Tristan Cartledge- Thoughts

• Thread starter Thread starter jules101

ant555 said:
No where have i said he has the skills of Darren Jarman . I think you will find most players have kicking drills at some stage ;) Can only be a good thing if he continues to work on his kicking. So far this year i have seen most of the list do kicking drills at some stage. Just because he does some extra work on it doesnt mean he cant kick , like i asked before how much have you seen of him in the VFL or at training for that matter to qualify the comment he cant kick?

mate he was playing kick to kick and not hitting the target, I don't think that he should have been delisted infront of any player we delisted (apart from maybe thomas but thats a different discussion) BUT he really needs to step up tjis year.
Drafted same year as Laycock who is showing a lot more then he is. Laycock is 6 months older but I think this year Cartledge really has to take the step that Laycock did last year.

jules101 said:
mate he was playing kick to kick and not hitting the target, I don't think that he should have been delisted infront of any player we delisted (apart from maybe thomas but thats a different discussion) BUT he really needs to step up tjis year.
Drafted same year as Laycock who is showing a lot more then he is. Laycock is 6 months older but I think this year Cartledge really has to take the step that Laycock did last year.

Fine so you went to training once ,saw him doing kick to kick and in your judgment now he cant kick.:rolleyes: Dont worry about the fact that those who have seen him play most of his games know what his skill level is like.
If he improves as much as he did from 2004 to 2005 then he will be still on our list next year and should be ready to play;) Of course you may not belive this as you have seen him having a kick at training and stuffing it up......

hmm Tristan.

Positives: great leap, good agility, okay skills and the right kind of height. Still young.

Weaknesses: doesn't time his leap all that well, never really see him impact a match imo, perhaps lacks a touch of composure.

Still young, and made some progress last year. On the other hand progress definately needed to be made. The concern for me is that say unlike a Laycock, who despite being constantly injured and quite inconsistant, has produced some really eye-catching performances at VFL and AFL level, Cartledge tends to go by without doing too much to hang your hat on and say "yeah that's why we're keeping him, one day we'll see that consistantly". I don't think it's all on the line for him this year, however with the addition of Lachlan McKinnon and Patrick Ryder to the squad he can't afford to drift along.

ant555 said:
Fine so you went to training once ,saw him doing kick to kick and in your judgment now he cant kick.:rolleyes: Dont worry about the fact that those who have seen him play most of his games know what his skill level is like.
If he improves as much as he did from 2004 to 2005 then he will be still on our list next year and should be ready to play;) Of course you may not belive this as you have seen him having a kick at training and stuffing it up......

sounds like ur sleeping with tristan ur that defensive. All I am saying is that he is nowhere near the top 22 at the moment and there are players drafted the same year who are leaps and bounds infront of where he is.
No I haven't seen every match he has played as he is not good enough to play for the seniors. If you get taken aside to practice your kicking and you can't hit a target 25-30 metres away and you are a league football player, you have a problem.

jules101 said:
sounds like ur sleeping with tristan ur that defensive. All I am saying is that he is nowhere near the top 22 at the moment and there are players drafted the same year who are leaps and bounds infront of where he is.
No I haven't seen every match he has played as he is not good enough to play for the seniors. If you get taken aside to practice your kicking and you can't hit a target 25-30 metres away and you are a league football player, you have a problem.

I have not said he is near the top 22 anywhere for a start. I have always said he has to improve more than what he has to make the seniors on a regular basis.
Yes there are players drafted in the same draft that are ahead of him but he was always seen as a longer term prospect than Laycock and you cant compare the time a ruckman takes to the time Watson and Winderlich have taken. In saying that all four still have a lot to prove.

Anyway all of this aside my original comment is that you cant judge him on his skill by watching one training session. I have seen him train and play heaps and although he hasnt got the skills of a classy midfielder his skills are good for a ruckman. You should go back to one of his games in the seniors early last season when he kicked a nice goal on the run from 45 out to see his can kick.
By the way which foot was he kicking with?

ant555 said:
I have not said he is near the top 22 anywhere for a start. I have always said he has to improve more than what he has to make the seniors on a regular basis.
Yes there are players drafted in the same draft that are ahead of him but he was always seen as a longer term prospect than Laycock and you cant compare the time a ruckman takes to the time Watson and Winderlich have taken. In saying that all four still have a lot to prove.

Anyway all of this aside my original comment is that you cant judge him on his skill by watching one training session. I have seen him train and play heaps and although he hasnt got the skills of a classy midfielder his skills are good for a ruckman. You should go back to one of his games in the seniors early last season when he kicked a nice goal on the run from 45 out to see his can kick.
By the way which foot was he kicking with?

Don't remember it, do remember Laycock's on ANZAC Day though. I agree Watson, winda and other player ssuch as Reynolds still have a lot to prove but so does Tristan.
I'll keep an eye on him if he does make the seniors, I can't remember which foot he was kicking with but it didn't look good. I hope it was his non preferred foot.

jules101 said:
Don't remember it, do remember Laycock's on ANZAC Day though. I agree Watson, winda and other player ssuch as Reynolds still have a lot to prove but so does Tristan.
I'll keep an eye on him if he does make the seniors, I can't remember which foot he was kicking with but it didn't look good. I hope it was his non preferred foot.

It was in the round 16 game against Collingwood:thumbsu:
By the way i wouldnt argue one bit that if Laycock is fit he is in front of Cartledge. I doubt Carts will see a real lot of senior action this year either but you never know as long as he keeps improving and puts a little more bulk on this year. Unless he goes totaly backwards this year 2007 will be the make or break season for him.:D

From what I saw last year, I'd say he's one spot outside the 22.

Laycock & Hille should be in.
Bradley should be CHB or forward.

So Cartlegde should be the #3 ruck, first emergency. I thought in the brief bits he had on ground he was a FAR supperior ruck to either Henneman or Bolton. And from what I saw at the intra-club match, Ryder is nowhere near ready.

ant555 said:
It was in the round 16 game against Collingwood:thumbsu:
By the way i wouldnt argue one bit that if Laycock is fit he is in front of Cartledge. I doubt Carts will see a real lot of senior action this year either but you never know as long as he keeps improving and puts a little more bulk on this year. Unless he goes totaly backwards this year 2007 will be the make or break season for him.:D

If Laycock isn't fit for round 1 do you reckon cartledge will take the second ruck spot? or they will just use a part timer liek henno?

jules101 said:
If Laycock isn't fit for round 1 do you reckon cartledge will take the second ruck spot? or they will just use a part timer liek henno?

Would probably depend on his NAB Cup/practice match form. I would like to see them use him even if it is only to give Hille a rest for part of the game. He probably isnt totaly ready but in saying that experience in the seniors cant be a bad thing for him.

jules101 said:
Really has to step up this year if he wants to stay on our list. Sure big men take longer to develop then the smaller guys however having watched him train he can't kick. He will certainly struggle to get a spot in the team with Laycock, Hille and Ryder.
WHat are other peoples thoghts on this?
good call from me

jules101 said:
good call from me

Yes it was :thumbsu:
I still stand by my comments.

I doubt Carts will see a real lot of senior action this year either but you never know as long as he keeps improving and puts a little more bulk on this year. Unless he goes totaly backwards this year 2007 will be the make or break season for him

He went backwards and he was delisted.

ant555 said:
Yes it was :thumbsu:
I still stand by my comments.
He went backwards and he was delisted.

Nah I wasnt having a go at you ant555. I didnt see much of him at VFL level this year but I thought if he was given a chance at AFL level he might have done ok. Played ok in the one game he got. Surely he could have got a game infront of Ryder