TV Coverage Friday Night

I'm stunned that I appear to be in the minority of people who want live Friday night football. :eek::confused: It also pisses me off when Channel 10 delay Saturday night footy by just an hour or so.

If some people are too worried they might get stuck in traffic, then I suggest they plan their day better and invest in a VCR. Or DVD recorder... Because it's people like you who are ruining it for the rest of us.

You can record the game and watch it later to suit your schedule if you must. But I can't magically move the telecast forrward three hours to suit my schedule.

I would prefer to miss the entire first three quarters if I could see the fourth quarter live.

Delayed sport sucks balls. It's not a movie or a sitcom we're talking about here. It's sport, it's a human activity that will never be repeated. To delay such an event kills its spontaneity and therefore its impact.

/rant

Agree, there is simply no way I can watch a delayed game knowing too well that the game is already over.

Hmmm.. DVD recorder? Or watching the game when I get home without missing the 1st qtr.

Having the game at 5:40 or whatever it is, live on TV would be stupid, the ratings would suck. Most people would miss the 1st half or be pre-occupied with regular stuff that goes on when you get home from work on a friday arvo.

I'm stunned that I appear to be in the minority of people who want live Friday night football. :eek::confused: It also pisses me off when Channel 10 delay Saturday night footy by just an hour or so.

If some people are too worried they might get stuck in traffic, then I suggest they plan their day better and invest in a VCR. Or DVD recorder... Because it's people like you who are ruining it for the rest of us.

You can record the game and watch it later to suit your schedule if you must. But I can't magically move the telecast forrward three hours to suit my schedule.

I would prefer to miss the entire first three quarters if I could see the fourth quarter live.

Delayed sport sucks balls. It's not a movie or a sitcom we're talking about here. It's sport, it's a human activity that will never be repeated. To delay such an event kills its spontaneity and therefore its impact.

/rant

To be fair none of us are ruining anything for you, if live sport is so all consumingly important to your happiness then might I suggest you plan your own day better and be at Etihad Stadium for 7:40pm AEST.

Next year matches will all be live if I'm not mistaken?
All live on fox (9 games a week). Seven will do what they want for their games which will mean delays to fit in with BHAG, news, Today Tonight, Wombat and all the rest of their quality programs.

I can definitely recommend TVU for Southern Cross TV. It's awesome.

/rant

WTF, the game on the delayed telecast is no different from the one that would have been telecats live! You know that right?:D

To be fair none of us are ruining anything for you, if live sport is so all consumingly important to your happiness then might I suggest you plan your own day better and be at Etihad Stadium for 7:40pm AEST.

The fact that people are so prepared to accept the shoddy treatment from the FTA networks with their delayed telecasts, means they will continue to deliver said shoddiness.

And not that it's relevant, but yeah if I lived in Melbourne, I would certainly be at the game.....:confused:

I have Foxtel and I'm looking forward to next year's coverage.

What are peoples' thoughts on the delayed telecasts of the mid-week one-day international cricket matches into WA? I don't watch them. I watch live cricket on the weekends and listen to the mid-week games on the radio/phone.

WTF, the game on the delayed telecast is no different from the one that would have been telecats live! You know that right?:D

lol :thumbsu:

It's like watching The Sixth Sense or The Crying Game for the second and subsequent times....

And not that it's relevant, but yeah if I lived in Melbourne, I would certainly be at the game.....:confused:

A lack of planning is a lack of planning :p

... but seriously, normally I'd agree with you especially because it's usually delayed for repeated shows that no one is watching anyway and even worse they've all now got 3 channels so put it on 7two or mate? I spent a few seasons watching F1 over the net for the same reason before Ch10 got it's act together and decided to at least throw the fans a bone but this time the 7:30 (rather than 8:30) just happens to agree with me.

The fact that people are so prepared to accept the shoddy treatment from the FTA networks with their delayed telecasts, means they will continue to deliver said shoddiness.

I have Foxtel and I'm looking forward to next year's coverage.

What are peoples' thoughts on the delayed telecasts of the mid-week one-day international cricket matches into WA? I don't watch them. I watch live cricket on the weekends and listen to the mid-week games on the radio/phone.

Mate, don't get me wrong... I'm with you in terms of delayed telecasts generally....

But you have to admit Friday night is something a bit different.

"Plan my time better?"

There are a number of responses to this grossly inconsiderate concept I could use. I choose this one -

meh.ro5311.jpg

Nodgey, I have no reason to dislike you, and I'm sure you're a smart guy/gal but that's a ridiculous ****ing statement if ever I heard it.

Most of us have to work for a living and many of us don't get to choose when we get to knock off. Last I heard "Flexible working hours" was generally extended to what are deemed important work-life balance issues. While catching the footy live might be an important work-life balance issue for some of us, I can guarantee you my employer would probably laugh at the idea that I NEED to leave work early so I don't miss the first quarter of a match.

You want it live? Do as Leslie suggests, or, as you've suggested, go with a Foxtel subscription. Why the **** should the rest of us suffer to satisfy a minority?

Alternatively, think of it this way. FTA channels exist not because they want to show you programming, be it sport or anything else... they exist to make MONEY. They obtain that money through advertising. Anything that is being broadcast around the advertising is broadcast to get more people watching the broadcast when the advertising is on.

If a sports coverage doesn't rate, it'll get pulled. Don't believe me? NFL, NBA, Baseball, NSA Soccer (Such as it was back in the day), NBL.... there's a ton of examples which prove that point.

If you want FTA coverage at all on a Friday, you need to accept that it'll be broadcast when it will get high ratings, thus provide revenue. Otherwise the station won't pay for the rights in the first place. I think the point myself and others have been making isn't that we don't love live sport and wouldn't love the chance to catch all our footy live. The point we've been making is that to catch it live on a Friday night would be unrealistic given the realities of life, and given those realities a better compromise or best-fit solution is to delay it by less than is currently occurring.

Now I'm not saying FTA stations aren't dicks in relation to delayed telecasts generally; Lord knows I'm with you on that. Cricket's disgraceful for it. But when it comes to Friday Football, you have to be somewhat realistic, and accept that they're not going to put it on live at 5:40pm when a) no-one's going to watch it, and b) when it's going to clash with the 6pm news.... a broadcast which is usually the highest advertising earner for any commercial FTA channel.

Sorry Si, I don't mean to be inconsiderate. I just feel that the best option should be taken - and that is a live telecast.

If people can't catch the game live, then the facility is there to enable them to watch it on delay/replay if they so choose.

HOWEVER, when it's delayed for all, those of us who ARE available to watch it live get screwed over. It stinks.

This issue will be resolved next year, but that ain't soon enough for my liking.

I'm going to listen live to the radio. If we are getting our arses handed to us as I suspect we will I'm not sure I'll turn it on at all. I can't take any more pain this year, although strangely I watched the replay of the hawks game as it was hard to see what was going on sometimes at Subi live.

Soft, E!!! (softeeeee??) :D:D

We're still in the 8, old boy!

And you've seen a fair few wins at Subi this year too!! Y'all need to come on over to be an East Coast Docker and find out what real sustained pain is!!

Seriously, for those whingeing about FTA coverage in Perth, try the FTA coverage of Friday night games in Canberra or Sydney - start time is rarely earlier than 10:30/11:00pm, and often times the game is cut down to fit a movie schedule - so you lose up to 10 or 15 minutes of the game just so they can start the overnight "Danos TV ads" on time.

Watching at a pub is defo the best bet if you don't have Fox - or even if you do, depending on which pub and how talented the fellow drinking patrons are...

^^^ Yeah I know, I'm a real wimp this year for some reason. I was actually away working for 2 of the best home wins this year (North & Dogs) and most of the games I've been to we've gotten spanked in the worst possible way (think Saints, Hawks).

As for the telecast, I'm with Azza above. I can't watch non live sport anymore, it just has no impact. I'm going to try the stream tomorrow night and if it's no good or I can't get it, the radio.

Hate it, never watch them and I am massive cricket fan, member of the WACA etc.

Im 100% with you on this one. I do whatever I can to watch or listen to games live. With the footy that usually means the pub but Friday is difficult because there is no option. Grateful to th OP with this one.

Mate, don't get me wrong... I'm with you in terms of delayed telecasts generally....

But you have to admit Friday night is something a bit different.

"Plan my time better?"

There are a number of responses to this grossly inconsiderate concept I could use. I choose this one -

meh.ro5311.jpg

Nodgey, I have no reason to dislike you, and I'm sure you're a smart guy/gal but that's a ridiculous ****ing statement if ever I heard it.

Most of us have to work for a living and many of us don't get to choose when we get to knock off. Last I heard "Flexible working hours" was generally extended to what are deemed important work-life balance issues. While catching the footy live might be an important work-life balance issue for some of us, I can guarantee you my employer would probably laugh at the idea that I NEED to leave work early so I don't miss the first quarter of a match.

You want it live? Do as Leslie suggests, or, as you've suggested, go with a Foxtel subscription. Why the **** should the rest of us suffer to satisfy a minority?

Alternatively, think of it this way. FTA channels exist not because they want to show you programming, be it sport or anything else... they exist to make MONEY. They obtain that money through advertising. Anything that is being broadcast around the advertising is broadcast to get more people watching the broadcast when the advertising is on.

If a sports coverage doesn't rate, it'll get pulled. Don't believe me? NFL, NBA, Baseball, NSA Soccer (Such as it was back in the day), NBL.... there's a ton of examples which prove that point.

If you want FTA coverage at all on a Friday, you need to accept that it'll be broadcast when it will get high ratings, thus provide revenue. Otherwise the station won't pay for the rights in the first place. I think the point myself and others have been making isn't that we don't love live sport and wouldn't love the chance to catch all our footy live. The point we've been making is that to catch it live on a Friday night would be unrealistic given the realities of life, and given those realities a better compromise or best-fit solution is to delay it by less than is currently occurring.

Now I'm not saying FTA stations aren't dicks in relation to delayed telecasts generally; Lord knows I'm with you on that. Cricket's disgraceful for it. But when it comes to Friday Football, you have to be somewhat realistic, and accept that they're not going to put it on live at 5:40pm when a) no-one's going to watch it, and b) when it's going to clash with the 6pm news.... a broadcast which is usually the highest advertising earner for any commercial FTA channel.

BUT (for footy) - you COULD put the ACTUAL start time back 1 hour which would make the live telecast from 6.40 Western time.

I can't watch a whole game when I know it isn't live. If it is close at halftime in a delayed telecast I can't stand the thought of the result already be decided so I end up checking the score anyway.

Anyone know what station and at what time it will be shown in Karratha found a gwn site but it doesn't have a tv guide :/

Sorry Si, I don't mean to be inconsiderate. I just feel that the best option should be taken - and that is a live telecast.

If people can't catch the game live, then the facility is there to enable them to watch it on delay/replay if they so choose.

HOWEVER, when it's delayed for all, those of us who ARE available to watch it live get screwed over. It stinks.

This issue will be resolved next year, but that ain't soon enough for my liking.

Don't get me wrong mate, 99% I'm right there with you - delayed telecasts suck balls, that's a given.

And I'm not saying there shouldn't be options (and easy and cheap options moreover) for people who do want to see it live. No-one should be screwed over at all in an ideal world. ;)

I think the new agreements are awesome for fans, and I completely agree with you; the sooner that people who want to see it live can do on Foxtel (at home or the pub), the better.

@ Muckypup - Mate, that'd definitely work for us over in the West. Don't see the AFL doing it though.

BUT (for footy) - you COULD put the ACTUAL start time back 1 hour which would make the live telecast from 6.40 Western time.

But unfortunately that means it wouldn't be live in the Eastern States until 8:30, which is the only market they really care about. Ain't going to happen.

Well either way it's delayed for me now. I didn't book it off work so will be joining my Mum to watch the 2 hour delayed telecast.

As for the argument stating it should be delayed because of traffic etc...why couldn't you listen to it on the radio until you got home?

People could and would and as stated here plenty do already but TV stations make the decisions and that's always going to be biggest profit ie most watched show in prime time with maximum dollar for advertising.