mustapha

Melbourne Victory
The Triple m morning crew have lost the plot and definitely many listeners. About a year ago Triple m changed their style to play a lot more newer music, even though they did flog some songs to death. It was a welcome change and I loved listening while driving to work. Now all I here is ads and boring chat with people who laugh a lot but are just not funny. I think Rachel (the girl who was on Big Brother for 2 days I think) would have to be the second most annoying and unfunny person on radio (behind Tracy from fox). You can now drive for 20 mins without hearing a song.

The Indecent proposal competition was a pathetic attempt at getting younger listeners who are in to reality programs and I don't know why they continued with it. I think about 45% disagreed with the comp (55% agreed). I understand the reason it continued was that more people voted in favour of the competition but I think many of the disagreeing 45% will just stop listening because it is fairly controversial. Why would you risk losing so many listeners?

The timing of songs on all stations seem to be synchronized so when you change the channel, you get more ads and chat. Its time to buy some more CDs because I have given up on radio. What are your thoughts on Triple m?

Fu.ck Triple M, Fu.ck Fox, Fu.ck commercial radio.

Listen to Triple R (for variety and No Play Lists)
PBS FM (for even more variety)
or Triple J (for good modern rock and NO ADS)

I used to listen to Fox and the Ms but gave up once the ads were getting stuck in my head more than the songs.

Did you know Gold FM only have three Beatles songs and three Rolling Stones songs available on their play lists?

Originally posted by mustapha
The Triple m morning crew have lost the plot and definitely many listeners.

I gave them the flick after listening to the 1st 5 minutes of the new breakkie show.
The chick from Big Brother never shuts up & listening to James Brayshaw makes me want to sleep.
I listen to K-ROCK & some of Sport 927.

When MMM forgot to play the songs that made them, i stopped listening...

When im cruising around, to or from work i want to hear music, and GOOD music.

I wanna play Air Guitar to Zepplin, I want to sing to Chisel, and i want to play drums to Screaming Jets.

So i flicked to Gold104.3

Now i can shake my head from side to side with the Beatles, thinking im one of the Wilson brothers with The Beach Boys, or have my tongue hanging out wondering why i can't get no satisfaction...

Gotta be gold...

I still listen to MMM but recently I've started to listen to Nova a lot more. Of the commercial stations none can compete with Nova in terms of their mix of songs. I'm listening to a lot of music that I wouldn't have even considered listening to six months ago. The no more than 2 commercials in a row policy is also great. Dave Hughes, Dave O'Neill and Kate Langbroek are the best breakfast team and I'll be listening to them when I have to start waking up early again for uni next week.

Kate Langbrook gives me the ****s!!

Nova are EVERYWHERE at the moment... Its like the own the newspapers!!!

They get huge wraps, but i have no choice but to listen to them ALL day at work, and their high rotation songs get played 3 or 4 times a day...

I cant believe this repeating of songs...

Musics been around since the day dot, and there's not enough that stations have to repeat songs??

Triple M plays the best music, but most of their hosts suck.

The morning show is pathetic. None of them, including Beddes are funny, and Brayshaws sport can't get any better than that crap is absolutely terrible

The Cage has some funny people in it, like Trevor Marmalade and Russell Gilbert, but thats outweighed by bloody Tim Smith and his constant laughing and shocking attempts at humour

Maroon and Milly is the worste thing on radio. They try so hard to be funny, that they embarass themselves with the constant flops. And Doug Steel is a ****. He goes on about how tough he is, and then runs a competition where if people ring him while he bags Metallica they win Wheatus tickets. And he's gotta learn that swearing doesn't mean you're funny. And putting down people who have done a lot more with their lifes than that miserable bastard doesn't mean you're funny. Annoying, yes. Funno, no

Triple M should give up on these shows and just have the brilliant Lee Simon for as long as possible, and give McCasker and Fitzy the rest of the time

Whatever happened to the good old days of The Grill Team, Crud, Dougie and Dunstall and the Spoonman?

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
[B
Whatever happened to the good old days of The Grill Team, Crud, Dougie and Dunstall and the Spoonman? [/B]

Crud were awesome in their drive time slot and should still occupy that slot.
I was a huge fan of the Spoonman. He was so cool, I loved that guy. Triple night hosts are horrible. Do they still have that physic, she ****s me to tears. Still I think Triple M play the best music, but I now spend more time just listening to my CD's.

Commercial radio is a bloody joke and has been for a long while. Shame Rachel isn't working out on radio, when she gets the flick, perhaps she can come over here, I have a few jobs for her. ;)

Gotta agree with Egg, the best thing MMM had was the Grill Team.

I have heard Nova isn't bad, I beleive Paul Thompson who started SAFM is involved, perhaps he remembered what made SAFM the first number one rated FM station in Aus.. before they went down the gurgler.

Nova-Crap!Started out good but then mixed it to much

Triple J-You have to listen to it for an hour to hear a good song,Pathetic

K Rock-How triple m used to be,the best at the moment

Triple m-Still good but needs more music and less repetition.Should have 3 hours of non stop music except for commercials in the morning.I want to wake up to music not talking and especially not one of Timbo or Beddes laughing at high frequency.

Fox-****

Mix-****

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg

Maroon and Milly is the worste thing on radio. They try so hard to be funny, that they embarass themselves with the constant flops. And Doug Steel is a ****.

Moron & Silly has to be the worst show ever put on radio & that yank twat Doug Steel should be deported.

yeah i used to listen to triple m a while ago but since nova has been around ive been listening to them, bcos i hate ads. and triple m is now filled with too much bla bla bla and its annoying. nova get a bit carried away with the techno occasionally but at least there are no ads.

When I came to Melbourne 6 weeks ago I tuned my radio to the first frequency that I found to blare at me and get me out of bed in the morning, and by some freaky coincidence it happend to be Nova who I didn't realise were new to the market. But I think the first morning I was listening they played heaps of songs that I liked and I thought it was pretty cool. Definately enjoy the morning show - its got a lot going for it.

Just for a trial I switched to Fox one morning and couldn't stand it because of Tracey Barttram who incidently, used to do brekkie on the oldies station in Perth and personally I think she's out of her league on Fox. And she is NOT funny.

Switched to Triple M coz they play a lot of my type of music, apparently, I'd never know because they just blabber on far too much!!! Couldn't stand it and ended up switching back to Nova and haven't switched back.

At work its the battle of the radio station. Some areas get Nova, some its Fox and some its mix. Same bloody songs all day. Its really annoying. I wish that they'd put it on Gold because it would feel like a Friday or Saturday night while I was working all day!

Originally posted by Rocco Jones

I was a huge fan of the Spoonman.

Spoonman and crud were the only reason(s) I ever listened to triple m. Now I think it's ****.

Nova is the most over hyped of the lot of them, utter ****. What is so good about kate langbrook? She's annoying and isn't funny at all.

I'll stick to cd's thanks.

Originally posted by Rocco Jones

I was a huge fan of the Spoonman. He was so cool, I loved that guy. Triple night hosts are horrible. Do they still have that physic, she ****s me to tears.

Spoony was an absolute gun! Only time i have ever listened to talk back radio ... he could relate to most age groups ... showed a lot of common sense ... was good for a laugh ... and had good music in between. Anyone know if he's got a gig on some other station?

Apparently he got booted because of poor ratings ... would love to see what ratings that stupid psychic is getting with crap like:

Caller: "Errr hi .... I had a dream that I won tattslotto .... what does that mean?"

Psychic: "Luck may find you in the next year or so"

Get outta here?!?!

Listening to Nova now .... like both rock and dance music, and don't mind a few other styles mixed in here and there. Though like Fox, they're starting to promote their own competitions every 2 minutes as well now... gives me the shlts. People usually listen to commercial radio because they wanna hear music ... why is that concept so bloody hard to understand?