game forever. Absolute legend...up there with EJ and Barassi.

and second best? Well..Polly wore 5, Gary Snr and Junior wore 5.... I think Trav would be happy to mentioned in the same breath as those players.

Nevertheless, I think he could be a superb player for us...how good is to be seen. I think he's the best indigenous player in the AFL right now though...( eat that up Hawk flogs)

Agree wholeheartedly...except the bolded part. I think Adam Goodes may have the wood on young TV atm! ;)
Have to say that when I went back and watched the replay of Sunday's game, Travis's 1st quarter was extraordinary.
The problem I have about reading anything into Sunday re form is the fact that we were pretty much playing a VFL side.
Now we're going from playing the worst side in the AFL to arguably the best.
Looking forward to seeing how TV, SJ, Tomahawk & Lonergan play against a real footy team.

Agree wholeheartedly...except the bolded part. I think Adam Goodes may have the wood on young TV atm! ;)
Have to say that when I went back and watched the replay of Sunday's game, Travis's 1st quarter was extraordinary.
The problem I have about reading anything into Sunday re form is the fact that we were pretty much playing a VFL side.
Now we're going from playing the worst side in the AFL to arguably the best.
Looking forward to seeing how TV, SJ, Tomahawk & Lonergan play against a real footy team.

OOPs.....forgot about him! Right now, certainly #1. TV does have the potential to reach great heights....

It was more of a bait to Hawk trolls....because we know how precious they are about a certain player....:D

OOPs.....forgot about him! Right now, certainly #1. TV does have the potential to reach great heights....

It was more of a bait to Hawk trolls....because we know how precious they are about a certain player....:D

Haha...yes. Cyril is "potentially" a great player who I love watching at his best, but Hawks fans seem completely forgiving of the fact that he disappears for great lengths of time and he shanks every 3rd kick!
If he played for the Cats he would be getting crap on this board for being all tip and no iceberg (to paraphrase a guy I loathe!).
Thankfully we are much more demanding as a club and a fan-base now.
Probably why we are still fighting for a flag and have won 2 from 3, as opposed to.....
PS Have a Roschti for me at the Kronenhalle!!!

Agreed.

At any other club he would chop to an incredible extent.

Varcoe was awesome on the weekend. 9 score assists is just ridiculous. 10 weeks time and he will be tearing apart games with moments of absolute Varcoe magik/brilliance.

I'm excited!

I think the goal assists are only counted if they come from hand or foot. Trav had 2 tackles I remember that directly resulted in goals and a couple of high pressure chases in our forward line that caused turnovers that turned into goals. So he has probably caused 12 or 13 goals. And kicked 1 himself. His best game yet. Lets hope he can keep consistent

Carn't believe the love affair some are having at the moment, the 24 possezzies last week was about a game high for him, steady on!!!!!!!!!!!

Best indiginous player to play in the hoops, and in the league Get serious!

Yep he was that good, second best player to wear the blue and white hoops, and you could probably mount a pretty fair argument that he was the equal of the other number five.

Yes...Polly was a champion all right. I recall as a (very!!!) young fella being wide eyed as Polly ripped off a 30 metre handball to a flat out Billy Goggin's chest ( and Billy was quick believe me ), who either goaled or slammed a stab pass ( oh to see that skill again! ) onto a leading Doug Wade's chest. Absolutely unstoppable. How the 63 team didnt win another is a mystery and shows just how hard it is to win 2 in a short period!!

Polly revolutionised the use of handball in our game, and had rucking skills to boot. An absolutely tremendous player. I think Bobby Davis thinks he was the best we've had.

Then EJ picked up on his own idea...the flick pass...that was later outlawed. Frankly, I loved the flick pass and used to practice it when I was a kid....fat lot of good that did me!!

Yes, Travis is good....but not in this league.

As has already been said...Polly Farmer is a true legend of the game.

Yes...Polly was a champion all right. I recall as a (very!!!) young fella being wide eyed as Polly ripped off a 30 metre handball to a flat out Billy Goggin's chest ( and Billy was quick believe me ), who either goaled or slammed a stab pass ( oh to see that skill again! ) onto a leading Doug Wade's chest. Absolutely unstoppable. How the 63 team didnt win another is a mystery and shows just how hard it is to win 2 in a short period!!

Polly revolutionised the use of handball in our game, and had rucking skills to boot. An absolutely tremendous player. I think Bobby Davis thinks he was the best we've had.

Then EJ picked up on his own idea...the flick pass...that was later outlawed. Frankly, I loved the flick pass and used to practice it when I was a kid....fat lot of good that did me!!

Yes, Travis is good....but not in this league.

As has already been said...Polly Farmer is a true legend of the game.
Great memories David, somebody else old enough to ruminate. Billy was my favourite player and I used to spend hours trying to emulate that stab pass of his. Didn't see a whole lot of Polly. But he did come to our school and teach us kids a few tricks did The Big Cat. St Joeys. I think Sam Newman became as excellent a player as he was because he had such a great role model.
IMO, Travis fully justifies the #5 he has been given.

Geez you're bringing back memories David, was there for Pollys first game at Kardinia Park and recall being gobsmacked at his handballing skills [ unequaled before or since ] and the way he'd leap a fraction early at the center bounce, get a lift off the opposition ruckman and take the ball before dishing it off by hand.

Think it's fair to say he revolutionised the art of ruck work as well as handball such was his impact on the game, as you say, a true legend by any standards.

... or slammed a stab pass ( oh to see that skill again! ) onto a leading Doug Wade's chest.

Second that, watching Bobby Skilton drill a forty meter pass that never got above waist height into the guts of a leading forward was a joy to behold, but sadly something I doubt we'll ever see again, along with the drop kick it's been relegated to the dustbin of history I'm afraid.

Second that, watching Bobby Skilton drill a forty meter pass that never got above waist height into the guts of a leading forward was a joy to behold, but sadly something I doubt we'll ever see again, along with the drop kick it's been relegated to the dustbin of history I'm afraid.[/quote]

I was at KP one day watching training with my Dad. Billy Goggin had stayed out after training to practice stab passing to Wade. A lot of kids were on the ground having a kick ( me included ) as training was officially over.

Some kid kicked it off the side of his boot as Billy let fly with a stab pass hardly more than a metre off the ground. The kid ran after his ball right across the path of Billy's bullet...and it hit the kid front on from about 20 metres.... I thought the little bugger was dead!! I recall reading that Billy visited him a few days later and gave him a footy.

I never remember Billy stuffing up a stab pass ( maybe selective memory!!) and I think its a great shame its disappeared from our game. When executed to perfection ala Goggin and Skilton it gives the backman absolutely no chance.

As for the drop kick...stop stop!!...or I'll start raving about Paul Viner!!!!:cool:

I was at KP one day watching training with my Dad. Billy Goggin had stayed out after training to practice stab passing to Wade. A lot of kids were on the ground having a kick ( me included ) as training was officially over.

Some kid kicked it off the side of his boot as Billy let fly with a stab pass hardly more than a metre off the ground. The kid ran after his ball right across the path of Billy's bullet...and it hit the kid front on from about 20 metres.... I thought the little bugger was dead!! I recall reading that Billy visited him a few days later and gave him a footy.

I never remember Billy stuffing up a stab pass ( maybe selective memory!!) and I think its a great shame its disappeared from our game. When executed to perfection ala Goggin and Skilton it gives the backman absolutely no chance.

Great story mate.
Yeah it's a shame the dictates of the modern game have seen those skills disappear possibly forever, the stab was as you say impossible to defend against when delivered properly.

As for the drop kick...stop stop!!...or I'll start raving about Paul Viner!!!!:cool:

Poetry in motion I think you could call his kicking action ........ heck now I'm getting all misty eyed. :)

Don't think Lonergan will be there if Scarlett comes back. We're already too top heavy. Can't see Thompson dropping one of the 3 forwards either.

Gee! I hope he is, the chop out he gives Harry and the backup against the talls for scarlo, he's more valuable than you realise.

But, fortunately your're not on the selection committee.:eek:

Toast Travis Varcoe