Tuck

Mate, we didn't win the game...and one player who made some crucial turnovers by foot was Tucky...and uncharacteristically - Newy.

Tuck's error rate has been very low this year and it was again yesterday. According to Pro-Stats (the only stats worth reading bar Champion Data, and Pro-Stats are better) the following players all had more 'errors' than Tuck:

Johnson - 4
Foley - 8
King - 6
Newman - 11
Schulz - 7
Richardson - 11
Moore - 7
Brown - 6
Simmonds - 8
White - 7
Thursfield - 4
Edwards - 6
Hyde - 3
Reiwoldt - 3

That's 14 players who had more errors than Tuck, plus Tambling who had the same amount (2). It's easy to remember one or two glaring errors from a game and use them to confirm your pre-existing bias against a player, far more difficult to judge all the player's fairly and equally over a whole game.

The coaching staff would have been happy with Tuck's effort yesterday; he did his job better than anyone else who's played on Griffen so far this year.

Connors is just as hard as Tuck but a lot smarter and more skillful and he, along with Cotchin will be knocking the door down in a couple of weeks.

Neither of them have been near the centre of the ground at AFL level and it will be years before either are ready to fill the sort of time Tuck spends in there. He gets heavy knocks from head to toe week after week contesting the hard ball in the middle. He's not flashy, he's not highly skilled, just a good honest, dependable workhorse, and every midfield needs a few.

Cross is the Dogs' best onballer almost every week and he was again yesterday, but he seldom gets any accolades for doing the grunt work which the Cooney's and Griffen's of the world benefit from.

when it gets down to games against the top flight, errors and indesicions by unskilled players hurt you twofold.

The errors are listed above Cogga - do you still want to argue Tuck's errors hurt us? Game after game a player like Newman, Foley or King could have five times as many errors as Tuck, but you'd just go with your ingrained opinion, gloss over their errors because they look stylish while making them, then magnify Tuck's tenfold.

Yeah he did a good job on Griffin. But yeah when the heat was on, Griffin came to the fore.

He got a couple of clearances and a couple of kicks in the last quarter, hardly matchwinning stuff. Tuck kept him quiet and hurt him enough going the other way with some good consistent work across half forward and in the middle.

Tuck's error rate has been very low this year and it was again yesterday. According to Pro-Stats (the only stats worth reading bar Champion Data, and Pro-Stats are better) the following players all had more 'errors' than Tuck:

Johnson - 4
Foley - 8
King - 6
Newman - 11
Schulz - 7
Richardson - 11
Moore - 7
Brown - 6
Simmonds - 8
White - 7
Thursfield - 4
Edwards - 6
Hyde - 3
Reiwoldt - 3

That's 14 players who had more errors than Tuck, plus Tambling who had the same amount (2). It's easy to remember one or two glaring errors from a game and use them to confirm your pre-existing bias against a player, far more difficult to judge all the player's fairly and equally over a whole game.

The coaching staff would have been happy with Tuck's effort yesterday; he did his job better than anyone else who's played on Griffen so far this year.

Neither of them have been near the centre of the ground at AFL level and it will be years before either are ready to fill the sort of time Tuck spends in there. He gets heavy knocks from head to toe week after week contesting the hard ball in the middle. He's not flashy, he's not highly skilled, just a good honest, dependable workhorse, and every midfield needs a few. .
Just doing the 'Math' Razorwire (re Cotchin, Conners and for that matter Cogs and maybe even Collins).....and stating observations (not bias) regarding Tuck's mistakes (by foot) at crucial times in games. He will not be in our starting 22 in a genuine finals side, neither will Hyde.

By the way if you believe Cotchin will have to wait years to be one of our starting midfielders than you haven't seen him play or listened to good judges who have.

The errors are listed above Cogga - do you still want to argue Tuck's errors hurt us? Game after game a player like Newman, Foley or King could have five times as many errors as Tuck, but you'd just go with your ingrained opinion, gloss over their errors because they look stylish while making them, then magnify Tuck's tenfold.

He got a couple of clearances and a couple of kicks in the last quarter, hardly matchwinning stuff. Tuck kept him quiet and hurt him enough going the other way with some good consistent work across half forward and in the middle.

time for a lesson in what the differences are in errors dude.

Newman king etc yeah they make errors, but they make them because they throw caution to the wind in taking risks to break lines. i.e and in particular the last two games, the net effect of them having the ball in terms of errors vs us getting a score is lopsided on the plus side. If they have success it means an attempt on goal.
Tucks errors dont come from risk taking, they come from not having a clue on what to do next. And its not only the actual "error" e.g kicking it to a 2 on 1 when we have players free elsewhere. Its the indesicion, the time taken, the hesitancy that kills us each and evetry time he gets it. The other killer is that invariably he is on the end of some great run out of defence, we are on a roll, the forward line is running in to spaces everywhere and what happens? Tuck gets it and waits and thinks and tries to work out which option he can actually dream of hitting and then what happens? yep, turnover goal.

As for your suggestion about Griffin and he had a few clearances in the last quarter. Well i will leave that up to the punters to work out, since when the heat is on and you need to step up, i tend to think that is the time where you really see who can and who cant. They were gone dude and then the ball was heading one way for the last 10 minutes.

Like i said, he is doing some heavy work in the middle. No skill or smarts but alot of grunt. There is a spot in the 22 for players like that, but it aint a starting spot.
When we can get to that point, we will be a top flight side. Until then we will just be improvers with hope for the future. The end. ;)

Whitey played on Griffen for most of the game, Tuck had Cooney, and didn't he damage us late in the last quarter. Don't listen to what___wit Watson says re match-ups.

Like i said, he is doing some heavy work in the middle. No skill or smarts but alot of grunt. There is a spot in the 22 for players like that, but it aint a starting spot
Absolute bollocks. Go back to watching netball :rolleyes:

Players who do what Tuck does are the first players picked. He is the only player to have played all 71 games since Wallace arrived. No-one else has the toughness, durability or motor to compete the way he does.

End of story.

Absolute bollocks. Go back to watching netball :rolleyes:

Players who do what Tuck does are the first players picked. He is the only player to have played all 71 games since Wallace arrived. No-one else has the toughness, durability or motor to compete the way he does.

End of story.

another lesson for another muppet.
Yeah players that do what Tuck does are the first picked, until there is someone that does all that Tuck does and more. When and you obviously missed the point, when we get to the point where we have the luxury of having Tuck as an option, rather than a nessecity we improve markedly, fool. ;)

You would think we were a finalist all these years, what with all those great midfielders an all:rolleyes:FFS we finished last just 6 months ago! I agree with you. Barring injury Tuck will not be in the starting 22 in a truly good side. I'd suggest that we will win this argument in 6 weeks time when Cotchin, Coggs and Connors are running around in the 1st's.....and Tuck/Hyde isn't:thumbsu:

As long as Tucky plays another 26 games so that we can father-son his boy in the 2025 draft.:thumbsu: Gotta keep genes like that on our side.

Seriously though, he might not be the most skilled player but you know what you're going to get - a big hard body with no fear and plenty of aggression. The day he is not an automatic selection is the day we can call ourselves a contender.

As long as Tucky plays another 26 games so that we can father-son his boy in the 2025 draft.:thumbsu: Gotta keep genes like that on our side.

Seriously though, he might not be the most skilled player but you know what you're going to get - a big hard body with no fear and plenty of aggression. The day he is not an automatic selection is the day we can call ourselves a contender.

this is what the other muppets like erayzor head and humping jimmy dont get. There is room in a top side for a tuck. The hard stuff is his caper and in big games you need the heavy artillery at your disposal.
But when he can be introduced into the game, fresh to give others a rest, his game will improve and so will our ____ing fortunes. But they are but a couple of muppets and can only go gaga becaue he is hard at it. What happens when he gets it and there isnt any hard at it required fools? ;)

You would think we were a finalist all these years, what with all those great midfielders an all:rolleyes:FFS we finished last just 6 months ago! I agree with you. Barring injury Tuck will not be in the starting 22 in a truly good side. I'd suggest that we will win this argument in 6 weeks time when Cotchin, Coggs and Connors are running around in the 1st's.....and Tuck/Hyde isn't:thumbsu:
i couldnt think of any1 else to drop...for these three. our midfield are playing very good atm. hard decision for terry to make

What a nuff nuff you are. Thick as a brick!

We will never get to that point without Tuck. Your namesake has played less than half the games Tucky has played since Wallace arrived, simply because his body has been unable to take the wear and tear the position requires.

Tuck plays the same way his father did. In case you did not comprehend it his father holds the record for senior games played. I suppose you though he was only in the Hawks team until they got to the point of not needing him too :rolleyes:

What a nuff nuff you are. Thick as a brick!

We will never get to that point without Tuck. Your namesake has played less than half the games Tucky has played since Wallace arrived, simply because his body has been unable to take the wear and tear the position requires.

Tuck plays the same way his father did. In case you did not comprehend it his father holds the record for senior games played. I suppose you though he was only in the Hawks team until they got to the point of not needing him too :rolleyes:

naa stupid, to those that know, ie. not you, my namesake was driven into the ground by the genious that preceded TW, muppet. You must be a newbie.
And you have just won the lunacy award for the year. So Tuck plays the same way his father did huh? Bwahaahaaaaaa, you must be a newbie, new to the whole ____ing game, fool.
Because if he actually played like his old man, then we wouldnt have to have this debate would we stupid? ;)

naa stupid, to those that know, ie. not you, my namesake was driven into the ground by the genious that preceded TW, muppet. You must be a newbie.
And you have just won the lunacy award for the year. So Tuck plays the same way his father did huh? Bwahaahaaaaaa, you must be a newbie, new to the whole ____ing game, fool.
Because if he actually played like his old man, then we wouldnt have to have this debate would we stupid? ;)
It's no debate. It's no contest. You have NFI :rolleyes:

Tuck has played every game because he is the first one picked, is always available and is a required player. Just as well Wallace knew a little bit about Tuck senior and decided to give Shane an opportunity. Nuff nuffs like you and Spud Frawley were too stupid to work it out.

It's no debate. It's no contest. You have NFI :rolleyes:

Tuck has played every game because he is the first one picked, is always available and is a required player. Just as well Wallace knew a little bit about Tuck senior and decided to give Shane an opportunity. Nuff nuffs like you and Spud Frawley were too stupid to work it out.

yeah and i guess that is why the dawks said no thanks and TW had to try his luck and so on and so on, dip stick. I mean how stupid can you get?
TW knew a little about Tuck senior and thats why he gave him his opportunity? FFS so did we about Jewell and Roach when we "swooped" on the next big things. Man...do you have any ____ing idea? I mean really? how moronic can you be to actually think that the dawks said no to a son of a ____ing legend dude, not your every day run of the mill player, a fully decorated legend, because they didnt know what they were doing. Like do you understand howmany meetings etc they would have had to have to come to a desicion like that fool? FFS, go play with some plastecine muppet.

man, do you have a brain? Tuck played a million games, captained the team to flags, did it all and even that didnt get Tuck the in at the dawks. But TW had the vision and "gave him a try" when others didnt....get real stupid. Now all of a sudden, what happens? oh, here is brother number 2 and what happens? he is straight on the list and straight into the team that is kicking butt. And that after they shat in the legends face, by not giving his son a go in the first place. Like i said, go play with plastecine.
Now go figrue who has NFI dude? ;)

yeah and i guess that is why the dawks said no thanks and TW had to try his luck and so on and so on, dip stick. I mean how stupid can you get?
TW knew a little about Tuck senior and thats why he gave him his opportunity? FFS so did we about Jewell and Roach when we "swooped" on the next big things. Man...do you have any ____ing idea? I mean really? how moronic can you be to actually think that the dawks said no to a son of a ____ing legend dude, not your every day run of the mill player, a fully decorated legend, because they didnt know what they were doing. Like do you understand howmany meetings etc they would have had to have to come to a desicion like that fool? FFS, go play with some plastecine muppet.

man, do you have a brain? Tuck played a million games, captained the team to flags, did it all and even that didnt get Tuck the in at the dawks. But TW had the vision and "gave him a try" when others didnt....get real stupid. Now all of a sudden, what happens? oh, here is brother number 2 and what happens? he is straight on the list and straight into the team that is kicking butt. And that after they shat in the legends face, by not giving his son a go in the first place. Like i said, go play with plastecine.
Great way to finish a complete tyrant rant of sh*t Cogga keep up the good work Pelican

not bad hey? ...but hey, the post is there and you read it or you dont, fool.
The problem here is that we have a muppet who can suggest, oh but he is the first picked as his reasons for suggesting that the player in question is going to be a vital part of a top flight combo.
The other problem here is that another muppet variety in you, can only offer JS to the whole debate. ;)

As you pissed, a clown, or both? In case you never realised it the Hawks were an even bigger basket case than Richmond at the time Shane was there. Peter Schwab was dumber than Spud Frawley. I reckon both are smarter than you though :D

so why dont you give us your take on why a club legend's son, who must have shown something, i mean, did TW give him a go just for th fun of it?, but why dont you illuminate us on how the dawks could do that to a legend's son, when as you suggest, TW knew his old man, so i am taking long odds and thinking that the whole ____ing coaching panel, footy dept and everyone else at the dawks, would have known him just as well, if not better.
Dont forget hey? Spud the dud was instrumental in gaining his services dude. It wasnt TW.

He is a good ordinary player. If he proves me wrong i will doff my hat to him. He is a hard nut, gets down and dirty and all that stuff. Thats ok, for where we are at now. And of course he is the first picked because of course we are at where we are at and that is now. ;)

not bad hey? ...but hey, the post is there and you read it or you dont, fool.
The problem here is that we have a muppet who can suggest, oh but he is the first picked as his reasons for suggesting that the player in question is going to be a vital part of a top flight combo.
The other problem here is that another muppet variety in you, can only offer JS to the whole debate. ;)
You never fail to amuse Cogga , has mom got the meat loaf ready yet , Maaaaaa the meat loaffffffffff

Bottom line is our kids are going to take time to develop and they will fade in and out of first grade for a while based on injury and form. Tuck is a proven work horse that is a integral part of our line up and will be for some time because we are Richmond.

You had us at the bottom of the ladder , preferably playing for draft picks (tanking) and Wallace sacked 2 weeks ago. You are a false prophet and a bore. You have nothing always will. Cheers Cogga

so why dont you give us your take on why a club legend's son, who must have shown something, i mean, did TW give him a go just for th fun of it?, but why dont you illuminate us on how the dawks could do that to a legend's son, when as you suggest, TW knew his old man, so i am taking long odds and thinking that the whole ____ing coaching panel, footy dept and everyone else at the dawks, would have known him just as well, if not better?
Dont forget hey? Spud the dud was instrumental in gaining his services dude. It wasnt TW. ;)
Duh, why do I bother?

Shaun Rehn gave Tucky a go in SA. Richmond drafted him but your mate Spud never gave him a chance(probably too busy running Cogs into the ground to realise he could have shared the workload between them) :rolleyes:

By the way Tucky can go the biff as good as anyone at the Tigers. Another reason he is an integral part of our team. Surely you noticed him body slam some unfortunate Dog player late in the game. Then again maybe you dont notice those things.

You never fail to amuse Cogga , has mom got the meat loaf ready yet , Maaaaaa the meat loaffffffffff

Bottom line is our kids are going to take time to develop and they will fade in and out of first grade for a while based on injury and form. Tuck is a proven work horse that is a integral part of our line up and will be for some time because we are Richmond.

You had us at the bottom of the ladder , preferably playing for draft picks (tanking) and Wallace sacked 2 weeks ago. You are a false prophet and a bore. You have nothing always will. Cheers Cogga

really? gee you are one visionary dude...like our kids are going to take time to develop...far out, you should become head of the footy dept with that kind of nouse dude......
As for the prophet shit, yeah if we were going to be shit, then dont know about you fool, but dont like the tigers being shit. So the way to become unshit is to get shit out and get unshit in. How you do that is up to you..how do you do that fool? As for wallace sacked 2 weeks ago, 1. have never actuallly called for his sacking. 2. If i did suggest sacking it was always and i mean for a long time, about those who are "NOW" on the outer. Funny how that shit happens and we are all sucking each other off with the way the team is playing now isnt it fool? ;)