Troy Taylor

• Thread starter Thread starter ize_

In Bazzar's defense, he is only making an intuitive guess, pretty much the same as those who expect TT to succeed. At a glimpse (which is all pretty much everyone has seen), some may see silk and evasiveness, others may see laconic laziness.

I made a call pre-season for the Tiges to give Micky O a call and get him down to spend some time with TT, to help him adjust to AFL life. I stick by that call, as this year could still be a bit of a struggle for the kid.

After seeing him play at Yea against Geelong, and just seeing him move and do some eye catching things, I was hopeful for him. Still am, but we just won't know for sure for a couple more years. He is just so raw.

In Bazzar's defense, he is only making an intuitive guess, pretty much the same as those who expect TT to succeed. At a glimpse (which is all pretty much everyone has seen), some may see silk and evasiveness, others may see laconic laziness.

I made a call pre-season for the Tiges to give Micky O a call and get him down to spend some time with TT, to help him adjust to AFL life. I stick by that call, as this year could still be a bit of a struggle for the kid.

After seeing him play at Yea against Geelong, and just seeing him move and do some eye catching things, I was hopeful for him. Still am, but we just won't know for sure for a couple more years. He is just so raw.

Exactly. People here think I don’t rate him, which is rubbish. He has more freakish natural ability that the majority on our list. I am basing my opinion on that laconic laziness he appears to have. It’s not something you can just turn on and off at will. It’s in him, and again it’s only my opinion, but I just don’t see him changing. If im wrong we will end up with a very special player and I will gladly cop it and apologise.

28 possessions and 3 goals on debut suggested that Dean Polo was going to be a star. 5 goals on debut also suggested the same for Marty McGrath.

Not saying that Taylor should be compared to either of the above, but just that it is too early to tell. Endless talent, but there have been plenty of talented AFL footballers who didn't make it.

For the record though, I sincerely hope his does make it.
I want to see him using people as step ladders ala Darryl White.

Go Tigers!

Exactly. People here think I don’t rate him, which is rubbish. He has more freakish natural ability that the majority on our list. I am basing my opinion on that laconic laziness he appears to have. It’s not something you can just turn on and off at will. It’s in him, and again it’s only my opinion, but I just don’t see him changing. If im wrong we will end up with a very special player and I will gladly cop it and apologise.

and you formed that oppinion from watching him play a couple of times.

maybe thats no more than a introverted trait or even being unsure of his role in the side so he becomes a bit of a spectator out on the ground, give him a chance to grow up a bit.

They will give him 3-4 to show he deserves to be on the list.

This year was almost a write off, as it would have just been about getting him settled. That will continue next year, and they will ease him into the all out pressure of AFL footy.

Right now, and for the next 12 months, it will be about making him comfortable and getting him on track for the riggours of AFL life.

I don't think anyone can make a call on him one way or the other for another year.

It seems everyone agrees he has heaps of talent. As I do. He probably won't ever be a hulk, but I reckon he'll end up fairly solid - 88kg is about where I reckon he could get to.

But different to just about all first year players he had some very serious issues overhanging him this year - jail time - again!

To me that either means he is a ******** and will end up lots of trouble. Or he will learn in the footy club environment, especially with good mentoring, and fulfil his talent. 2010 he found a 'big brother' in Morton and learnt something about what AFL is about, and got jail off his list of things to do. 2011 will still be hard but hopefully he'll have grown up a bit and will show a bit more. I reckon he will make it by things people that know the club have said on the boards. But I have no real idea. No one does for at least 12 months. At least the RFC seems to be starting to develop guys better. Maybe he can be the flagbearer for us turning risk reward into reward.

He has shown flashes of brilliance. He is young and has had so much on his plate. It's amazing he's been able to perform at all on the field. At choice 51 he was going to be a speculative pick. He could go by the wayside or he could end up being the most inspired choice ever for the club!

With the right support and application from him, he could be anything. I hope he does it for himself and of course for the mighty tiges!

Reminds me of Daryl White, the way he moves, that huge reach.

If he makes it he will be good, but will he make it?

Narrow minded? how the heck is it narrow minded. Its just my opinion that he wont make it. Its not the end of the world.

His lovers are so keen to make excuses why he has been slow to take off. Well our first and last pick were ok, i guess Troy is mentally fatigued and needs some extra time. Some have it, some dont, its that simple.

slow to start off? its his first year you twit! he plays in the forward line so he is coming along nicely... to say you think he wont be with us in 2012? absolute BS :thumbsd:

If you think Taylor has started slowly in his first year, then Vickery isn't even out of bed yet.

I've been very impressed with his ability, i think he will be a very hard player to match up on because he is not a tall forward but can mark like one but also is very quick. Maybe a smaller version of buddy with better hands.

I have noticed one weakness though, he did seem a bit soft but i guess that should come when his body matures and when hardwick gets in his ears.

Whilst I wouldn't be as harsh as bazzar,and definately think troy will be around post 2011,I do see where bazzar is coming from in regards to having reservations.
I don't really get people responding with things such as w***er etc, Like it's a personal assault. It's bigfooty. It's opinion.
My reservations are based around the apparent fragility of the kid,and as rightly pointed out by others the "handle with care" tag is attatched and it's not something our history suggests we deal with well.
And as pointed out by many he has loads of talent. No question.
But as bazzar was trying to point out talent will get you so far. Sometimes to about as far as he has come now.If he doesn't give himself to the game,work on his deficiencies and improve he'll be an also ran.the beauty is though that the upside is endless in his case.
Up to Troy. Here's hoping.

RFC continually fail at developing indigenous players.

What gives?

FTR,Troy could be an Adam Goodes type but with more venom.

I agree with astro toby's assessment regarding the RFC's ability to nurture indigenous talent, we have become a graveyard for aboriginal footballer's careers.

I really hope we can turn this trend around with TT

I agree with astro toby's assessment regarding the RFC's ability to nurture indigenous talent, we have become a graveyard for aboriginal footballer's careers.

I really hope we can turn this trend around with TT
I hate this line of thinking.
We have become a graveyard for footballers of any race. 30 years of misery means we haven't exactly been good at developing anything.
I believe we have turned all this around. It may not be apparent yet, but it will be.
Confident we can get TT to be a player regardless of what colour his skin is.

Kingsley, McMahon, Putt, Thompson, Hislop weren’t exactly his finest moments. Just goes to show even the great man is human after all:)

He may have got Putt wrong, but I'd bet the rest were Wallaces decisions. Recycled has-beens selected in a desperate bid to save his career.

How can it be Wallace’s fault when Jackson was reciuting manager from `06? People get a bit carried away with the Wallace decision mantra… Fact is, coaches DON’T have that much input, they give reciuting dept directions, but it’s only on the odd occasion they get their wish (unless if falls in line with the reciuting depts direction)

But Wallace took the $500k per year to be accountable.

I hate this line of thinking.
We have become a graveyard for footballers of any race. 30 years of misery means we haven't exactly been good at developing anything.
I believe we have turned all this around. It may not be apparent yet, but it will be.
Confident we can get TT to be a player regardless of what colour his skin is.

I'm not overly fond of thinking this way either tugga, but given the recent track record we have the cynic in me just won't go away.

I keep wondering each year if we are going to go into the dreamtime game without any indigenous players in the 22

I hope you are right about having turned the corner on development

I'm not overly fond of thinking this way either tugga, but given the recent track record we have the cynic in me just won't go away.

I keep wondering each year if we are going to go into the dreamtime game without any indigenous players in the 22

I hope you are right about having turned the corner on development
I'm not having a go at you at all.
You are right to raise it though. It's a fair point and a good point for discussion.