Roast Umpires thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

Yes it was .... so was Grey's goal being downgraded to a behind.
You take the good with the bad.
I'm ok with questions being asked of umpires - they do get decisions wrong - both ways. It's not a simple case, you would agree, of the umpires getting all 'X' number of frees we got right, but only half of the opposition's were worthy and should have been play on or not awarded.
But you wouldn't know that, there are people adamant the umpires cost us both games (V Bulldogs and Dockers) and were inept in a mauling agianst the Cropws.
Like give me a break. Sooking over umpires was something I did as an eight and nine-year-old, not an adult.
I dont normally bash umpires but the last 2 weeks we've had the rough end of the stick. Hopefully this will even up.

Cmon Goldy,smell the roses.
Geoff Raines got no votes in a year he was near our best player in Richmond's premiership year.

They have been putrid this year.

Wed be top of the ladder right now.

Get angry boys use the rorters in fluro as ammo for oppo teams.
Carna mighty Tiges!

Dimma,the great man has his tongue tied,it's up to us hold these flogs countable.

Yes, so did Terry Wallace at Hawthorn when he was Brownlow favourite.
Brian Royal at the Bulldogs managed about three one season when he was favourite .. it happens.
PS The umpires in '80 .. I reckon it was Robinson and Deller ... were on record as saying that Raines would have got the two votes in the grand final.

After that Caddy goal was disallowed I just got up and walked back into the bar didn’t care and didn’t want to know why. Absolutely had a gutful of the umps at that point. When I had a look at the replay after mellowing out yesterday I have to say as far as I’m concerned we won on Sunday. I don’t care what the “official” results or the ladder show.

I know in my head that these conspiracy theories about the AFL\umpires trying to conjure up results to suit their own agenda are tin foil hat fodder but when the cards fall the way they have for us this season it’s really hard not to have some doubts about their agenda creep in.

After that Caddy goal was disallowed I just got up and walked back into the bar didn’t care and didn’t want to know why. Absolutely had a gutful of the umps at that point. When I had a look at the replay after mellowing out yesterday I have to say as far as I’m concerned we won on Sunday. I don’t care what the “official” results or the ladder show.

I know in my head that these conspiracy theories about the AFL\umpires trying to conjure up results to suit their own agenda are tin foil hat fodder but when the cards fall the way they have for us this season it’s really hard not to have some doubts about their agenda creep in.

The family of Tiger faithful in front of us in N5 left straight after the Caddy incident because of the bias from the men in phlegm. It had been brewing for while. Would love a Men in Phlegm brightsider to explain the Caddy incident, the Rance Incident and maybe a couple of the "encroaching the protected area" that was NOT paid to the RFC, but were paid to Freo. Not all of them, maybe just 2 or 3 would be fine.

That morning I watched my son play local under 12s. Umpired by a teenager. Lost by 1 point with 30 seconds to go. The game was umpired to perfection. Not one single questionable decision. Rules are stripped down to basics - similar to the 80's or 90's.

Today's rules are more like Chess or Mastermind.

Would've won the premiership last year if it wasn't for the umps

I reckon this weeks one is just about the only one
Could Grigg not have kicked a very gettable goal with two minutes to play?
Could we have pushed players back into defence in the last 20 seconds?
Or do you prefer the umpires instruct us when it gets close to push back?
We copped what we deserved because we played dumb football.
I reckon this weeks one is just about the only one that it is reasonable to whinge about. The Freo one where the goal umpire blocked the goal, well you can't say what <i>would</i> have happened because play went on and it's a different set of circumstances. But if the Caddy goal had not been disallowed, then the only thing that changes is the score. No more play that quarter, and we find ourselves in front after the final kick.
I agree whinging about the umpires is puerile and unhelpful, but I for one genuinely feel aggrieved by that decision.
As for deserving to win, well by that tack you could argue the Bulldogs didn't deserve to win the flag last year because they were nowhere near the best team all year. Just like arguing that a certain team doesn't deserve to be wherever they are on the ladder. If you're there, you deserve to be.

the most annoying thing is the changing rules week to week. they called Short's deliberate against bulldogs which cost us one more chance at the win, then they realised it was a terrible call and didn't call a bunch of very similar ones the next round. but that doesn't help our previous loss. just adjudicate it the same all year and dont make new rules every offseason

Yep - we are regularly 1 week behind a shift in rule interpretation.

Cmon Goldy,smell the roses.
Geoff Raines got no votes in a year he was near our best player in Richmond's premiership year.

They have been putrid this year.

Wed be top of the ladder right now.

Get angry boys use the rorters in fluro as ammo for oppo teams.
Carna mighty Tiges!

Dimma,the great man has his tongue tied,it's up to us to hold these flogs accountable.

No doubt you say umpires cost us lol not our first 3 average qtrs