Travis Varcoe

He simply won't work hard, contest and bust a gut around the ground. Keep a close eye on him at stoppages and around the ground, you'll see what I mean.

CANNOT BE DROPPED.

I can't believe your comment above.
I don't know his stats from yesterday (they'd be ordinary)
And that 3rd quarter effort was shite.

But I'd love see GPS readings of his game.

I'm not joking when I say this. I reckon he would have run more km's at high pace than ANY other player in the AFL this weekend.

His running was insane.

15 touches apparently and its been mentioned ad nauseum in this thread that he isnt an in and under mid so why stoppages keep getting brought up is a mystery.

Still not an excuse for not committing yourself at stoppages. Scott has started Varcoe in the middle at center bounces on many occasions this year, I GUARANTEE you with the expectation of winning the footy.. you don't start there for any other reason. Flawed argument.

Hird mentioned recently how you need a spread of different types of mids which include outside types who run and can handle that load, but it doesnt exonerate the need for any player to just get the footy when required and he still has some confidence issues that I believe have been mentioned!

Pretty much rebuts what you've said yourself above. Whether it's confidence or not, the guy needs a kick up the backside to get going(not literally). Why shouldn't a spell in the 2's be considered? Nothing else is working. Are we forever going to carry him?

Mackie is the only other player I've seen to be carried for so long in such ordinary form(2010) of late, then they dropped him for finals. What's the point of that?? Pea brained player management. Most would agree his form since being dropped has improved considerably.

Its like saying, why didnt Josh Hunt break the lines? Is that what he is in the side to do, if it isnt, then why would you expect that as an outcome?

Look, you can try to skew this however you like... point is, if you're put in the center, you're expected to contest for the footy. Some of the other senior players like Hunt have been 'off' recently, but have played good solid seasons as a whole.

I'm not joking when I say this. I reckon he would have run more km's at high pace than ANY other player in the AFL this weekend.

Oh you're not joking?? OK, you must be on the money then. :eek:

Has only reached 20 possessions or more once in his last 12 games playing in the midfield(24 against Adelaide at home who were pathetic). His tackling is vastly down on last year too? Where's he running to exactly?

you are all forgetting about byrnes. now match fit. 22 and 3 goals on weekend 11 touches in just over a quater in sub role. this guy is ready and will play finals

How about you get a life mate, running on here to insult people who have an opinion. He has been doing it all year and he just showed (for the benefit of those who don't get what we are talking about) it on national TV at a crucial time in the game that he won't go when it's his turn.

It wasn't Bartel with a teamate near him when the game was won, it was when the game was in the balance and it was meant to be a contest between him and the Brisbane player.

The bloke deserves criticism for his efforts, I am supporter of the club but I am entitled to criticise a player for not putting in. If that upsets you so much don't read this thread.

Well said. Totally agree. Why Varcoe is so protected on these boards is astounding. That effort today was a disgrace to the jumper.

I want to see him stand up and be a player who performs when we're down... The other senior players share that load, why can't he? He was useless for 3 quarters until we started winning the ball and got on the end of it. He simply won't work hard, contest and bust a gut around the ground. Keep a close eye on him at stoppages and around the ground, you'll see what I mean. Other players come in and out of form, Varcoe has played at this same sustained crap level for the whole year. Not good enough.

Dedication? Heart the size of a pea, won't gut run, his tackling stat half of 2010, soft in and around stoppages? This mediocrity won't get the job done in September against the best, if you're happy with that... FINE. I'm not!

Absolutely correct. I watched him very closely, he actually deliberately runs around contests making sure he avoids players (especially opposition players with the ball). Then he flings out one arm to make it look like he's tackling them.

He is right now about as soft, weak, pea-hearted and pathetic a footballer I can remember seeing. Embarrassing to have him in Geelong colours. And it isn't just this week, he's been the same all season.

Now for what will happen. He won't get dropped, although he should. And his legion of apologists will rush to his defence, saying "if these performances continue, maybe he should be dropped". Except that they've been continuing for about 12 weeks and he hasn't been dropped yet.

If you're an opposition coach, direct all play possible through Varcoe's opponent (which Brisbane briefly did yesterday with Banfield). Make it easy for yourself.

Absolutely correct. I watched him very closely, he actually deliberately runs around contests making sure he avoids players (especially opposition players with the ball). Then he flings out one arm to make it look like he's tackling them.

He is right now about as soft, weak, pea-hearted and pathetic a footballer I can remember seeing. Embarrassing to have him in Geelong colours. And it isn't just this week, he's been the same all season.

Now for what will happen. He won't get dropped, although he should. And his legion of apologists will rush to his defence, saying "if these performances continue, maybe he should be dropped". Except that they've been continuing for about 12 weeks and he hasn't been dropped yet.

If you're an opposition coach, direct all play possible through Varcoe's opponent (which Brisbane briefly did yesterday with Banfield). Make it easy for yourself.

I just think by overstating your case for effect, you reduce the impact of what you are trying to say. Whilst you may think it gets people's attention, it tends to have the opposite effect to those who are unbiased and have watched normally competitive players having average seasons. Its not the first time anything like this has happened, wont be the last, weekly rants achieve zero.

CANNOT BE DROPPED.

Genuine question VC, why can't he be dropped?

His running was insane.

Tend to agree with this, but what's the point of running hard to get to a contest then just spectating?

Yup true, funny thing is other players did the same thing and it isnt being mentioned.

Huge difference being that those "other players" don't have a history of it whereas Varcoe does, so don't really see the point you're trying to make.

Genuine question VC, why can't he be dropped?

Tend to agree with this, but what's the point of running hard to get to a contest then just spectating?

Huge difference being that those "other players" don't have a history of it whereas Varcoe does, so don't really see the point you're trying to make.

Trav didnt have a history of doing it before this season either, so why do we cut them some slack and not him?

Have to agree to disagree here, has always put personal safety ahead of winning the footy IMO.

And the myth grows. One average season IMO in that regard.

But supporters tend to be very fickle at times. That wont change.

Its an emotional game but what goes on in here, the turning on your own players stuff in rough times is something to behold.

And the myth grows. One average season IMO in that regard.

No myth, thought he's always been soft at the contest, unfortunately this year he's taken it to new levels.

Its an emotional game but what goes on in here, the turning on your own players stuff in rough times is something to behold.

He's been criticised for quite some time, even when we were undefeated, so it's hardly a case of turning on him in tough times.

This thread is really going round in circles to be honest, you have your one or two posters who wouldn't have a good word to say about Varcoe no matter what he does, quite a few with genuine concerns/criticisms, and a few others who see any criticism of him as being tantamount to treason.

No myth, thought he's always been soft at the contest, unfortunately this year he's taken it to new levels.

He's been criticised for quite some time, even when we were undefeated, so it's hardly a case of turning on him in tough times.

This thread is really going round in circles to be honest, you have your one or two posters who wouldn't have a good word to say about Varcoe no matter what he does, quite a few with genuine concerns/criticisms, and a few others who see any criticism of him as being tantamount to treason.

Yes I agree with the last paragraph. Nothing wrong with constructive criticism and some have made obviously valid points which you cant argue with when someone is below their best but ongoing rants and stuff that is subversively malicious have ruined this thread completely.