Umpires doing a great job considering..................

• Thread starter Thread starter happy hawker

What are you blokes going on about?

quote from Welshy

"Dont quote me"

This is a forum thats what happens in forums. Someone says something then someone else can reply. Thats how these things work.
You were the one that suggested that the first post was about the saturday game.
quote from your first line of your first post

"im guessing your baseing that on tonights game where hawthorn got the world and still lost by 80 odd points"

quote from your last post

"if you look at my first post you will see that i said all games where shocking
not highlighting one in particular"

So the statement from the first post is an optical illusion obviously.

quote Dave last post

"quote by Grendel:
Show me where I said I never complained about the umps please.

Well im still waiting for you to show me.......

The main subject again was for you to complain about the frees after a win like that is a bit rich.

Okay then put the situation in reverse and go back to one of the games that
Hawthorn have won by that margin. Now if I came into a forum and said that the
umpires had been overly generous to the opposition (whoever it may have
been,Dons/Blues/Woods) dont you think other opposition supporters would reckon
I was laying it on with a trowel?

My problem was, no I dont reckon we got a great run from the umpires on saturday.
Maybe we ended up with a higher free count but thats about it.
We got 3 goals from frees, the Dons got the same. We had shockers paid against us,
the Dons the same. We had missed frees that cost, the Dons the same. The umpiring
is at an all time low standard as far as I am concerned, now Welshy,Dave you did
touch on that and I do agree with you. However if you come out and cry poor for
TEN (okay eleven but ten looks better in print) extra frees then I just reckon thats a joke.

Grendel,

I did actually quote what you asked me (maybe a little out of context but it was still there!), and I think you're getting me mixed up with a few others about the umpiring . I wasn't complaining about the umpiring. I asked you what your opinion on it was after you made a couple of comments (probably baits, ok you got me) about it. You want my opinion? Hawthorn may have got a good run, good luck to them, as I said in another post (seems like you may have overlooked it) you can't do anything about it and in the end it genreally evens out. So are we ok on that now?

And as a Hawks fan can I ask you, was Salmon booed for anything other than rushing through a behind? I can't believe what a big deal Pess is making of it, or doesn't anyone have a sense of humor any more? Even the Fish had a laugh about it.

Well I'd hate to stay on the topic but Sainter I agree with all you stated, how about this for an idea, umpires work in crews ie. the 3 field umps travel as groups doing games all over the country then the best(I use that word carefully) crews do the finals hopefully ensuring better umpired games!

Pessimistic,

To imply that the appluase fro Fish was "hollow" is childish and ignorant.

Salmon was a great player for Essendon, and was warmly applauded by the whole crowd, 80 per cent of whom were Essendon supporters.

I'm sick of people carrying on about him getting booed off the ground in his second last game in 1995. There were Hawthorn supporters no doubt who didn't want him, and would have "booed" the decision to acquire him in 1996. No doubt those Hawks supporters now have egg on their faces.

I'll be those Hawks supporters are looking pretty stupid now.

As for the passion in the Essendon crowd, and the "booing" of the umpires, even though we were 10 goals up......put this down to the passion of the supporters, that has been shown over the whole year. We want every other teams blood. The Essendon players are atempting to show every other team that they are better, and nothing will stand in their way. That's how the players are thinking.

The supporters get caught in this too. Due to what happened last year, every match in 2000 has me wanting to see us pile on the goals. Once we are up by 10 goals, I just want to see us crush the opposition....more.... and more. We Essndon suporters just want to atone for last season, and kicking everyone's ass is the perfect way to do it.

That explains the passion in the crowd even though we are 10 goals up. That passion is a GOOD thing by the way, not bad thing (here that Grendel)

Don't know why Hawks siupporters weren't that passionate in the 1980's. They have never had a reputation for parochialism......

I'm proud of our supporters. i think Essendon has the most enthusiastic supporters going around.

Why do Essendon supporters "want to atone for last year"?

Was it their fault their team lost by a point? That is some powerful supporter base, to take responsibility for on field actions.

Of course you aare sick of hearing about Fish being booed of the ground, Dan. It was one of the most despicable acts by a supporter base EVER.

Yep, I wasn't happy about losing Darren Jarman for Paul Salmon at the time, but the Hawks will warmly send him off to retirement, not boo him for be beaten by John Barnes (again).

You can whitewash history to salve your own conscience, Dan, but the rest of us remian to remind you of hat you really are.

Proud of your "enthusiastic" supporters, still?

No problems wAlshy, as its grendEl not grendAL. Been wondering if you would pick up on it. But you spell my name right and I will do the same for you okay
smile.gif

Dave, sorry mate, it was all a bait, I just needed to get a bomber "in"
biggrin.gif
To your question about what I thought of the umpires on the night?

To be honest, it was a shocking display from the three umps,in particular that bald headed one (Handley?) I could understand going crook from both sets of fans. I still stick by (this is a personal thing though) that I never really cared about the umps when wins like that came along. Im with Pess on that, hwen we were that far up just makes a joke of it really. But then back then in the eighties we were arrogant bastards hahaha. Your lot have to learn how to snub the plebs now, come and have a pot with me, I can give you some pointers
wink.gif

Sidebar on the Fish, well have to disagree slightly, there are still some Bombers (Not all of them just a vocal minority) out there who dont like him, I dont know why. As you got Wellman and Barnard out of it, he was a great finals player for you and he is a gent to boot! I guess some people just have mind-sets on certain players.

Its like Dans assumption that some Hawks fans didnt want him, he is right there. I know quite a few who have owned up to saying they were wrong in not wanting him at the club. There are STILL one or two that wish he had never crossed over to us! As I said there are just some people with mind-sets against some players and never the twain, etc etc.

Dan, your of topic, i never said a thing about passion. So if thats directed as an insult to me you miss by the proverbial side of the bard

"I will tell you why;
so shall my anticipation prevent your discovery, and your secrecy to the king and queen moult no feather.
I have of late--but wherefore I know not--lost all my mirth,
forgone all custom of exercises;
and indeed it goes so heavily
with my disposition that this goodly frame, the earth,
seems to me a sterile promontory, this most excellent canopy, the air, look you, this brave o'erhanging firmament, this majestical roof fretted with golden fire,
why, it appears no other thing to me than a foul and pestilent congregation of vapours.

What a piece of work is a man! how noble in reason!
how infinite in faculty! in form and moving how express and admirable!
in action how like an angel!
in apprehension how like a god! the beauty of the world!
the paragon of animals! And yet, to me,
what is this quintessence of dust? man delights not me: no, nor woman neither, though by your smiling
you seem to say so.

If I didnt have passion do you think I could have been bothered keeping coming back on a thread like this??? Or our long long LOONNNGG
discussions that you and I have had about the finals, Hawks 88/89 vs Ess 84/85? You have let me down here by questioning if I know passion. The whole thread has been about nothing other than passion. Poor form Dan, you of all people I expect more from.

Back to Happyhawker, your right when you say how they should work in groups of three. That way at least they could all get to know (like a team) how each other INTERPRETS the rules (None of them actually follow the actual written rules as they should) so at least the could be a consistent inconsistency.

ps Just all you bombers wait until the flu bug we were breathing over you saturday night take effect. Two week of incubation then GO DOGGIES woof woof woof

pps the last paragraph is meant as a final shot at a stir from a still smart arse,dickhead,dispassionate,pompous,w***er Hawk. Or at least thats what Ive been called so far lets see what this post generates in response! Kidding guys kidding.......

By the way guys, congrats on the 19 wins in a row.

And Dan24, 'Crush' the opposition ? are you as sadist or just someone who wishes you were toug and could crush somebody yourself ?

Pessimistic,

I enjoy seeing us obliterate the opposition. Especially Hawthorn, whose supporters were brought up on an appetite of success. It's good to bring them down. Perhaps the memory of a 160 point loss in 1992 is still buried deep within my psyche.

Perhaps it's because everyone wants to be the first to knock us off, so I take a "sick" delight in crushing the opposition. How dare they think they are a chance to beat Essendon. The passion is almost a verbal kind of protection of your team. Sorry. I can't help it.

Grendel, i never questioned YOUR passion. I was simply implying that Hawks supporters have never been the most passionate. They're a bit fair-weathered. I know they showed a lot of passion re:the merger (but who wouldn't !), but don't ever put Hawks supporters in the same breath as Collingwood, Essendon, St.Klda or Richmond in terms of passion.

You're probably an exception.

What about Hollands mark;paid against him for in the back;whilst standing his ground!
Crawfs deliberate out of bounds;from 20 mtrs!!
19 in a row and the whingers are still not happy.
We still haven't forgotten their salary cap rorts;filthy cheats.
And they think they have a right to complain;I think not!

Thats why I always reply to you first walshy. I know you only have a limited span of attention so I keep it short for your benifit. Then I can move on and discuss the serious stuff with Dave,Dan and Pess
rolleyes.gif

Btw thanks for getting the name right.

Dan, HAVE to disagree again. NO PASSION?
No thats why we fought like rabid dogs to SAVE OUR CLUB! If we had no passion we would be the Melbourne Hawks (God forbid). So accuse us of anything, but not lack of passion. I will cop it for the eighties, but now is a different time and the supporters have been given the wake up call.

But I do agree it is great to crush a team, I dont blame you in the least for the delight taken in that. It goes all to quick when you think its going to last forever. Enjoy while it lasts. ps you didnt fall for the stir either, and I DID try and bait you
tongue.gif
have to do better next time
wink.gif

Have you lot noticed that none of the non Vic supporters have bothered to enter this thread?

It's because we are all laughing too hard.

Put all those bad decisions you lot speak of together and you have one quarters worth of frustration for Crow, Power, Eagle, Docker, Lion and Swan fans.

Grendel they really got stuck into you here didn't they. Strength in numbers however feeble the argument.

Bomber fans, you are top with 19 wins no losses. Why Why Why get sucked in so easily when all you need do is chuckle? Sit back and enjoy how all we non Essendon fans envy your position.

Servo, I was just trying to get some bombers 'in'.
To get the reaction I got was made it doubly worth it.
But I still reckon your kidding if you dont think the intestate teams (vics included when they get a WC or Crow etc) games the umpies dont favour the home town team.