Opinion Ty Zantuck’s mother says years of painkilling injections has ruined his life

Not sure it matters where he gets some sort of support, I just hope he gets some....I feel for anyone with back issues.... cannot move anything without knowing it's there...
True...always looking for that sweet spot, day and night, where you can enjoy your body without that draining/throbbing back pain...

"Zantuck, 36, alleges he was injected with painkillers and epidurals up to 50 times over three seasons under the care of then Richmond doctor Chris Bradshaw from 2001-03."

If true, that's ****ed up. Gonna be hard to prove anything without records and then playing at Essendon and local footy following and whatever jobs/hobbies he's done since then.

Perhaps he should first sue his mother. Genes. Then, the ground where he fell or the player he was on or the chair he sat in when he first developed pain. In reality, once it starts destiny is out of the realm of the healer. But we do know that the odds of a second operation helping are low yet alone more than ten.

"Zantuck, 36, alleges he was injected with painkillers and epidurals up to 50 times over three seasons under the care of then Richmond doctor Chris Bradshaw from 2001-03."

If true, that's ****** up. Gonna be hard to prove anything without records and then playing at Essendon and local footy following and whatever jobs/hobbies he's done since then.

I wonder if G Ablett, once he can’t raise his left arm above his head, comes at the Cats and the doc. If the jabs weren’t given, I wonder if he still comes at the Cats and doc for denying an opportunity to win another GF ...... he may have received half a dozen jabs during the one game!!

I’m not sure many players knock back a jab to keep playing, win games, earn income and secure contracts. It’s a vicious cycle, and the AFL is no different to any other professional sport, where one has to perform. I’m sure doctors explain pros and cons of injecting, however the player is ultimately responsible.

The unfortunate part is that no amount of money will compensate for ongoing serious and debilitating injuries.

For years players were expected to be tough, work through the pain barrier and take one for the team. that was the unwritten expectation. If you didn’t you were considered weak. Things are changing for the better.
Anyone who has played competitive sport for years carries something. I do, but mine are minor so far.
if every player who played sports had a case against the sporting team they played for then there would not be any sporting teams left...anywhere. Wish him luck and hope he finds some form of recovery, a Go fund me page might help.

edit...would everyone employed by the afl and the teams in it cut 10% off their salary to help fund situations like this when a player needs help? Or is it an insurance thing where players pay a certain amount of their pay to have long term insurance to cover them ? Would such a thing be doable. I have no experienced in these matters but it’s just a thought.

Playing with regular epidurals on the face of it is rediculous. What sane person would do that to their body? It’s not like we were close to winning a GF or anything.

It was happening at the time where sometimes all three of Gaspar, Holland and Hall were injured, we literally had no key defenders left (not to mention no ruckmen), so Zantuck would have been both under pressure to get on the park and also no doubt wanting to get out there to stake his claim.

IIRC, there were games in 2004 where we didn't have a single player bar Zantuck over 190cm.

There will be no winners from this. Bloody sad story and he’s not on his own.

Well said mate, rotten situation for all involved and as you say, no doubt just the tip of the iceberg with former players.

Peter Larkin reckons he has to prove what Richmond did was out of step with what the rest of the league was doing at the time.

I would think he could argue that the Docs didn’t give him informed consent.
And that’s not just a paper to sign, that’s explaining the risks, benefits, expectations and reasoning for what they are doing, fully, and making sure he understood it.

I very much doubt that happened.

For years players were expected to be tough, work through the pain barrier and take one for the team. that was the unwritten expectation. If you didn’t you were considered weak. Things are changing for the better.
Anyone who has played competitive sport for years carries something. I do, but mine are minor so far.
if every player who played sports had a case against the sporting team they played for then there would not be any sporting teams left...anywhere. Wish him luck and hope he finds some form of recovery, a Go fund me page might help.

edit...would everyone employed by the afl and the teams in it cut 10% off their salary to help fund situations like this when a player needs help? Or is it an insurance thing where players pay a certain amount of their pay to have long term insurance to cover them ? Would such a thing be doable. I have no experienced in these matters but it’s just a thought.
How are things getting better when the d heads at AFL keep changing the game where they are making it faster and faster and games come up even quicker? Back then they played sat now they play every freakin day if they had their way. People are making fun that some are on drugs well pain can make you desperate. Some like Shane Tuck find different pain relief.

I wonder if G Ablett, once he can’t raise his left arm above his head, comes at the Cats and the doc. If the jabs weren’t given, I wonder if he still comes at the Cats and doc for denying an opportunity to win another GF ...... he may have received half a dozen jabs during the one game!!

I’m not sure many players knock back a jab to keep playing, win games, earn income and secure contracts. It’s a vicious cycle, and the AFL is no different to any other professional sport, where one has to perform. I’m sure doctors explain pros and cons of injecting, however the player is ultimately responsible.

The unfortunate part is that no amount of money will compensate for ongoing serious and debilitating injuries.
Won't be able to go after the Suns cause the reports were he wouldn't take the pain killers while he was rehabbing there.

If the general consensus that “the process” for looking after players is better now, implies that there was negligence before (thats from a legal viewpoint)
the only ones guaranteed to win out of this are the lawyers.
i carry my share of ongoing pain issues, but seems like nothing compared with Zantuck. I feel sorry for him, and his family.

If the general consensus that “the process” for looking after players is better now, implies that there was negligence before (thats from a legal viewpoint)
the only ones guaranteed to win out of this are the lawyers.
i carry my share of ongoing pain issues, but seems like nothing compared with Zantuck. I feel sorry for him, and his family.
Your right, lawyers will cash right up.

The question is a duty of care breach leading to negligence. Pain killers mask injury, but do they cause more injury or does the next incident, of which the player accepts by walking down the race and the medico cannot predict.

Im not sure it’s any different today regarding being juiced up to play. Injury prevention and management may be better handled, but I still believe anyone on the margin will be offered the juice factory.

How are things getting better when the d heads at AFL keep changing the game where they are making it faster and faster and games come up even quicker? Back then they played sat now they play every freakin day if they had their way. People are making fun that some are on drugs well pain can make you desperate. Some like Shane Tuck find different pain relief.
I mean in how injuries are dealt with......are we there yet? no.
still got a long way to go but as in everything that demands the highest level of physical performance out of the human body we are a long way off from protecting it.
the afl have made steps in the right direction to protect players, no one knows where to draw the line between safety and performance. Does anyone want to see F1 cars go around the track at 100kms an hour? No.
and you would be the first to complain if it was bruise free aflx style game,

Peter Larkin reckons he has to prove what Richmond did was out of step with what the rest of the league was doing at the time.

I would think he could argue that the Docs didn’t give him informed consent.
And that’s not just a paper to sign, that’s explaining the risks, benefits, expectations and reasoning for what they are doing, fully, and making sure he understood it.

I very much doubt that happened.
Reckon he may be covering a few backsides there, I’d put it as simply that if the said treatment resulted in his current debilitating condition that severely impacts qty of life they’ll have a case to answer . Likely an independent specialist would suggest not playing at all would have been far more effective

I feel for ty but why only go after Richmond? Surely he had back 9ssues at the druggies as well, or did they have a different type of jab?
He only played there for a year and a handful of games.
But he did grow up a mad bombers fan too and went to PEGS
Continued to play local footy for a number of years after AFL as well.

He only played there for a year and a handful of games.
But he did grow up a mad bombers fan too and went to PEGS
Continued to play local footy for a number of years after AFL as well.
If his back was rooted, and it was, surely he had jabs at the druggies as well.