Umpire Bashing

• Thread starter Thread starter cormick

I did not expect to find this thread.

I came to the Richmond board looking to see whether the Richmond player who took a dive (and was awarded a free kick in the goal square) would be reported for staging. I am interested to see whether this new rule will have any genuine impact on staging for free kicks.

However, I was genuinely furious with the umpiring throughout the first half (and was told off by several sensitive new age Richmond fans for using the f-word in the pub.) From my biased perspective, I would put the advantage given to Richmond at 3-4 goals. But Hawthorn missed shots at goal, and actually seemed to give up in the face of Richmond's consistent performance.

Richmond were good on Saturday. Like many, I fully expected the Hawks to match or better them, but kudos to the Tiges for putting the foot down and running away with it. That is to say, the Hawks ran out of excuses in the fourth quarter, and Richmond have taken another step with a hard, consistent four quarters and fewer mistakes.

A well deserved 4 points.

I've watched it a few times and actually took note of the bad decisions both ways. Over the game, it was about even but the Hawks ones were more costly. Probably balances to about 2-3 goals in our favour. There's no way the umpiring had an effect on the result, so that's why no-one is talking about it on this board. If we'd snuck home by a goal or two, I'm sure we'd have people acknowledging how lucky we'd been.

I did not expect to find this thread.

I came to the Richmond board looking to see whether the Richmond player who took a dive (and was awarded a free kick in the goal square) would be reported for staging. I am interested to see whether this new rule will have any genuine impact on staging for free kicks.

However, I was genuinely furious with the umpiring throughout the first half (and was told off by several sensitive new age Richmond fans for using the f-word in the pub.) From my biased perspective, I would put the advantage given to Richmond at 3-4 goals. But Hawthorn missed shots at goal, and actually seemed to give up in the face of Richmond's consistent performance.

Richmond were good on Saturday. Like many, I fully expected the Hawks to match or better them, but kudos to the Tiges for putting the foot down and running away with it. That is to say, the Hawks ran out of excuses in the fourth quarter, and Richmond have taken another step with a hard, consistent four quarters and fewer mistakes.

A well deserved 4 points.

You mean the free against Guerra????
I'll fess up, we got a great run with the umpires today.
The Roughhead non-mark was disgraceful, same for the free against the same guy when his arms were clearly restrained, but geez, the Guerra incident is a free everytime. Was sheer stupidity from a guy who has been a repeat offender. He hit him no doubt.
But yep, we got it good Saturday ... finally!

Just on Guerra and Edwards. I'd be very surprised if Edwards gets pinged.

Last week after kicking a goal, Jetta ran up to Morris initiating contact and then fell backwards.

This week Edwards and Guerra were standing together when Guerra threw his arm out at Edwards clearly the one initiating contact. Despite Edwards falling, Guerra was the one who threw his arm out much more forcefully then what happened to Jetta last week. In my eyes there is a difference between "milking a free kick" when contact is made and "staging for a free" when no contact has been made. I think the AFL is focused on the latter at the moment.

Just on Guerra and Edwards. I'd be very surprised if Edwards gets pinged.

Last week after kicking a goal, Jetta ran up to Morris initiating contact and then fell backwards.

This week Edwards and Guerra were standing together when Guerra threw his arm out at Edwards clearly the one initiating contact. Despite Edwards falling, Guerra was the one who threw his arm out much more forcefully then what happened to Jetta last week. In my eyes there is a difference between "milking a free kick" when contact is made and "staging for a free" when no contact has been made. I think the AFL is focused on the latter at the moment.

The big difference is Jetta staged and went unrewarded with a free kick as it was known he staged.
Contact was made to Edwards and a free kick given ... that would logically (I use the word loosely when it comes to the AFL) mean it was warranted.
From where I sat in the forward pocket, the contact looked pretty forceful.

The Roughhead non-mark was disgraceful, same for the free against the same guy when his arms were clearly restrained, but geez, the Guerra incident is a free everytime. Was sheer stupidity from a guy who has been a repeat offender. He hit him no doubt.
And the push in the back both he and Buddy gave Rance in the last for shots at goal? And the throw Roughead gave in the last on defensive 50m arc, and the throw Lewis gave on the forward 50m arc which was let go and then HAW had a shot at goal from??? The umpires were shit for BOTH SIDES all day!

Yes, the footy Gods did smile on the Tigers. The Guerra incident wasn't staging - he did make decent contact although it's debatable how high it was. Foolish by Guerra, Edwards made full value of it but that's been the case for years. The Hawks supporters have some cause to debate Tucky's blatant throw that got missed but as has been pointed out these things generally even out over the match. Umpires see some things supporters don't, don't see things the supporters do because of different angles and perspectives... facts of a fast, combative game.

"Throws" have crept into the game more and more across the board as the emphasis has been more on "making an attempt" rather than "correct disposal."

I can only guess that's what the umps decision was with Newman on the southern stand, when he dished it off to Houli and the game had completely stopped only for it to be called play on.:o

Gotta disagree goldy, if you tackle someone by holding their arms then that is a good tackle.

Only really noticed the umpires in the first quarter when they seemed to be going Hawthorns way. ( not paying high tackles when King copped it in the head, then paying a high tackle against Jackson immediately after, particularly annoyed me).
This proves the OP's point. Fans notice bad calls against their own team, and generally don't when it is going for them.
My only problem with the umps in the Essendon game was having a former Essendon player umpiring..... Just allows a perception to exist. In this world, perception is often reality.... Poor choice of appointment by the Giesch...
Absolutely. Umpires are an easy out when you lose by a couple of goals/team not going so well. having an umpire that *might* have ties to an opposition club just makes it even easier to pot shot them. No matter how much we lost by, people would be queuing up to blame Bannester for the loss.
I finally worked out my attitude to the umpires (surprisingly) aft the State Of Origin NRL last week (went with a die-hard NSW mate). Yes, NSW got the rough end of the pineapple that game.

I thought we got a bad run in the Essendon game. But I wasn't completely outraged or offended (choose your word). I don't get pissed off at umps any more.

1. I don't think umps are biased.
2. I don't believe the AFL favors teams to increase their chances of winning games so as to maximise revenue, expansion, or whatever.
3. I do believe the umps can be inconsistent.
4. i do believe the umps can get sucked in by 'home-crowd' pressure.
5. I do believe some umps are show ponies (and why not? They're out there with 60,000 people watching them).
6. I do believe that some games are won or lost on 50/50 decisions. Umpires can be the reason a team wins or loses.
7. I do believe the umps know the rules far, far better than I do.
and 8. Umpires don't have the ability to use 5 different, well placed camera angles to make on the spot decisions.

I've always been of the opinion that if a fan was at the game, his veiws on umpiring are invalid because he gets the camera angles, he gets the biased veiw from like minded supporters and he gets access to Alcohol.

This proves the OP's point. Fans notice bad calls against their own team, and generally don't when it is going for them.

Absolutely. Umpires are an easy out when you lose by a couple of goals/team not going so well. having an umpire that *might* have ties to an opposition club just makes it even easier to pot shot them. No matter how much we lost by, people would be queuing up to blame Bannester for the loss.

and 8. Umpires don't have the ability to use 5 different, well placed camera angles to make on the spot decisions.

I've always been of the opinion that if a fan was at the game, his veiws on umpiring are invalid because he gets the camera angles, he gets the biased veiw from like minded supporters and he gets access to Alcohol.

I don't drink anymore at the footy(oops I had a pint at the London then a cup at half time and that was it hehe).
Was sober at the Dreamtime game.
Bannister and McBurney the worst performers so far.
LOL the only time I've been thrown out of Richmond Paddock was an Essendon game and it was the umps.Got a taxi home and heard on the radio that an umpire had paid Essendon 11 frees to 1 in one quarter or something LOL.Nathan Brown was commentating on MMM and he was getting irate about the umpiring but not as much as me.I said sorry to the police and just went home with my tail between my legs and haven't done anything like that since.
I guess it's something I can't control.we are humans.Our heart s can overrule our minds at times and especially in emotional situations like a football game and I reckon the umpires would find it hard too.We aren't machines.We run on emotions.
It's the most frustrating thing of our game I guess because any decision can be made for any incident and I reckon ,if I was an umpire I could selectively blow the whistle whenever I wanted.The Bannister game was really dodgy to me.Richmond players getting heads pulled off and no free .Bomber players ducking the head and running full throttle into Richmond players and getting paid.There was too much one sided decision making to suggest otherwise.
How many times do you see textbook tackles and see the ball drop down and the call playon these days then the next week,they blow for everything.
Or someone takes a mark,then the umpire calls playon immediately after,then the opposition mark it and have 500 years to hold onto it when looking to pass.Or the hands in the back rule.Richo gets pinged and a 50 while Jettas ,in full view of everyone pushes Morris square in the back with 2 hands gets a playon call to run into an open goal.Early in that game I saw A richmond players arm get held down while a Bomber took the mark and that resulted into another goal for the Bombers.The umpires decision on Maric which would 've been one of the easier ones to adjudicate yet he pays it against Richmond.Maric goes off his rocker as anyone player would in that sitation the the umpire gives him 50.
One of the dodgiest umpiring performances I've seen in years.Let's hope Bannister pulls his head in and uses common sense next time and not let emotion rule his decisions.