Triggy

I'm talking about precisely the same thing you are. You're claiming that the people who abused Craig and the players are upset because Craig said that we'd finish top 4, but have failed to show any kind of form so far. The implication is that it would have been preferable for these people if Craig had simply said nothing.

Well yes, or continued with his previous method of making the finals and taking it from there.

There honestly isn't any one reason why the Crows are shit, its many contributing factors examples being.

1) Injuries and interrupted pre-seasons resulting in underdone or missing players.

2) Zone gameplan incompatible with the way other teams are playing us.

3) Not enough leg speed in the side

4) 3 Old senior players playing on a year too many. (Doughty, Edwards, Burton)

5) Certain players that performed last year not performing this year whether its

a) due to carrying injuries or just form.
b) Reading one too many articles in the paper and having tickets on themselves.

6) Total lack of pressure on the ball carrier.

7) For whatever reason playing players out of position.

Abusing players and coaches publicly never gets you anywhere, if our supporters are heading down that path we might aswell stick a Richmond sign out the front now.

Im passionate but Im not going to abuse anyone, yes Im shattered inside like us all, Im pissed at the way we are playing and being coached, and not seeing any improvement or suggestion this will change, yes I will be there Friday night and be supporting the club..........but to a point, and we are all getting near the point where if what was 'dished uped' today continues then changes eithe rplayer or coaches or even game plan needs to change, if we dont start to see that then as commander said vote with your feet and dont go.

i wont boo (may chuck a fee Boo-urns Boo-urns in) the players or coaches but it won’t stop me from going. In for the long haul or not at all.

Unfortunately every club has its moron element. Im sure everyone sits near people at the footy who do nothing but point out the negatives, even if youre ten goals up. These are the same people who lose the plot and go bananas at losses and seek out to run to the fence and 'give their encouragement' to the coaching staff when they leave. Bill Sanders was interviewed with Bucky Cunningham on ABC before the first showdown last year and both were asked their most memorable Showdown moment. Bill Sanders was being spat on by a Crow fan after the match and chasing him through the grandstand. In 2007, I - and everyone sitting near the Port bench - watched in complete bemusement as Danyle Pearces dad ran to the fence and let fly with an insane amount of "encouragement" to the players as they left the field at half time one match.

Its dissapointing, but a $300 season ticket + a stomach full of booze means that some people think their opinion is wanted by the coaching staff as they leave the oval.

And stabby i'm not sure why you're so confounded by poor expectation management?

If he wadn't predicting success he'd be forced to justify what he's been doing since mid 2004. he's getting overdue on delivery of his masterplan.

He could have just shut up and not said anything.

No, he couldn't. No AFL coach has that luxury. And implying that it's OK for supporters to abuse him and the players as a result, simply because they've paid money to attend, is a disgraceful attitude to take, and one that belongs at other clubs, rather than at West Lakes.

Meh, if players and coaches can't deal with a few supporters venting some frustration, they're in the wrong line of work. It happens.

Bingo – leave people expecting the unexpected. Not expecting something only to be disappointed.

Which to be fair is what normally happens. Under-promise and over-deliver is Craig's normal motto. So when he actually came out and said - hey, we just might give this a shake this year, everyone stood up and took notice. What he wasn't counting on was an horrific injury toll that has produced one of the most unstable 22's in our history. How many players have we played in just 4 weeks? This lack of stability has lead to a lack of confidence on field and THAT is what is killing us at the moment.

I agree. Some people feel that because it is a sporting match this gives them the right to behave in a manner that is totally unacceptable anywhere else in life. It's not.

You're right, Craig should have come out in January and told us all not to count our chickens before they hatched :rolleyes:

Craig deserves a large amount of scrutiny - something that certainly will happen. Nobody deserves to be abused, not Craigy and not the players. If you don't want to see the crap they're serving up, hit them where it really hurts - don't buy a ticket, don't renew a membership. The players will be judged on performances, and if they keep serving up junk like we saw today, many of them will not be here much longer. The same will be true of the coaching panel. Sitting there in the crowd and serving up abuse is cowardly and weak, just like throwing abuse at someone who is unable to say anything back always is.

As for Triggy coming out and pleading with the supporters to be patient, good on him. It's good that he's willing to come together with the supporters and show some humility like that.

Caramelas - if that's what robots play like, we need to sack the robotics department :o They didn't play like robots, they played like an old Amstrad.

Definitely not of the Dalek variety.

As for the abuse on the coach & players well as much as it is deplorable it is also something that goes on at all clubs from a very small minority of feral supporters so that was not unexpected.

Have to disagree with you on the "don't count your chickens before they hatch" stabby as i am one who thinks you should never tempt fate by making overly bold statements before a ball had been bounced, would have preferred Craigy to say that our goal was to play finals & aim for the top four rather than we are a top four side.

But that's me i'm old & stuck in my ways.

Don't tempt the footy gods.

Which to be fair is what normally happens. Under-promise and over-deliver is Craig's normal motto. So when he actually came out and said - hey, we just might give this a shake this year, everyone stood up and took notice. What he wasn't counting on was an horrific injury toll that has produced one of the most unstable 22's in our history. How many players have we played in just 4 weeks? This lack of stability has lead to a lack of confidence on field and THAT is what is killing us at the moment.

I have said it before & i'll say it again, the way we played in that first practice game against Port should have rung warning bells to all.

& yes i know it was our first game etc etc but it's not about losing it's about how we played & lost the game which was a display of a placid & content bunch of players just going about thinking that all will be right when it matters so who really cares until then.

No, he couldn't. No AFL coach has that luxury. And implying that it's OK for supporters to abuse him and the players as a result, simply because they've paid money to attend, is a disgraceful attitude to take, and one that belongs at other clubs, rather than at West Lakes.

I didn't say any of this, stop lying.:rolleyes:

And stabby i'm not sure why you're so confounded by poor expectation management?

If he wadn't predicting success he'd be forced to justify what he's been doing since mid 2004. he's getting overdue on delivery of his masterplan.

He's never said he had a masterplan. He's been getting the best out of the list for five years. Whether or not his time might be up, he doesn't have to justify his actions of the last few years, as we've been clearly one of the AFL's most successful sides in that time.

The 5 year rule.

If the coach has not delivered a flag within 5 years, then get a new one and let them try.

Not necessarily.

If the club came out sometime this year and said, we are going to rebuild and give NC first crack at it – i would support that. Because you know and understand the direction and expectations they have with that coach. However If they make minimal changes to the list and serve up the same crap next year – it’s utter BS and therefore i do agree with your 5 year plan.

The 5 year rule.

If the coach has not delivered a flag within 5 years, then get a new one and let them try.
Port and Geelong didn't subscribe to that theory and now have premierships to show for it.

Such a tough one.

The questions the board needs to answer are whether Neil is developing as a coach, whether he is refining his philosophies, improving his structures and plans and getting us closer to a premiership. Is he learning on the job or have we seen the best of him?

Our 22 has been very stable. The last 3 spots has seen about 9 players go through them.

We've played 31 players in 4 games, 9 of whom only played 1 game. We've made 9 changes in 4 weeks with only three of those being unforced (Griffin, Armstrong, Young) - the rest of those were due to injury. Only 15 of our starting 22 have played every game and a good portion of those had a limited pre-season and the players coming in were returning from injury so were also under-done.

How the hell that is "very stable" is beyond me.

In comparison, only Essendon have come close with having played 30 players.

Other clubs:

Brisbane 28
Collingwood 26
WB 25
Geelong 27
Melbourne 26
Richmond 28
WC 29
Sydney 23
Carlton 27
Essendon 30
Fremantle 24
Hawthorn 28
PA 25
StK 25
Kangaroos 25

Mr Trigg is the reason why we cannot get rid of Neil Craig. Perhaps he needs to go too. They'll destroy our great club because of their stubbornness. Sometime Steven Trigg, you've just got to make the hard decisions and not constantly make excuses for persisting with him.
Hes had he's chance - give someone else a go!!

I wonder how a fringe SANFL player gets to be President of the club,

I find Trigg objectionable due to the spin he employs, the jargon he speaks and the path the club has taken in recent years, especially in regards to the coaching staff, Clarke, Hart, Bickley, all ex players all so buddy buddy with Neil Craig

Neil Craig should take total responsibility and resign, his total lack of attacking emphasis, the over emphasis on his interpretation on football fitness over footballing skill, his disregard for strategic recruiting, and Charlie Walsh

This then falls back on Trigg, as he dwells in Schloss Trigg over the next week I hope he contemplates his own future, it should be either in Real Estate, Politics or Game show hosting,

This is the dumbest of the common criticisms going around about the AFC. Wake the **** up mate. Did you close your eyes in the second half of last season when we were storming forward in waves and molesting the goal front, racking up scores in excess of 100 each week? 172-104 against the blues, 132-62 against the power, a 166-70 drubbing of the Bombers; we were the highest scoring team in the comp on the run home in 2009. How about when we had the competition bamboozled in 2006, streaming forward from half back with exquisite skill and regularly posting 10 goal victories? Neil Craig is not an overly defensive coach, that's absolute bullshit. Playing terrible footy doesn't mean we're intending to execute a dour, low-scoring gameplan.

People are unbelievably stupid sometimes. How ignorant can you get, honestly?

This is the dumbest of the common criticisms going around about the AFC. Wake the **** up mate. Did you close your eyes in the second half of last season when we were storming forward in waves and molesting the goal front, racking up scores in excess of 100 each week? 172-104 against the blues, 132-62 against the power, a 166-70 drubbing of the Bombers; we were the highest scoring team in the comp on the run home in 2009. How about when we had the competition bamboozled in 2006, streaming forward from half back with exquisite skill and regularly posting 10 goal victories? Neil Craig is not an overly defensive coach, that's absolute bullshit. Playing terrible footy doesn't mean we're intending to execute a dour, low-scoring gameplan.

People are unbelievably stupid sometimes. How ignorant can you get, honestly?

Not as stupid as yours....honestly how can you even justify Neil Craig's gameplan...look we've just lost 4 games to relatively easy sides..how long do you want him for...I reckon you work for the club - dont you?