Status in Question Tyson Stengle

The only wild theory in here is that he might have had his drink spiked. Did you miss the part where he had to go to hospital and then Geelong immediately brought u0 the mental health stonewall?

How about we wait till all the facts come out not trying to join the rope together and hoping for the best. I'm sure it will come out properly over the next little while. Whilst I don't exactly love the MH card being played every time, it may be this time, who honestly knows.

Anything without the facts is a theory or some sort. It may be a complete minor issue, which it more likely is. The mistake he made was going out probably and that would annoy the club the most not the after which we know now.
Player goes out - player is rushed to hospital ‘in critical condition’. I’d say the wilder theory is that ‘it’s something completely minor’ as you are theorising above.

Perhaps he was rushed to hospital with hamstring awareness?

How about we wait till all the facts come out not trying to join the rope together and hoping for the best. I'm sure it will come out properly over the next little while. Whilst I don't exactly love the MH card being played every time, it may be this time, who honestly knows.

Im sure Geelong and AFL are pissed off the media found out and they arent able to sweep this one under the rug.

If he went to hospital they may well have done blood tests so will know what his blood alcohol level was and also what other drugs (if any) were in his system.

You must not have looked very hard. Did you miss the entire lead up to that incident where the club threatened to trade him over behavioural issues?

Not to mention the club denying a drug strike rumour in June of that year

Then there was everything that went on about him tattooing his own foot etc. The numerous photos that circulated of him at night clubs and on pokies machines in the early hours of the morning.
Maybe I did, I wasn't listening too hard. But if I missed it, how strong were the voices?

I hope the young fella is okay, looks as though he is. He's been in dynamite form, Cats need him if they are to contend.

Stengle has always struck me as a Dickensian character, a London street child fleet of foot and hand, one minute you see him, the next he's vanished, with your wallet. Mischievous, street smart.

Maybe I did, I wasn't listening too hard. But if I missed it, how strong were the voices?
Oliver's issues were basically the major story over the off-season. I'm really not sure how you missed that.

The MH card. It's an interesting issue. Can anyone describe any human action that is not instigated or carried out with some mental process? I suppose all errors, misjudgments, miscalculations can be out down to some mental error or mental malfunction.

The interesting thing is that MH currently draws a line whereby once one's MH becomes a medical issue or diagnosis, one suddenly loses freedom of choice and responsibility is mitigated. As if free will applies to the rest. I would contend that noone has free will, and personal responsibility is limited, and it is not only the MH diagnosed we should sympathise with, but everyone, in their time of error.

We all know what the outcome would be if Tyson was the 38th player on the Cats list, but he’s not, that’s why Geelong are playing the mental health card & will probably promote him to the leadership group in due time.

Player goes out - player is rushed to hospital ‘in critical condition’. I’d say the wilder theory is that ‘it’s something completely minor’ as you are theorising above.

Perhaps he was rushed to hospital with hamstring awareness?

Player plays a game in Tassie on Saturday arvo, flies back home, is still amped up from the game, goes out drinking to kick on, the effects of the game wear off, the effects of the alcohol kick in.

He crashes and passes out.

Someone yells his name to wake him up and he doesn't wake up (non-responsive), the venue are worried, don't want any repercussions so call and ambulance. He spends 3 hours sobering up and is sent on his way. He turns up to footy training a few hours later and runs laps.

Nothing to see here, move along.

I will say one thing though, we've come a long way as a society. 36 years ago, Michael Mitchell used to pass out in the piss trough at The Richmond Social Club and people would spit and piss on him. These days we ring them an ambulance.

The MH card. It's an interesting issue. Can anyone describe any human action that is not instigated or carried out with some mental process? I suppose all errors, misjudgments, miscalculations can be out down to some mental error or mental malfunction.

The interesting thing is that MH currently draws a line whereby once one's MH becomes a medical issue or diagnosis, one suddenly loses freedom of choice and responsibility is mitigated. As if free will applies to the rest. I would contend that noone has free will, and personal responsibility is limited, and it is not only the MH diagnosed we should sympathise with, but everyone, in their time of error.

For the AFL, Mental Health is only about telling the media to back off. Nothing else matters.

Player plays a game in Tassie on Saturday arvo, flies back home, is still amped up from the game, goes out drinking to kick on, the effects of the game wear off, the effects of the alcohol kick in.

Someone yells his name to wake him up and he doesn't wake up (non-responsive), the venue are worried, don't want any repercussions so call and ambulance. He spends 3 hours sobering up and is sent on his way. He turns up to footy training a few hours later and runs laps.

I will say one thing though, we've come a long way as a society. 36 years ago, Michael Mitchell used to pass out in the piss trough at The Richmond Social Club and people would spit and piss in him. These days we ring them an ambulance.

Richmond supporters would piss on a Richmond player in a Richmond pub?

Surely he should be making the HRC complaint...

I will say one thing though, we've come a long way as a society. 36 years ago, Michael Mitchell used to pass out in the piss trough at The Richmond Social Club and people would spit and piss in him. These days we ring them an ambulance.

I'd say if he's been off the booze for a while and decided to celebrate the new contract or whatever he might have hit the wall a bit harder and unexpectedly

At a minimum he was out on the cans at 2am mid season after signing a long term big money contract

That alone should be enough to piss cats fan off but nothing
Strange areas
Why should it piss off Cats fans?

Was it a dumb decision? Sure. But getting your undies in a twist about it doesn't improve the situation. The club treats their players like adults (as confirmed by Dangerfield's comments) with the full knowledge there will be occasional slip ups.

When they inevitably happen players get the chance to rectify and everyone's fine.

If it happens every weekend, then that's cause for concern, but it almost certainly won't be an issue going forward

They spit and piss in him!!??

In him!!!!!!????

Omg.

Cbs What GIF by The Late Late Show with James Corden

Fair dinkum, this is the most absurd comment ive ever read here.

Clayton Oliver is proof of this
I'm said "rarely" not "never".

Oliver's issues were prolonged and it was framed in a more general story of Melbourne's decline and cultural issues. If it was a one off - it'd get the same attention this is getting.

Suggest he likely spiked it himself, why would someone waste good GHB on Tyson Stengle?

Not easy to drink yourself into a critical condition requiring an ambulance in a few hours in a pub either, particularly if you go out a bit and know how to drink, it’s almost impossible.
Critical condition just means unconscious. It's absolutely easy to do for some people in a pub.

Seven reported Stengle was carried out of a Geelong nightclub around 2:30am, just hours after returning from Tasmania where he kicked three goals in the Cats’ win over North Melbourne.

The 25-year-old was unresponsive at the time and was in a “serious condition”, but has recovered following the incident and ran light laps at Cats training on Monday.

Even if hes a professional athlete, a bender that knocks you out isnt going to allow you to run even light laps unless he's got serious issues with the beer that he's used to it

Status in Question Tyson Stengle