Tree Hugging,Heads in sand.

• Thread starter Thread starter Daphne

Daphne

When I went to the game and saw the Bombers beat us so badly I felt sick, when I watched Brisbane put us away I felt sick, and then on Saturday night I saw it all happen again and I just wanted to cry. I hate what is happening to our boys just as much as everyone else does, to see those guys who have given us so much over the years go out and get thumped like that is unbearable. But just because I dont get on here or the official board, and suggest that we get rid of this one, or sack that one, and then get told I am a moran, or I have my head in the sand, or I should go have a group hug etc, I have to wonder what being a supporter really means.

A supporter, does that mean that you support your team whatever happens to them, you take the good with the bad, but you still support them. Does it mean that I can stick up for them if someone else is bagging them no matter who it is.

So just for the records that is what kind of supporter I am, and if you dont like it then tough.

What I say or think doesnt mean anything, when it comes to the boys playing out on the field. It would be nice to win every week, even every second week, whatever. It would be nice and it has been, to be up on top of the ladder year in year out, but it would be near impossible to keep doing that, you would say that what we are going through at the moment (and who really knows what that is) was to be expected sooner or later, and in our case you could call this later as most expected it sooner. I care what happens to our club, just as much as the next person, but what I dont care for is all of the doomsday talk, it is a bit like a cancer if you have a good attitude and remain positive then you may be lucky enough to beat it or add a few extra years to your life, and I know plenty who are still here that were told they wouldnt be, one is going into her 30th year, others have gone before her, and of course there is always the cure that is just around the corner.
I am sure that the club, the coaches, players and officials are doing all they can to turn this around and to expect anything less is what I call putting your head in the sand. And the cry of I told you this would happen is useless, we all know what to expect of our club and if you have been around long enough, then you would know that we have been through worse and have still come out the other.
mad.gif
Well I have to finish this now as I am starting to sound like Malibu.
smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 16 April 2001).]

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 17 April 2001).]

Daph, don't read all the doom-speak for a few days because it seems like its getting you down. I've seen you defend the club only to be ridiculed & its unfair.

I haven't been with the club all that long as I've never endured a season where we didn't make the finals but I have every intention of sticking with the club through thick & thin.

I've been fortunate enough to see all three games this season and am happy to say I am getting better at exiting the ground with my head held high. That's a personal triumph for me.

On the negative side, I've forgotten what its like to have a noisier roar than the opposition which is a tad demoralising.

But this rough patch is only going to make victory sweeter when we get our first win on the board.

So chin up, chook!
Some of us still appreciate your optimism.

Keep belevin Daphne, the boys will come good. Some of us say things out of disapointment and frustration but that doesn't meen we still don't support the club or have turned.

I believe our top 12 are still as good as any other side going around but then we drop off a bit. We need two things to get back on track.
1 - These top 12 to perform at the high level as they have in the past.

2 - The new kids and those second tier players to step up a notch and provide the enthusiasm and run like Melbourne got last year.

We are just one win from getting back on track. One win will see the confidence return and then we will be back in business.

I hate both trees and sand but I love the N.M.F.C.
I agree with some of the opinions of the so called experts who frequent these forums but most of us know what is going wrong. Why must the same topics be posted time and time again.
Announcing its a crisis what does that achieve?
For some of these people losing is better than winning, they seem to have more to write about when we lose. I hate losing more than I hate Richmond (and that is alot)Its not fun but god it makes winning so much more enjoyable. Make the most of the good times and remember them during the bad.
There is no way my head is in the sand it is held high just as it was leaving the MCG,the GABBA and the SCG and this week it will be the same at petrol park. As for trees their best use is cricket bats. So dont hug them chop'em down and carve'em up.

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC.

[This message has been edited by DOC (edited 17 April 2001).]

Originally posted by DOC:
As for trees there best use is cricket bats. So dont hug them chop'em down and carve'em up.

But not the way I've heard you love your cricket bats, eh Doc?

And Shinners, I didn't know you were a closet Bon Jovi fan! You go, boy!

Originally posted by Shinboners:
Woooooaaahhhhhh-ooooohhhhhh, we're halfway there.....woooooaaaahhhh-ooooohhhhhh, we're livin' on a prayer.........

(Shinners shakes his mullet and swivels his hips whilst playing air guitar)

I just showed your post to my 21 year old daughter who is a Bon Jovi fan Shinners, she said it was cute. I always liked his Song Bed of Roses
smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 17 April 2001).]

Originally posted by 35eye:

I haven't been with the club all that long as I've never endured a season where we didn't make the finals but I have every intention of sticking with the club through thick & thin.

Interesting 35eye, tell me why you decided to follow the Kangas?.

Voooooooooooo ve half vay there
Voooooooooooo livink with Damiiiiiir
Voooooooooooo ve make it me swear****en
Voooooooooooo livink with Damiiiiiir

John Bonk Jovanovic move over mista, Damir hev news for you.

Never Say Goodbye (to Serbia)
Living with Damir
You Gif Damir Bad Name
Keep The Feeesh
Wanted, Damir or Jelena
Bad Medicine (so me sue doctor ****en)
Bed of Russians

Damir iss beck Beby. Damir come to kick you ass on vorld tour 2001-****en!

Daphne,

I think you might be missing the point a bit here, and taking it personally when you shouldn't be.

Firstly, understand that North supporters are passionate, probably more than most. They understand that a couple of bad on-field years, and it could mean curtains for our club....in it's Melbourne form anyway.

We are all hurting at the moment..BIG TIME. People are simply venting their frustration and hurt over seeing the same things happen (on a much larger scale) as was happening last year.

There were clear signs that North need to change things to stay competitive, but alas, it appears we have gone backwards, significantly.

The gameplan needed to be changed...it wasn't. So called "star players" needed to be dropped.....they haven't. Instead, what have we got? An average losing margin of 69pts in our last 7 losses, with the same non-contributors continuing to get a game on reputation alone.

It's no wonder North supporters are frustrated.

Some people are called "tree huggers" etc because their continued cries of "just get behind them and everything will be alright" and "he's a champion, remember what he did in 96" are not the solutions.

The players and the coach are paid bloody good money (most of us would have to work 10 years to earn what they earn in one year, to play a game) and it is not unreasonable or a "show of no support" to expect these people to be earning the money that our memberships help pay for.

The coach needs to recognise the game plan needs changing and the players need to start performing or be dropped/traded/delisted/paid less.

Whether we like it or not, our immediate future as a club may well be on the line.

It might pay to remember that we all want our team to succeed, but it MUST be competitive at the very least. Our survival could well depend on it.

Some people (I am one of them) are simply venting their anger, frustration and hurt over what's happening and are sick of hearing "be positive and everything will be alright" when we continue to get flogged, week in week out.

Remember, this is not just about 3 games...it's about 6 massive losses in our last 9 games.

Just remember, we are all hurting...some of us just have different ways of displaying that.

No I realise all of that Soggy Boy, and I agree with most of what you say. If we dont have a good year then in turn we have trouble getting sponsors the following year etc. If I have an opinion then it is just that. It is just that if others dont agree with you, then saying things like wake up stupid, or your a moron etc. gets my goat and I dont just mean when they say it to me. I have told others to buggar off as well, but that is only when you see them week in week out bagging someone, then they say something nice about one player and they think that proves how fair they are about what they say.
And I think that we do have to get behind them, isnt that what it is all about?.

Originally posted by Daphne:

And I think that we do have to get behind them, isnt that what it is all about?.

No. My support is not unconditional, and nor should it be.

The club cry poor and appeal to it's members to help it out finacially, whilst at the same time, it's paying someone like McKernan somewhere near the $1M mark for 3 decent performances in 3 seasons.

They refuse to drop him, yet we lose the Glen Freeborns, Evan Hewitts, Matthew Capuanos because they can get more game time at another club.

I will not support a player just because he pulls the jumper on. I also won't continue to support a poor performing player because of what he did 5 seasons ago.

Footy's a business now, and we supporters have every right to demand value for our money.....that's the same money the club want us to continue to give on a yearly basis.

If you think you haven't had value for money over the last 8 years by following the Roos there's something wrong! Every other club through that period has had ordinary years,the "mighty" Dons finished 14th in '97,the Eagles eventually crashed as did Adelaide etc etc. The only certainty was that we'd eventually stumble as well,maybe the thud's a bit harder than we would have liked but that's the way it is. You can't blame the club for signing McKernan on a lucrative long term contract as he was once thought to be among the very top players (I remember several friends only about 3 years ago saying what their respective teams needed to win a flag was McKernan!). The other players you've mentioned are no more than "solid citizens" and wouldn't be making any difference to our current situation. You don't have to like every player that pulls on the jumper but you do have to stick by the club because they HAVE delivered,unlike StKilda,Melbourne,Geelong,Richmond,Collingwood,Swans,Lions etc.

I never questioned whether I got value for my money over the last 8 years. I wouldn't be so stupid.

I also think you might have got the impression that when the going get's hard, I get going.

That is not the case.

I will be at every game possible. I will continue to buy my Pagan's Patron.

I will be around wether we're winning or getting done by 80 pts ervery week.

However, I will not sit back and say "just get behind them and everything will be alright".

I don't deal with it in that manner.

My point about Freeborn, Capuano (who I have always thought was a far better 'ruckman' than McKernan) and Hewitt is that I cannot remmeber any of them having as little influence in the game for as long a period as McKernan, yet continue to get selected week in week out, like McKernan does.

Forgive us if some North supporters get a little frustrated when, for example, Freeborn (how we'd kill for a player with his goal sense now, huh?) leaves the club cos he can't get a fair dinkum run, and then we have to sit back and watch McKernan play 3 good games in 3 seasons, and not even look like getting dropped.

My support of the club is not in question. My support for constantly underperforming players, is.

Originally posted by Daphne:

Interesting 35eye, tell me why you decided to follow the Kangas?.

Well I met my wonderful boyfriend after season 93 and I believe he bought me my first club membership for 94. I was flying blind, I didn't know who the captain of the team was and I didn't know the rules but I've managed to pick up a couple of clues along the way. Now I can't imagine life without footy. Funny how life turns out, hey?

I can remember my grandmother telling me stories about how North Melbourne would go for months without a win. However, if people like my paternal grandparents did not stick with them through the lean times I would probably not follow North. I was influenced by my late Aunt who was a very staunch North supporter. I think it is important that us younger North supporters continue on in the same manner as our predessessors.

hotham

Originally posted by SoggyBoy:
However, I will not sit back and say "just get behind them and everything will be alright".

I don't deal with it in that manner.

The point I have been trying to make is that despite whatever ideas we may have to help turn around the club's onfield fortunes, in effect, we have no control over the selection process of players. There are plenty of us here who have lost faith in some of the players, but as much as we wish to express that sentiment, we're not the ones that select the team. After all, if the fans had their way, Jason McCartney would've been on his way out of the club after his first few games. The best we can do is to write letters to the coach and selection committee or chat to them at club functions.

As fans, the only practical thing we can do that may influence the players is to get behind them and give them our support whenever we can, whether that's at training or at the game.

Bitch and moan all you like (and plenty of us have), but in the end, abandoning the players and telling them that they're not worthy of our support....well....it'll hardly make them want to do that little bit extra (leave the abuse to the coaching staff). That's why I think the fans should take a positive attitude, that's what I mean by getting behind the lads.

Shinboners listens to and recommends Comet Gain

Well I met my wonderful boyfriend after season 93 and I believe he bought me my first club membership for 94. I was flying blind, I didn't know who the captain of the team was and I didn't know the rules but I've managed to pick up a couple of clues along the way. Now I can't imagine life without footy. Funny how life turns out, hey?

And do you still have the wonderful boyfriend.

Nah, I ditched him at the 96 Grand Final washup for a guy with a premiership medal around his neck.

(KIDDING!!!! Yes we are still very happy despite the occasional disagreement over which player kicks whose arse on the footy field, why I favour certain players for their personalities over their footy skills, my on going respect for Peter Bell etc...)

I can't recall when i started barracking for North but I do vaguely remember watching the 77 grand final on TV. All I remember are the crap years when we never played in finals from about 85 to 93 and then to watch that team of the early 90's start playing finals and to see them win a grand final in 96 was unbeleivable. I can only imagine what it must have been like in 75 when they eventually won the first. Were any of you old farts around to see that?

Who are you calling an old fart choppy. Yeah I was around, I also had a cousin who played in that GF. It was amazing, and so was the 77 GF, I think that that group of players should have had another one or two GF's up their sleeves, but when players got hurt then, especially if they did a knee etc. that was almost the end for them, they didnt come back like they do now, whatever the injury. I have to say that 96 was just as exciting if not more for me though for lots of reasons.

Ahhhh '75 I can almost remember it well. I was too scared to go after losing in '74 so I undertook to avoid listening to it until the full replay that evening(no direct TV telecasts in those days). I spent the afternoon with a friend drinking something of our own creation,"The Alamo- the last stand" (half tequila and half Southern Comfort-very 70's), and smoking those funny cigarettes you sometimes hear about. When the replay started I could hardly sit down let alone stand up but managed to keep one eye on the TV and felt very tense (but, surprisingly,not sick at all!). Anyway about half way through the second quarter they played an ad for the Weg poster,"Join in the chorus.." Blue and White everywhere,I turned to my mate and said something like "duzzatmeenwewun?" he said "yep!" and then I fell on the ground and couldn't get up but watched the rest of the game from the floor in absolute delerios delight!! A truly great day!!!!