Aug 9, 2009
Manchester
Perth Demons, Liverpool
Howdy all,

So I run a little side project called the True Footy Podcast, and in our second podcast we had a crack at analysing the upcoming draft. Now most posters perusing these parts of the forum will have a reasonable handle on the draft already, but we did release our official phantom draft in which the four of us took turns picking a top 20.

You can find picks 1-21 in the video below, around the two hour mark (I think I've successfully linked it to start at the start of the draft if you hit play).

-x-

UPDATED PHANTOM DRAFT:

Today is draft day, and below you can find our final top 40.

Selection 1: Brisbane Lions
Cam Rayner (VIC) H: 187, W: 88
  • Skillful and physical half forward cum midfielder
  • Strong overhead and explosive
  • Endurance may be a question mark – forward only?
Selection 2: Fremantle
Luke Davies-Uniacke (VIC) H: 187, W: 85
  • Explosive big bodied mid
  • Inside dominant with strong acceleration
  • Big game player
Selection 3: Carlton
Paddy Dow (VIC) H: 184, W: 78
  • Contested midfielder
  • Inside/outside balanced
  • Clean skills
Selection 4: North Melbourne
Adam Cerra (VIC) H: 186, W: 85
  • Strong inside ball winner
  • Smooth mover
  • Has been linked to Fremantle at pick #2
Selection 5: Fremantle
Andrew Brayshaw (VIC) H: 183, W: 82
  • Well balanced midfielder with skill and athleticism
  • Lower perceived ‘ceiling’ compared to other mids
  • Well rounded as presents as the safest pick for the Lions
Selection 6: Collingwood
Darcy Fogarty (SA) H: 192, W: 88
  • Injury riddled midfielder/forward
  • Undersized key forward with midfield aspirations
  • Powerfully built and has strong skills
Selection 7: St Kilda
Hunter Clark (VIC) H: 186, W: 79
  • Inside/outside balanced genuine midfielder
  • Very physical
  • Clean dual-sided skills
Selection 8: St Kilda
Nick Coffield (VIC) H: 190, W: 83
  • Defensive half-back general
  • Strong rebuild with excellent skills
  • Has pace and strong overhead
Selection 9: Western Bulldogs
Aaron Naughton (WA) H: 194, W: 84
  • High potential key defender
  • Strong intercept marking game
  • Potential top 5 player in the draft
Selection 10: Carlton
Ed Richards (VIC) H: 184, W: 77
  • Quality medium defender that is also in the top 15 conversation
  • Has been linked as high as GWS @ #11
  • Clean skills and evasive
  • Midfield aspirations
Selection 11: GWS
Nathan Murphy (VIC) H: 188, W: 88
  • Versatile utility
  • Great speed and strong overhead
  • Potential future as outside mid
Selection 12: Adelaide
Aiden Bonar (VIC) H: 190, W: 89
  • Strong bodied utility
  • Has suffered two ACL’s
  • Athletic forward with midfield potential
Selection 13: West Coast Eagles
Lochie O'Brien (VIC) H: 184, W: 75
  • Heavily outside wingman
  • Elite kick, one of the best of the draft
  • Heavy reliance on uncontested play his biggest knock
Selection 14: Sydney
Jaidyn Stephenson (VIC), H: 189, W: 76
  • Lightning quick outside mid/forward
  • High potential player with some game breaking performances
  • Question marks over heart health and kicking
Selection 15: Brisbane Lions
Lachlan Fogarty (VIC) H: 179, W: 75
  • Inside/outside balanced mid
  • Lightly built
  • Competitive and physical
Selection 16: Western Bulldogs
Oscar Allen (WA) H: 191, W: 83
  • Undersized key forward who won the Larke Medal
  • Sticky hands and solid at ground level for a tall
  • Has some midfield scope
Selection 17: Richmond
Jarrod Brander (VIC) H: 195, W: 90
  • Quality swingman previously in the pick #1 conversation
  • Will likely settle as defender but reasonably strong as a forward
Selection 18: Brisbane Lions
Zac Bailey (NT) H: 180, W: 69
  • Tough, well balanced smaller mid
  • Ability to break the lines and also win the ball inside
  • Best available 'pure mid'
Selection 19: Gold Coast Suns
Charlie Ballard (SA) H: 195, W: 82
  • Tall, athletic utility
  • Late blooming midfield
  • Future as a key forward?
Selection 20: Richmond
Jack Higgins (VIC) H: 178, W: 76
  • High production small mid/forward
  • Concerns over height and transfer to next level
  • A likely safe bet to become a good level AFL player
Selection 21: West Coast Eagles
Jordan Houlahan (SA) H: 186, W: 78
  • Lead and mark type forward
  • May lack midfield potential?
  • Has bolted into the top 15 conversation
Selection 22: Geelong
Sam Taylor (WA) H: 196, W: 85
  • One of 2-3 KPD talents in this range
  • Has proven himself at WAFL league level
Selection 23: Richmond (Matched bid by Geelong)
Pat Naish (VIC) H: 180, W: 69
  • Lightly built outside mid
  • Good skills
  • Set to be bid on by teams needing mids in this range but Tiger’s won’t miss out
Selection 24: North Melbourne
Tim Kelly (WA) H: 183, 83
  • Well performed mature age midfielder (24)
  • Inside/outside balanced, goalkicker
  • Best performance of 35 possessions and 7 goals in a WAFL game this year
Selection 25: Geelong
Brent Daniels (VIC) H: 173, W: 70
  • Athletic, smart small forward
  • Small frame
  • Dangerous around goal
Selection 26: West Coast Eagles
Noah Balta (VIC) H: 194, W: 92
  • Excellent athlete
  • Could play any position on the ground from midfield to ruck
  • Likely to settle as a defender
Selection 27: GWS
Matthew Ling (VIC) H: 182, W: 74
  • Skillful, rebounding and lightning quick
  • Can be damaging with his ball movement and left foot boot
Selection 28: GWS
Sam Hayes (VIC) H: 203, W: 93
  • Best available ruck talent in the draft
  • Question marks are physicality and ability to go forward
Selection 29: Melbourne
Oskar Baker (QLD) H: 182, W: 76
  • Line breaking outside mid
  • Previously cut from BL Academy
  • Damaging player with pace
Selection 30: Carlton
James Worpel (VIC) H: 185, W: 84
  • Contested, physical inside mid
  • Question marks over footskills
Selection 31: Melbourne
Charlie Constable (VIC) H: 191, W: 83
  • Tall inside mid with potential to really fill out
  • Reasonable skills but lack of speed sees him slide
  • Excellent ability to use his hands out of congestion
Selection 32: West Coast Eagles
Riley Stoddart (VIC) H: 183, W: 73
  • Skillful rebounding defender
  • Reasonable contested games leaves the door open to become a midfielder
Selection 33: Sydney
Harrison Petty (SA) H: 194, W: 81
  • Best available key defender which is a genuine need
  • Petty is a well performed KPD
  • Good value selection
Selection 34: St Kilda
Gryan Miers (VIC) H: 177, W: 73
  • Skillful, damaging half forward
  • Genuine goal kicker and big game player
  • Kicked 7 in the TAC Cup Grand Final
Selection 35: Geelong
Tom McCartin (VIC) H: 193, W: 84
  • Younger brother of Pat McCartin
  • Strong overhead, great leap, excellent endurance
  • Accurate kick both for goal and in general play
Selection 36: Melbourne
Charlie Spargo (VIC) H: 175, W: 73
  • Smaller forward/midfielder
  • Have a need for a smaller flanker
Selection 37: GWS (Matched bid by West Coast Eagles)
Nick Shipley (NSW) H: 190, W: 90
  • Tall, inside mid with a history of playing in the backline
  • Big bodied midfielder represents a WC need hence the bid
  • GWS unlikely to let their first genuine Western Sydney prospect slip and have the picks to match
Selection 38: West Coast Eagles
Callum Coleman-Jones (SA) H: 199, W: 98
  • Mobile ruck and key forward
  • Strong contested mark
  • Eagles have no rucks younger than 25
Selection 39: Collingwood
Oscar Clavarino (VIC) H: 196, W: 85
  • Talented key defender
  • Best available KPD after Taylor and Petty were taken
  • Pies need to go tall after taking Fogarty
Selection 40: Adelaide
Andrew McPherson (SA) H: 186, W: 75
  • Rebounding defender with pace
  • Clean skills
  • Midfield aspirations

I think if this was how it turned out the WC board would explode. Hasn't really addressed the inside midfield at all. I like the guys you've picked individually, but not that combo.

Granted, the Board would also explode if Hunter Clarke went so early.

Still, you've put yourself out there - so good effort! Are you planning on doing a weekly podcast through the off season?

I think if this was how it turned out the WC board would explode. Hasn't really addressed the inside midfield at all. I like the guys you've picked individually, but not that combo.

Granted, the Board would also explode if Hunter Clarke went so early.

Still, you've put yourself out there - so good effort! Are you planning on doing a weekly podcast through the off season?

Thanks mate.

I get your point about the West Coast picks and agree somewhat, but I think it's a bit of a reflection upon the lack of 'pure mids' in this draft particularly in the second round. You could make the argument that they could reach for a Fogarty or Constable in the first round, and there is also Zac Bailey at 21, but I honestly tried to pick players I think the Eagles are likely to pick based on their characteristics and didn't try and sway the decisions too much by who I want. As for the Oscar Allen pick at 13, you can blame my co-host for that one!

We're still picking this whole podcast thing up. We had some audio issues with this one (hence why the audio gets dramatically better in the second half of the episode). We really want to improve the production side of things and now that uni is almost over we can spend more time on that. I don't think we will keep it weekly over the summer but we do want to branch out into other topics (EPL, Cricket) over the offseason or even discuss non-sport topics entirely.

The Lions will not pick Sam Hayes at pick 15 or 18 for that matter, it's a furphy that we have no developing rucks ie. Archie Smith, Oscar McInerney + Connor Ballenden then we have Josh Walker a handy ruck backup and Matty Eagles (the Recruit) we will be going mid, mid and mid unless Oscar Allen is available at 18 and all the mids we rate are gone IMO.

If Ling was to last until Melbourne's picks I'd be disappointed if we passed on him. Pace and quality ball use should be at the top of our wishlist.

Good effort though.

Pls, pls, pls. :)

Allen's a funny one for you guys. Definitely has the talent but do you think he will be stuck at EP for awhile with Kennedy, Darling + Lycett/Vardy?
That is my query as well and don't forget we have another tall forward named Allen and young Waterman on the books already.

I'm sure there will be a player who is higher rated publicly at 4 but I'm sure how you can call him 'not exactly what North needs'. He's a genuine inside outside midfielder good leadership traits
There are better players available at 4. Unless his kicking class or acceleration are elite standouts, north need to target other's rated earlier for a reason by experts with that early pick.

Only experts that matter are the ones working for North's recruiting team, there is a lot of groupthink in the public domain, Brayshaw could very easily be rated as the best prospect for your team. Claiming to know that one player is objectively better than another based off of 4 minutes of highlight footage and hearing what a couple of journo's/draft watchers have recycled is laughable. Brayshaw's kicking and acceleration are well above adequate.

Don't watch much of the videos, I talk to the posters and blokes that watch the junior boys or are fairly involved in junior pathways. I go off their educated opinions, but I'm happy to be proved wrong if the player performs. Brayshaw would be a slight stretch at 4, but I am not against it if he was picked up at 4. North don't rate Stephenson in their top 5 apparently, so there may be a few sliders and bolters more than normal this year. Dow, Cerra, Brayshaw and Fogarty (that one, I would be slightly annoyed about) are apparently north's preference, but that's only a well connected rumour at this stage.

Pretty good chance Freo take him at 5 if available, does that make it less of a stretch? Sliders and bolters are just a indicator that the public don't have nearly as good info as the recruiters, nothing drastic has changed in the past 2 months to make Brayshaw a bolter except public opinion.

Brayshaw isn't exactly what North needs, especially with pick 4.

A well performed, inside/outside balanced mid would be welcome to any side's rebuild. I was the one to take that pick just felt that Brayshaw being a safe bet and well rounded midfielder would be the best available option. Personally, I prefer him to Cerra.