Tredrea severely overrated, or a definite future star?

• Thread starter Thread starter QT

QT

Suspended
Ok Tredrea is a great talent, great mark, gives a target etc, but some things too look at......

-Best season 40 goals in 20 games
-Very inacuuraute kick for goal
-Kicked 4 goals in 3 games this season

Hes 23, and this is hes season to really prove a point, can he be the man to kicked 60+ for port?

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Originally posted by QT:
Hes 23, and this is hes season to really prove a point

the media have been saying that for ages about Tredrea - he had a good year in 1999 (i think it was that year).

Apart from that has done very little. We have so often heard, this is the year Tredrea must assert his authority and emerge in the top echelon of players in this competition.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

he is in the frazer gehrig mould
biggrin.gif
cheers

He is overrated by commentators and journos and so therefore, we have high expectations of him.
So it isn't entirely his fault.
He does the best that he can and that's all that you can ask from him.

This is my unbiased view as a Port supporter...

I think he is at times overrated by the commentators and media in general, but I think is an honest competitor and better for our team.

He is a shocking kick at goal but he is a strong mark and good build. I don't think he his going to be the type of player to kick bags of goals regulary but rather play around the 50m arc giving an option and then passing it off to the finishers... a bit like Whitnall does. Then every now and then he will bob up and kick a bag.

I know his goal tallies haven't been impressive but I think he is normally used as a link target through CHF.

Cheers
Scott Kent-Collins

He will be 23 on the 24th of December '01, so you aren't really accurate there.

I think he looks a lot better when he plays up the ground and scores less. When he plays out of the goalsquare too often he can't get into the game. He may not have kicked too many himself this season but he has set up quite a few goals for the smaller forwards and midfielders this year. He isn't a star yet, but he may be one day.

Originally posted by tiger of old:
he is in the frazer gehrig mould
biggrin.gif
cheers

What a load of crap!! I saw them both on Sat night and there is no comparison.
QT, this is not his make or break season. He will be in our side as long as he wants and will provide us with a constant target and provide the opposition with a need to man up with their #1 defender. I'll also take a CHF who gives me 40 goals a season anytime, and so would your team. If my memory is still working, I don't think too many teams have a true CHF who kicks 60 goals a season.
I think he is under-rated by opposition supporters, and that suits us just fine.

------------------
If ya smell what Santos is cooking!!

Originally posted by windyhill:
Has got to put his hand up,would have him before whitnall/croad though.I see croads enourmous start to the seaon has continued.

WHAT ABOUT LUCAS YOU DICKHEAD!! ANSWER THAT!!
STOP RATING CROAD AND HOW ABOUT ADMITTING ALL 3 ARE BETTER THAN LUCAS, AND CROAD HAS BY FAR THE MOST PROMISE AND THE BEST LEAP BY A MILE

#19 SAVE TO DISK REF.9995995858

Originally posted by Scott Kent-Collins:
This is my unbiased view as a Port supporter...

I think he is at times overrated by the commentators and media in general, but I think is an honest competitor and better for our team.

He is a shocking kick at goal but he is a strong mark and good build. I don't think he his going to be the type of player to kick bags of goals regulary but rather play around the 50m arc giving an option and then passing it off to the finishers... a bit like Whitnall does. Then every now and then he will bob up and kick a bag.

I know his goal tallies haven't been impressive but I think he is normally used as a link target through CHF.

Cheers
Scott Kent-Collins

Hello Scott, nice to see you here, better register your name before someone pinches it

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Originally posted by dunstall,19:
WHAT ABOUT LUCAS YOU DICKHEAD!! ANSWER THAT!!
STOP RATING CROAD AND HOW ABOUT ADMITTING ALL 3 ARE BETTER THAN LUCAS, AND CROAD HAS BY FAR THE MOST PROMISE AND THE BEST LEAP BY A MILE

#19 SAVE TO DISK REF.9995995858
Hey ********,Lucas has the score on the board,croad has done f uck all since he started and just gone downhill from there

Originally posted by QT:
Ok Tredrea is a great talent, great mark, gives a target etc, but some things too look at......

-Best season 40 goals in 20 games
-Very inacuuraute kick for goal
-Kicked 4 goals in 3 games this season

Hes 23, and this is hes season to really prove a point, can he be the man to kicked 60+ for port?

QT, you are right on somethings, and completly wrong on a nother. How many true CHFs kick 60+ goals a game?? Most full forwards struggle to get that, let a lone a CHF. Only Carey has regularly kicked that amount...and he also plays a lot more at full forward.

Tredrea has been rated as the next Wayne Carey. He is not..he is a completly different player to Wayne Carey. Tredrea plays the true CHF role, while Carey plays more like a flanker, as he usually runs close to the goal front to get his goals.
Tredrea i would rate as in the top 5 marks in the league. He is rarely beaten. Some people have said he has had a quiet year this year...and that dickhead Jars435 or whatever said he had a crap game on the weekend because "he didnt score".
Tredrea had 23 touches and 13 marks on the weekend. He was in a scoring oppurtunity once. He plays up the field a lot, not from the goalsquare.
Tredrea will never kick over 50 goals in his current role as he is rarely in range for goal. he is a much better kick on teh run than at a set shot. he uses a different foot most times on his set shots compared to his running kicks.

He kicked 3 goals at FF against Essendon, 1 goal at CHF against the crows, and 0 against St Kilda from the same possy. Robran was the CHF for Adelaide for ages (chagning roles last year) and his highest goal count was 24 in a year. Were people after his head??? No. Tredrea due to one game at Full Forward where he kicked 8, has been unfairly marked as a high scoring forward.
he is similar to Robran, that he plays up field, takes a lot of marks, and then kicks to the FF. Dont say this is a make or break season for him...as it isnt...he will be in our side for another 7-8-9 years yet. I think he is doing just great at the moment

#19 SAVE TO DISK REF.9995995858[/b][/QUOTE]
Hey ********,Lucas has the score on the board,croad has done f uck all since he started and just gone downhill from there
[/B][/QUOTE]

STOP SEEING YOUR ESSEN'SYNC *** TOSSBAGS AS LOVERBOY MATERIAL AND YOU MAY REALISE HE IS A USELESS DUD WHO WILL GET HIT HARD COME RD 9!

CLEAN HIM UP- THE UNCO *******!!!!

SAVE TO MEMORY CARD/ OPEN RD9 REF.77277727

Tredrea has been a 'star of the future' for several seasons now. Very over-rated.

Dunstal19, do you have a CaPs LoCk problem, or to you scream hysterically on issues in real life?

Originally posted by Macca19:

How many true CHFs kick 60+ goals a game??

Im not sure mate! I dont think anyone has done that before!

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Scott, I think that you described Tredders very accurately.

There is no way that Gehrig is similar to Tredrea - Gehrig doesn't try hard enough.

Originally posted by WCE2000:
What does this mean, why do you do it
confused.gif

ALRIGHT IF ITS NOT SELF EXPLANITORY IT IS TELLING YOU TO SAVE A BACKUP COPY SO YOU WONT FORGET THE INFORMATION AND SO YOU HAVE A COPY FOR FURTHER REFERENCE. SOME IS COPYRIGHT ALSO
AHAHHAHAHAAH
mad.gif

#19 save on file/ ref. 88787887878

Originally posted by QT:
Im not sure mate! I dont think anyone has done that before!

Exactly..so why expect Tredrea to kick 60+ goals, when he is playing up the field??

Lets compare Tredrea who is much maligned, who is thought of as overrated etc to Robran, who is thought of as one of the best CHF in the league, as a great kick and mark and one of the best players in the history of the crows.
(this is from 1995 so Robran also gets 2 years head start)
Tredrea averages 266 disposals a year compared to Robrans 199. Tredrea averages 90 marks a year compared to Robrans 83. Tredrea has kicked 109 goals in 3 full years, 1 game in 97 and 3 this year....while Robran has kicked only 108 goals in his career which started 6 years earlier than tredreas.
Tredrea averages 27 goals a year compared to 10 with Robran.

Tredrea, statistically is a better player than Robran has ever been...yet Robran isnt maligned or thought of as overrated. Go figure.

Shades of Chris Grant with Tredders - early in his career Grant had big wraps, but there was a problem with his kicking. Now he's one of the AFL's star players and all but won a Brownlow.

Surprisingly though (considering who he plays for) Grant doesn't have a real mongrel streak in him like a Wayne Carey. I reckon Tredrea will develop to the same level as Grant, but he too probably won't have the sheer prescence of Carey.

He'll be a premiership player for Port Adelaide though.

[Tredrea will develop to the same level as Grant, but he too probably won't have the sheer prescence of Carey.

He'll be a premiership player for Port Adelaide though.[/B][/QUOTE]

That's the way lad (TTWL)

Get me off this list (GMOTL)

Funny stuff. Do you work at Comix Comedy Cellars