U19 (Premier)

For convenience, i'll split the top 4 into two superficial groups in regards to the shaping of finals and the prospects once they are upon us; that of teams with players in the seniors and otherwise. (I'm presupposing that all 4 teams have roughly equal numbers of VFL players to come back)

With Semmel, Gotch and Nethersole (to isolate a mere representation) having only played 10 games between them, the bellars can't have put their best team on the park yet. This, to me, sends an immediate message about their potential to put on the burners as soon as the seniors are free from the prospect of relegation, as well as the possibility of a top-4 appearance (i.e. in the next couple of weeks). But it goes without saying that they would have to be odds on favourite at this point, anyway, and rightly so.

Bernards and Uni should be in a similar position to de la, particularly with regard to the senior sides, with the strength of their respective teams peaking after the A-grade positions are cemented. IMO Uni would need marked improvement to compete with de la and bernards, but it is only an opinion. Results show that with a near-top bernards team on the park they are a force to be reckoned with - 7 goal blitzing of OX 3 weeks ago...

Xavs, on the other hand, will not have the luxury of guns to come back down from the seniors come finals time. Though this is the case, I don't think anyone could easily split between them and any of the other 3 with a full list on their day. Seeing as they had 'a number of top line players' out on the weekend against Uni, and they are the only team to have beaten de la until this point, I'd still have them rating at even money with de la and bernards.

Ultimately, it seems de la and bernards should be fielding two full-strength sides against each other in the final round, so I suppose we'll know more then. Even so, unless the xavs falter in the last few rounds, it seems they'll play de la in the first final, and bernards v uni in the 2nd... i would wager that this first round will favour xavs and bernards towards a GF appearance moreso than the others.

Though i have a feeling i'm going to get cained on what i've just written; Cheers!

As far as i know xav's hav no players in the seniors currently but are missing williams and daniher to VFL who should return and were missing douglas,Spragg and de souza on the weekend due to injuries i believe, after playing all four sides i still see xavs as the biggest threat due to the depth and skill of their freakish midfeild. De la's talls in nethersole&boof will stretch xav's as will there key forwards in Kov&fairbrother but i can't see those two getting the silver platter dilvery which has allowed them to kick bags with the likes spragg,douglas and williams breathing down the dela's on ballers all day, but no matter what happens it will b a very tough and skillful finals series. can anyone confirm for me how the finals series works, i.e 1v2 3v4 or is it straight 1v4 2v3 winners in the granny???

finals played according to:
1 v 2 (winner into granny)
3 v 4 (winner to play loser of 1 v 2 to get into granny).

Apparently xavs full back for first half of season is coming back after shoulder surgury also??

For convenience, i'll split the top 4 into two superficial groups in regards to the shaping of finals and the prospects once they are upon us; that of teams with players in the seniors and otherwise. (I'm presupposing that all 4 teams have roughly equal numbers of VFL players to come back)

With Semmel, Gotch and Nethersole (to isolate a mere representation) having only played 10 games between them, the bellars can't have put their best team on the park yet. This, to me, sends an immediate message about their potential to put on the burners as soon as the seniors are free from the prospect of relegation, as well as the possibility of a top-4 appearance (i.e. in the next couple of weeks). But it goes without saying that they would have to be odds on favourite at this point, anyway, and rightly so.

Bernards and Uni should be in a similar position to de la, particularly with regard to the senior sides, with the strength of their respective teams peaking after the A-grade positions are cemented. IMO Uni would need marked improvement to compete with de la and bernards, but it is only an opinion. Results show that with a near-top bernards team on the park they are a force to be reckoned with - 7 goal blitzing of OX 3 weeks ago...

Xavs, on the other hand, will not have the luxury of guns to come back down from the seniors come finals time. Though this is the case, I don't think anyone could easily split between them and any of the other 3 with a full list on their day. Seeing as they had 'a number of top line players' out on the weekend against Uni, and they are the only team to have beaten de la until this point, I'd still have them rating at even money with de la and bernards.

Ultimately, it seems de la and bernards should be fielding two full-strength sides against each other in the final round, so I suppose we'll know more then. Even so, unless the xavs falter in the last few rounds, it seems they'll play de la in the first final, and bernards v uni in the 2nd... i would wager that this first round will favour xavs and bernards towards a GF appearance moreso than the others.

Though i have a feeling i'm going to get cained on what i've just written; Cheers!

I reckon thats a really good summary.
For me it's just still too hard to split the top 3 sides at this stage. Someone always has someone out etc..
To be honest i dont think uni are at the required level but i am unaware about players out etc so anything could happen in the finals.

DLS will win, purely because they have players that have played senior football and they have players to come back in to their team. OX they dont have anyone coming back inot their team they may have soem good players but their depth of good players will be tested.
Macca no one is even close to getting drafted it is almost immpossible to get drafetd from the 19's if you were you would have to have played senior's all season and dominate

finals played according to:
1 v 2 (winner into granny)
3 v 4 (winner to play loser of 1 v 2 to get into granny).

Apparently xavs full back for first half of season is coming back after shoulder surgury also??

How long has this full back been out for?

Also very good summary earlier on Wave - best post in this thread so far.

Anyone dare to do a similar post regarding the bottom two spots?

DLS will win, purely because they have players that have played senior football and they have players to come back in to their team. OX they dont have anyone coming back inot their team they may have soem good players but their depth of good players will be tested.
Macca no one is even close to getting drafted it is almost immpossible to get drafetd from the 19's if you were you would have to have played senior's all season and dominate

1) By the same token, Bernards have as many good players to come back down from their seniors. They also, generally, have had more players up in their seniors per week; whether they are as good, however, is another matter. But I definately wouldn't be saying they'll win purely because of a situation in which two other teams of the top 4 are also involved. Also, OX apparently had 7 pretty important players out for their game against uni - even if not all make it back, that's a fair bit of talent for a team with no-one playing up. Simply because OX haven't had anyone play seniors (it seems there is a policy agaisnt this) doesn't necessarily mean that anyone who has played up at another club is at a higher level of football (except, perhaps, in regards to experience, as I think you were suggesting?).

2) Agreed, it is damn near impossible; though one relatively-recent instance is James McDonald was drafted straight from the u-19 competition. Another was Nick Tsiotinas from Bulleen Temp in 1990. I've no doubt that there are players who get watched by scouts from year-to-year, but I've not yet heard of anyone strong enough this year... maybe there is??

I'm not sure how long he's been out for exactly, but since late in the first half of the season? mid june, maybe?

Cheers

Massive call...especially given that Bernards beat Xavs a couple of weeks ago hard held by 9 goals. They still have quality to come back in with a few guys from TAC eligible, then senior players like Caven (one of the best young backmen in the comp) and Mitchell (CHF for the seniors) and Overman (hardrunnning onballer). Go into the finals with that mentality and youll be in trouble.

Agree st b could be very dangerous maybe a full streght uni aswell, if they get watts, maltmen, van der boo or something, macarthy, vicces willis cannot spell but they are all good players.

Best players that in the age group of under19s brenden izzy, andrew Mcguniss, jack watts, mercuri soome else add only the best players one or two form each team they dont have to play in the 19 just the best players dont bother with the shit teams

The other thing that xav's hav that has being totally over looked it the fact theie school boys are now available for the last 4 rounds and finals, if any of those boys played during holidays they will qualify for finals, i hope they have plenty of talent to come in as i think it is only fair seeing as de la and bernards hav played school kids right through out the year, can any xav's boys comment on ne school boys who might play finals?

no offence mate, but i reckon there is absolutey no way xavs would do this. its not like they are struggling for depth, with boys missing out in the 2s each week. bring in school kids and there will be 10+ guys missing out in the 2s who would have played the whole season, only to be displaced by little school boys.

not sure how many numbers xav's hav now but at one stage with a few injuries they fronted up with 20 players in the 1st team and 19 in their 2nds, with the possibility of injuries i don't think they quite hav the depth ur suggesting, not to mention ur description of the boys who may come in "little school boys" haha ne of the top 5 players from their school 1st side that would come in would have a fairly bit impact as the school comp is faster and more skillful than the under comp

yeah fair call, some of the school players are very good. but honestly, who do you think would win out of a game between the Xavier 1st XVIII and the Old Xavs under 19 premier team? i wasnt saying that school kids would not play well, just that the old xavs club would not allow it as it would mean that more under 19 north players would miss out each week when they have been there all season long.

Regarding DLS it is looking likely that Gotch will not qualify for the u/19s finals as he is playing good football with Williamstown and they are coming into finals soon also. That will pose the question to the young fella to choose between the two teams and its likely he will play for Willy come finals time, who wouldnt? Semmel, Nethersole and Czwarno a young lad who has been with the chargers alot of the year are all likely to qualify for the finals from what i have been told. I have also heard of a player from Port Melbourne that is looking like he can qualify for the DLS in the under 19s does he anyone know anything about him?

The guys who represented Rupo today deserve the thanks of the club. 18 at the start, 15 fit. Another 2 turned up while the game was on and helped give some of the boys a breather. We knew the result of today's game before it started, however it was about the contest and the blokes battled hard all day. To those who holiday during the footy season. I hope you had a good time. To the others who have consistently played funny buggers during the season. Grow up. To the people who run the club. Treat the kids with more respect. If you don't, you'll regret this in the future. The club is more than the senior group of players.

Totally agree. but you cant tell anybody at any club that. As sad as it is, as long as the senior side is happy thats all that counts. Also, this whole gig with taking players from under 19s to play in the 1's has gone a bit silly, How about giving blokes in the reserves a run, but the big issue is once the under 19's get all these boys back, it completely stuffs up the team balance and game plans. Half the lads wouldnt know how each other played. Eg. Bernards beat OX at just under full strength, one week later at least 8 boys come out from the side, north players have to fill in, and the north side is left with under 17 players, and marcellin smash bernards. Loosing players and playing with different blokes each week can really hurt a side, and the seniors need to have a bigger look at things.

Lama, you have to remember that St Bernards would back their 19s against anyone in the competition with a full team in, and this will be the case come finals regardless of what happens in the next few weeks (the same is applicable as of a couple of weeks ago).
Their seniors, however, are fighting relegation from A grade; one game clear of 2nd bottom and almost equal on % with the 2nd bottom side - any loss could be very costly in the scheme of this club. Given the fact that their u19 1's, and probably 2's, will make finals and possibly go the whole way with a full team, I can completely understand the motives of the club to elevate players at the risk of losing a game or 2 in the unders so late in the season.
This is particularly understandable with the quality of players they have coming through the 19s in the past couple of years and ahead; which club wouldn't want to remain in A grade at the risk of the unders loosing some H&A games when they will make finals anyway?

I would say that such an attitude shows a great awareness of doing what is right for the club as a whole, despite any (so far) ultimately inconsequential losses to the 'subordinate' teams of the club in the H&A season.

It's time to discuss relegation. Three weeks to go. Four candidates. Rupertswood, St Kevins, Uni blacks and Old Carey. My prediction Rupo 24, Uni Blacks 16, St Kevins 16 and Old Carey 8. I think St Kevins and Old Carey. Percentages will be really close between Blacks and Kevs so its in the balance.

Interesting from the bloke who said the season would b a bore for the rest of the year. I do however agree its time to talk relegation and i think it will b a heated contest, although skob hav the worst percentage they hav the easiest run home with 1 top4 side(blues) and both rupo&blacks having 2 top 4 sides and carey in their last 3 matches.
Skob need to win 2 games to go clear of relegation
Rupo only require 1
Blacks need atleast 2
carey woul hav to win all 3 to b any chance

my prediction is carey and blacks to get relegated, with skob lucky not to after a very disapointing season

Lets hope its SKOBS so those d**k heads from there can post in a different thread next season. Gave no quality what so ever.
dunno wat skob boys have done to u, as they havn't seem to offend anyone, or mayb it's because u boys were 1 of their only 4 wins and claim to b a premiership chance, would love to hear your thoughts weapon

just getting back to your posts on teams having players come down from the seniors, i was wondering about your thoughts on rupo who have had 5-6 under 19s in the seniors each week and at times 7, with 5 of them havent even played a 19s game all year, surely this is more than most other section 1 clubs. these 6 players would make a substantial difference to the under 19's success i feel, and maybe even a contender for the flag! any thoughts?
fanatic out...

just getting back to your posts on teams having players come down from the seniors, i was wondering about your thoughts on rupo who have had 5-6 under 19s in the seniors each week and at times 7, with 5 of them havent even played a 19s game all year, surely this is more than most other section 1 clubs. these 6 players would make a substantial difference to the under 19's success i feel, and maybe even a contender for the flag! any thoughts?
fanatic out...

De La, Xavs, and Bernards are in A grade, while Rupo seniors are in C grade. The players who are eligible for 19's but are playing seniors for Rupo wouldnt be as good as the under 19 guys who are playing A grade footy. I'm sure it would make a difference to Rupo 19's if they had these guys playing but to say they would be flag contenders is a bit far-fetched. The players that do get out on the park for Rupo 19's are a long way behind the guys from the top four teams.

U19 (Premier)