Troy Pannell Corruption

Is umpire corruption an issue worth investigating?

• Not at all. The AFL would make sure it’s ok

Votes: 5 5.9%
  • Troy Parnell only . Doubt there’s others

Votes: 6 7.1%
  • Could be more widespread. Should be investigated

Votes: 19 22.4%
  • Highly likely given the amount of money in the sport. Full investigation

Votes: 55 64.7%

Wow, yeah I remember that game. From foggy memories the non calls for us were worse than the 17 Dog's free's right?

Also, wasn't there a dialogue between him and Tex (captain at the time) at 3/4 time where Tex can be heard saying "Mate there are 2 teams out here" or something like that?

Just have to highlight this p:ss weak response at the time when we complained . What an arrogant and condescending response from the AFL .

But Mr Evans added at the time that he backed Mr Pannell to umpire the following week.

“He’s had a very, very good year. It would be akin to having a good player who’s had a good year and even if they had a bad performance do you drop them?” he said.

“What do you actually gain out of that? He will absolutely umpire this week.”

So if an umpire 16 frees to 1 it’s just a bad week 🤬😡. The AFL would have to be the most inept sporting code in the country.

Would love to know Parnells full record on umpiring. I seem to recall other teams having issues with him too but can’t recall the details.
'But Mr Evans added at the time that he backed Mr Pannell to umpire the following week. '

Of course he would if he was in on it too...wealth sharing

Surely if Pannell had been "very, very good" that year, his absurdly one-sided display against the Crows should have been even more suspicious? If he was making poor calls every week then it would just be a continuation of the norm, but this one stuck out like a sore thumb.

From memory, the other two umpires each gave almost equal free kicks to either side, so he was an absolute outlier in the match.

This one was worse than the infamous #freekickhawthorn game.

Anyone with eyes could tell he was a crook. Amazing nothing came of it.
I remember afterwards it was reported he "laughed off" the criticism. I'm glad he found the funny side.

Incredible that the AFL saw nothing wrong with it. Two other umpires paid 22 free kicks between them, 11 to each side. Yet this maggot found 17 for one side and 1 to the other. It stunk then and it stinks now.

Surely if Pannell had been "very, very good" that year, his absurdly one-sided display against the Crows should have been even more suspicious? If he was making poor calls every week then it would just be a continuation of the norm, but this one stuck out like a sore thumb.

From memory, the other two umpires each gave almost equal free kicks to either side, so he was an absolute outlier in the match.

Didn't he also make sure he was the controlling umpire as much as he could from memory?

Wow, yeah I remember that game. From foggy memories the non calls for us were worse than the 17 Dog's free's right?

Also, wasn't there a dialogue between him and Tex (captain at the time) at 3/4 time where Tex can be heard saying "Mate there are 2 teams out here" or something like that?
Long time ago now, but I tend to remember more that we were just hammered with the "momentum stoppers".

Got it in our forward line? Free kick Bulldogs.

Kicked a goal? Free kick Bulldogs from the centre bounce.

Took a critical mark? Infringed. Free kick Bulldogs.

We just weren't ever allowed to get a run of momentum on. Any time we looked threatening we were halted.

Edit: Also Greenfinger, would be good to correct the spelling in the OP. Surname is Pannell, not Parnell.

Long time ago now, but I tend to remember more that we were just hammered with the "momentum stoppers".

We just weren't ever allowed to get a run of momentum on. Any time we looked threatening we were halted.

Edit: Also Greenfinger, would be good to correct the spelling in the OP. Surname is Pannell, not Parnell.

I don't remember the game that much but I do remember the most obvious hold/high contact on Hartigan in a marking contest with no whistle and then Bont being allowed to run away with the ball for a goal

Sorry about the spelling issue on Parnell should be pannell . Not sure admin can help fix title and poll. Can’t work out how

Yeah Parnells performance in this game lives rent free in my head to this day.

We weren't playing particularly well but EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. we remotely looked like making a come back, Parnell would pay a free out of his backside to make sure it didn't happen.

There's no way any impartial judge could say that a team played the game sooo fairly that they only warranted one free against them for the ENTIRE GAME vs paying 17 the other way... This was blatant corruption....

Sorted now

I just went back and did some research. The free kicks were 14-2 at half time, and at 3 quarter time were 20-5.

So in an attempt to even it up in the 4th, we were given 7 frees in 20 minutes compared to 5 in 60. Yet somehow they still found another 8 for the Dogs.

I disagree with Ricciutos comments its cost us a flag, but yes an investigation would be nice.

If we won that game like he thinks, we finish 3rd, play Geelong in a QF at the MCG.

Syd vs Hawks at the SCG
GWS vs North at <Sponsor> stadium
West Coast vs Bulldogs at Subiaco

Would have been interesting to see us play Geelong there, we always play at AO or KP.

If we lost to Geelong we would have played the Bulldogs at AO the next week.

Ahhh great, now the Victorian media have jumped on Roos comments.....this is going well..
I'm assuming it is all about sooking South Aussies, complaining about the superior Victorians....

Victorians are the most pathetic, scared and insular sports people in Australia. So no surprise really.

In reality, the AFL should absolutely be investigating this guy. Of course they won't, because they will be too scared to find out the truth. What if they go through his accounts and find he received a big payment after that week? What do they do then?We raised it as suspicious and they shut it down, backed him in and did nothing. Finding the truth now would be catastrophic for the AFL. They absolutely don't want to know.

I called it at the time - this was clear cheating. I said at the time that the AFL should be investigating for betting irregularities. There is no way a 17-1 free kick count just happens. (And if I remember correctly the one free he paid to us wasn't actually an in play free. It was something else he had to pay).
It's not an accident or 'bad day'. It's not. To claim that is either deliberately lying or being utterly incompetent.

I disagree with Ricciutos comments its cost us a flag, but yes an investigation would be nice.

If we won that game like he thinks, we finish 3rd, play Geelong in a QF at the MCG.

Syd vs Hawks at the SCG
GWS vs North at <Sponsor> stadium
West Coast vs Bulldogs at Subiaco

Would have been interesting to see us play Geelong there, we always play at AO or KP.

If we lost to Geelong we would have played the Bulldogs at AO the next week.
I think it's being misreported. He's not saying it cost us a flag, he's saying it could have cost us.
Win that game and our chances are much better.

Don't shit the bed in the final game of the year at home against West Coast and the chances would have been better yet.

Had Phil Walsh lived i'm convinced we would have snagged one between 2015 and 2019. I'll go to my death-bed believing that.

(in this alternate timeline Walsh knocks out Brett Burton or anyone silly enough to suggest there was any wisdom in having the Camp)

Yeah this looks pathetic on the surface
View attachment 2321843

Sooner this bloke is out of the club the better, his reign has been an unmitigated disaster.

He could've just kept to the facts instead of bringing up the GF and looking like a buffoon - which is now the headline instead of umpiring corruption.

Don't shit the bed in the final game of the year at home against West Coast and the chances would have been better yet.

Had Phil Walsh lived i'm convinced we would have snagged one between 2015 and 2019. I'll go to my death-bed believing that.

(in this alternate timeline Walsh knocks out Brett Burton or anyone silly enough to suggest there was any wisdom in having the Camp)
I don't think Walsh would have gone down that path. Pyke was fully on board, so it took two to tango there.

I think Pyke was on board to the extent that he wanted the group to go through some sports psychology to toughen them up, but I dont think he had anything to do with the selection process. Burton had previously put CM forward at Brisbane (and was rejected) and put them up to Adelaide. I was told the due diligence done on CM by AFC was "inadequate". Pyke wasnt really part of that process, it was signed off by the Board.

He grew up in Victoria’s western suburbs and played at junior level for local team Hoppers Crossing. He cut his teeth as an umpire in the Footscray and District league (now Western Region League). It is thought he supported the Bulldogs as a child.