TV coverage

• Thread starter Thread starter finrod

Speaking of TV coverage, I happened to watch Freo and Geelong last week
and watched the players sing the club song after the win. Now this is a genuine question and not a nasty comment so please take it for what I am asking, I don,t know how much importance people place in the team
closeness and comeraderie but I honestly thought the Geelong boys looked extremely uninthusiastic and even unhappy after that game, genuine curiosity folks,I may have been seeing things but it really suprised me.

I saw a few players looking not that happy too. Maybe they weren't happy with their performance? It wasn't the best win, they really should have punished Freo. I noticed Nathan not looked too pleased but then it could also be that they don't want the media attention after the game and instead they have to stand in a circle and sing the club song while a guy in the middle spins around and sticks a spotlight and a camera in their face.

If the whole competition goes on Foxtel then AFL will lose it's mass appeal and the competition will (eventually) suffer from lack of interest from players and supporters.

That is a big statement to make... Do you have anything to back it up with? As said previously, nearly all major sport is on paytv in other countries and it hasn't caused any harm to its populartiy. Pull the cobwebs out of that wallet and get with the times my friend. Sport is meant to be watched LIVE!! Foxtel does it without adverts... simple as that. Good on them for cutting a great deal that allows them to have first pick at games to televise.

The premier league in Britain only went solely to pay tv this year and there are current contract negotiations to put games back onto free to air as early as august this year.

NFL is America has always had free to air games...I wouldn't have a clue about baseball as it is a mind-numbingly boring sport.

My point is this...I can't see the AFL going solely to Foxtel, I think we will have the hybrid mix for years to come but it will only hurt our clubs and others when the same teams constantly get free to air.

Also in America the TV rights are so lucrative that the clubs could survive on them alone, in Australia our football clubs need sponsorships and for that the companies that sponsor will want the most exposure, the more exposure the more sponsorship dollars.....it's simple economics.

The premier league in Britain only went solely to pay tv this year and there are current contract negotiations to put games back onto free to air as early as august this year.

NFL is America has always had free to air games...I wouldn't have a clue about baseball as it is a mind-numbingly boring sport.

My point is this...I can't see the AFL going solely to Foxtel, I think we will have the hybrid mix for years to come but it will only hurt our clubs and others when the same teams constantly get free to air.

Also in America the TV rights are so lucrative that the clubs could survive on them alone, in Australia our football clubs need sponsorships and for that the companies that sponsor will want the most exposure, the more exposure the more sponsorship dollars.....it's simple economics.

I really think if this was an issue at all it would have come up in the media at some stage before now. The bottom line is that the clubs require memberships to survive first, sponsors are important but not to the same extent. My question to you is, are you a member? If not you have really no basis for your argument. Would you rather your club died or free-to-air telecasts?

This year I am not a member as my work has made it impossible for me to attend games, I have been a member in the past though. Yes of course memberships are important, they will have to forgive me this year.

I don't think clubs can rely on bread alone though, sponsorships are as important.

I also don't understand the highlighted question

You say your concerned about the AFL losing money from sponsors due to foxtel therefore it threatens your club, but your not willing to cough up for a membership for work purposes?? and still won't pay for foxtel. Cry me a river...

Besides the ordinary comentary , I dont mind at all if our games are on foxtel , sure we dont get the viewers that you would get on FTA but personally it doesnt worry me.

This year I am not a member as my work has made it impossible for me to attend games, I have been a member in the past though. Yes of course memberships are important, they will have to forgive me this year.

I don't think clubs can rely on bread alone though, sponsorships are as important.

I also don't understand the highlighted question

I live in Queensland and I can't attend games. But I am still a member. :rolleyes:

You say your concerned about the AFL losing money from sponsors due to foxtel therefore it threatens your club, but your not willing to cough up for a membership for work purposes?? and still won't pay for foxtel. Cry me a river...

My reasons for not getting foxtel are this:

I have 3 kids and I don't want them to spend their time sitting on the arse watching tv all the time, not because of the cost. Don't assume I'm a tight arse mate!.
That's right I don't have a membership (this year), I have had this argument many times before with richmond ferals, If I don't use it I won't buy it, I have enough bills to pay!.
Do I think my membership will replace sponsorship dollars lost over tv exposure....not by a bloody long shot. Pat yourself on the back Marty, your membership has SAVED the club...good on you.

I did not start posting on this thread to whinge about the fact that I couldn't watch them on free to air, I was making a point about the exposure the rich clubs are getting versus the poorer ones (the big picture).

My reasons for not getting foxtel are this:

I have 3 kids and I don't want them to spend their time sitting on the arse watching tv all the time, not because of the cost. Don't assume I'm a tight arse mate!.
That's right I don't have a membership (this year), I have had this argument many times before with richmond ferals, If I don't use it I won't buy it, I have enough bills to pay!.

Hehehe.. What's that old saying again? You make decisions and you live by them. :o

I did not start posting on this thread to whinge about the fact that I couldn't watch them on free to air, I was making a point about the exposure the rich clubs are getting versus the poorer ones (the big picture).

It's a business.. The games/clubs with the most viewers will be televised by foxtel every oppurtunity they get, which is more than ch7 & ch10. I'm sure if there was going to be any issue in the future the AFL would have stepped in when foxtel cut this deal.

Hehehe.. What's that old saying again? You make decisions and you live by them. :o

It's a business.. The games/clubs with the most viewers will be televised by foxtel every oppurtunity they get, which is more than ch7 & ch10. I'm sure if there was going to be any issue in the future the AFL would have stepped in when foxtel cut this deal.
Your a hard man Marty , its been quiet around here last week or so. Good to see you back in action

I'd much rather the game be on foxtel, especially if it is 'live & active' like it will be this week... The Richmond game was on live and active. Afterwards you got to see a interview with Nablett and a few of the other boys & then watch Thompson do the post match press conference etc.

Richmond finished 9th last year and I think the punt was taken that they were a team on the rise and given more games. They may also have a perceived bigger ratings potential than our side. That's how I would ratioanlise it.

Yeah true - Richmond finishing ninth is like any other team winning the Grand Final :D. That is their ultimate finishing position.

I know what you mean. The games prior to that one, they were smiling and were really enthused. Might have just been stuffed.
Thanks for the answer Big Nasty. I reckon your right, plus maybe footballers don't particularly like cameras in their faces when showing a bit of emotion.
Thanks again it was a fair dinkum question, and good luck Cats

Don't worry JoondalupJ. It looked like the boys were pissed off because this was take 7 or 8 for the cameras (well after the end of the game). The first 5 or six efforts would have been full on celebrations with no cameras around.
Thanks Catswhiskers I thought something was not quite right a good win
anyway and all the best to your Cats.

I saw a few players looking not that happy too. Maybe they weren't happy with their performance? It wasn't the best win, they really should have punished Freo. I noticed Nathan not looked too pleased but then it could also be that they don't want the media attention after the game and instead they have to stand in a circle and sing the club song while a guy in the middle spins around and sticks a spotlight and a camera in their face.
Absolutely .According to Catswhiskers they had done the song about 5 times
for the cameras and had had enough. Good luck Cats

Absolutely .According to Catswhiskers they had done the song about 5 times
for the cameras and had had enough. Good luck Cats

I don't mind them not getting too carried away with the song... it's only Rd8, and they won at home, and not as convincingly as it should have been. I'd be annoyed if they were all ****-a-hoop about it... getting ahead of themselves.

What's ludicrous is that a) The Port Adelaide game is being televised in Adelaide free and b) Melbourne are being televised again in Melbourne, free.

This is just plain stupid. Games used to be blacked out in the cities they were being held in to promote ticket sales. Now we have them being shown in the cities they are being played in and not elsewhere. Furthermore, if the team's coverage is performance based, why the heck is Dennis Cometti talking about calling Melbourne for the fifth week in a row (or something like that?)

I hate the tv coverage, I hate the constant rules changes, I hate the proposed drug rule changes (unless every sport gets equal treatment), I hate the twilight Grand Final idea and I really hate the way the AFL is making this game into a capitalist enterprise a-la US sports and Int'l soccer.

Couldn't have said it better :thumbsu:

foxtel is rubbish. I will never pay for it. :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

I go to most games I can. Now that they dont show the replays that they used to on Fox Footy i dont see the point. :(

I'd rather go down to the local pub and watch it, or not watch it at all (in protest) than pay that much money so i can watch less than one game a week. I can afford it, but I just dont think on principle I should have to.

Thanks for the answer Big Nasty. I reckon your right, plus maybe footballers don't particularly like cameras in their faces when showing a bit of emotion.
Thanks again it was a fair dinkum question, and good luck Cats
Hello Cats
What a good belting Port got, well done .I don't think think any one would have held back with the song this week they would have raised the roof and sung it a hundred times.I hope my blokes can do it next week. My tips this week, 2 winners, Hawks & Geelong, but it was a good weekend hey?

I recall one player - don't think it was one of ours - say that singing the club song was just something they did for the TV cameras anyway. Interesting how it varies across clubs. Melbourne (I think it was) decided it was something just for the players at one stage and tried to ban cameras from the room while the song was sung. Someone else (Collingwood?) banned cameras from getting in the middle of the circle while it was sung.

Personally if I was a Freo player I'd prefer to lose rather than sing that awful dirge.