Ty Zantuck

Some people have short memories...

Campbell has been a great player for the Tigers for a long long time. Unfortunately age is taking its' toll but that shouldn't diminish what he has done for the club.

Regarding his captaincy... He may not be the most inspiring captain in the competition but lets face it, who else did we have?? He took on the job when we had no-one else and did his best, what more can we ask?

It's easy being negative but why not try being fair!

Which Essendon game. The final where knights kicked our entire score for the first half and kept us in the game?? I dont remember campbell in that game. I remember turner cleaning up odonnell. I remember rogers kicking the goals in the square.. I dont remember campbell? Bit like his whole career. Cant remember his contribution beyond the wooden spoons and the sucking up to spud.

As to maxfield. 60m left foot kick off one step plus carries the ball 20m and tackles like a steam train??? How do you think Richo got all those goals at the start of his career? Did you ever watch the highlight package of 95'. One thing you will note is that maxfield features in every one of them.

You really have no idea. Campbells worst injury came from celebrating after kicking a goal. Most good midfielders kick goals all the time. Campbell has to celebrate like its his only goal for the year. What a dud.

JohnF said:
You clearly didn't see the Essendon game this year did you?

Campbell won more best and fairests and got more All-Australian selections because he was the more consistent = better player. It's as simple as that really. Knights going in more for the ball? Rubbish. The only way you could say that Knights put his body more on the line is in terms of tackling. He had it over Campbell in that regard I admit.

LMFAOOOOOO@Maxfield. I love when people bring him up. What distinction has he earned in 15 years of football?

Interesting spin. He helps get rid of Matthew Knights, the inspiration and soul of the club. Then he is the hero because there is no one else and he leads us to the wooden spoon?

It was really fair how he stabbed knighter in the back and supported and sucked up to the worst coach in the clubs history.

What a champion. I dont know how I could have missed this earlier.

Zantuck is supposedly on the outer with the leadership group.

Yet Bowden and Brown both have no problems with Zantuck?

Gaspar, pig head chaffey who bowden beat up & campbell have contributed nothing to the club. Who cares if they dont like him. Its a pity they couldnt all join otto at geelong..

Tigerrific said:
Regarding his captaincy... He may not be the most inspiring captain in the competition but lets face it, who else did we have?? He took on the job when we had no-one else and did his best, what more can we ask?

It's easy being negative but why not try being fair!

How can anyone call Campbell a dud? He's a great talent. Good skills, competitive, reliable. He's one of our best players from the last 20 years. The only reason why he's been called a dud, is because he is captain and he's been compared to Hird and Voss who are more inspirational captains. He has had some injuries over the last 12 months, so he's missed some games and hasn't been 100% when playing lately, but he should be pretty valuable when fit. I think he has a couple more good years to offer us

tigertime said:
Which Essendon game. The final where knights kicked our entire score for the first half and kept us in the game?? I dont remember campbell in that game. I remember turner cleaning up odonnell. I remember rogers kicking the goals in the square.. I dont remember campbell? Bit like his whole career. Cant remember his contribution beyond the wooden spoons and the sucking up to spud.

As to maxfield. 60m left foot kick off one step plus carries the ball 20m and tackles like a steam train??? How do you think Richo got all those goals at the start of his career? Did you ever watch the highlight package of 95'. One thing you will note is that maxfield features in every one of them.

You really have no idea. Campbells worst injury came from celebrating after kicking a goal. Most good midfielders kick goals all the time. Campbell has to celebrate like its his only goal for the year. What a dud.

Campbell wasn't celebrating his own goal. It was someone elses which makes it even worse. Coghlan kicked it i think.

tigertime said:

lmfaooo, mate, you're still living in '95 (that is, the year Campbell was critically adjudged the player of the year and favourite for the brownlow). Word of advice, it is now 2004 and 9 years of footy have come to pass since that time. You might want to have a look at a few games in the intervening years.

What were you saying about Campbell when he led our team to the finals in 2001? What were you saying when Knights lead us to the finals in.... oh that's right, he didn't lead us to any finals. My mistake.

lmfaoooooo@the highlights package with Maxfield. If your idea of a a good player is looking at their highlights package then you probably think Warwick Capper was the greatest player to ever play the game. Here's an idea: try scrutinising a game of footy for the whole duration of the match and see if you can pick up any nuances which are left out in between the one minute of footage that is condensed into a highlights package.

Maxfiled has been one of the biggest recievers in the comp and has still only kicked 150 odd goals in nearly 300 games. Big booming kick. Problem is he only gets about 10 kicks a game. Campbell, who is a dud, and who doesn;t have nearly as good a kick, has kicked about the about the same amount of goals, and unlike Maxfield he has been playing in the centre square where you have to earn your posessions.

I'll say this much, I think Campbell's captaincy was disgraceful this year and his level of play wasn't much better. I think he is washed up and has been since the second half of 2002 and it's a good thing the captaincy has been taken off him. If we had a team that was good enough to play in the finals I would be calling for him to retire. As it stands I don't really care if he plays on becuase he is still way better than half the duds our team is comprised of.

One thing I'd never do is judge him on the years when he is past his prime. Just liek i'd never call Knights a dud for getting 15 posessions a game in his last season. he was past his prime and that meant nothing.

When all the bullschit opinions are washed away, this is what will stand.

Wayne Campbell:
4 time B&F
3 time Runner up B&F
2-time All-Australian
Representative of Australia in the International Rules Series
Representative of Victoria in State of Origin

END OF STORY!

LMAOooooooo JohnF.

When i see u arguing the point of Campbell I just sit back and LMAOOO.

You could convince the Jews that Aushcwitz never happened.

Having said that,It's easy to win som many B&Fs when u're playing alongside
the list he has.

I also think the captaincy was a mistake.
His shoulders weren't big enuff so to speak and as such he will be remembered.

LMAOOOO@Goosestepping and tearing n achilies.
If he didn't suk so much pizs and took the role of leader a little more seriously
(by means of his overall physical conditioning and discipline to do so)
he may have just ended things on a high.

I will remember Wayne as a good bloke that was fortunate enuff to be surrounded by hacks his whole career thus softening the effect
of his shortcomings.
LMAOOO@B&Fs anywaize.

Out of 10 he'd score a 7.58903 when compared to Voss,Hird etc

lmfaooooooo@me doing an English paper in my V.C.E on David Irving, who makes a living trying to convince the Jews that Auschwitz never happened.

lmfaoooooo@me being a crackpot revisionist historian focusing on selective facts and a slight case of paranoia to make out an outlandish claim only supported by certain fundamentalist supporters.

Ox, his B&F's are made to look good by the players he played with - that is true, without a doubt. But who are the players he played with?

Richo
Knighta
Maxfield
Gale

All players that the common supporter regards as champions. So I just want to get a bit of consistency. How can you bag a bloke who's award cabinet is twice as full as these blokes?

Campbell isn't a champion, and being 3/4's of the player Voss is is a compliment to him. But to champion the above quartet and sandbag Campbell is a travesty.

JohnF said:
lmfaooooooo@me doing an English paper in my V.C.E on David Irving, who makes a living trying to convince the Jews that Auschwitz never happened.

lmfaoooooo@me being a crackpot revisionist historian focusing on selective facts and a slight case of paranoia to make out an outlandish claim only supported by certain fundamentalist supporters.

Ox, his B&F's are made to look good by the players he played with - that is true, without a doubt. But who are the players he played with?

Richo
Knighta
Maxfield
Gale

All players that the common supporter regards as champions. So I just want to get a bit of consistency. How can you bag a bloke who's award cabinet is twice as full as these blokes?

Campbell isn't a champion, and being 3/4's of the player Voss is is a compliment to him. But to champion the above quartet and sandbag Campbell is a travesty.
Mate , i do not regard Benny Gale as champion , good workhorse, nothing more.

Richo ...... dissapointment , not champion .

So don`t go emotivelly quoting and generallising to try and prove a point . You know why Campbells cabinet is so full ? Because he plays the percentages , he dosen`t take risks . he knows how to get 30 touches with the minimum amount of risk , and i know this has been flogged but it is true , he has been surrounded by mediocrity , that was the reason he wanted out .

John F, the one thing you cant deny is that the entire time Campbell has been at the RFC, we've been $chit. You can rant on about his individual stats and B&Fs all you want, but whilst he's been there, we've been winning wooden spoons. You can cry just imagine how schit we would be if he wasnt there, but we cant go any lower than last. Where the club finishes says more about Wayne Campbell than how many B&Fs he's won. He personifies what's been wrong with the club. Overpaying and overrating players, generous contracts and incentivising them to increase their stats tally for their individual benefit (B&Fs & capatiancies), at what I reckon is at the expense of the team itself.

I reckon things would have been different if we didnt overrate and overpay players like Daffy, Gaspar and Campbell. IMO Campbell is no better than Ottens or Gaspar. He played for the salary, not the jumper. He played for the stats, not the team.

But good luck with your exams! We need smart posters on the boards.

1980 said:
John F, the one thing you cant deny is that the entire time Campbell has been at the RFC, we've been $chit. You can rant on about his individual stats and B&Fs all you want, but whilst he's been there, we've been winning wooden spoons. You can cry just imagine how schit we would be if he wasnt there, but we cant go any lower than last. Where the club finishes says more about Wayne Campbell than how many B&Fs he's won. He personifies what's been wrong with the club. Overpaying and overrating players, generous contracts and incentivising them to increase their stats tally for their individual benefit (B&Fs & capatiancies), at what I reckon is at the expense of the team itself.

I reckon things would have been different if we didnt overrate and overpay players like Daffy, Gaspar and Campbell. IMO Campbell is no better than Ottens or Gaspar. He played for the salary, not the jumper. He played for the stats, not the team.

But good luck with your exams! We need smart posters on the boards.

Campbell may be overrated and overpaid by the club, but he is hardly the best example to use when considering a player that is overrated and overpaid. I would bet Gaspar, Knights, Richo and Ottens were all on much more than he was and have delivered far less. (Does anyone know the exact money they were on?)

Not to mention the amount of duds on our list like Zantuck and Fiora getting 250k a year when they should be on base salaries for the crap they have produced. That ain't Campbell's fault.

As for where Campbell has left the club (in the wooden spoon position), I think it's unfair to signal him out alone for this criticism. Yes he has been pretty bad as a captain, particularly this year, but I don't feel a better captain could have done much to arrest the fall we have undergone. Our list is pathetic. Hence getting rid of ten players this year, and hence getting rid of ten more at the end of next year.

I'm not sure if Campbell was the most comitted to the jumper but there is no denying he played for success. That's why he walked out on the club, seeing what a rabble we are. I honestly don't blame him for not busting his knackers this year when he is surrounded by the biggest fools in any AFL side. He has taken the role of captain during a difficult time, and if we weren't such a shambles, I'm sure he would be remembered more kindly as a captain. But anyway, he took the role, he can take the responsibility that comes with it and the heat that comes with it. Hopefully now that someone else will yoke themselves to the role, it will take some pressure off him and he will be allowed to see out his last days without as much scrutiny.

I've said my piece on Campbell, and everyone's probably sick of hearing me spin crap about him by now, and I'm sick of it myself.

Cheers 1980.

I admire your loyalty John, and remind me never to get into an argument with you about the price of fish lol - you win hands down on defending yourself. I think salary cap issues and having to pay a percentage which is absolutely ridiculous when you have the players we've had on our list.

PS: 999 first class and intelligent posts by you know who! - did i mention the quality :D

ahaha, thanks Froars. Don't know if your post was meant more as a compliment me or just a way to get you closer to that magical 1000 (quality)posts :D

1) Gaspar and Chaffey are other examples but they arent the captain. He is the best example.
2) There are others, but no doubt he is the chief culprit. (Knights did a much better job with much less)
3) Personal success, not team success.
4) Yes, lets take the pressure off the captain because we know he cant handle it.
5) I have no idea by your own admissions why you even consider defending him?

Campbell is symbolic of everything that is bad about the RFC. Hopefully he can kick some goals in the FP this year but more likely he will just provide opposition defenders momentum by running off him.

JohnF said:
1) Campbell may be overrated and overpaid by the club, but he is hardly the best example

2) As for where Campbell has left the club (in the wooden spoon position), I think it's unfair to signal him out alone for this criticism. Yes he has been pretty bad as a captain, particularly this year, but I don't feel a better captain could have done much to arrest the fall we have undergone.

3) I'm not sure if Campbell was the most comitted to the jumper but there is no denying he played for success.

4) Hopefully now that someone else will yoke themselves to the role, it will take some pressure off him and he will be allowed to see out his last days without as much scrutiny.

5) I've said my piece on Campbell, and everyone's probably sick of hearing me spin crap about him by now, and I'm sick of it myself.

Cheers 1980.

tigertime said:
Campbell is symbolic of everything that is bad about the RFC. Hopefully he can kick some goals in the FP this year but more likely he will just provide opposition defenders momentum by running off him.

I agree. Can't be bothered going through the entire thread, it may already be mentioned, but watching first gamer Tom Roach trying to pump up the captain at Telstra was embarassing and disheartening. RFC will leap bounds ahead when he retires.

The way I see it if he does not want to wear the yellow and black and by the way he goes about it out on the ground with his lack of discipline it is time to move on.

Frees up the Tigers for another player.

Tigers80

Ty Zantuck