Roast Tyson Stengle sacked after ****ing up again

I have no problem with how the club handled Stengle. He is not the first player to change his ways at another club and won't be the last. We had to set a standard.

He is quality player but he has been playing in a very good team. No way he would of been anywhere near all Australian playing for us.

I think it was a good outcome for everyone and we move on

I think the club had no other choice but to sack him. At the time, Matthew Nicks was establishing a whole heap of different standards for every player on the list to meet.

Gibbs wasn’t, gone. Crouch, Atkins didn’t seem interested in doing this, they are gone. Stengle didn’t seem interested ether and ultimately got given his marching orders.

Has the club continued to give him chance after chance, he would have taken any punishment for granted and just do what he likes and not meet any standards. To his credit, he went back to WWT, played some really good footy and with the help of Eddie and Anna found his way to Geelong. Credit to him, he’s now an All Australian player. I doubt that happens at the crows for many different reasons and that’s not blaming the crows.

Well done to Tyson Stengle.

Yes but it is a bit of a chicken and the egg story...did he perform as well at Richmond or Adelaide as he has this year at Geelong? The answer is a definite no, now you may say it was because of AFC poor engagement or whatever and Richmond didn't need him perhaps - we will never know.

He has benefitted by maturing maybe? Realising this was his last chance perhaps? Better ball movement at Geelong?

It doesn't really matter he wasn't going at 100% at Richmond or Adelaide and now he is, which is excellent.

Every club has players fail every year and will continue to do so - these guys are kids of 18-20 years old - move on mate and get excited about our young talent on the list.
it was clear that the lad had talent..

he is deceptively quick, has great skills, tackles hard and, most importantly, has great goal sense and hits the scoreboard. everything we have needed over the past two to three years in a small forward while we have watched the likes of Rowe, Murphy and mchenry spud it up and barely trouble the scorers.

as a young draftee in the top side of the comp chock full of small/medium forwards and mid/forwards he was he was always gonna struggle to get a game at Richmond but showed some very positive signs in the VFL.

we’re about to pay a lad $700k a year and probably give up pick 5 for him to come and be our small forward/mid.. and a small forward that was on our list just over two years ago is the AA small forward!

thats a massive fail.

you say;

“come on mate, time to move on and get excited about our youth”..

Well i’m not sure there’s many more here that get excited about our youth more than me so I certainly agree with you there.

but what I will say, in response to that comment of your’s I just quoted, is I’m getting very fxxkin sick of having to “move on” from the last 5 years of fxxk ups by this club!.. its been one fxxk up after another.

how many times do they want to stuff things up and expect us supporters to just accept that, “move on“ and focus on the next thing?

how long are we to put up with this incompetence?.

I think the club had no other choice but to sack him. At the time, Matthew Nicks was establishing a whole heap of different standards for every player on the list to meet.

Gibbs wasn’t, gone. Crouch, Atkins didn’t seem interested in doing this, they are gone. Stengle didn’t seem interested ether and ultimately got given his marching orders.

Has the club continued to give him chance after chance, he would have taken any punishment for granted and just do what he likes and not meet any standards. To his credit, he went back to WWT, played some really good footy and with the help of Eddie and Anna found his way to Geelong. Credit to him, he’s now an All Australian player. I doubt that happens at the crows for many different reasons and that’s not blaming the crows.

Crouch?.. Brad Crouch?..

another fail.

they really didnt want to get rid of him.. they greedily saw an opportunity to try and flip him for band 1 compo (so Pick 2) in the draft.

they only pushed him because they thought it was gonna net them pick 2 and then, when they realised it wasnt going to, tried to backflip on it.. but it was too late by then.. brad had agreed to terms elsewhere.

then they sheepishly fronted up to the media and started joking about how their bluff failed!. WHAT. A. COMPLETE. BALLS. UP!

meanwhile.. our most skilled midfielder walked out the door to another club!.. on a pissy little salary of around $500-600k a year!. Band 3 compo!..

Brilliant list management!

Yes but it is a bit of a chicken and the egg story...did he perform as well at Richmond or Adelaide as he has this year at Geelong? The answer is a definite no, now you may say it was because of AFC poor engagement or whatever and Richmond didn't need him perhaps - we will never know.

He has benefitted by maturing maybe? Realising this was his last chance perhaps? Better ball movement at Geelong?

It doesn't really matter he wasn't going at 100% at Richmond or Adelaide and now he is, which is excellent.

Every club has players fail every year and will continue to do so - these guys are kids of 18-20 years old - move on mate and get excited about our young talent on the list.
He's lost a lot of the weight he had with us and looks fairly fit now: probably speaks to a better mindset.

I wonder if the club let Stengle go purely because we would have then been seen to be doing the right thing in the public eye?

Or did they make the decision purely on the "indiscretions"?

To me this is a big concern, I want the club to make decisions that is in the best interests of the club - not the salivating people in the media, who whether they admit it or not appear to have had a target on us now for a number of years.

At some point the club does need to show a bit of back bone and stop rushing into decisions and this goes all the way back to Rendell. Where we let him go because of public outcry and then 6 months later Collingwood ****ing sign him up....

So.. in a few weeks from now we swap pick 5 for Izak Rankine..

Come January 2023 Izak gets done DUI whilst driving an unregistered car.. then around september next year get caught by the police with a bit of coke on him then a month or so later gets photographed at a party..

Do you reacon the club negotiates a pay out of izak’s contract and tells him that he’s playing for West Adelaide in 2024?…

For “establishing a whole heap of different standards” purposes?…

You think he is really an All Australian if he doesn't play for Geelong?

I think he would have been underwhelming in our side.
You have absolutely no idea if he would or wouldnt have been underwhelming if he hadve stayed at the crows.

To even suggest what you have here is laughable.

Froggy is right.. unfortunately we will never know.

Come January 2023 Izak gets done DUI whilst driving an unregistered car.. then around september next year get caught by the police with a bit of coke on him then a month or so later gets photographed at a party..

Do you reacon the club negotiates a pay out of izak’s contract and tells him that he’s playing for West Adelaide in 2024?…

Hopefully he is not that dumb.

I would argue that every club would sack a player for three instances of such bad PR in such a short time period.

99.99% of players get the message after the 2nd incident. Stengle didn't.

These guys are in an image based business, a reason they get paid so much.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hopefully he is not that dumb.

I would argue that every club would sack a player for three instances of such bad PR in such a short time period.

99.99% of players get the message after the 2nd incident. Stengle didn't.

These guys are in an image based business, a reason they get paid so much.

no, don't change the circumstances so it allows you to give the answer you want. don’t try and bring in “hopefully he’s not that dumb” or “most players learn”..

the question is based on Rankine doing EXACTLY what stengle did..

So.. do you honestly believe the club would sack Rankine, pay out his contract and send him to play with Westies in 2024 if in 2023 Rankine does EXACTLY what Stengle did in 2020?

its a simple yes or no answer for everyone here that wants to answer this question..

genuinely interested in peoples thoughts/answers on this.

my answer would be no.

no, don't change the circumstances so it allows you to give the answer you want. don’t try and bring in “hopefully he’s not that dumb” or “most players learn”..

the question is based on Rankine doing EXACTLY what stengle did..

So.. do you honestly believe the club would sack Rankine, pay out his contract and send him to play with Westies in 2024 if in 2023 Rankine does EXACTLY what Stengle did in 2020?

its a simple yes or no answer for everyone here that wants to answer this question..

genuinely interested in peoples thoughts/answers on this.

my answer would be no.
Would have to be sacked.

Need to realise that three incidents in such a short period is rare. Most players would not do this. Stengle the only recent example.

To not get the message after the second issue is the punishment.

Again I ask, if an employee of yours is doing donuts in a Maccas carpark with your company name on the vehicle, how many times in a 6 month period can they do it before getting sacked?

I do understand your point of view. He really didn't do anything that bad. But the AFL is Hellbent on presenting their players as upright citizens. The flipside being these guys are well paid because of this image.

Well thats just silly. They would and should be treated differently for a whole bunch of reasons.

Would have to be sacked.

Need to realise that three incidents in such a short period is rare. Most players would not do this. Stengle the only recent example.

To not get the message after the second issue is the punishment.

Again I ask, if an employee of yours is doing donuts in a Maccas carpark with your company name on the vehicle, how many times in a 6 month period can they do it before getting sacked?

I do understand your point of view. He really didn't do anything that bad. But the AFL is Hellbent on presenting their players as upright citizens. The flipside being these guys are well paid because of this image.

Wrong.

You think Collingwood would have kept Pick #50 from the 2017 draft Tyler Brown if he had the same off field incidents as DeGoey?

Ya think its Ben Davis is still on our list if he made the racist comment Tex did?

There is an undeniable truth. The more you have performed on the football field the more off field shit you can get away with.

what “whole bunch of reasons”?..

name some..

We spent pick 68 to acquire Stengle. We gave up Pick 5 to acquire Rankine. Acquisition Capital is huge.
Stengle was on a small salary. Rankine will be on a huge salary.

At the time of sacking Stengle had played 14 AFL games for 13 goals. Rankine has played 48 games for 57 goals.

In 2021 we had just won the spoon and had 4 consecutive offseason losing key personel. In 2023 we have had 2 straight seasons with no players leaving and poaching two very highly rated players from other clubs.

In 2021 - we had a brand new CEO, a coach that had coached one season and were still looking for our head of culture. We were still unsettled.

In 2023 we are a lot more settled.

Now let me ask you a question:

If the same identical situation arises as you pointed out - When Rankine nominates for the preseason draft would 18 clubs pass on him?

Wrong.

You think Collingwood would have kept Pick #50 from the 2017 draft Tyler Brown if he had the same off field incidents as DeGoey?

Ya think its Ben Davis is still on our list if he made the racist comment Tex did?

There is an undeniable truth. The more you have performed on the football field the more off field s**t you can get away with.
You are probably right.

Stengle is a unique situation. No player has had so many incidents in such a short time.

He burnt two chances with us. Copped it on the third.
End of the day, he isn't lost to Footy. It really is a good story about him getting his shit together after pissing away an AFL contract over dumb stuff

Roast Tyson Stengle sacked after ****ing up again