Roast Umpires thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

Exhibit A

Free Kick Differentials After Round 8
1. Western Bulldogs +36 (163 for, 127 against)

2. North Melbourne +26 (169, 143)

3. Carlton +21 (148, 127)

4. West Coast +18 (147, 129)

5. Melbourne +15 (152, 137)

6. Brisbane Lions +12 (172, 160)

7. Collingwood +11 (131, 120)

8. St Kilda +2 (143, 141)

8. Gold Coast +2 (139, 137)

8. Hawthorn +2 (138, 136)

11. Port Adelaide +1 (159, 158)

12. Essendon 0 (145, 145)

13. Fremantle -1 (143, 144)

14. Geelong -18 (151, 169)

15. Adelaide -20 (141, 161)

16. Sydney -27 (141, 168)

17. GWS -32 (134, 166)

18. Richmond -48 (141, 189)

https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/af...n-2017-after-round-8?station=centralwheatbelt

We've had TWENTY more free kicks paid against us than any other team in the comp. What are we doing so differently to every other side in the AFL?
We started tackling. Literally the first year we try it we get pinged for it

Just because we start doing it, doesn't mean we are very good at it. Yes we tackle more than s few years ago but we are not good at it still!

We could get an armchair ride by the umps and still **** it up..
Well try us for size for once , let's get some goals overturned for a shepherd , free kicks for deliberate OOB , ridiculous marking attempt , overhead handballs

I wouldn't know what an armchair ride felt like

THIS thread is really something.
Umpire "incompetence", but nothing about our blokes incompetence for three quarters, nor incompetence to man the hell up on Walters, Hill and Fyfe, nor incompetence to follow team rules and push back with 20 seconds to go, or block key holes, nor incompetence in missing easy set shots at goal.
Players can do so much each week to ensure a win - we didn't do enough of that.
Serious accountability issues among our supporter base - everything is an AFL conspiracy or umpire conspiracy!

Amazing, a thread on umpires (it's right there in the op), and people are criticising the umpiring. If you'd rather criticise the players, start a thread on it. Or better yet get stuck into them on the autopsy thread like everyone else.

Just because your narrative is (perpetually) 'we are shit' does not mean the umps aren't having an impact on results.

Well try us for size for once , let's get some goals overturned for a shepherd , free kicks for deliberate OOB , ridiculous marking attempt , overhead handballs

I wouldn't know what an armchair ride felt like
Exactly. This is why we appear to be over the top. I would love to be able to say "gee, we got the rub of the green there" but we never do.
It's not really about the appalling ones like on Sunday but a fair go.

They paid htbs for the first two weeks.

Then found out Richmond's tackling improved out of sight and have not paid htb to us ever since.

I think we managed one on the weekend.

Corruption in sport.

We have had a few stinkers that have been more noticeable due to the circumstances but we do seem to conveniently overlook the lucky ones we get or the unlucky ones opponents don't get etc.
One thing i have noticed at games is the Essendon supporter like penchant for our supporters to scream "BALLLL" the very second a tackle is applied no matter what.
It's a bit cringeworthy and I reckon the constant screaming and hollers of anger thereafter add to the feeling that we are being shafted.

We have had a few stinkers that have been more noticeable due to the circumstances but we do seem to conveniently overlook the lucky ones we get or the unlucky ones opponents don't get etc.
One thing i have noticed at games is the Essendon supporter like penchant for our supporters to scream "BALLLL" the very second a tackle is applied no matter what.
It's a bit cringeworthy and I reckon the constant screaming and hollers of anger thereafter add to the feeling that we are being shafted.

Definately a different interpretation of the rule for us,I watched in amazement other games where htb was being paid willy nilly and Richmond get the playon call for the same thing.

No it isn't.
We have missed a couple and been stiff but our crowd scream out every time someone is touched.

Exhibit A

Free Kick Differentials After Round 8
1. Western Bulldogs +36 (163 for, 127 against)

2. North Melbourne +26 (169, 143)

3. Carlton +21 (148, 127)

4. West Coast +18 (147, 129)

5. Melbourne +15 (152, 137)

6. Brisbane Lions +12 (172, 160)

7. Collingwood +11 (131, 120)

8. St Kilda +2 (143, 141)

8. Gold Coast +2 (139, 137)

8. Hawthorn +2 (138, 136)

11. Port Adelaide +1 (159, 158)

12. Essendon 0 (145, 145)

13. Fremantle -1 (143, 144)

14. Geelong -18 (151, 169)

15. Adelaide -20 (141, 161)

16. Sydney -27 (141, 168)

17. GWS -32 (134, 166)

18. Richmond -48 (141, 189)

https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/af...n-2017-after-round-8?station=centralwheatbelt

We've had TWENTY more free kicks paid against us than any other team in the comp. What are we doing so differently to every other side in the AFL?

So, if (as some say) the best teams give away the fewest free kicks and the worst teams give away the most free kicks ... here's the ladder, innit?

Amazing, a thread on umpires (it's right there in the op), and people are criticising the umpiring. If you'd rather criticise the players, start a thread on it. Or better yet get stuck into them on the autopsy thread like everyone else.

Just because your narrative is (perpetually) 'we are shit' does not mean the umps aren't having an impact on results.

Yes but funny how when we got more frees than Melbourne and beat them, all Demons supporters protests over umpire bias were immediately dismissed.
Sorry, but besides the regular half dozen who ALWAYS bash the umps and blame them for EVERY loss, most of these posts reek of plain sour grapes and we've become the whinging and whining lot we accuse other supporter groups of!

Yes but funny how when we got more frees than Melbourne and beat them, all Demons supporters protests over umpire bias were immediately dismissed.
Sorry, but besides the regular half dozen who ALWAYS bash the umps and blame them for EVERY loss, most of these posts reek of plain sour grapes and we've become the whinging and whining lot we accuse other supporter groups of!
lol. Just when I thought that your high horse couldn't get any higher!
Guess what, the ONE game where we had possibly the rub of the green - we won.
The opposition, like all opposition, thought they were hard done by. Well knock me over with a feather
Also, I AM biased. I have one black eye and one yellow eye when I barrack for Richmond, the majority on this board do, not all that's for sure and if I want to whinge about umpires then I ****ing well will!

BALL!!!!!

The opposition, like all opposition, thought they were hard done by. Well knock me over with a feather
Also, I AM biased. I have one black eye and one yellow eye when I barrack for Richmond, the majority on this board do, not all that's for sure and if I want to whinge about umpires then I ****ing well will!

BALL!!!!!

Don't get me wrong, this thread - albeit sad - is highly entertaining.
I'm surprised there's been no mention of Lee Harvey Oswald, the CIA, UFOs and the earth being flat as of yet.
It's got the lot. Did I read the umpires have a total different interpretation of holding the ball for us??? And they changed that interpretation after round two after we became a 'tackling side'?
No doubt they are changing that interpretation after we laid an insipid eight tackles in the third quarter last week. No need for an interpretation when you lay so few tackles!
I hear Harold Holt is making a comeback as a goal umpire this week.

I'm surprised there's been no mention of Lee Harvey Oswald, the CIA, UFOs and the earth being flat as of yet.
It's got the lot. Did I read the umpires have a total different interpretation of holding the ball for us??? And they changed that interpretation after round two after we became a 'tackling side'?
No doubt they are changing that interpretation after we laid an insipid eight tackles in the third quarter last week. No need for an interpretation when you lay so few tackles!
The Russians have hacked the umpires computer server and change the rules every week. Its ok the FBI are onto it.

Ok cool. If hanging shit on Richmond and their supporters is how you get your jollies.
Free country after all.

Ok cool. If hanging shit on Richmond and their supporters is how you get your jollies.
Free country after all.

Haven't you - often - in the past had several cracks at me about 'repetitive' and 'negative' posting?
But you're ok with the usual suspects whining and moaning about umpires day-in and day-out?
As long as it fits your narrative it's ok - at least we understand that now.

No it isn't.
We have missed a couple and been stiff but our crowd scream out every time someone is touched.
Every team does it mate,we just don't get rewarded.

BALL!!!!!

Well said,we would be top of the ladder now with fair umpiring.

It's not really cringeworthy we do it to support the team and try and create a hostile atmosphere. I always yell out baaall even if it's a clear holding the man or the opponent gets his head ripped off and vice versa with holding the man. I've yelled out for some absolutely ridiculous deliberates as well just to take the piss. I honestly think Richmond supporters are among the most knowledgeable footy going fans. We're not stupid but why not get under the skin of the opposition? I've been to a few games up in Sydney and the ignorance of the Swans fans so often has the Tiger fans there shaking their heads.

Every team does it mate,we just don't get rewarded.

certain teams and players get rewarded for the slightest indiscretion our players don't, it has to be blatantly obvious and even then its a 50-50 proposition