Grendel

Just found some old Wegs posters, books and records while cleaning out some of my stuff (i have alot of 'stuff') that i hadnt seen in years. Was thinking about whats your most treasured paraphernalia (and YES i ran the word through a spell check!) that you may have of your club?

Ive got a couple of things, one is a small cloisonne pin of an image of a player in Hawthorn colours in a sort of 'blind turn' it looks really cool. The other is a styrofoam board about 4ft high by 3ft wide that i got from Melbourne airport after the 90 finals series. The airport had them made up in all clubs colours as a visual display for incoming overseas vistors at that time. I was working late there when they were taking them down after the finals and asked the blokes what they were going to do with them. When he told me they were being chucked i asked if i could grab the Hawks one. No worrys and its been on display ever since
biggrin.gif

So has anyone else got anything unusual that they didnt pick up from the local K-Mart or the like? Id love some old time stuff but that gets expensive and theres only so much money to go around
frown.gif

Grendel good topic.
I've been collecting stuff for 30years, so there is too much to mention, so I'll just mention my latest aqcuisition. My mate who's an electrician, was up in my roof 2 weeks ago & found a box full of scanlen footy cards in good condition. I am trying to work out what year they are from because they don't have a date on them. I have got nearly a complete set of 132, just missing 6 cards. I think it must be from mid 80's, because Frank Dunnell is in the Bombers set & Justin Madden is in the Blues set.
Anyway I am pretty happy with the find, Ive just got to try & find the precise year.

------------------
Mantis

I have the 1933 Grand Final official program and two ticket stubs to the old Southern Stand from the same game.

Also have a 1932 South Melbourne season ticket signed by Bob Pratt and a 1986 Members pass signed by Warwick Capper.

treasured possessions all.

Oh and my pride and joy - an original cigarette trading card from 1909 of Vic Belcher. In great condition too ! - no yellowing, creases or dog-ears.

I have a almost (missing 3 cards) complete set of North footy cards and pogs, almost 650 cards and pogs.

If anyone happens to have and not want a 1963 Mickey Aylett, and does not know how much it is worth, RING ME... NOW

My most treasured items are 1975 and 1977 weg posters.

I have to much crap to name, but probably my signed 1964and 65 scanlans footy card of EJ.
Also a signed doggies jumper with the great mans monika on the number 3.

I collect heaps of stuff now, which hopefully will become more treasured as the years pass by.

Here at home, we've got an autographed Don Bradman pictue. We've also got an autographed Michael Jordan photo, and a signed James Hird Jumper.

As far as football goes, my Dad has got a few Grand Final records from the 1960's. 1967, and 1969, are the oldest ones I think.

Think I've got about 6 straight full sets of Footy cards from the late 70s and early 80's... got Weg posters from 84, 85 and 93... and I think footy records from these.. but my all time fav is my 84 cheer squad pin/ badge... or arguably my 84 flag winning team badge (black writing on red background)..

Jeez I'm getting toey. Fly out tomorrow night. Can't wait. Carn the DONS!

Dutch

Ps. Great stuff Grendel and Sandie

The Scanlens footy cards.

I've got parts of two sets. Both 132 cards. One is about 1972/3 i think. eg: Richmond has Bartlett, Bourke, McGhie, Sheedy, Hart, Walsh, Brown, Balme, Andrews, Cumming and Thorpe.

The later set I'm guessing is about 1976. eg: Richmond has Balme, Sheedy, McKellar, Tulloch, Clay, Hart, Carter, Andrews, Monteath, Cumming, Thorpe.

Anyone got any idea on the years?

Don't ask me why but I've still got the ticket for the 1990 drawn final between Collingwood and West Coast..........how pathetic!!
frown.gif
frown.gif

Dutchy
Maybe you might have spares of the 6 cards I need to make up my 132 set. I'll put the names & numbers of the ones I'm missing, I've also got spares so maybe we can trade, or I could buy the ones I need.
Cheers, if I get a ticket to the GF I might see you in Melb.

------------------
Mantis