Gabbatoir

Brisbane Lions
Man City
Am i the only person that think most of these guys are bloody funny?

BT and co. in Melbourne crack me up something chronic.

Champion and co. in Brisbane also get me going.

Easily the best team going around. They have good banter between, BT, Brayshaw, Ash, Lyon an Frawly. Just makes it alot more interesting.

I really like BT and Brayshaw. They always seem like they're having a lot of fun calling the match.

However, I really don't like all the advertising that they throw in there during the commentary.

series of fart jokes over a few weeks in a row lost me in 2006. I like a good fart joke as much as the next guy but a whole bunch continuously made me wonder if the guys I was listening to were footy experts or just a bunch of 12 yr olds stuck in adult bodies.

Worst commentators in the history of the game. BT needs to be sacrificed to the AFL Gods.

That's your opinion and I respect that but I have no idea how you can call them the worst commentary team even if you don't like them.

Robert Walls, Tim Lane and the rest of the Channel 10 team (with the exception of Luke Darcy who can commentate) suck monkey nuts.

That's your opinion and I respect that but I have no idea how you can call them the worst commentary team even if you don't like them.

Robert Walls, Tim Lane and the rest of the Channel 10 team (with the exception of Luke Darcy who can commentate) suck monkey nuts.

I have a problem with commentators who are trying to be funny while commentating. They make it seem like AFL is just a joke to them, especially BT who thinks he is better than every player out there. The game is serious, I want serious commentators who can tell you whats happening without a stupid joke, or rubbishing a player non-stop.

I reckon it adds a new dimension to the coverage, have a laugh and listen to the footy, it's great.

Triple M all round is terrible. Play terrible music and the commentary is terrible. Most commercial radio stations are garbage.
I think the Triple M guys think they are hilarious and are quite comfortable giggling at their own jokes. I want to know about football not their ego.

I used to hate BT on 9's Sunday footy show becuase he was always 3 weks late with the "current issues"...basically he's a bit dumb...and doesnt do his research.

BUT - I agree the chemistry on mmm works well :thumbsu:

- except for the ENDLESS MINDLESS SPONSOR PLUGS!!! - SPARE ME!:thumbsd::thumbsd:

They're well rid of Newman though....but the whole of the english speaking world already knows he's yesterday's news.:o

I'd love to see channel 10 employ people with a bit more personality than the usual crew.

I agree, Id like to see 10 employ some commentators that are :

A - Understand the game's tactics - So thats Walls out - he still thinks the Swans flood.

B - Inspiring and witty - So thats Lane out - his attempts at humour would embarrass a small non-english speaking African tribe

C - Have some intelligence - so that's Quarter-brain out. In fact, Quarter -brain must be the most hated man in the world - after all, nature abhors a vacuum

D - Have some depth - Our little pear-shaped man Huddo has all the "class" of a private school kid talking footy in the dunny at lunchtime.

If your OK with lighthearted commentary then Triple M is by far the best calling team on radio. I can understand why people wouldn't like them as they can be very jokey and take the piss a bit, but for my mind they are the best callers around. Good entertainment.

They are the best, but were even better when Sam was on. Only the ignorant people don't see this, but Sam has the best football brain of anyone in the media. 4 years ago he was going on about how Geelong should play and how every team should play. Everyone got stuck into him saying he was past it and not up to date.

Funny that as soon as Geelong did as he said, they became the best team in the competition. Funny that many other teams are now following suit, and that many commentators are coming out of the woodwork saying what he said 4 years ago.

He had the guts to say a game was shit when it was a few years back, which got him sacked unfortunately.

Only the ignorant people don't see this, but Sam has the best football brain of anyone in the media.

Oh PULEESE!!!:eek::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You are -

1. - One of the incredibly small minority who think Newman knows anything worthwhile.

2. - Those odds make it FAR more likely you and he know dick all - and the majority who understand Geelongs "new plan" is actually about fitness and skill level - so WE are actually the clever ones.

3. - That makes YOU one of the slow learners -

For your education -

1. - Teams cannot just "play" direct football as a choice - So Sam's "click your fingers" advice is a CROCK OF SHITE.

What Sam forgets is - you MUST have the players to beable to control the corridor - If you havent, you end up like Richmond two years ago.

EVIDENCE? Carlton recruited Jezza as a coach in the late 80's to "simpify the game plan" - What happened? They got MURDERED by every team that had some level of tactical coaching.

Do you think Eade has changed his basic approach? NO - he has his team lay to its strengths, as does Roos, Worsfold, Thompson and Malthouse.

If they go sideways its because they ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH to win going straight ahead.

Whether you like it or not - teams that are NOT the highest skilled "aka Geelong until 2007" MUST adopt different strategies.....or die.

Newman conveniently forgets this small fact.

2. - EVERY team would play through the corridor given a choice, the ability and the opposition letting them. BUT to do this you must have enough dominant players to carry it off (Hawthorn for example)

3. - Geelong ended up being good enough to play direct football last year, after 10 years of trying, because they had DOMINANT forwards and goal kicking on-ballers..

All NEWMAN has done is demand what he'd like to see happen on the field- ...direct football, and claim its a tactic - ITs NOT, its an OUTCOME of having the best team on the field.

This way he APPEARS to be clever to the simple-minded like you.

In reality, Thompson has finally got his team skilled and fit enough to do it. If he had asked his team to play that way in 2005, they wouldnt have made the preliminary final - they werent skillfull enough - they missed targets.

IT has NOTHING- NIx, Nada, Nought, Nil , NYet to do with "Celebrity game plans".

..it has EVERYTHING to do with understanding that direct football is the OUTCOME of being the superior force on the field......IT IS NOT A TACTIC. Use it in the wrong situation and the Jezza example will repeat itself. This is exactly what is happening to Essendon atm - they aren't SKILLED enough to take the corridor...and they are getting KILLED trying.

Only the incredibly stulltifyingly STUPID like you and Newman would think a team could do otherwise.

Oh PULEESE!!!:eek::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You are -

1. - One of the incredibly small minority who think Newman knows anything worthwhile.

2. - Those odds make it FAR more likely you and he know dick all - and the majority who understand Geelongs "new plan" is actually about fitness and skill level - so WE are actually the clever ones.

3. - That makes YOU one of the slow learners -

For your education -

1. - Teams cannot just "play" direct football as a choice - So Sam's "click your fingers" advice is a CROCK OF SHITE.

What Sam forgets is - you MUST have the players to beable to control the corridor - If you havent, you end up like Richmond two years ago.

EVIDENCE? Carlton recruited Jezza as a coach in the late 80's to "simpify the game plan" - What happened? They got MURDERED by every team that had some level of tactical coaching.

Do you think Eade has changed his basic approach? NO - he has his team lay to its strengths, as does Roos, Worsfold, Thompson and Malthouse.

If they go sideways its because they ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH to win going straight ahead.

Whether you like it or not - teams that are NOT the highest skilled "aka Geelong until 2007" MUST adopt different strategies.....or die.

Newman conveniently forgets this small fact.

2. - EVERY team would play through the corridor given a choice, the ability and the opposition letting them. BUT to do this you must have enough dominant players to carry it off (Hawthorn for example)

3. - Geelong ended up being good enough to play direct football last year, after 10 years of trying, because they had DOMINANT forwards and goal kicking on-ballers..

All NEWMAN has done is demand what he'd like to see happen on the field- ...direct football, and claim its a tactic - ITs NOT, its an OUTCOME of having the best team on the field.

This way he APPEARS to be clever to the simple-minded like you.

In reality, Thompson has finally got his team skilled and fit enough to do it. If he had asked his team to play that way in 2005, they wouldnt have made the preliminary final - they werent skillfull enough - they missed targets.

IT has NOTHING- NIx, Nada, Nought, Nil , NYet to do with "Celebrity game plans".

..it has EVERYTHING to do with understanding that direct football is the OUTCOME of being the superior force on the field......IT IS NOT A TACTIC.Use it in the wrong situation and the Jezza example will repeat itself. This is exactly what is happening to Essendon atm - they aren't SKILLED enough to take the corridor...and they are getting KILLED trying.

Only the incredibly stulltifyingly STUPID like you and Newman would think a team could do otherwise.

Don't think so pal.