Banter TRTT Part 12: Get Your Bowels Checked

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

While you campaigners are necking beers spare a thought for ol mate bravey who is on fire availability until the 28th and can't have a single drop 😤

Are you a firey?

i wanna get myself a record player for xmas

i'm not an audiophile but i just like the idea of owning the physical media/sleeve art etc and actually putting it on the turntable and firing it up etc..

i don't want to spend big $$$ so i'm looking at the Sony one which has good reviews at about $400 and it'll probably be bluetooth to edifier bookshelf speakers or sennheiser HD58X headphones. i know that makes it convert analogue back to digital but from what i understand pretty much everything is recorded digital now anyway.

is this a good idea or a complete waste of money?

Never ask for a perfectly fine consumer level appliance around here.

You'll have the aficionados in before you know it talking you in to this or that that can do this or that and before you know it you're looking at finance options for a new credit account.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

i'm not an audiophile but i just like the idea of owning the physical media/sleeve art etc and actually putting it on the turntable and firing it up etc..

i don't want to spend big $$$ so i'm looking at the Sony one which has good reviews at about $400 and it'll probably be bluetooth to edifier bookshelf speakers or sennheiser HD58X headphones. i know that makes it convert analogue back to digital but from what i understand pretty much everything is recorded digital now anyway.

I'd avoid Sony & wait for a JB sale in the new year you are bound to get several hundred off a decent Audio Technica TT or something similar, the point you make about digital is right I find digitally sourced vinyl a complete wtf defeats the purpose but not all new records are digitally sourced so you have to become a nerd and research it all.

Never ask for a perfectly fine consumer level appliance around here.

You'll have the aficionados in before you know it talking you in to this or that that can do this or that and before you know it you're looking at finance options for a new credit account.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Thats exactly what someone with no money would say

I bought an old Mitsubishi DP EC1 turntable with two Akai floor speakers and a shitty little preamp for $150 on FB marketplace. Turntable is amazing and the sound from the speakers is really good. Preamp needs some attention to fix up some of the points as it sometimes drops the volume randomly, but it does the job.

We've also got an Apple Airport Express hooked up so we can stream stuff to the speakers as well.

All up I reckon I spent about $250 in total to get it set up which included some new needles and cables for the speakers.

If you're going to be buying vinyl, you'll blow through that every month if you get a Discogs account.

I bought an old Mitsubishi DP EC1 turntable with two Akai floor speakers and a shitty little preamp for $150 on FB marketplace. Turntable is amazing and the sound from the speakers is really good. Preamp needs some attention to fix up some of the points as it sometimes drops the volume randomly, but it does the job.

We've also got an Apple Airport Express hooked up so we can stream stuff to the speakers as well.

All up I reckon I spent about $250 in total to get it set up which included some new needles and cables for the speakers.

If you're going to be buying vinyl, you'll blow through that every month if you get a Discogs account.

I hopefully wouldn't be buying heaps.. just classic albums that I've dug for years..

How do you find the sound compares to stuff like Spotify streaming? Does it sound more "natural" , less processed?

I'm fed up with all the music I've got on CD and my turntable doesn't work any more, so I mostly only listen to music on YouTube now with a good pair of headphones. Discovered all sorts of acts I'd never heard of, or had nothing to do with back in the day. The YouTube algorithm even comes up with some great mixes for me now ;) Best part is my you-beaut thing-that-blocks-ads means I never get hassled with ads on YT, bliss.

Spotify algorithms are good too and their library is pretty extensive. YouTube has a lot more rare stuff though.

Gonna take the time to give these guys another pump up.

If you like mead, or even if you don't. Very much recommend this small Adelaide based mob. Their stuff is absolutely amazing. Spiced Viking Blood is nectar of the gods. I pour some into a pot on the gas stove and get it warmed up, smells amazing and buys you the ticket to flavourtown.
Mead is amazing. Should be more popular than it is.

Definitely Brazilian, but I don’t know from where his accent is:

Everyone is scared to death, but the guy! LOL!

"What a stupid man!", wife says crying in the end.