Troy Taylor

• Thread starter Thread starter ize_

Get real...lol.

I said he has heaps of talent and freakish, but he has that easy going attitude that is a massive problem with some players in todays game. Some players are so tuned and focused (Martin) and they end up Champs, and way to many dont even though they have similar ability, and Taylor is in that bracket. To simply say "if" he gets it together he will be a star is bulltish.

All that aside, he still cant kick, and his decision making even when he isnt under pressure is very ordinary.

Unless you regularly go to Coburg games Bazzar and have watched this kid closely at least 20 times this year I think it would be fair to say that your opinion is based off roughly 4 games which then would either make you the best football judge on the planet , a real astute supporter that has made the effort to get down to Watch the VFL every week or a complete w***er

I'm not being smart but can you please give me an honest answer ? Is it

a) I can usually sum up a players career after watching him play 4 times on TV which makes me better skilled than any senior club recruiter or football judge.

b) I get down to Coburg every week Rusty and to the seniors and have based my opinion on watching Troy Taylor all year in no less than 20 games
or
c) I'm a total f:$k chop that is just flogging a young bloke off the back of 4 or 5 games and I embarrass myself by doing so

which one is it Bazzar I really do hope it's b) because I'm not a vindictive prick .

just thought Id add my 2 cents and this is my first post on here, so gday everyone :D

He has been compared to Micky Oloughlin and its funny that - besides the assault charge against troy - theyve had a very similar start to their careers. I read an article a few years ago about Micky O and he said when he went to Sydney all he did was cry himself to sleep and want to go home, he felt he didnt belong and being alone in Sydney was hard. Then he settled in, and you all know the rest. Yes Micky O was not Lance Franklin or J Brown or Tony Lockett but we have a key forward along those lines - Jack Riewoldt (while not QUITE of their ilk lol). Troy Taylor, provided we don't stuff it up, is gonna be a gun.

Micky O was in trouble with the law too! just ask Adam Heuskes

been reported that after reltons walk out , mitch morton really felt he needed to do something with troy & took him under his wing to try & get to adapt to life & football in melbourne (big brother type thing )

if this kid gets through the next 2 years , he will be an amazing pickup for the tigers at pick 51

was rated in the top 20 on talent alone. perfect hff & with a few pre season could become our X/man player hff/big bodied mid to compliment

jack, griff,tyrone etc

just an observation but i dont think he will ever be big bodied or if he does it will take a fair amount of time. just look at his frame.

his strengths it seems is in his agility evasiveness light feet etc take away from this to much ie bulk and you could well take away his best assets.

what waqs he drafted at 189cm 75 ish. with very small frame skinny across the shoulders narrow hips skinny legs etc. if he grows a couple of cm he needs to put on at least 10kg with his frame and he will still be light.

anyway just my observations.

Unless you regularly go to Coburg games Bazzar and have watched this kid closely at least 20 times this year I think it would be fair to say that your opinion is based off roughly 4 games which then would either make you the best football judge on the planet , a real astute supporter that has made the effort to get down to Watch the VFL every week or a complete w***er

This coming off someone who has made a BF reputation on the back of an unhealthy man love for an average player in Andy C.

How many games have you seen Collins play? How many have you seen Troy play?

For what its worth i have seen Taylor 3 times with the Burgers and once with our seniors. Fair call its only 4 times, So you are spot on, but when 4 games are all the same it becomes a concern. but i will stand by by assessment... he wont make it. But who really cares, as its only my opinion.

Im definitely in the minority when it comes to Troy. Heaps of natural talent and freakish at times, but just to lazy in his approach. Obviously a make or break year, but I for one don’t see him being with us next year (2012)

You're certainly in a minority going around calling TT a dud after 1 year and a few games in, especially with how far back he's come from. There's really nothing to base that on.

Next year won't be a "make or break" year on the field for him either. Only if he gets in trouble off it again.

just an observation but i dont think he will ever be big bodied or if he does it will take a fair amount of time. just look at his frame.

his strengths it seems is in his agility evasiveness light feet etc take away from this to much ie bulk and you could well take away his best assets.

what waqs he drafted at 189cm 75 ish. with very small frame skinny across the shoulders narrow hips skinny legs etc. if he grows a couple of cm he needs to put on at least 10kg with his frame and he will still be light.

anyway just my observations.
thats about all you would expect i suppose 189 & 75 would of been at the draft camp or screening time.
in the last year with being in a afl team enviroment im thinking he would of already put on another 4-5kgs so in affect could possibly be 190-191 & 79kgs atm.

if we in 2012-2013 end up with a 191cm 88kg troy taylor that would be ideal & the same height weight as a current shaun grigg & im sure with 3 years of development he will gain 13 kgs even on troys frame.

I can't get too excited about TT just yet. Shows glimpses which is all you expect at this stage. But, will be make it as a permanent starting 22 player and be able to hold his spot? Not sure. I definitely wouldn't go around saying that he will be a gun.

Astro's post is basically spot on. It's going to be a hard task moulding him into the player that we want.

He's not a dud nor is he having a make or break season next year. He's like any other player coming through the system at his age but probably requires a bit more attention.

Agreed, we've had a horrible record with aboriginal players, rioli was our only real successful indigenous player (michael mitchell only managed 75-80 odd games)

Its sad that we've lost most of our aboriginal players this season. troy taylor already seems to be a dificult case, being the only aboriginal at the club probably wont benefit him. Im excluding shane edwards because he's a city boy of indigenous ancestry who probably cant relate so what the likes of taylor, gilligan and blinga have experienced. Maybe im being narrow minded but ive never really considered him an aboriginal player

hopefully we can draft a promising indigenous talent who along with taylor can grow into gun players. troy taylor can make it but i think he'l need as much support as possible in the coming 2 or so years.

You're certainly in a minority going around calling TT a dud after 1 year and a few games in, especially with how far back he's come from. There's really nothing to base that on.

Next year won't be a "make or break" year on the field for him either. Only if he gets in trouble off it again.

So what are Troys major positives then. and what do you think are his negatives.

This coming off someone who has made a BF reputation on the back of an unhealthy man love for an average player in Andy C.

For what its worth i have seen Taylor 3 times with the Burgers and once with our seniors. Fair call its only 4 times, So you are spot on, but when 4 games are all the same it becomes a concern. but i will stand by by assessment... he wont make it. But who really cares, as its only my opinion.

Collins 25 but only 6 in the flesh
Taylor 4 but only 1 in the flesh

thanks for your honesty Bazzar and your right it is only your opinion but if you keep basing your opinions on such a short period then your opinions will start counting for nothing is all and if that becomes the case you may as well give big footy the flick and start writing your opinions on an etcha sketch .

Come on Bazzar your better than that. Give the boy a chance he's an excitement machine 99.9% of posters on this forum have him in their top 22 because there will be a massive difference between his first 5 games and his first 20 games. The pre season could not have come at a better time for this kid.

Collins 25 but only 6 in the flesh
Taylor 4 but only 1 in the flesh

thanks for your honesty Bazzar and your right it is only your opinion but if you keep basing your opinions on such a short period then your opinions will start counting for nothing is all and if that becomes the case you may as well give big footy the flick and start writing your opinions on an etcha sketch .

Come on Bazzar your better than that. Give the boy a chance he's an excitement machine 99.9% of posters on this forum have him in their top 22 because there will be a massive difference between his first 5 games and his first 20 games. The pre season could not have come at a better time for this kid.

I love those things :D

Might be worth nothing

But was at the Hawthorn Hotel on a Tuesday night (the tuesday night following round 22) and alot of the Richmond youngsters were there (Obviously being a younger nightspot for a tuesday night and the boys kicking on from mad monday

Troy was amongst them all, they were all a 'tight-nit' group with Nason, Browne, Gus, Rance, Matty White, Farmer and a few others

I think the new youth we have brought through have all collaborated together nicely and should make the club more welcoming and friendly. Troy is apart of this.

thats about all you would expect i suppose 189 & 75 would of been at the draft camp or screening time.
in the last year with being in a afl team enviroment im thinking he would of already put on another 4-5kgs so in affect could possibly be 190-191 & 79kgs atm.

if we in 2012-2013 end up with a 191cm 88kg troy taylor that would be ideal & the same height weight as a current shaun grigg & im sure with 3 years of development he will gain 13 kgs even on troys frame.
my mate has won mr australasia 2 yrs in a row now. a little bit different to bulking up afl players i know, but useing his knowledge and input a good result for turning fat if you like, into muscle is about 3kg a yr.
unlike footballers these buggers are into well enhancements. they dont have to worry about agility and pace etc. taylor does not have a frame conducive to big weight gain or muscle mass if it happens it will take time lots of time.

even if he gets to 88kg he will not be big and i think grigg while skinny in the legs has a frame more conducive to actually carrying the weight mass.

what makes taylkor a real prospect is not body mass we should not lose sight of this. if he gets to 88kg over the next 4 yrs i will be pleased as long as he loses none of his agility pace and evasiveness. these are his true assets

Just went to the spare room and got it out.

What is it with all that sand. Either way i love it, and i can still sketch out 'GO TIGES" but it looks like brail

So what are Troys major positives then. and what do you think are his negatives.

size and most definately what ive seen kicking are negatives.

apparently i dont deal in positives so wont upset anyone by not mentioning them.

Way too early to go writing him off and calling him a dud. Only 1 year in and he's coming from a long way back. Needs a few preseasons before anyone can judge.

Strengths probably speed/agility for his size, overhead contested marking. Also defensive pressure is another major positive of his, good tackler. He has a laconic way about him but don't think he's lazy.

Weakness kicking at the moment and probably decision making but that could come with experience.

A lot to work with but is certainly no sure thing.

Way too early to go writing him off and calling him a dud. Only 1 year in and he's coming from a long way back. Needs a few preseasons before anyone can judge.

Strengths probably speed/agility for his size, overhead contested marking. Also defensive pressure is another major positive of his, good tackler. He has a laconic way about him but don't think he's lazy.

Weakness kicking at the moment and probably decision making but that could come with experience.

A lot to work with but is certainly no sure thing.

A good balance Barnzy.

People should should realise im not writing him off on ability, as he has that in bucket loads. Im making my call on his application and approach to his endeavour as a listed Tiger. This is NOT a talent issue, but an issue of application. Bag me all you want, but this is my opinion and im confident in 12 months time he will be either short listed or de-listed.

if we used a higher pick id be worried, but if he doesnt come good atleast we didnt stuff up a first or second rounder, could be a massive steal, if not then we wont be too upset about it.

A good balance Barnzy.

People should should realise im not writing him off on ability, as he has that in bucket loads. Im making my call on his application and approach to his endeavour as a listed Tiger. This is NOT a talent issue, but an issue of application. Bag me all you want, but this is my opinion and im confident in 12 months time he will be either short listed or de-listed.

:rolleyes:
I hope you bookmark this thread so if he is delisted you can prove us all wrong you ****ing moron...

my mate has won mr australasia 2 yrs in a row now. a little bit different to bulking up afl players i know, but useing his knowledge and input a good result for turning fat if you like, into muscle is about 3kg a yr.
unlike footballers these buggers are into well enhancements. they dont have to worry about agility and pace etc. taylor does not have a frame conducive to big weight gain or muscle mass if it happens it will take time lots of time.

even if he gets to 88kg he will not be big and i think grigg while skinny in the legs has a frame more conducive to actually carrying the weight mass.

what makes taylkor a real prospect is not body mass we should not lose sight of this. if he gets to 88kg over the next 4 yrs i will be pleased as long as he loses none of his agility pace and evasiveness. these are his true assets

i can understand what your saying about your mate & the 3kg buisness but what you must keep in mind is that its just not about gaining weight by just weight work.

this kid has come from an envoiment where not much attention is paid to diet & these kids have irregular eating habits that arn't condusive to weight/muscle gain.
the dieticians,weight specialist coaches will all be working to fast track his development.

also coming from such a low base , i really do believe that he will gain the 13 kgs required in the 3 years i mentioned & to be perfectly honest i really wouldnt want him to be any heavier than that.

When all 4 games are in the same season, of course theyre going to be the same. This is his first season FFS. :cool:

Oh,and I rate Francis Jacksons' ability to spot talent ahead of yours - just. ;)

The kid can play. :thumbsu:

So the answer is..... No-one really knows.

I'd be pretty confident that if he doesn't make it, we'll know within 2 years. He's not the sort to 'hang around' on a list.
And if he does make it, we'll know within 2 years as well.

Bazaar, I'll take the 'short-listed' as being on the short-list of the cemented 22 players. :)

:rolleyes:
I hope you bookmark this thread so if he is delisted you can prove us all wrong you ****ing moron...

No way they are going to delist him considering where he has come from after two years unless he plays up off field.
Stupid talk, your man Jake King is far more likely to go end of next year Bazzar.

are we fair dinkum or what.
how can we have seen any negatives in this kid yet he is only what 18? he has to have some doubts on his life at the moment he has just crossed the country away from family and friends to play football.we must be starting to run out of duds to bag if we have this kid in the gun.i would think he has at least 2 more years before these doubts creep in. (as long as he stays out of trouble off field)
i am looking forward to seeing a bit of improvement with this kid next year