Umpire Bashing

• Thread starter Thread starter cormick

the umpires seem to hate jake king...and jackson..
geez they just ping them whenever they can...that disallowed king mark followed by a fifty would never of happened to judd or hayes

today over all was better as they umpires seem to be prepared to put the whistle away and just let the game for along which made it a much better spectacle....i for one hate all the twiggy touchwood free kicks that get paid each week....its much better when umpires just pay the obvious ones and let the game flow

Firstly, that was deliberate, the correct call and very smart play by Jack. He thought he was heading to the line so eased up on him and the umpire watched him run over the line. Secondly, I may be wrong but didn't he miss the ensuing kick at goal?

From where I was, and on the replay too, it seemed like a genuine slip-up by the Hawk. Thinking from a Tiger point-of-view, if it had been paid against us in defence, I wouldn't have been too impressed.

He might have missed the shot, can't really remember.

He did miss it and it was deliberate every day of the week. He made no attempt to keep the ball in play and was obviously only intent on getting it over the line. Very poorly disguised and the umpire saw through it and rightly penalised him. If a RFC player had done it I would have been disappointed with the call but still would have conceded it was there, and it was blatant.

If Jake gets a free against him, I'm usually going to support the umpire.

There were lots of free's both ways that were missed, thought it was a lot more consistent this week. We even had one call against us where we "didn't make a genuine attempt". Throws by both teams were missed. Hands in the back weren't paid. Marks weren't paid.

The only thing I could swing our way this week is that more tackles and dropping the ball should have been paid to Hawthorn, we did it a lot. The key point is that it wasn't the umpiring that changed the course of the game like it did last week (even though I stand by my point that we lost it through bad kicking).

I think it needs to be acknowledged how hard this game is to umpire. I would argue that AFL is evolving at a quicker rate than any other sport with regular rule and interpretation changes. This, along with the speed of the game must make decision making a nightmare.

When watching the game live and the blood is hot, common sense goes out the window and I'm as feral as they come but in cold blood, I sympathise with the difficulty of their job. The fact that the AFL refuse to make them fully professional only adds to the problem.

Sorry to put a dampener on such a great win, but to all the pathetic whingers complaining about the umpire conspiracy to short-change Richmond each week, what was your assessment of today's game?

Seriously, last week at least two threads became sidetracked by the poor performance of the umpires against Essendon, including applause for Hardwick's umpire abuse. This week, as far as I've seen (albeit very briefly touched on some threads), there's very little discussion about the performance of the umpires.

You know why? Because Hawthorn were *** by the umpires today and we (massively) got an advantage from them.

How about we learn to take the good with the bad, realise the umps are a necessary evil in the game and get over ourselves every time we get less free-kicks than the opposition. The posters guilty of this do get quite repetitive and boring, and it definitely comes across as sour grapes and sore losers.

What game were you watching? The umpires were bad both ways. I sat with Hawthorn supporters and they didn't think the umpires were influential. What's more you use one example where you are wrong (Schoenmakers):eek:. Here's one.....I counted 4 times when Richmond players took an uncontested mark and were then grabbed by a Hawthorn player. You are not allowed to touch a player after he has taken a mark or else it should be a 50m penalty
The complaints last week were justified because those decisions changed the result of the game. This week there were a few dodgy calls (like every week) that didn't influence the result.

They cheated us out of a win last week , in particular an ex player of the club , we where playing against.

Hardwicks comments to the emergency umpire was in regards to the treatment Cotchin was recieving.
" you must be ****ing useless if you can't get a gig before Bannister " was completely fabricated and light hearted humour .

$5K well spent Id say.
last week was disgraceful (but thats normal) and yesterday we definitely had the better of it, but not more than we usually get stiffed. The goal for Edwards was a bit harsh - but thems the rules.

It was REVELATORY to watch a game where the whistle wasnt OBVIOUSLY biased against us, like watching a totally different game. Was simply amazing, like the umpires werent even on the other side. Is it that, as is well the case, that umpiires favour the better sides, and now thats us.

(Im tipping Saints get 3-4 goals from umps as equilibrium returns next week tho :( )

How about we learn to take the good with the bad, realise the umps are a necessary evil in the game and get over ourselves every time we get less free-kicks than the opposition. The posters guilty of this do get quite repetitive and boring, and it definitely comes across as sour grapes and sore losers.

Whilst you're obviously very happy with the general standard of amature umpires in a professional game, I think there would be much improvement if they became professional and also if the interpretation of rules didn't change from week to week, game to game.

Sorry to put a dampener on such a great win, but to all the pathetic whingers complaining about the umpire conspiracy to short-change Richmond each week, what was your assessment of today's game?

Seriously, last week at least two threads became sidetracked by the poor performance of the umpires against Essendon, including applause for Hardwick's umpire abuse. This week, as far as I've seen (albeit very briefly touched on some threads), there's very little discussion about the performance of the umpires.

You know why? Because Hawthorn were *** by the umpires today and we (massively) got an advantage from them.

Firstly what has yesterday's game got to do with the atrocious one sided display against Essendon in particular Bannister?
We have every right to voice our opinion based on what we see.The stats don't lie when you receive 2 free kicks in a half as we did last week.
Besides i have watched the replay this morning of yesterday's game.
What the hell are you talking about? We were just as badly served as the Hawks were with some blatant kicks not paid to us for too high & jack being held.The treatment Jake King gets from the umpires is laughable.Does he look to mean for them? Fair dink em!
Have another look at the game mate:confused:

The free kick count was 21-13. In previous years if this had been the case but reversed, I too would have been filthy. But realistically, over the last decade we have rarely been first to the ball, so the free-kick count would rightly be swayed against us. Now that we have some elite midfielders who do get first use of it, we'll probably start seeing more frees paid to us.

Admit it, if the Edwards free had been against Morris on Cyril up the other end (last week Morris showed he's not adverse to pushing his opponent in the goal square), you'd have been filthy with the umpire. Such a soft free kick, especially resulting in a shot 5m out from goal.

Regardless, if you're willing to pay out on umpires despite being obviously one-eyed and sitting 100m further from the ball than they are when they pay frees against us that you didn't think were there, games like today should open your eyes.

On a side note, after the Sydney game, despite a great win, people complained about Deledio not being paid a mark inside 50. Gieschen admitted is was an incorrect decision. Roughead held the ball for every bit as long as Lids today and should have started the Hawks' goalscoring but for a shocking umpire decision.
The replay is your friend. Watch the Roughead mark attempt from front on. Clearly bobbled out before Geoff smacked it away.

Schoenmakers tried to cover up the deliberate and the ump didn't fall for it.

Whilst you're obviously very happy with the general standard of amature umpires in a professional game, I think there would be much improvement if they became professional and also if the interpretation of rules didn't change from week to week, game to game.

Well this is a completely different issue all together and one that actually has substance, however it has nothing to do with the umpires. I will never complain about an umpire, however I will complain whether certain rules should be in our game or not. This is an administration issue that does not hinder nor favor one particular side.

Make no mistake, this is not the umpires fault. AFL is probably one of the hardest games in the world to umpire and is not made any easier when relatively complex rules (for instance the deliberate rushed behind rule) are brought into the home and away season without extensive testing with PROFFESIONAL umpires.

However the majority of AFL fans don't see this. Instead they hang shit on the umpire out in the middle who is only playing by the rules that have been given to him.

One thing that some fans can never seem to get around is that umpires don't actually care which team wins or loses and in no way should the result indicate how well or how poorly they umpired.

(Im tipping Saints get 3-4 goals from umps as equilibrium returns next week tho )

This is a pretty immature thing to say. If you go into the game thinking that Richmond will get a bad go from the umps, and out of coincidence the first free of the game goes to St Kilda then that will obviously re-affirm your judgement.

It's how racism works and it's how one eyed suppporters operate. They go into games with an already formed opinion everything and will use pinpoint examples to clarify their judgement instead of looking at the game in its entirety.

In my eyes, AFL and the competition at the moment is the most enjoyable it's been in years due to the evenness of the competition and the game styles being implemented by the teams. Watching footy to simply criticise umpires really is a waste of this fantastic sport.

You know what?
I said to myself all week that we'd get the better umpiring this week.

Essendon weren't playing us.

:D

Bannisters effort last week was awful.

Sorry couldn't let last weeks umpiring go.

The MCG even turned the TVs off for the Hawks game so we couldn't see the replays of free kicks.
Bannister's doing lol.

Oh look at you on your little soap box preaching away :rolleyes:

Umpires this season have been pathetic, they are a disgrace and there are certain umpires who think they are bigger than the game. These umpires need to be told to pull their heads in and just bloody umpire.

All the fans ever ask for is for some consistency, but it never happens. Oh and ofcourse we arent going to make threads about umpires when we win, you know why because it doesnt matter when you win, it does matter when your in a close game and you get a decision go against you that isnt consistently umpired over the course of the season and it results heavily in a result.

So IMO you can keep preaching all you like and I'll keep on bagging them when I feel like it :thumbsu:

This thread has proved your point. Very good post.

Only really noticed the umpires in the first quarter when they seemed to be going Hawthorns way. ( not paying high tackles when King copped it in the head, then paying a high tackle against Jackson immediately after, particularly annoyed me).

After that I didn't really notice them too much. A few hands in the back to both sides didn't get paid.

Which examples of Hawthorn getting the raw end of the deal are you thinking of?

Same dust, i can only think of the mark not paid to roughy but perhaps umps have raised the bar in defining a mark considering what hasnt been paid thIs year...griff took a speccy late that he held all the way to earth....theyre generally marks...not sure this is thread worthy tbh:eek:

From where I was, and on the replay too, it seemed like a genuine slip-up by the Hawk. Thinking from a Tiger point-of-view, if it had been paid against us in defence, I wouldn't have been too impressed.

He might have missed the shot, can't really remember.

I have previously been guilty as any of blaming the umpires for costing us games. I would often turn to the frees-for differential as the benchmark of good umpiring performance. If the ledger was 0 (i.e both teams finished with, say, 20 frees), it constituted a good umpiring performance. The problem with this is that it doesn't account for some teams playing harder at the ball, as we were today, and therefore earning more free kicks. Whilst we did this today, I still thought the umps were favourable to us. The Hawks sitting near me definitely shared this opinion (quite vocally).

Spot on. Plenty of my mates point to the differential after games as an indicator of umpires screwing teams. Having umpired at a decent level for 10 years I spend a lot of time defending the umpires. Free kicks counts are a measure of free kicks paid for and against, not a measure of correct for and against. This could be produced during the week (but would serve no real purpose other than to heap more scrutiny on umps).

My only problem with the umps in the Essendon game was having a former Essendon player umpiring..... Just allows a perception to exist. In this world, perception is often reality.... Poor choice of appointment by the Giesch...

Spot on. Plenty of my mates point to the differential after games as an indicator of umpires screwing teams. Having umpired at a decent level for 10 years I spend a lot of time defending the umpires. Free kicks counts are a measure of free kicks paid for and against, not a measure of correct for and against. This could be produced during the week (but would serve no real purpose other than to heap more scrutiny on umps).

My only problem with the umps in the Essendon game was having a former Essendon player umpiring..... Just allows a perception to exist. In this world, perception is often reality.... Poor choice of appointment by the Giesch...

Say no more...:thumbsu:...

Excellent post. :thumbsu:

Great post :thumbsu:

Thought the umpiring today was just shit in general, they missed a lot of obvious calls.

When Houli got run down from behind stone cold HTB and they waved play on I couldn't believe my eyes and then Newman threw the ball out and all the players just stopped waiting for the whistle which didn't come. Hilariously bad.

Shit umpiring all round as mentioned in the game yesterday. Still reckon our forwards get a bum deal on head high contact, lost count how many times Jack or Ty get taken over the shoulder in the marking contest and get nothing. Then you see guys like Cox at ruck contests around goals get get free after free for sfa:thumbsd:

I finally worked out my attitude to the umpires (surprisingly) aft the State Of Origin NRL last week (went with a die-hard NSW mate). Yes, NSW got the rough end of the pineapple that game.

I thought we got a bad run in the Essendon game. But I wasn't completely outraged or offended (choose your word). I don't get pissed off at umps any more.

1. I don't think umps are biased.
2. I don't believe the AFL favors teams to increase their chances of winning games so as to maximise revenue, expansion, or whatever.

(And if you believe 1 or 2 you may as well give up watching the game because there's no point).

3. I do believe the umps can be inconsistent.
4. i do believe the umps can get sucked in by 'home-crowd' pressure.
5. I do believe some umps are show ponies (and why not? They're out there with 60,000 people watching them).
6. I do believe that some games are won or lost on 50/50 decisions. Umpires can be the reason a team wins or loses.
7. I do believe the umps know the rules far, far better than I do.

So what. Tough. Treat it like a bounce of the ball. Some decisions go your way - some don't. Sometimes they even out over a game - sometimes they don't. The umps are a part of the game and sometimes it just aint your day.

I take a bad decision like a bad bounce.

Only really noticed the umpires in the first quarter when they seemed to be going Hawthorns way. ( not paying high tackles when King copped it in the head, then paying a high tackle against Jackson immediately after, particularly annoyed me).

After that I didn't really notice them too much. A few hands in the back to both sides didn't get paid.

Which examples of Hawthorn getting the raw end of the deal are you thinking of?

Don't forget Rioli's two handed throw that resulted in Breust scoring their first goal.

You are kidding me aren't you?? You seriously think that was a throw??

The one that stood out for me was the holding the ball decision against Roughead. Grabbed the ball and was immediately tackled by 2 Richmond players. You could see he was trying his hardest to get the ball free but still got pinged.
The umps just need to have a little bit of common sense in these situations. Its not easy to get your hands free when you have 2 sets of arms wrapped around you holding the ball in.

I finally worked out my attitude to the umpires (surprisingly) aft the State Of Origin NRL last week (went with a die-hard NSW mate). Yes, NSW got the rough end of the pineapple that game.

I thought we got a bad run in the Essendon game. But I wasn't completely outraged or offended (choose your word). I don't get pissed off at umps any more.

1. I don't think umps are biased.
2. I don't believe the AFL favors teams to increase their chances of winning games so as to maximise revenue, expansion, or whatever.

(And if you believe 1 or 2 you may as well give up watching the game because there's no point).

3. I do believe the umps can be inconsistent.
4. i do believe the umps can get sucked in by 'home-crowd' pressure.
5. I do believe some umps are show ponies (and why not? They're out there with 60,000 people watching them).
6. I do believe that some games are won or lost on 50/50 decisions. Umpires can be the reason a team wins or loses.
7. I do believe the umps know the rules far, far better than I do.

So what. Tough. Treat it like a bounce of the ball. Some decisions go your way - some don't. Sometimes they even out over a game - sometimes they don't. The umps are a part of the game and sometimes it just aint your day.

I take a bad decision like a bad bounce.

This is a pretty good post. Only thing I'd disagree with you on is number 6. I assume your talking about close games as in under 10 points for the ump to influence a game. I still think despite a "bad call" or what have you there are still hundreds of plays that set up the win and these 50/50 frees are only a minute detail in all of this. I'd rather look at indicators like inside 50 entries or clearances to decide what influenced the result of the game but anyway I can see where your coming from.

I laughed at the bolded. It's so true. People who watch footy only to complain about umpires/fixture due to Richmond conspiracy's seem to me to be very hypocritical. If they truly beleived what they were saying they wouldn't bother watching the game if they know the umps won't let Richmond win and the AFL will continue to make life difficult through bad tribunal calls. May aswell watch wrestling :o

Haha you have got to be kidding me. He clearly just knocked it backwards, was hardly a scooping motion or anything like that to be payed a free. It's funny because the people who complain about biased umpiring are the people who would be biased themselves if they were in that position.