Universal Love TRTT Part 8: Random thoughts also sack Hinkley

Mmmm. Yeah don't mind him as a host, don't mind him on that "travel" show with Coogan, but not sure he would hold my attention for 2 hours. The ad they were running on the radio to promote him a while ago was almost cringeworthy and had me thinking is this the best you've got/is this what it will be like? Hope I'm wrong and you enjoy it.

First half hour - introduction and local references (stobie poles, bodies in barrels, burst water mains, Arena Swindled)

Second half hour - impressions (Richard Burton, Anthony Hopkins - he is Welsh you know)

Third half hour - impressions 2 (Sean Connery, Roger Moore, Pierce Brosnan)

Final half hour - impressions 3 (a better Michael Caine than Michael Caine)

You have to wait for the encore for the small man trapped in a box.

I think he's actually genuinely made a bit of an effort in the latest incarnation, but yeah, probably too little too late.

Mate I'm no saint so perhaps I should sit back and let others judge but I just cannot cop racism. Saying I have a black uncle who I talk to doesn't make you non racist. At least he is talking to him I guess.

I lived in the territory for a long time and visited some amazing communities in the Top End and many places remote around Tennant/Alice. Played footy in Alice and got invited by a full blood teammate up to his land near Ti Tree a couple of times. Went hunting (which isn't something I would ever normally do but dinner options were limited unless you went and killed something) and became close with a lot of the community up there. We spoke and black fella white fella was what we called each other. (When i moved down south I copped a lot of grief (from white people) for saying black fella when referring to aborigines mates or non mates so I just stopped doing it.) When I think of racism I think of those people, how they live, the limited choices they have. The love, generosity and kindness they show strangers, how overwhelmingly welcoming they are to ANYONE. Then I think of campaigners behind keyboards living a life or privilege going on racist rants and my ****ing blood boils.

Anyway rant over.

To be fair he's never actually gone after me before besides calling me boring a couple of times lol
Ye
Dunno what problems yous are making, MilitaryLC has always been aiight to me and I to him.

Good for you, doesn't mean he wasn't perma banned numerous times for racist comments.

Anyways...

I saw Jimeoin last weekend and he was great, so if he's anything like that it'll be good. I shouted the missus' parents some tickets to Rob Brydon as well, as they are british and love his work.
Poms living in Australia are very easily pleased. As long as the entertainer is from the mother country (or anywhere in the British Isles) they'll love it.

Mate I'm no saint so perhaps I should sit back and let others judge but I just cannot cop racism. Saying I have a black uncle who I talk to doesn't make you non racist. At least he is talking to him I guess.

I lived in the territory for a long time and visited some amazing communities in the Top End and many places remote around Tennant/Alice. Played footy in Alice and got invited by a full blood teammate up to his land near Ti Tree a couple of times. Went hunting (which isn't something I would ever normally do but dinner options were limited unless you went and killed something) and became close with a lot of the community up there. We spoke and black fella white fella was what we called each other. (When i moved down south I copped a lot of grief (from white people) for saying black fella when referring to aborigines mates or non mates so I just stopped doing it.) When I think of racism I think of those people, how they live, the limited choices they have. The love, generosity and kindness they show strangers, how overwhelmingly welcoming they are to ANYONE. Then I think of campaigners behind keyboards living a life or privilege going on racist rants and my ****ing blood boils.

Anyway rant over.
<3

I saw Jimeoin last weekend and he was great, so if he's anything like that it'll be good. I shouted the missus' parents some tickets to Rob Brydon as well, as they are british and love his work.

I like his acting and panel stuff, not sure how he'll go in stand up.

English people like to laugh at anyone with a Welsh accent, so he'll be right for them.

Anyway rant over.

No, we want more rant!

Beautiful stuff mate.

lol Telstra and Vodafone have blocked 8chan and 4chan.

Seems unfettered access to a decade of muslim beheading, terrorist and gore videos in addition to rape, beastiality and more abhorrent videos is absolutely fine - but then the muslim massacre video gets hosted there and they shut'r'down.

The site is ******, big time - but to ban it right now is not a good strategic move if you are trying to stamp out right wing extremism, it's just getting them more riled. Besides, the video is everywhere and very easy to find. They've had many opportunities to ban the site before, doing it now isn't the pragmatic time to do it.

Besides, the bans won't affect anyone who is already using a different DNS to their ISP. Easy work around. Same way you get around the torrent website bans. Don't even need a VPN.

Also lol @ the right wing website refusing to hand over any data relating to Tarrant because they feel like their members will be targeted by the thought police. Quite right they feel that way - no matter where you sit on the political spectrum, arresting people for opinion is a sad road we are going down, and I don't want to admit that it's necessary but it's hard to argue. Where do they draw the line for what is arrestable? Threats should warrant a talking to though.
They've been after people for opinions for years, a comedian Steve Hughes does a great bit about it talking about how they've tried to make it a offence to offend people which is actually impossible.

Laws can't apply to the subjective, even if the opinion being sprouted is horrible or horrifying. Until that opinion becomes a action, like the past weeks events, it's still just a opinion and everyone is entitled to that, no matter what the view actually is, nor how many people agree or disagree with it.

How you'd apply a law on people's opinions, and make it a offence has me stumped. No doubt the government will try, so they'll probably come up with a offensive opinion charge or something.

Their attempts to regulate social media after the weeks events are laughable as well. To little to late, they've let the anti-Muslim trash be shared, posted and spread for nearly 20 years now, and we've had half assed politicians fan that flame in that time, and nothing was done. Now they all of a sudden want something done about social media cause the reaction that could come has happened and the media, politicians and everyone else who pushed the anti-Muslim agenda have nothing left to throw around. Maybe time they all looked in a mirror I think.

You've set the bar pretty low there so you should be able to sit through 2 hours of a small man trapped in a box.

They've been after people for opinions for years, a comedian Steve Hughes does a great bit about it talking about how they've tried to make it a offence to offend people which is actually impossible.

Laws can't apply to the subjective, even if the opinion being sprouted is horrible or horrifying. Until that opinion becomes a action, like the past weeks events, it's still just a opinion and everyone is entitled to that, no matter what the view actually is, nor how many people agree or disagree with it.

How you'd apply a law on people's opinions, and make it a offence has me stumped. No doubt the government will try, so they'll probably come up with a offensive opinion charge or something.

Their attempts to regulate social media after the weeks events are laughable as well. To little to late, they've let the anti-Muslim trash be shared, posted and spread for nearly 20 years now, and we've had half assed politicians fan that flame in that time, and nothing was done. Now they all of a sudden want something done about social media cause the reaction that could come has happened and the media, politicians and everyone else who pushed the anti-Muslim agenda have nothing left to throw around. Maybe time they all looked in a mirror I think.
Blasphemy and treasonous comments have long been examples of laws against opinions.
It's actually quite easy to legislate against.

I like it though, I wouldn't call it a bad movie. Some have it as one of the worst sequels ever.

That's a bit of a stretch.

I like it.

Whilst I didn't see him this time, I've always liked Jimeoin. Very much one of the better "Australian" comedians. Isn't over exposed which I reckon is part of it.

Can't stand the Malbun comedy mafia that are on every ****ing second shitful show on TV. campaigners like Hellier, Hughes, Lehmo, Langbrook, Tommy Little, Rove, Will Anderson etc. Just the same dickheads doing the same unfunny jokes.

Whilst I didn't see him this time, I've always liked Jimeoin. Very much one of the better "Australian" comedians. Isn't over exposed which I reckon is part of it.

Can't stand the Malbun comedy mafia that are on every ******* second shitful show on TV. campaigners like Hellier, Hughes, Lehmo, Langbrook, Tommy Little, Rove, Will Anderson etc. Just the same dickheads doing the same unfunny jokes.

How bad are they, ****ing hell.

The only time I could watch Rove was when he had that short stint american talkshow it seemed to work.. higher calibre guests or something dunno.

Can't stand the Malbun comedy mafia that are on every ******* second shitful show on TV. campaigners like Hellier, Hughes, Lehmo, Langbrook, Tommy Little, Rove, Will Anderson etc. Just the same dickheads doing the same unfunny jokes.

Will Anderson is Will Anderson's biggest fan.

Australian comedians are the literally the worst.

Except Jim Jeffries.

Jim Jeffries gun control monologue is absolutely fantastic. The rest a bit meh. Over uses campaigner way too much.

His egg in Amsterdam story is epic.

Jim Jeffries gun control monologue is absolutely fantastic. The rest a bit meh. Over uses campaigner way too much.

He did a bit in one of his early shows about taking his profoundly disabled mate to a brothel, it was killer. It was also re-created in his sitcom to less effect.

Blasphemy and treasonous comments have long been examples of laws against opinions.
It's actually quite easy to legislate against.

Pretty sure I remember some case years ago where some campaigner was arrested for having pics (drawings) of shit like Bart and Lisa (underage cartoon characters) having sex.

I wouldn't mind if trolls who comment on executions/murder/gore etc videos saying how much they enjoyed it or whatever ended up on some kind of watch list tbh