- Aug 15, 2015
- AFL Club
- Richmond
great year for the umpires, just carrying it over to u18 football
LIVE: GWS Giants v Brisbane Lions - 7:30PM Sat
Squiggle tips Lions at 65% chance -- What's your tip? -- Team line-ups »
AFLW 2024 - Round 3 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
* senselessAnother important game ruined by an umpires
berry mate 3 goals great defensive fwdJagga Smith - exactly the type of midfielder we need. Always tries and has top-line footy IQ. The best player in the draft, the fact he is so skinny is still dominates is impressive, N.Daicos style of midfielder.
Toby Travaglia - this kid should be a top 5 pick. Is like a mixture of Vlastuin/Rioli in the way he intercepts and takes the game on.
Jonty Faul - looks like an old school full forward, big, takes a nice grab and good kicking action. Player Reference: taller Taylor Walker
Harry Armstrong - can cause havoc in the forward line, elite long left foot kick, and strong mark. Player reference: Jake Waterman
Isaac Kako - quick and nimble, reads the bounce of the ball well and could be the best small forward in the draft. Player Reference: Tom Papley
Murphy Reid - highly skilful outside/inside midfielder. Reminds me alot of a Steele Sidebottom the way he plays.
Harvey Langford - bull on the inside. Crisp left foot kick and can take a good grab. Reminds me of 2 Freo players in Fyfe with the inside ability and high marking and Matthew Johnson in movement/size.
Josh Smilie - not overly impressed with his carnival. Played better in the VFL games. Doesn’t have the skills to go no.1 imo. His size is the reason he is in top 10 discussions, far more skillfull midfielders. Couple of pre-seasons and could be a bull at AFL level, but at the moment doesn’t play like he is a bull.
Finn O’Sullivan - time out is obvious, hasn’t had the time and space to show why he is highly rated. Seems to read the play and does the right things though the other mids have been better.
Sam Laylor - played in the forward line mostly. Naturally inclined to give the dont argue, skills are solid and his body is AFL ready. Dusty/Ollie Wines type.
Luke Trainor - best intercept type defender. Reads the play well and uses it well. Similar to Gibcus and could compliment him.
Others have impressed. These are the players I feel suit our team the most.
Lots of decent players in this draft based on the national championships alone. The top end don’t seem that far away from the next group unlike some other years, so it’ll be an interesting draft this yearI still want Draper with our first pick.
Both the Whitlock boys look very good.
Jagga was good.
Travaglia would be good for us if we can get another pick in the 15
Berry was going to get a write up, just thought the post was getting long lol.berry mate 3 goals great defensive fwd
terrible umpiring. the decision changed the game. of course we are, those kids deserved better.are posters really sooking about the umpires for an u18s match? Who gives a ****?!
I’d love to have several top 20 picks. Even if it means losing bakerLots of decent players in this draft based on the national championships alone. The top end don’t seem that far away from the next group unlike some other years, so it’ll be an interesting draft this year
I said I had a query on being a bit soft, that’s not just winning the hard ball but digging in when the going gets tough. He’s got a big size advantage at this level and nothing I saw today changed my mind on him.Who was it that said Smillie doesn't win the hard ball
Even though smith is small, 16. CP is massive and in a big game, he surprised me with those numbers
Exactly!are posters really sooking about the umpires for an u18s match? Who gives a ****?!
Only issue I have with Jagga is literally not even to do with Jagga himself. It’s our strength & conditioning staff. He looks pretty lean, and I wonder whether they can help us unlock his potential at AFL level.Jagga was way better than FOS and Smillie
FOS is also very light.Only issue I have with Jagga is literally not even to do with Jagga himself. It’s our strength & conditioning staff. He looks pretty lean, and I wonder whether they can help us unlock his potential at AFL level.
All the more reason to do a strength & conditioning overhaul this off-season. We shouldn’t be restricted on what type of player we pick in the draft just because of our S&C department. If GWS picked him, then I’d have little doubt they’d unlock his potential.
I’ve watched nearly every game, and enjoyed the carnival, to see it decided by the umpires was annoying.terrible umpiring. the decision changed the game. of course we are, those kids deserved better.