Status in Question Tyson Stengle

Sounds like the great Patrick Dangerfield has already declared this case over which is great news. Still though I hope they catch the scallywag responsible for Tyson's health scare, can't have him prying on any more unsuspecting footballers.

Player plays a game in Tassie on Saturday arvo, flies back home, is still amped up from the game, goes out drinking to kick on, the effects of the game wear off, the effects of the alcohol kick in.

He crashes and passes out.

Someone yells his name to wake him up and he doesn't wake up (non-responsive), the venue are worried, don't want any repercussions so call and ambulance. He spends 3 hours sobering up and is sent on his way. He turns up to footy training a few hours later and runs laps.

Nothing to see here, move along.

I will say one thing though, we've come a long way as a society. 36 years ago, Michael Mitchell used to pass out in the piss trough at The Richmond Social Club and people would spit and piss in him. These days we ring them an ambulance.
Have you ever thought you’d like to own your own bridge? Coz I have something that might interest you…

There are a few key reason Oliver gets more coverage than Stengle has.

1. Melbourne is a Melbourne-based club - it receives more scrutiny from the media, there are more "sources" for journos to tap. There are more opportunities for players to get into trouble and be caught doing so.

2. Melbourne falling away after their flag means the media were always going to try and find a reason for it (Eagles similarly, but their decline took longer and had obvious reasons - massive injury issues, poor trade periods etc).

3. Allegations for Oliver centre around alleged drug use and potential AFL coverups ("hamstring issues" or whatever), which is a bigger story

4. Those allegations are framed around broader suspected "cultural issues" at the club (eg Entrecote, Simon Goodwin etc).

5. Oliver's story is a longer running thing (in terms of Oliver and Melbourne).

6. Oliver is a effective a leader of the club and has been there since being drafted

Comparatively:

Geelong are still competitive with no hint of discontent or broader cultural issues.

Stengle's issue is a one off with alcohol (presume g reporting is accurate).

Stengle's history with incidents is long, yes, but his history of incidents while at Geelong (3~ years) is non-existent.

Stengle's an important player but not a leader and was drafted into the club.

It's not exactly difficult to see why the reporting is so different.

Oliver's issues were basically the major story over the off-season. I'm really not sure how you missed that.
I didn't miss those story, I missed the stories where the media apparently roasted him for drug use and didn't do the exact same thing they've done with Stengle and presented it as a mental health issue first.

Player plays a game in Tassie on Saturday arvo, flies back home, is still amped up from the game, goes out drinking to kick on, the effects of the game wear off, the effects of the alcohol kick in.

He crashes and passes out.

Someone yells his name to wake him up and he doesn't wake up (non-responsive), the venue are worried, don't want any repercussions so call and ambulance. He spends 3 hours sobering up and is sent on his way. He turns up to footy training a few hours later and runs laps.

Nothing to see here, move along.

I will say one thing though, we've come a long way as a society. 36 years ago, Michael Mitchell used to pass out in the piss trough at The Richmond Social Club and people would spit and piss in him. These days we ring them an ambulance.

I thought he got refused entry to clubs and there is footage of him interacting with the police?

I didn't miss those story, I missed the stories where the media apparently roasted him for drug use and didn't do the exact same thing they've done with Stengle and presented it as a mental health issue first.
You've totally shifted the goalposts from what I was originally responding to which was the claim that the media presented the Oliver story as being about his injuries and contract.

I already said the media will basically never outright say a player is taking drugs without proof. What they will do is talk about mental health, personal issues and cultural issues and then broaden the conversation to drugs in sport and let the viewer connect the dots.

You've totally shifted the goalposts from what I was originally responding to which was the claim that the media presented the Oliver story as being about his injuries and contract.

I already said the media will basically never outright say a player is taking drugs without proof. What they will do is talk about mental health, personal issues and cultural issues and then broaden the conversation to drugs in sport and let the viewer connect the dots.
Sounds like we're just talking at cross purposes then

Critical condition just means unconscious. It's absolutely easy to do for some people in a pub.
Not it's not.

When it does happen and an ambulance is required there would normally be an investigation by regulators and police into the licensee and their compliance with responsible service of alcohol.
With the pull the AFL has in covering up crimes, I'm sure calls have already been made to circumvent any investigation, and it's the last we hear about it.

He will be out cold again in round 23 when big bad jimmy Webster is done with him.. 🤣🥊

Status in Question Tyson Stengle