Travis Varcoe

Think this thread has officially crossed over into the twilight zone to be honest, can't believe anyone is still making excuses for Varcoe after last nights effort.

Apart from Meto who should just be ignored when it comes to any discussion about Varcoe, those criticising him are pretty much on the money while those bending over backwards to find some reason/excuse for his form are really getting desperate.

If his first half was "better" last night I'd hate to see him play a bad half, and if he's "playing to instructions" then it's time for new ones, though I strongly doubt any coach would instruct any player to hang out of contests in the manner he does, or butcher the ball on the rare occasions he does get his hands on it.

Quite frankly it's reached the stage where it's embarrassing watching him run around in the blue and white hoops.

Can't understand what CS was thinking putting him in at the center bounces so often.
Last statement: Decoy strategy

Why do you keep peddling something that you don't believe to be true?
I certainly don't BELIEVE the hatred, vitriole, criticism of a single Geelong premiership player by Geelong supporters. And why this goes on and on each week is embarrassing for our board, not for TV himself.

Do you have a better explanation, without being derogatory?

Love your choice of words, Mitch was awful, Varcoe was ordinary!

Varcoe is like a frightened little boy out there, throws to 3rd gear when approaching a physical contest or circles about out of harms way.

Roll the video and see how desparately involved Mitch Duncan was, makes your bloke look like the chicken he is.
Least Duncan attempts to get a hard ball and successfully I might add, unlike Varcoe!

What's wrong with Scott, just chuck the bloke down to the two's, make him earn a game, like he does the kids.

Varcoe in the team is one reason why we lost, no physicality.

absolutely agree. i was stunned by how Varcoe would not borrow in for the ball. yet Duncan was all courage. in fact, in every game Duncan shows a high level of guts. the guy will become a champion.

so Duncan gets the accolades from me & in regards Varcoe i am left to mull over his lack of grit under pressure. a real surprise after his great tackling efforts of years gone past.

I certainly don't BELIEVE the hatred, vitriole, criticism of a single Geelong premiership player by Geelong supporters. And why this goes on and on each week is embarrassing for our board, not for TV himself.

what a lot of rot to come to that conclusion. this debate is all about arguing the merits of what each individual contributes to the team. and in regards to Varcoe - whom i have always admired in years past - i am left a bit stunned by his consistent lack of impact on games beside a little cameo here & there.

Last statement: Decoy strategy

The bottom of the barrel has been hit... Congratulations. And you don't even have the the belief in this statement to even attempt to back it up with anything credible.

We're getting crushed in the clearances so Scott puts Varcoe in there as a decoy?? What?? A decoy for what or whom? Why would the Eagles even give a damn what our midfielders are doing when they are already giving us a hiding? Our players couldn't even get their hands on it?? Note that Varcoe was moved into the middle in the first half.

And there it is........... :rolleyes:

Obviously you are a very emotional person who will not accept criticism of any Geelong player(s) without taking it personally. Why? They are professional athletes who are happy to soak up our support and take all the spoils when things are going great, yet we are meant to feel bad about offering critique when things are not so great for an individual(s)? When we actually contribute to their salaries? I don't think performing at or near your best for 2 hours a week is too much to ask. Varcoe in particular is soft, that is not acceptable at AFL level.

Try and leave your emotions aside my friend. Do you think the players really care too much for you or me?? I couldn't care less about my clients tbo... they mean $$s to me, like most workers will admit if being honest.

Reality check my friend... passion is great, but you're letting your emotions cloud your judgement here. That's how people(usually females) make bad decisions in life as a rule. ;)

The vast majority of it [ vitriole ] comes from one poster, and as I've already stated, best to just ignore him.
Most of the other criticism is justified in my opinion, and I for one have no problem with "fair" criticism which is really no more embarrassing then the continued hype from others about a player who's had a pretty modest career to date.

Do I have a better explanation for what, why he keeps getting criticised or his poor form?
If it's the former I think it's his lack of effort [ softness ] combined with the belief that he has the talent to be so much better that irks a lot of posters, myself included, if the latter I have no idea, except that it's none of the lame excuses trotted out on here.

The vast majority of it [ vitriole ] comes from one poster, and as I've already stated, best to just ignore him.
Most of the other criticism is justified in my opinion, and I for one have no problem with "fair" criticism which is really no more embarrassing then the continued hype from others about a player who's had a pretty modest career to date.

Do I have a better explanation for what, why he keeps getting criticised or his poor form?
If it's the former I think it's his lack of effort [ softness ] combined with the belief that he has the talent to be so much better that irks a lot of posters, myself included, if the latter I have no idea, except that it's none of the lame excuses trotted out on here.
I don't know TV, or Blake, Hawkins, Mackie, Byrnes, Lonergan, but all these guys cop abuse, sheer abuse, on this board. I don't take it personally. Ridiculous. But I'm more than happy to provide distraction. What gives people the right to vent their frustrated spleens on targeted players ad nauseum? Whether we win or lose, there has to be A PLAYER , at least 1 , every week , whose turn it is to be the victim. I just don't believe in it.

There are plenty of better ways to express these concerns . Does all this Varcoe crap cease the week he gets dropped? It seems even a good game doesn't give him a reprieve, because the opposition was no better than witches hats. Those witches hats did beat us in the last/4 last week. And next week, IF he plays and does well, the abuse continues because Lions are not top 4, or top 8??

Besides, even next week will be a real challenge, Varcoe or not.

And the explanation I was questioning referred to your concerns with CS putting TV in the centre at ballups. Maybe I just can't take this stuff as seriously as some here seem to. The game is stressful enough.

And there it is........... :rolleyes:

Obviously you are a very emotional person who will not accept criticism of any Geelong player(s) without taking it personally. Why? They are professional athletes who are happy to soak up our support and take all the spoils when things are going great, yet we are meant to feel bad about offering critique when things are not so great for an individual(s)? When we actually contribute to their salaries? I don't think performing at or near your best for 2 hours a week is too much to ask. Varcoe in particular is soft, that is not acceptable at AFL level.

Try and leave your emotions aside my friend. Do you think the players really care too much for you or me?? I couldn't care less about my clients tbo... they mean $$s to me, like most workers will admit if being honest.

Reality check my friend... passion is great, but you're letting your emotions cloud your judgement here. That's how people(usually females) make bad decisions in life as a rule. ;)
I'll take your friendly advice on board, as you seem to have intended it to be genuine. And because you are passionate about Geelong.

I don't really take this personally. We all have our favouriites, and MOSTLY, these players will prove to be more than useful over their careers. Very rarely have I rated a Geelong player highly who turned out to be a dud.

Just for the exercise, a quick list of those who captivated my support over the last 40 odd years;
Farmer, Goggin, Walker, Marshall, Vinar, Polinelli
Newman, Blake, Clarke, Turner, Nankervis x 2, Malarkey, Hawkins, Jefferies
Bews, Couch, Stoneham, Brownless,Bos, BUDDHA, ABLETT snr.
Ablett jnr, Graham, Riccardi, Lynch, Scarlett, Wojo, Mooney, Chappy, Taylor
And Varcoe
Hardly a dud there. I am sure TV will be worthy of our support.
Right now, we ALL know he is struggling. What we don't need is endless descriptions of his ineptitude on a weekly basis, even on a weekend when he actually played well.This week not so good. Not alone. We all saw what we saw. There were some equally not as good/ worse. Don't need to name them.

You treat people in your work situation like this if they stuff up? I doubt it, even if they are just sources of $ for you. Just not the way I like to speak to or about people. Pretty sure these guys cop enough criticism from the inner sanctum, in private.

I think that Travis Varcoe is playing lazy football. He can bob up at any time and get that great goal and maybe another 15 minutes of good football, then he is led to the ball and his tackling is like a wet celery.

To play two hours of football with an intensity in bursts is what he needs to do. Then the team will do what they need to do to win the games.

The problem with us at the moment is the backline is being led too far up the ground and the opposition forwards are skimming the bounderies to be loose in their fwd line with no opponent.

When we try to inflict a press on the opposition fwds our forwards are being taken down there as well and when we get posession there's not a
fwd to be seen.

It's time that the Johnsons and the Stokes,and these type of players of the team should not go through the midfield so that we have options when we attack.

If we hold back on that centre line and not be sucked in by the oppositions
game plan then we might not be made to look like fools.

We can all come up with a scenario to show why we should look at an individual and focus on their shortcomings, but, it is a team game and we have lost the way we used to be accountable for each other.extras

So it's vitriol now to call Varcoe's effort lazy? I certainly can't believe the amount of excuses I've heard from Varcoe apologists in the last few weeks. What a waste of a spot in the team he's occupying. A week's rest has done f*** all to his attitude.

As for blaming Selwood for our two losses, how ridiculous. Sure it was a dumb thing for Selwood to do, but if our team cannot cope with the absence of one midfielder and lose to a pathetic Essendon and a resurgent West Coast playing at their home then we may as well pack our bag and call this season off.

Varcoe and J Hunt are the biggest liabilities in our side at the moment. We will not win this year's flag playing these soft turnover merchants on their current form.

The problem with us at the moment is the backline is being led too far up the ground and the opposition forwards are skimming the bounderies to be loose in their fwd line with no opponent.

It's purely work rate that's killing us if you ask me in this regard. Players are required to run up the ground and 'press' depending on whether they are defenders or forwards... our defenders are chasing tail back to the forward line, and our forwards(worse) are not getting back in numbers to make good position to receive. Not to mention our forward defensive pressure, which has been pathetic of late(tackling etc).

The ease that teams are moving the ball out of our forward line is just damn embarrassing. Very little pressure. Players not willing to work hard enough to cut off leads etc. The lazy pricks should get a rest. Varcoe number 1.

It's not down to 1 or 2 players or the ongoing handful Veedubs mentioned who cop it in here week in week out. I find for those people who dont understand modern footy the only way to express themself is through ongoing bagging of players, because this is all they understand. Game plans and how they evolve over the 4 qtrs and how players fit into these plans never ever get discussed by the consistently abusive. I see a supporter in the stands with a meat pie slopped all over his jumper yelling abuse as the beer being drunk simultaneously spills over the poor hapless saps sitting in front of them. :D

I know the negs wont like dealing with the truth in here but 20 blokes played well below par last Friday night. Singling out 1 or 2 or even 3 is just the completely wrong attitude. It makes others feel like, "hey I am not to blame, I am ok arent I?"

Complete BS. The team needs a good hard look at itself given sides have been scoring too easily against us for some time now. Ling aside who played a ripper, everyone else was sub par. The whole team will win us the flag this season and those with their attention focused on one or two individuals have sadly already missed the boat for 2011. Yes we need to be mindful of preparations already underway for finals but I am fairly sure the players would know better than anyone the whole team is to blame, and it starts and will most certainly end there.

Varcoe and J Hunt are the biggest liabilities in our side at the moment. We will not win this year's flag playing these soft turnover merchants on their current form.

On the Hunt topic, did you see Taylor Hunts game? I know he's a loved one on this forum with all the 'poodle' crap, but he was completely lost out there on Saturday night.

Don't forget to consider that when Geelong miss a goal attempt, it's no different to a Geelong defender generating one for the opposition with an error. Costs us the same result on the score board.

Our defence were getting absolutely hammered in that period where silly mistakes were made. You know why? PRESSURE! And our midfielders weren't working hard enough.. Broaden your view on the game my friend. Blaming defenders like you have is the simplest way to point the finger, and wrong!

Just one? Very Generous mate. ;)

Everyone writes rubbish at some point or another, I am just curious to know who are actually Geelong supporters and who are not? Yup constructive criticism is fantastic. Ongoing abuse is another sad story again.

Please point me to the direction of the "abuse" you speak of? I'll report the post right away and have it removed. If not, what the heck are you talking about?

There are Geelong supporters who are realistic, then there are those emotional people who are unable to think clearly when it comes to their teams players. I would be interested to hear your constructive criticism of Varcoe since you deem the idea 'fantastic'?

Please point me to the direction of the "abuse" you speak of? I'll report the post right away and have it removed. If not, what the heck are you talking about?

There are Geelong supporters who are realistic, then there are those emotional people who are unable to think clearly when it comes to their teams players. I would be interested to hear your constructive criticism of Varcoe since you deem the idea 'fantastic'?

Trouble with these people 'PB", is they carn't handle honest criticism of their pet idol, we hit their raw nerve.

Its 'ok' for them to criticise others but when Varks fails to perform, the excuses and verbal attacks on any that dare to suggest he finds form in the seconds are called believe it or not, 'a racist or full of hate', these dudes are from the dark ages.

Stuff em', I won't be gagged!

If he performed I'd be the first to say well done!

Please point me to the direction of the "abuse" you speak of?
on this page alone:
PatrickBateman said:
The lazy pricks should get a rest. Varcoe number 1.
PatrickBateman said:
Varcoe in particular is soft, that is not acceptable at AFL level.
'lazy pricks' 'soft' etc. are not neutral terms. other people can and do criticise varcoe in this thread without sounding like they have a vendetta against him

people are going to get pissed off when you, meto et al. appear to be having a go at players rather than talking about what geelong needs to do to win another flag -
constantly whinging about Varcoe when J. Hunt and Mackie have looked similarly uncommitted at times, without having earned 40+ page roast threads

hate to tell you mate but you and meto seem like the more "emotional people" here, can't stop yourselves coming on here to rage about a player - we get it, everyone was hoping his form would improve this year

(incidentally, i'm curious to hear your "unemotional" and analytical solution to the objectively important problem of getting 22 blokes to kick a ball through a couple of sticks more than any other group. don't delude yourself, barracking in footy's 100% emotion)

but if you just keep on with the exact same rant half a dozen times a week it doesn't take long to get tedious. if you don't have anything new to say, maybe 40-odd pages worth is enough?

What about playing him in defence like Carlton has done with Chris Yarran. It would give him a clear role and he can use his pace to rebound. It would make his position more meaningful than just floating around the midfield

On the Hunt topic, did you see Taylor Hunts game? I know he's a loved one on this forum with all the 'poodle' crap, but he was completely lost out there on Saturday night.

Don't forget to consider that when Geelong miss a goal attempt, it's no different to a Geelong defender generating one for the opposition with an error. Costs us the same result on the score board.

Our defence were getting absolutely hammered in that period where silly mistakes were made. You know why? PRESSURE! And our midfielders weren't working hard enough.. Broaden your view on the game my friend. Blaming defenders like you have is the simplest way to point the finger, and wrong!

Agreed about T Hunt. He has a bit of the "Josh Hunts" about him, which is why come finals time, only one Hunt can exist.

T Hunt didn't have his best game on Friday but I think we can cut him some slack as a second year player. J Hunt on the other hand is a 150 gamer who continues to make the same mistakes week after week that result in opposition goals (at least two on Friday). I've been a massive fan of his and wish he would use his long kicking more often. I cringe nearly every time he tries to pinpoint a pass or handball to a teammate in our defensive 50.

constantly whinging about Varcoe when J. Hunt and Mackie have looked similarly uncommitted at times, without having earned 40+ page roast threads

I've criticised both those other players in the past.

(incidentally, i'm curious to hear your "unemotional" and analytical solution to the objectively important problem of getting 22 blokes to kick a ball through a couple of sticks more than any other group. don't delude yourself, barracking in footy's 100% emotion)

I've given my opinion on what I think could happen that would possibly be best for Varcoe and the club moving forward countless times. Read the thread!

What about playing him in defence like Carlton has done with Chris Yarran. It would give him a clear role and he can use his pace to rebound. It would make his position more meaningful than just floating around the midfield

Yeah I'm thinking the same. If he is not going to contest and put his head over the ball, this is another option for him. Problem is, even those types of loose ball movers from defense are becoming rarer with opposition forward presses choking up the space.

The game has changed more so in one year than I can recall to be honest(2010-2011). Players who need space are a dying breed unless they're willing to run hard and find it themselves.