Umpires doing a great job considering..................

• Thread starter happy hawker
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

H

happy hawker

The umpires do a pretty good job considering the completely outdated and silly rules by which they have to govern the game. To me the most frustrating term in the umps. vocab. is "umpires interpretation" which gives the umps far too much latitute in the decisions they make. The rule makers in their infinite wisdom in trying to make the game easier to understand have made too few definite rules, which causes great confusion to all who watch the game. In my opinion what needs to happen is more defined rules for specific situations in the game eg. ruck play, deliberate out of bounds, holding the ball etc. You must give the umps. easy yes or no decisions in the heat of battle, dont give them the opportunity to make stupid decisions based on a fuzzy interpretation of a rule that may or may not exist! Make it easy for them so making it easy and much more enjoyable for us!

im guessing your baseing that on tonights game
where hawthorn got the world and still lost by 80 odd points
youve got to be jokin right?
they were terrible
look at it from a neutral side
they were shocking at all four games so far this round
ive seen three and listened to the fourth on the radio and they said they were shockin
they are terrible

Got the world???

Tell that to someone who actually watches the game and the rules.

Does Misiti KNOW how to handball at all???
Threw the bloody thing a dozen times, christ it was laughable if it wasnt so pathetic.

Oh yea, and Lloyds frees were all hard earned as well, complain about Thommos but if Lloyd was breathed on the Bombers around me were screaming for a free.

No bloody idea.

OK here is irrefutable proof. (well heresay anyway)
wink.gif

There is a story doing the rounds of Adelaides media at te moment. Late last year the umpires were in the race about to enter the ground at an Adelaide home game.

A highly regarded witness was also in the race. He heard the umpires discussing how the game would be umpired. One was heard to say 'lets get the crowd worked up and give the first free kick against Adelaide'. A very senior umpire then said 'why don't we give the first free against Shaun Rehn, that will really get them riled up?'.

What do you think happened? You guessed it, that same umpire awarded a free kick against Shaun Rehn at the centre bounce. Now none of us give the umpires much credit for intelligence so that should rule out clairvoyancy. We all know Shaun Rehn never does anything illegal on the field. So what does that leave?

Grendel

I'll assume here that you had your tongue planted rather firmly in your cheek, unless of course you're someone who doesn't know the rules or follow the game. Are you seriously suggesting Hawthorn didn't get a bloody good run from the men in white last night? Please!

right there with ya dave
grendal which frees to lloyd where you refering too?
the two fair ones he received?
or the five ones that were payed against him?
the match totals where 13 to 24 in the favour of hawthorn
i think hawthorn were pretty well looked after
dont you?

Where I was sitting at the top part of the struts (well near enough) of the roof. All I heard all night was 'thats a free to Lloydy, thats not a free against Hirdy' fair dinkum, have a whinge. You won the bloody thing easy and you still reckon your hard done by! What more do you want?
I could give a toss over frees 30 to us 10 to them over vice/versa. Where all screwed all the time, but when (ah casts mind back and feels good) we used to kill teams like that, we didnt bloody care about the umpires, we were above it.
I reckon there was some absolute dodgy calls last night, soft as to both sides and stuff that never got paid to both sides.
But to carry on like the bombers did, plain and simple , pack of whiners.
Just win and enjoy it, thats what being the best was about when we did it. Not sooking if something doesnt go to the two golden boys of the club.

Well Grendel, you didn't go to too many Hawk games then mate because all we ever heard was your mob whining about Dunstall being screwed, Platten being hammered etc etc. Have a look at your own back yard before you go tossing off about other people's clubs, because if you reckon hawks fans never skwarked you're living in lala land.

stick it up 'em bombers!

Oh the poor Bombers, everyones got it in for them, yea right. I ask again, how much do you want? Sorry next time we will just forfeit all frees paid against you in case your delicate sensibilities are offened.

Come around and watch any of the games i have on tape were the Hawks won by 10 plus goals, i can tell you now the crowd didnt waste breath on the umpires at the end of it.

The Umpires are crap, we all know that. Stop whining. You should be better than that considering how well your going. Sound like a bloody spoiled Carlton supporter. And thats poor form indeed.

ps Bewick learned everthing he knows (re soft frees) of the Rat :p Ive been to enough games to know that!

and welshy sorry that Lloyd had five paid against him, we all know that he never infringes like the bombers never infringe against any team ever and all frees against them are never there and they are crucified every time game and ......................

Thats being sarcastic by the way.

I tend to agree with Happy-Hawker, I mean who would want to do this job? I'm amazed that anyone does! The "grey areas" and necessarily discretionary nature of decision making makes it impossible to be right even close to all the time. Combine this with the slow-mos from seven different angles and the outrage of many TV and radio commentators and the "imaginative" criticism from coaches and you've got one hell of a thankless task! I can recall the one umpire system from the 60's and 70's when he'd just sort of "hang around" the centre and blow his whistle for a free and indicate which team was the recipient( but not what the free was for!) and he'd do this up to 80 times a match! It was a lot easier being an umpire then as it was difficult to gather "evidence" against them, the fans still hated 'em but you couldn't go home and see their mistakes replayed ad nauseum in slomo so you just had to accept them. I believe it's a LOT better now and although I still like to have a whinge about them every now and then it's probably best to just accept that they've got an impossible job and hope they're doing it in a fair and objective manner - even though it might look like they've been paid by Hansie's mate sometimes!

Just tell us where you will be sitting next time Grendel Whine! whinge Moan Bitch Gee mate are you ever happy???????

Well believe it or not, my comments had nothing to do with any particular game or any team for that matter. I wish some of you would just take off your parochial hats (I know its hard) for a minute and consider how crap ABSOLUTELY CRAP!! the bloody rules are today. By the way I never saw the Hawks Bombers game.

I think the idea of having the better umpires (not enough anyway) officiating at two games a weekend has merit while the so-called experienced hacks like Mclaren, Handley and MITCHELL (yes, my saints hat is on now) can be put out to pasture.

I was amazed last night that so many holding the ball decisions were overlooked. And then in our game today, the usual decision of when one players dives on the ball and then has the ball held in by 3 or 4 of the opposition players only to pinned for holding the ball occurs. No consistency at all! And then guys like Farmer and Woewodin are allowed to take on players in their goal square, drop the ball (dispose it illegally) and then have play on called (which ultimately resulted in the goal that ended the match). It is beyond a joke!

And c'mon Dave, surely winning by 80 odd points and not losing a game all year is enough. Supporters from the losing team have every right to whinge about the umpires, it is a part of the game.
wink.gif

Sainter, doesn't worry me if anyone wants to whinge about the umps. What's priceless is Grendel whining about people whining and then pompously asserting "well we never did that". Bollocks. EVERY clubs supporters bag the umps. It's human nature.

Grendel - I didn't complain about the umpiring, I just asked you what YOU thought of it considering your earlier statement on it. Whether the free kick count was justified or not doesn't bother me, if you're good enough you win anyway, and at the end of the day it all evens out. You might get crucified in one game but it'll go your way in another. Even if it doesn't you can't change anything.

And, yes the free against Lloyd was there (if you're talking about the PITB to Croad).

Go Bombers!

Im not gonna talk about the bombers game, but if you ask me the blues were so hard done by it was shocking, I love to see them get beaten but not by the umpires the last free kick awarded to the dogs 30m out right in front was a joke, the doggies player bent over ducked his head and was sailed over the top of without the blues player placing a hand on him and he was given a free, What a joke.

Bombers Rock 2000

Dont you people have any sense of irony?
Geezus whine away how hard done by you are, that was the point, and then they pity were meant to feel for how the Hawks
had it easy (???) all night!

quote from welshy

"im guessing your baseing that on tonights game
where hawthorn got the world and still lost by 80 odd points"

oh so sorry we got some more frees than you, really effected the end result

quote from Dave

"Are you seriously suggesting Hawthorn didn't get a bloody good run from the men in white last night? Please!"

why didnt I see how hard done by you were, oh my aching heart, forgive the impudence.

quote from welshy

"right there with ya dave
Grendel which frees to lloyd where you referring too?
the two fair ones he received?
or the five ones that were paid against him?"

yes of course we all know that its a physical impossibility for Lloyd to infringe on another player and give a free away, he wasnt
born with that gene, what an aberration.

quote from Grendel

"I could give a toss over frees 30 to us 10 to them over vice/versa. Where all screwed all the time, but when (ah casts mind
back and feels good) we used to kill teams like that, we didnt bloody care about the umpires, we were above it."

Notice the bit where I said kill teams, not talking about close contests here, or even 3/4 goal wins, im talking just basking in glory and contempt of things as trivial as umpiring.

quote from Grendel

"I reckon there was some absolute dodgy calls last night, soft as to both sides and stuff that never got paid to both sides."

I thing that means I reckon the umps were bad to some extent in the game in question.

quote by Dave

"What's priceless is Grendel whining about people whining and then pompously asserting "well we never did that". Bollocks.
EVERY clubs supporters bag the umps. It's human nature."

Show me where I said I never complained about the umps please. Or is that to hard a question, as I said, please try and follow
this I will go slow

We didnt complain when we had won like that.

Okay now here comes the bit you should read close okay, are you with me, here we go,

quote from Grendel,

"Thats being sarcastic by the way."

In other words I was taking the piss, do you follow now? Or am I still being pompous?

Now after all that, if you still feel as if the worlds against you I hereby publicly and humbly seek forgiveness for having the
temerity to even assert the assumption that anyone could possibly have a different opinion to the possibility that maybe, just
maybe the Hawks might have gotten some frees that they did deserve. Of course any that they did get had such an horrendous outcome on the final result of the match that the Dons percentage should be increased by at least 2000% they should also be given Holland,Croad,Hay and any other Hawthorn players on a free transfer that should be outside of any salary cap restrictions and the first 467 choices in the next 37 drafts as compensation.

Then justice might seem to have been done for the Hawks recieving an extra 11 kicks from the umpires for saturday nights game.

ps this is again a sarcastic post, just to let you know.
tongue.gif

quote by Grendel:

Show me where I said I never complained about the umps please.

Also a quote by Grendel:

"we didnt bloody care about the umpires, we were above it."

Ok, read this slowly so that you understand it. P-I-G-S A-R-S-E. Your mob were as bad EVEN WHEN YOU WON BY 15 GOALS as any other team.

As to whether you'e being pompous, do you think you're the only one who knows how to use sarcasm?

Just a question to you essendon fans:

How many goals did you need to win by to not boo (some of you) paul salmon in the last quarter ?

Strikes me a good proportion of essendon fans are not enjoying their teams success. there was more booing than cheering in that last quarter.

Makes the 'guard of honour' for fish look a bit sick

By the way I only saw it on TV as they finally decided less than an hour before the game that it was a lock-out. Where was the publicity ? So much for the AFL promises.

Pess,

What a crock of absolute shit. Paul Salmon was booed for rushing through a behind, the same way ALL players who rush through behinds are booed, nothing more. Get off your ****ing high horse.

I was at the game, and applauded Fish both before and after the game. A true gentleman and legend.

Pess and Grendel.

Can I remind you that you are arguing with the people who: booed Paul Salmon out of his first club; accused Hawthorn of sniffing "something" between quarters; still whinge about "Timmy!" (TM) being roughed up by known hitman Colin Robertson in the '83 GF (conveniently forgetting that Roger Merrett played for them!)...

AND believe that Jimmy Hird's "pay cut" represents an act of noble self-sacrifice on that player's part!

Expecting them to understand irony, humility, and... well... football in general, is like expecting the umpires to realise that Joe Misiti magically uses one hand to handball!

dont quote me dickhead
if you look at my first post you will see that i said all games where shocking
not highlighting one in particular
grendal you then starting whinging and highlighted a particular game and told everyone else they where whinging
you really could be a collingwood supporter because you obviously know nothing about football

... Ten goals up, final quarter and still booing for all they're worth. When my team is ten goals up I just laugh at crook decisions, or rushed behinds.
The fact that fish was one of those booed shows how 'hollow' the applause was.

Speaking of Fish. He's played 300-odd games but when Essendon have played Hawthorn, more often than not he's been on the losing side. Ironic.

You keep trotting that bullshit out Pess, maybe you'll even convince yourself it's true.

And Hawkforce, who was it who squealed about "hit-men" in 1983? Don Scott? Ex hawthorn player? And of course Hawthorn have *never* had anyone like that play for them, noooooo.

Umpires doing a great job considering..................